Carmel house rental - Welcome to Jacks Peak Retreat
Welcome to Jacks Peak Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Carmel House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-16)

Our special and spacious five-bed / five-bath ranch-style home is located on five-acres in the estate area of Carmel commonly known as Jacks Peak. Although secluded and quiet, it is conveniently and centrally situated between Carmel and Monterey. You will be just minutes from anywhere on the entire Monterey Peninsula, yet surrounded by majestic oak and pine trees, with a huge yard in which to play.

Built in the 40’s, remodeled in the 60’s and recently updated, this home is perfect for family vacations, corporate retreats, and other special occasions. It is a wonderful place to gather for a family reunion, anniversary or important birthday celebration.

If you are interested please be aware that our property, while centrally located, is surrounded by five-acre estates with neighbors who appreciate this unique natural setting. In consideration of our neighbors, we have limits on the size and nature of parties, loud music or noisy activities (especially outside) and on anything that may disrupt the neighborhood. The property is not a venue for large parties or events.

All five bedrooms have queen beds and each bedroom has its own bathroom with shower. The house sleeps 10 comfortably. There is ample floor space and we have a couple of airbeds and mats to accommodate more, especially children, if needed.

Amenities include a cozy hot tub for two on a large deck off the master bedroom, with a custom-built in-ground hot tub for larger groups just a few steps away. Croquet, basketball, badminton, volleyball, bocce ball and Frisbee equipment are all located on-site and there is plenty room to play. There is a large front lawn that is seasonally green when rain is available. There is also a large brick patio with tables, chairs and fireplace that can be used in the winter. No outside fires are permitted during fire season (generally April - Nov).

Both the large living room and master bedroom have fireplaces. The living room has a vintage piano, two sofas, two club chairs, a corner TV and stereo. The French doors in the living room open onto a welcoming, bright, brick-floor enclosed Lanai with skylights.

The dining room has a table that is made for eight but will easily seat 10. Many a family gathering has led to improvised (yet cramped) seating for up to 14. French doors lead to a large backyard deck, which features a large table with six chairs, a small table with two chairs, a built-in bench and two lounge chairs. There is a five-burner gas grill and two propane heaters.

Off the dining room is a modest fully stocked kitchen with a large work island and windows to the wooded backyard. There is also a kitchen nook (host to many beautiful sunrises), with a small dining table, bench and four chairs.

The four bedrooms on the main floor, the living room, dining room, and hallways all feature oak hardwood floors. The kitchen floor is refinished fir. Area rugs are mostly oriental. Each bedroom has an attached bathroom, with shower.

The daylight downstairs has recently been renovated with new carpet and tile. It features a large, bright bedroom with a built-in desk and views of the garden, a bathroom, small 11 X 13 play area and laundry facilities.

Keywords: House, family

More Details
Hide Details

34 Reviews of Property 301619 in Carmel, California

Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
average rating of 4.969697 based on 34 reviews
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
San Jose
5

Quite simply, a really great place to get together with friends!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I just looked at the last several reviews. They are all 5 stars with good reason. Jack's Peak really is a wonderful place.
Our get together included 5 couples who have been friends for decades. Everyone raved about how perfect the house was. Other than a terrible Super Bowl that didn't include our team (the 49ers), everything else was awesome.
Jack's Peak is great.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

A wonderful setting for our family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This was a great experience. The house exceeded our expectations and covered all our needs. Our group included 7 adults and 7 children, ages 3 to 13. The owners provided very thoughful instructions for all the amenities and everything was in good shape and perfect working conditions. The location is superb, in the middle of the woods but also a few minutes away from all necessary stores (Whole Foods!). Watching the birds in the drinking fountains on the back deck was certainly something to remember. We would go back for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

WOW Moment!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I had loved the pictures of this house, they seemed to speak to me, my kids as well. "Get it mom it is so like you they said." As soon as I opened the front door I was not disappointed! I had a WOW moment right there in the family room!! I loved the whole thing, the old books and pictures, old wall paper, old house, toys for adults and children, records and the record player, the fire place complete with wood and starter. Beautiful location, deer, owls, quail, squirrels, harks, you can even hear the seals at the beach. The mall is right around the corner. I would come back in a heart beat! Thank you so much!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Great setting for our family reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We looked at several different properties on VRBO to hold our family reunion of five siblings and spouses and are so glad we chose this home! It was perfect for our needs--we cooked in for all our meals, spent some quality time reminiscing over old photos and playing board games at the large dining table, relaxed on the spacious deck (the heaters made it possible to use the deck well into the evening!), and appreciated that each bedroom has its own bathroom.

The property has so many wonderful areas to explore and was perfect for a daytime or evening game of "extreme" bocce. We were visited daily by a mommy deer and her baby and enjoyed the natural setting and peace the location has to offer with several private sitting areas to choose from as well. We could tell this home has been lived in by a very loving family (many great photos, and we loved the markings of various children's and maybe grandchildren's heights on the inside cupboard in the kitchen!)

The property is also conveniently located near golf, 17 mile drive, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row, and we enjoyed all those during our stay.

I would highly recommend this home and may be returning at some point with some friends for a couple's getaway. David and Patti were excellent hosts!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Seattle
5

It's hard to leave this house

It's hard to leave this house
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you for making our family reunion such a success! From the fireplace prepared and ready for a crackling fire to the beautifully kept grounds and deck areas. Our group enjoyed every nook and cranny...the hot tubs, croquet on the lawn, walking paths, downstairs game room and more. The place was so well set up for a big family group that it was hard to leave...literally...some never ventured to the beach, wharf or town. It was THAT comfortable. Thanks for helping us make such positive and important memories as we came together to celebrate a milestone 80th birthday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
california
4

Monterey at your own pace

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I have stayed at a few homes in Monterey and this ranks up there as one of the favorites. The booking process was so smooth with the Owner, and everything was spelled out very efficiently. The house is comfortable. We had four families with kids, and everyone got their own room. Each room has their own bathroom which is very nice for the little ones. I thought the home felt homey and one of my friends said it felt very spiritual. While I was there it surely felt like home to me. Plenty of space, dining room, bbq deck area, 5-10 minutes drives to Monterey, 17 mile drive, Whole Foods, markets, stores, gas station while also secluded in the hills. I would recommend it if you have a group of families who like to gather around the family room and just enjoy each others' company.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Tulsa, OK
5

Very nice home with great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The other excellent reviews are generally accurate. Overall this is an excellent property, and I highly recommend it. Two issues that might impact others: (1) Cleaning is not great. We dropped a book behind a dresser in the main bedroom, and found many dustballs when we moved the dresser. Overall cleanliness is good, not great. (2) Kitchen photos are old - cabinets and counter tops much more worn than shown in photos.

We used the property during the August Auto week. We ran a couple of cars at Laguna Seca, and the location was terrific for this. Able to use "back" gate & miss much of the traffic. Ladies liked it for convenience yo Monterey.

Again, highly recommended..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dust balls behind large dresser: We pride ourselves on thorough cleanings between each guest. But we obviously missed those dust balls before their visit. We've reinforced our cleaning checklist and process to make sure we regularly get into nooks and crannies.

Worn kitchen cabinets: The kitchen photo was taken in the spring of 2011 after the installation of new appliances. There is some wear and tear on the kitchen surfaces and in general around the house despite much painting and recent upgrades. This is a family home, well lived in, filled with memories and used to raise a family of five children. It's condition and character will provide a great backdrop for the many memories that will be made by our guests, their families and friends.
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Culver, IN.
5

The Perfect Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This place is wonderful! The pride of the owner shows the moment you drive onto the 5 acre property. The welcoming old tree in the front yard and all of the beautiful flowers draw you in immediately. Inside you will find it as pictured on the website only better, being very comfortable and "homey". Everything you need is here, including great beds and a very well stocked kitchen. We had an absolutely wonderful time here with my boyfriend's family. It was the first time they had all been together to stay in one house for a very long time, and it was great. We had most of our meals at the house, having friends come to join us. Always plenty of room with the spacious dining room area and the very cute kitchen nook. We all enjoyed watching the many deer that were in the yard most of the day. If you are looking for a large quiet comfortable beautiful place to stay, this will work for you. It certainly did for us and if we ever have the opportunity to stay here again, we sure will.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Cleveland, Mississippi
5

Fantastic Family Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I cannot begin to say enough about this wonderful home. Our family of seven was looking for the perfect location to get together and celebrate my birthday. We all love the wonderful coast of California and so the search began. The minute I came upon Jacks's Peak, I knew it was for us. Every bedroom had its own bath, it was close to everywhere we wanted to go and afforded us the privacy of our very own deck, patios, and hot tubs. What else could you ask for?? David and Patti were so accomodating and once you set foot on the property, you realize this is truly a "home" with the warmth and beauty of a place that has been a real treasure to this family. How fortunate for us that they have decided to share it. We became very attached to the deer that come up into the yard every morning and evening......they had no fear of us which was really nice. We all decided that we would go back and would not even consider another place. Treat yourself and spend your time here....I promise you will never regret it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Five Acre Retreat, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p301619vb
(831) 275-0891 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
La Habra CA
5

We came back for another full week with our kids and grandchildren (6 mos - 21)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We repeated all the things we did the first time that were fun but STILL found more to do. Neat "extras" by the owners had been added showing they care about our experience (new TV's, wrapped toilet paper :), visual effects, greeting on message board when we arrived, some "goodies" as treats to get us started and many more things (just can't remember right now but we were impressed!!)

Owners totally available for little questions via phone (ah, remembered another one - bran new excellent ping pong table with plenty of new balls and good paddles) and come by to show us stuff if we need help.

So fun seeing the bucks, does and fawn close up several times a day. Outdoor Heaters like at restaurants. Bird baths (birds used to us so sit very close and watch them. Hiking on their property you feel "out in the woods". So nice you don't have to wash your towels and linens or "scrub up" the place when you're done. Just do normal pick up and vamoose.

Horseshoes was lots of fun. We had a "olympics day" well, not exactly....2 teams carry the egg on spoon, 1/2 cup of H20 to fill carafe, bean bag toss, Shortened version (close up) of horseshoes, potato bag race, balloon toss, etc.

It is SILENT there. Love it. Beds and pillows all very comfortable. No one disliked them. Rooms large and everyone can "get away" to be alone easily. In their room or outside. Just about 2 miles down the hill is the Del Monte center with Whole Foods, Century Theatres, plenty of restaurants and Starbucks. We did our bulk shopping at Costco and Trader Joes in another location nearby.

Never wonder where to put away things. Little "pictures" of what goes where on each cupboard door inside it :)

Go.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1