Kula house rental - House from road
House from road
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kula House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Tranquil and private country setting in beautiful Kula in Upcountry Maui. Property has great ocean and mountain views and a solar heated Endless Lap Pool for lounging and exercising against the current. Don't stay where the tourists and crowds are when you can be in this very private home only 20-25 minutes from Maui's beaches with swimming, windsurfing and kiting. Go the

beach during the day and relax and watch the sunset while you BBQ at night. The climate is warm in the day and cool in the evening (2,000 foot elevation) on the slopes of Mount Haleakala (House of the Sun) .

If you want to go to restaurants/shops, the historic towns of Makawao and Paia are just down the road. Upcountry is fantastic for hiking in Haleakala Crater, mountain biking, riding zip lines, and horseback riding. Come discover the Maui that only the 'akamai' (smart) people know.

Our home is 2,000 sq. ft. with an additional 600 sq. ft. of decks/lanai's - great indoor/outdoor living. It is 4Br/3 Ba and includes a wood fireplace, and living/family/dining rooms. The fourth (4th) bedroom is a bonus room. There is a large yard and the property is surrounded by pastureland.

We live nearby so if there is anything that you might need we can be there very quickly. We invite you to come and enjoy our home. Aloha and hope to see you soon!!

Excellent mountain biking and hiking within minutes of the property.

Keywords: house

More Details
Hide Details

Hi my name is GINGER, and even with my small dog brain, I know that Upcountry is the place to be. My owner's family has lived on Maui since the 1840's and they figured out ages ago that Kula is 'God's Country'. Get away from the hustle and bustle and relax at this beautiful home in cool Upcountry. I give it a solid 'two paws up !!' Hope to see you soon.

32 Reviews of Property 405132 in Kula, Hawaii

Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
average rating of 4.875 based on 32 reviews
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
4

Wonderful Experience

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was an amazing home! This is our third trip to Maui and would never stay anywhere but Upcountry. We enjoyed the relaxing lanai with the rocking chairs. The house was open and the air was fresh. We enjoyed being surrounded by all the birds, cows, chickens and horses. Close enough to enjoy yet far enough away to not have to smell the usual country smell of animals. We enjoyed the recommendations of places to eat and enjoy. The best was being able to go to the beach and enjoy the beach towns but knowing we had a private little secluded local spot to retreat to was wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
Minneapolis, Minnesota
4

It really is: Quiet and peaceful Upcountry

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If you want to stay off the beaten track, away from the busy beachfront Maui experience, I recommend the Kula house. We were awakened by birdsong every morning and most mornings, that million dollar view of West Maui greeted us. For us Minnesotans, the cool nights were great for sleeping. The home is comfortable and large enough that everyone in the family had their own space. There is room in the yard to throw the football around and the pool, while small, was fun and refreshing. It was our first visit to Maui and we were able to get to all the areas of the Island we wanted to see in an hour or less: Haleakala, Lahaina, the aquarium, Big Beach.

Probably our only disappointment was that we were not able to eat suppers on the lanai as we'd hoped because of the bugs. I don't know if it was the time of year, but gnats were everywhere! Not our host's fault, of course. Just something to be aware of. Our hosts were very accommodating and helped right away when we had questions. A relaxing vacation!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
5

Lovely Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Living in Maui, I knew the area I wanted my family to stay in for my mother's 90th birthday. The first week we were on the West side to enjoy the ocean, whale watching, etc. The second week being in Kula allowed us to easily reach activities on the opposite side of the island such as a visit to Paia, and the botanical gardens in Kahului. The house and grounds are well maintained and the house accurately advertised. We did not use the pool because we were experiencing some winter weather. We liked that the bedrooms were split with two on either end of the house for privacy. The two decks were nice for outdoor eating and of course, enjoying the beautiful Maui sunsets. The kitchen is large and well equipped and we appreciated all the spices and condiments available for use. Only problem for my elderly mom was the sinks in the bathrooms would not hold water and she needs to soak her arthritic hands in hot water every day. I would recommended this house and would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
5

Mary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Fantastic spot on Kula, beautiful views, beautiful house, plenty of space for relaxing and entertaining
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
5

Upcountry Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
An excellent, comfortable home with casual, open floor plan. A great a home base to explore the higher country of Maui, and to come back to for great sunsets, quiet and lounging. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
5

Kula Calm...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our week stay at this Kula home was the perfect staging point for some excellent cycling. We summitted Haleakala and did a few rides along the Kula Highway enjoying the scenery and challenging terrain. The home was always a welcome sight after the steep descent to its driveway. We had everything we needed in the well-equipped kitchen and ample vantage points to compare for sunset watching. The Endless Pool provided a welcomed respite from cycling and gave the legs a break all while enjoying a swim on the mountainside right outside the backdoor. Thank you Mark for making our stay so easy and enjoyable!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
kona hawaii
5

Lovely upcountry setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful setting. Very quiet and out of the way of other tourists. Perfect home base for exploring the island. Everyone had a great time and the baby loved the property's cat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
5

Linda423

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a beautiful, large house. There is a wonderful, very large deck in the front to watch sunsets from. It is in a very remote location, perfect if you like peace and quiet. About 30 to 40 minutes to nearest beach. Goats, cows and deer in pasture next door. You could easily have two families stay here. Lots of room and beautiful decor. House has two wings to it. We enjoyed feeding the resident cat. It is about a 10-20 drive to wonderful little towns of Makawao and Paia.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
Washington, DC area
5

The KC Gang's 2013 Vacation

The KC Gang's 2013 Vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was fabulous and we had an excellent time. All of our meals were on the lanai overlooking beautiful Maui. What a view. The house and kitchen had everything we needed and everything was very clean. We had only two very minor complaints - Our daughters found the single beds to be uncomfortable, but the coaches sufficed. The second bedroom (with the queen bed) could have used a fan, as it’s stuffy with the door closed. We enjoyed the area so much that we are inquiring about properties that are for sale in the area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Upcountry Maui - Private, Views & Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p405132vbi
Kula Maui
5

Nice place to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this house, because of the snuggery atmosphere that made us feel like we were at home. Everything was very well maintained and well decorated. Also we loved the view outside as well as the cute cat on the porch. We would highly recommend this house for families and friends, it has lots of space and wonderful scenery.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway