Montfort villa rental - Hilltop privacy at the pool and on the terraces - view over village rooftops.
Hilltop privacy at the pool and on the terraces - view over village rooftops.
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Montfort Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms, sleeps 12

Enjoy your holidays in this welcoming 16th century hilltop château. The wide panoramic view from this 4-star property can be enjoyed all day long from its south facing terraces, balconies, and pool area. The château has been tastefully renovated and is outfitted with modern conveniences.

Although the feeling is very peaceful overlooking the rooftops of this small historical village, the highway entrance to the A51 is a convenient 10 minute drive away. Aix-en-Provence is 60 minutes away, Marseille 80 minutes.

Château Montfort has a Main building, a Guest wing, and the Common area. The Main building has a Master Suite and a second bedroom, both with connected, spacious full bathrooms. The kitchen and its two dining areas are open, warm, and inviting as well as offering a wonderful view. From there you can step out to the upper terraces, which includes an outdoor pizza oven.

The Guest wing has its own living room and fully equipped, charming kitchen as well as a smaller dining area also with the view overlooking the Durance Valley. The Guest Master bedroom is located on the top floor and has a connected bathroom. Next to this is a smaller room with two twin beds. On the ground level in the Guest house are two more bedrooms with direct access to the terrace/pool area.

The Common area includes the vaulted ceiling Grand Salon which serves as the Game Room, housing the billiard table, electronic games, board games and books. This is also the only area where smoking is allowed.

The heatable pool (not visible from outside the property) has its own poolhouse with refrigerator, WC, and shower. Multiple terraces and balconies –covered and open-- are available to enjoy the sun and the view.

Connection to the internet is available via WiFi in the Main building. A simple computer is also available for use to check emails and websites.

Car parking onsite is available for 3 or more cars. One covered garage with automatic opener is available as well as parking on the gravel drive alongside the chateau's exterior wall. If further space is required a small public parking is available only a few minutes walk away.

Tennis courts are a short 10 minutes drive across the Durance in Les Mees. 18 hole golf courses are located in Digne les Bains (30 minutes drive) and Pierrevert, a further 15 minutes away.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 977153 in Montfort, France

Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
Harrison, NY
5

Remarkable....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A remarkable amazing place, with everything you could hope for! Spacious, lovely, so much charm.....we were 11 people and it suited us just fine! The owners spared no expense in their lovely home...and were wonderful......
if back in Montfort, there's no doubt we'd stay in this lovely home! Thanks for a great stay!
Cynthia
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

Enchanting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Place is beautiful and owners were most helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and had beautiful views of the countryside. It's a unique setting, comfortable and with a great kitchen--everything we'd hoped for and much more! I highly recommend it. Good location for day trips in the area.
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
Harrison, NY
5

What an amazing experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What can I say but...WOW!!! Beautiful, comfortable, wonderful!!! Gerard and Karen thought of everything that you could EVER need for your stay! They even had numerous umbrellas at the front door for those unexpected rain showers....Gerard drove us to the local restaurant as we were not familiar with the area and just had a long trip from Valbonne. The rooms were large and clean and decorated quite beautifully...the architecture was to die for....there were so many wonderful amenities.....We arrived later than we thought so we were greeted with a wonderful tour, bottles of water and they even allowed us to borrow from their own wine collection as all the stores were closed!!!! Thank you again for a fantastic stay at your glorious chateau!!!
Lisa and Gang
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

June retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our time at the Chateau was exactly what we needed as a relief from our fast paced life. The house was incredible, garden and pool is amazing and the surroundings were beautiful. I recommend the chateau to everyone -- weather family or couple or business group!
Owner's Response: So glad you could get some rest in the beautiful surroundings and enjoy the sites in the area!
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

Unique Château for refrshing holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed about a week in the château: its situation is perfect, up the hill of a small village, with an incredible view over the region. Owners were really helpful and we felt warmly welcomed.
Good pool with shower nearby, possibility to cook pizza outside in a pizza oven, nice place to take melas outside.
The bedrooms were very nicely decorated, with clean bathroom.
The owner knows the region very well and can help you to plan your days out to visit the region: nice villages, olive oil, lavanda, and wine of course!
Strongly recommend :)
Owner's Response: Thanks for your Review of Château Montfort. We hope to welcome you again sometime!
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

Ideale per vacanza di relax in quadro incantevole!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Abbiamo trascorso alcuni giorni molto piacevoli con un gruppo di amici al castello di Montfort: la residenza è veramente incantevole, arredata in stile, ottimamente equipaggiata e può ospitare 12 persone nel massimo confort. Abbiamo apprezzato le belle camere ben arredate, il salotto con un immenso camino, le belle terrazze (una coperta e una sul tetto con una vista imprendibile), la cucina grande con sala da pranzo, il giardino con piscina e la cappella privata!
Montfort si presta bene come punto di partenza per delle belle escursioni turistico, eno/gastronomiche. Ci siamo stati in ottobre, siamo stati sorpresi dal tempo mite e piacevole (abbiamo fatto colazione in terrazza!).
Ci torneremo, probabilmente in primavera o in estate, per trascorrere altri momenti di relax al castello, degustare le specialità eno/gastronomiche della regione ed esplorare ulteriormente i dintorni.
Lorenzo
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

A truly stunning place in a wonderful landscape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This chateau is just wonderful. Its authentic architecture, the lovely floors from true cotto, the spacy rooms ( and bathrooms ) , all tastefully and individually decorated make you feel at home instantly. The owners made sure, that the rooms, as well as the pool were well heated, although the sun during the day permitted outdoor breakfasts and lunches on the terrace with the fantastic view.
This chateau offers something for everybody in a larger group of people ( to avoid the boat syndrome ) : distractions like the swimming pool , the pool table, ping pong, gym equipment, board games, fast WIFI, piano and the fantastic La Cornue stove, which invited the gourmets among us to cook up lovely meals together ( with the wonderful ingredients the area offers ) then to be enjoyed around one of the many large dining tables. The many different out and indoor areas offer the chance to retreat, as well as for everybody to be in '1 spot'. The area itself offers itself to wonderful walks, hiking, bicycle riding, plane gliding, golf, tennis, visiting lovely medieval villages, olive oil mills, wineries, honey production, L'occitance site and of course close by Aix en Provence and Marseilleetc. This is a real serene spot to wind down. The only problem : time flies. The private chapel offers itself to weddings and baptisms. The owners made us feel like real guests, even if paying ( the very fair price ). Thank you. We will for sure be back.
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

Highly recommended for an enjoyable vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This fully refurbished chateau is quite amazing including it's many bedrooms and bathrooms, 3 kitchens, den with billiards table, 2 living rooms and even it's own chapel! It is very large and a bit of a labyrinth to find your way around. The beautiful stone floors and hand-painted tiles have been nicely restored to help maintain the chateau's medieval charm.

We were there for the fall vacation in late October, but local temperatures were still in the low 20s and fine for enjoying the heated pool.

There are many interesting things to do in the area, including wine-tasting, touring the Gorges de Verdon, visiting the L'Occitane factory or taking the short drive down the motorway to the coast to visit Marseille and the beautiful local beaches.

Easily accessed through the airport in Marseille or the TGV station in Aix en Provence, both a little more than 1 hour distance by car.

Geneva, Switzerland
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review, Stephane! You are one of our first renters and it is good to see that youenjoyed the place even out of the Summer heat! I guess the fireplace helped for the cosy atmosphere as well. Next time, pls. tell us you intend to use the pool: we could have pumped up the heat a bit more! Best regards
business
Authentic 16th Century hilltop Château with magnificent view and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p977153
+33 +33 685050937
Montfort Haute-Provence - Sisteron
5

Séjour parfait

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Nous avons passé quelques jours dans ce beau château et sommes tombés sous le charme du lieu et des environs.
Les pièces du château ont du caractère. Elles sont spacieuses, propres et bien équipées.
Les activités au château ne manquent pas: piscine, billard...
Le château est bien situé, à proximité de très beaux sites.
Les propriétaires sont charmants et nous ont donné de bons conseils.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your Review of Château Montfort. We hope to welcome you again sometime!
Helpful votes: 0/1