Submitted: September 15, 2012
Stayed: September 2012
The house was nice and clean. Although there were a couple things I wish I had known prior to booking this place:
- There was construction going on right next door to this house which made the trip not as relaxing as I was hoping for.
- There is another rental unit attached IN this house. This means that some of the common grounds are delegated to the other unit within the house (2 kayaks, a dock, some of the bonfire spaces, etc.) and this makes the house not as private as expected.
Those were my two main issues. Here are some of my pros and cons:
+ 4 bathrooms is very useful for large groups of people.
+ The house was clean and had a lot of useful kitchen appliances, dishes, etc.
+ The electric scooter in the garage was fun.
+ The kayaks and large deck were nice.
- The exercise equipment in the master bedroom seems unnecessary and obstructs the view of the lake from the windows.
- There are no explanations of how to operate a lot of the amenities in the house which is frustrated when you are left guessing.
- The fireplace in the living room does not work as far as we could figure out.
- Customer service was a little off. Not bad, just not particularly friendly. I never met the owners of the property. I called them to try to figure out how to use the sauna and the man on the phone seemed semi-helpful but also a bit apathetic. We were also having problems with the stereo in the house to which he said there was an iPod dock, which we later found out there wasn't. (So if you're staying there bring your own 1/8th inch cable).
-Their plates are not microwaveable. They get extremely hot if you microwave anything.
-The house is also haunted. Ok just kidding I made that part up. The rest is all true.
Owner's Response: I’m glad you enjoyed your vacation! Sorry, I didn’t know about the construction. The neighbors put on a deck. It only took them a few days to do it unfortunately; it was when you were staying. That is all the construction that they have planned so this should not be an issue in the future. Just to be clear, the house has its own private hot tub, bonfire pit, dock and kayaks. The guest unit also has its own hot tub, bonfire pit, dock and kayaks. We did move the exercise equipment from the exercise room to make it into a 4th bedroom. Many guests liked this to give them a 4th bonus bedroom with bath. We thought about moving the equipment to the garage but, many guests have also enjoyed using the equipment. There should have been a book in the living room which explains how to use the hot tub, Jacuzzi tub, steam showers, fireplaces, stereo and TV. The fireplace does work. I wish you had asked how to operate it when you called. We are always happy to come out and get something working if you can’t figure it out. For future renters, when you call, if you don’t understand the explanation or can’t get it to work, please feel free to call back. Sorry, we were not trying to be unfriendly, we just try to stay out of your way so you can enjoy your vacation but, we are always happy to help if needed. There should be an iPod dock – unless someone took that, I’ll certainly check. As far as the plates, we have always used the plates to microwave, they are supposed to be microwave safe.
Did you find this review helpful?