Saugatuck / Douglas house rental - Front of Home, view from dock
Front of Home, view from dock
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms plus bonus bedroom, 4 full baths; sleeps 12

This house has expansive decks and a dock for your boat or jet skiis. The master bedroom is large with it's own fireplace and sitting area as well as a master bath with jet and steam shower. The other 2 bedrooms also have attached bathrooms. One with a second steam shower. We converted the exercise room into a bonus bedroom with queen bed and TV. It is right across from the 4th bathroom which has a whirlpool tub and 2 person sauna. The open kitchen includes stainless appliances including a 5 burner gas stove top and dishwasher drawers. The living room is perfect for entertaining with a wet bar with icemaker and wine fridge. There is also a ping pong table, pool table and dart board. The decks are also perfect for entertaining with plenty of seating, a grill, hot tub and outstanding views of the water.

It is located right on Silver Lake which connects to Kalamazoo Lake and goes out to Lake Michigan. Enjoy the view from your deck, hot tub or the dock. It includes 2 Kayaks to enjoy the natural beauty of the lake and rivers. It also has a fire pit for enjoying the evenings. The lake is great for watersports as well as fishing. The house is about 1.5 miles from downtown Saugatuck. Paddle down to the dingy dock where you can tie up and walk around town or call the Interurban and be picked up and dropped off for $1 if you don't feel like driving or walking.

Planning a wedding, family reunion or friends get away weekend,....If you need more room, there is also a 2 bedroom, 1 bathrrom guest apartment on this property that is also available for rent. It is property #913489.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 976704 in Saugatuck / Douglas, Michigan

Luxury Home On The Lake
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

perfect relaxing getaway destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
A small group of us decided to stay at this property for a new years eve getaway. We couldn't have asked for more. The house was so comfortable, clean, spacious. The owner left a manual for us explaining how to use the tvs, sauna, hot tube etc. which was very helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better mini-vacation. We definitely plan on coming back here in the summer.
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
St. Joseph, MI
5

Amazing place, perfect location, we want to come back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I rented this house for a girls' weekend getaway and we had a blast. The house is located right on the water, with a gorgeous setting for sitting out on the deck in the morning or throughout the day to relax. The place is very clean, beds are comfortable, and all of the bathrooms are updated with steam showers. The home is set up for a great weekend of hanging out - with the fire pits, docks for fishing, pool / ping pong table and exercise equipment. We did not use the hot tub, but I'm sure it would have been great. The owners live right next door and are very helpful - but not intrusive. He came over immediately when we needed help getting the electronics to work - and gave us a full training session on how to use everything. The internet didn't work when we first got there, and in the morning he was over hooking up a new modem. We could not have had a more relaxing, fun time and we would certainly book this property again... maybe next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a great house. Perfect for large groups and there are so many perks that come with it. The owners even brought over extra kayaks for us. It has everything you need and lots of sleeping room. It sleeps 8 in beds, 2 on a futon, and 2 on the large couch. Plus there are 4 really nice full bathrooms. It also has 2 hot tubs, which is great for large groups. The kitchen is perfect for cooking large meals,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely rent again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

A wonderful place - don't hesitate.

A wonderful place - don't hesitate.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We loved it. We arrived in time to meet the caretakers who were very helpful. We didn't know how to work some of the features in the house and they were very patient with us. They even checked with us later to make sure we were OK. Just really good people. The place was spotless and had more gadgets and supplies than we could ever have used. The sauna, massage chair and steam shower were fantastic. Like going to a spa! We had family in for lunch and gathered around the kitchen for a nice meal. No problems with seating, the plates and dishes and glasses were all there... and much more. They've thought of everything. There are more decks than you could use and it was SO peaceful. Lots of wildlife yet only a few minutes from town if you need something. Meals can be delivered. We had planned on doing some shopping while we were there but we never really left the place! Even the dog loved it! We are so happy we went and plan to return.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
3

Nice house.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house was nice and clean. Although there were a couple things I wish I had known prior to booking this place:

- There was construction going on right next door to this house which made the trip not as relaxing as I was hoping for.

- There is another rental unit attached IN this house. This means that some of the common grounds are delegated to the other unit within the house (2 kayaks, a dock, some of the bonfire spaces, etc.) and this makes the house not as private as expected.

Those were my two main issues. Here are some of my pros and cons:

Pros:
+ 4 bathrooms is very useful for large groups of people.
+ The house was clean and had a lot of useful kitchen appliances, dishes, etc.
+ The electric scooter in the garage was fun.
+ The kayaks and large deck were nice.

Cons:
- The exercise equipment in the master bedroom seems unnecessary and obstructs the view of the lake from the windows.
- There are no explanations of how to operate a lot of the amenities in the house which is frustrated when you are left guessing.
- The fireplace in the living room does not work as far as we could figure out.
- Customer service was a little off. Not bad, just not particularly friendly. I never met the owners of the property. I called them to try to figure out how to use the sauna and the man on the phone seemed semi-helpful but also a bit apathetic. We were also having problems with the stereo in the house to which he said there was an iPod dock, which we later found out there wasn't. (So if you're staying there bring your own 1/8th inch cable).
-Their plates are not microwaveable. They get extremely hot if you microwave anything.
-The house is also haunted. Ok just kidding I made that part up. The rest is all true.
Owner's Response: I’m glad you enjoyed your vacation! Sorry, I didn’t know about the construction. The neighbors put on a deck. It only took them a few days to do it unfortunately; it was when you were staying. That is all the construction that they have planned so this should not be an issue in the future. Just to be clear, the house has its own private hot tub, bonfire pit, dock and kayaks. The guest unit also has its own hot tub, bonfire pit, dock and kayaks. We did move the exercise equipment from the exercise room to make it into a 4th bedroom. Many guests liked this to give them a 4th bonus bedroom with bath. We thought about moving the equipment to the garage but, many guests have also enjoyed using the equipment. There should have been a book in the living room which explains how to use the hot tub, Jacuzzi tub, steam showers, fireplaces, stereo and TV. The fireplace does work. I wish you had asked how to operate it when you called. We are always happy to come out and get something working if you can’t figure it out. For future renters, when you call, if you don’t understand the explanation or can’t get it to work, please feel free to call back. Sorry, we were not trying to be unfriendly, we just try to stay out of your way so you can enjoy your vacation but, we are always happy to help if needed. There should be an iPod dock – unless someone took that, I’ll certainly check. As far as the plates, we have always used the plates to microwave, they are supposed to be microwave safe.

Also, another update to this, we added signs for the path to the guest unit's beach so the guest unit is very separate from the main house. It has its own deck with hot tub. As well as its own fire pit, beach and dock and it is all clearly marked.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Great Getaway House!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A group of 8 of us made our way to Saugatuck mid-June for a wedding weekend, and we loved our choice to stay at this house. The weekend got off to a bit of a rough start with a maintenance issue, but the owner was able to be contacted quickly, and the issue was fixed within hours without impeding our weekend. We ended up not being able to use one shower, but with three others available, it made no difference to us. Even with that little hiccup, the weekend went great. We used the bonfire pit and hot tub every night, enjoyed tasty beverages on the deck, and found it impossible to get bored with all the entertainment of ping pong, darts, and pool available. A lounge in the hammocks was relaxing, the ice machine was extremely convenient, and the living room area is huge! There was so much space, inviting a handful more friends that were in town over for a cookout was a breeze. I did a lot of research for houses in the Saugatuck area, and I couldn't have been happier with my choice. We hope to be invited back perhaps as early as next summer as everyone that saw the house wants to go back, and for even longer next time!

Thanks again for letting us use your house! We really had a great time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Morton, IL
5

Beautiful Home, Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This home is in the most beautiful setting! It's in a quiet and relaxing location, but still close to the Saugatuck/Douglas town centers. The house is very clean and fully loaded with updated appliances, kayaks, hot tub, exercise equipment, and an amazing massage chair. My friends and I had a great weekend staying here. I would book this lake house again without hesitation. Thanks for sharing your home with us!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Pictures does not do justice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This house is so unique in that it has 4 bedrooms, each with a king or queen bed and its own bathroom. We are 9 adults, 1 child and 4 small dogs. Everyone slept comfortably in their own large bedroom. We have looked all over midwest for a lake house that even comes close to this and there just isn't one. The view is gorgeous and is just icing on the cake. There was so much to do in the house that no one took out the laptops they brought. The 4 kayaks & canoes, billiard/ping-pong table, dart boards, hammocks, hot tub, sauna, 2 bonfire area, 2 gas grills and enourmous multiple decks were unbeatable! Also the lake house is so close to downtown Saugatuck and Douglas that you can take the kayaks to the downtown. We are already planning our next trip come next season, and this is definitely the house we will be in! Everyone loved the lake house, it is clean and comfortable in all ways. Owners were very professional and we felt very welcome. We highly recommend it!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Home On The Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p976704
+1 6168363652
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Awesome Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We didn't leave the entire weekend except to go to the grocery store. There is so much to do in this house. The beds are very comfortable. We cooked on the 3 outdoor grills and in the amazing kitchen, there is also an ice machine and bar for drinks. We went kayaking, hot tubbing, sauna, layed out in the sun, had a bon fire every night, played ping pong, darts, pool and listened to music. We didn't even watch TV the entire time however there where so many channels. It was the most relaxing weekend I can remember having in a long time! We didn't want to leave!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2