Idaho Springs cabin rental - The cabin through the trees...
The cabin through the trees...
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Idaho Springs Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

Do reviews tell it all? We think so, especially since so many of our guests have stayed at many vacation rentals, and say that ours is THE best! Check them out under 'Reviews'...

Looking for the perfect weekend retreat less than an hour from Denver, but surrounded by the great outdoors? Our stream-side home at St. Mary's Glacier has it all.

Romance? The sound of the creek just yards away fills the home from almost every window; the great room with a vaulted paneled ceiling and windows filling the entire southern wall with a view of the stream below and Mt. Evans in the distance; a fireplace nestled in a stone hearth; and warm touches everywhere - knit throws to wrap up in, soft lighting, natural hickory floors, paneled ceilings in every room, and windows that open up your view to the great outdoors.

Nature? Stroll through our five acres with our guidebooks and identify the flora and fauna, or gather your own kindling for that evening's fire. Our property goes north to the road that borders Lake Quivera - a perfect early morning stroll to catch the sunrise while waiting for your coffee to brew. From our deck (and sometimes, ON our deck) I've seen moose, deer, coyote, fox, bear, beaver, muskrat as well as 48 different species of birds. We keep food in stock for the feeders so you'll have a chance to view them too.

Outdoor adventure? We'll show you the nearby hiking trails; we've got two pairs of snowshoes, hiking sticks and that extra pair of thick gloves. We'll show you where you can find the scree and timber brought down by an avalanche; where flocks of bluebirds return every March just as the pasque flowers begin to bloom. And challenge you to find the small unmarked gravesite up on Yankee Hill.

A retreat for the mind and heart? We have unusual books on almost every subject - find an old favorite or make a new discovery. We have a computerized telescope - take it down to our 'star field' and navigate your way around the incredible mountain sky far away from city lights and pollution.

And finally, we've tried to think of the things that will make your visit perfect...there's a large propane grill on the upper level deck; the TV is in it's own room on the entry level so the sports fanatics don't intrude on those upstairs contemplating nature. Lots of room for privacy, with the TV room, bedroom and bath on entry level; the great room, 2nd bedroom, 2nd bath, kitchen and dining area on the middle level, and the loft above it all (perfect place for the kids to camp in the evening). We've stocked the kitchen with all the usual things and then some, and the usual first aid items are also complemented with icy hot patches and insect repellent.

We'll have lots of brochures on hand - to help you find the perfect place to go antiquing or dining or where to explore the unique recreation that the local towns provide, as well as a large map of the St. Mary's area. And lots of firewood stockpiled for the evenings. Remember - St. Mary's - it's more than just the glacier!

^Just 15 minutes from Idaho Springs (restaurants, Safeway & liquor store, white water rafting, gold mine tours, antiquing)

^Quick access to skiing Loveland, A Basin & Echo Mountain - no tunnel!!!

^45 minutes from Metro Denver

^20 miles to Georgetown - ride the Georgetown Loop Historic Railroad or visit the HoteldeParis Museum. Or visit the many shops on 6th Street.

^Just 23 miles to Central City - world famous for the performances at its Opera House and Victorian Home Tours long before it became a Front Range gambling mecca

VIEW MORE PHOTOS & DESCRIPTIONS ON OUR WEBSITE - Scroll down for web address listed just below the calendar tab.

Keywords: Front Range Colorado cabin, retreat, chalet, lake and stream, fishing, hiking in National Forest, nearby skiing, mountain views.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband John and I retired in 2009, leaving us more time to spend training our dogs (German Shorthaired Pointers), more time for gardening, and more time to kick back at our home up at St. Mary's. Add three wonderful young grandkids to the mix, and we are busy folks indeed! In our book collection at the mountain house, you'll see what eclectic interests we have...Zen, nature, all things political (well, that's John's interest anyway), writing, memoirs and biographies, interior design and decorating, and cooking (again, that's John's baliwick). John is a sports fanatic and my counterpoint to his TV watching is to gaze for hours out the windows, tuning in to the magical life of the forest and the creatures that inhabit it. And it is now my personal passion to enable you to reconnect with whatever is important to you - a budding photography or writing career, the beauty of nature, the challenge of being physically fit, or reconnecting/connecting with that special person in your life. Join us at Saudade for a renewal of the spirit...

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1998

Our busy lives in Boulder cried out for a retreat that we could access within an hour's drive, yet a place where we could truly feel 'away from it all'. Having spent summers with my grandparents on a lake in south Jersey, being close to water was a must. For with water, comes wildlife, and that sense of peace that lets the soul be nurtured by Wallace Stegner's 'all the little live things'...

Whether you are in the mood for the adventurous two hour hike around the back bowl of St. Mary's Glacier, or a stroll on the acres around the house taking nature photographs, there is something here for every mood. Each June we stock the trout pond just beyond the bedroom window. A year round underground spring bubbles to the surface on the hillside below the house; explore where the beaver dam has eroded and now native grasses are re-established along the stream bed. And on a windy night, the outdoor lights illuminate the Engleman Spruce swaying just beyond the deck, creating the illusion of a ship plowing through ocean waves. Lie in bed at night listening to the sound of rushing water, heard year round until the banks of snow completely cover the stream bed...and then the sound is replaced by the winter winds high in the treetops. Open up your senses and feel your spirit soar...

42 Reviews of Property 382672 in Idaho Springs, Colorado

Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
average rating of 5.0 based on 42 reviews
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
5

Hoping to return!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This was an excellent vacation home. The owners were personable and made our family feel welcome! We wanted something that would provide a winter get-away and we got that! From feeding the birds and foxes to beautiful snowfalls and privacy, we enjoyed everything about the property! We recommend this property for hikers and as a private get-away, and hope to return in the summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
5

Orrin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I do not have the words to even begin to express how wonderful this getaway cabin is. Based on the location and condition of the cabin alone this place deserves 5/5 stars. But that is just the beginning....

The owner goes above and beyond to ensure a perfect stay. From the bottle of wine that welcomes you upon arrival to the Grand Room all the way to the fireplace ready to be lit with ease, the owner has thought of EVERYTHING you could ever think of wanting in a great escape.

If you are like me you are skeptical of reviews that give an perfect score on a finite scale. This perfect package simply breaks that scale so that 5 stars simply is not enough. This is by far the best deal money can buy. I can guarantee that you will not leave disappointed, and I can also promise you that you'll be planning your next trip back before you even leave the cabin.

This place is a steal and you are missing out if you do not seize the opportunity to reserve your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, Orrin, I am truly humbled. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
Topeka, KS
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Wow! What a beautiful cabin! The owner was absolutely wonderful to work with- from the precise directions to the cabin to directions on where and how to work everything in the home, even a (well) stocked kitchen and bath! There are so many great things I could say about this place but one thing for sure- stay here. You will not be disappointed. We had five adults and three kids (7, 5, & 5) and we had plenty of room to enjoy our 7 days. The glacier is beautiful. I would love to see the property in the summer (good excuse to come back!!). It's clear the owners love the home and it shows in the way they treat their guests. She even wanted me to let her know when we made it home (8 hrs away) since we were going through rough weather. We will never forget this trip. Thanks again for allowing us to make some great memories!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
From research, to planning to actually being in this little slice of heaven, I could not have been more pleased with my experience, all around. The owner was a pleasure to work with and the home, property and amenities the best I've had in a home vacation rental. I could not have been more pleased with my get-away and got what I needed - a solid recharge!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
5

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband, daughter, and I just spent this past weekend at this cabin and had the most wonderful time. The owners thought of every comfort possible to make our stay absolutely perfect. The cabin was very clean and fully furnished with books in every corner, games, movies, firewood, bird and trout food, along with a killer view. The owners somehow even managed to convince the wildlife of birds, chipmunks, and raccoons to entertain us throughout the day and evening hours. I cannot remember the last time I felt this relaxed. The property, their wildlife sanctuary, was so beautiful. We definitely want to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
Wichita, KS
5

Awesome romantic getaway! Beautiful, convenient location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We (me, my wife, and two GSDs) drove to Idaho Springs (IS) from Wichita-left a bit later than we would have liked which put us getting to the cabin just before dark. A cold front pushed through Friday and the wind was relentless between the prairie and the mountains. It was snowing, cold and the wind was still blowing when we pulled in. The directions were good. We got settled in at the cabin--the fire was set up and ready to go! As an aside, this is the best fireplace ever-no damper to deal with, no smoke, and it provided great heat. The spruce is an aromatic, so it made the cabin smell like Christmas. Poor planning on my part required me to drive back to IS (20 minutes) to get groceries from Safeway (very nice and not overpriced with CJ's shopper reward card#). It's about 20 minutes one-way to get to civilization but the scenery was beautiful. Make sure you've got plenty of gas before you head up the mountain!

The main living area was the perfect size for the two of us and the dogs. I think you could easily be comfortable with another couple-we never used the upsairs sitting area and only briefly used the tv room downstairs. The queen bed was super-comfy. The cabin was very quiet after the wind died down. We brought our own pillows and robes, but there was no need. The bathtub was big enough for two and we didn't run out of hot water. The kitchen was great; nice SS appliances (especially liked the cute little Bosch dishwater) and lots of staples like PB&J, sugar, salt & pepper, etc. Loved the copper pots and pans! It's a good thing the cabin was so nice, because the weather definitely wasn't (22F for a high on Sat)! We stayed inside all day Saturday and enjoyed the fireplace, each other's company, pretty trees, the dogs and the many birds, squirrels, and chipmunks that like to eat on the deck. Saturday had to be the most relaxing day I've had in twenty years. After things cleared up Sunday morning, the view off the deck was simply breathtaking. We were able to hike up to the glacier lake with the pups on Sunday (sunny, high 45F but much colder and windier at the top). Dogs LOVED the cabin & glacier. Sunday afternoon we headed to the outlets in Silverthorne (1hr drive over) and spent some time in downtown IS. We ate take out from BeauJo's in IS twice because it was sooo good, but other than that we ate at the cabin. Checkout was easy. Everything about the cabin and the owner was A+! We would not hesitate to stay again and would recommend it to friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great Honeymoon!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
As we begin booking for the 2014 Summer season, wanted to post this review from one of this summer's honeymoon couples, taken from our guest book up at the cabin: "We cannot thank you enough for an amazing honeymoon. The cabin felt like the perfect sanctuary, we felt like were were completely secluded from everyone and thoroughly enjoyed all the beautiful surroundings. We loved just sitting outside on the deck and reading books together - it was so peaceful with the sound of the creek. Birdwatchng had to be one of our favorite things, especially watching the hummingbirds. And it was also nice to be so close to Idaho Springs. There were many great restauants we ate at this week. Thank you for extending your home to us! We would love to come back again!"
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
Chappell hill tx
5

Perfect Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
After weeks of waiting to get to the mountains, this cabin was perfect! My husband and I stay at a number of rentals each year, and this one is definitely one to go back to again. The owners have made every effort to make sure you enjoy their place as much as they do. That alone makes the stay exceptional. The cabin was so comfortable, the surroundings perfect, and so much information for activities, places to shop, and eat were provided. The owners thought of everything. I feel blessed to have found this "jewel" and hope to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So pleased that you and Carl had the perfect vacation - and that you finally got to cross 'seeing a moose' off your bucket list! It was praise indeed to read your comment in our guest book, "We've stayed in many rental vacation homes or even those of acquaintances - this has been the best." And in your comments there you also noted that you were impressed by our desire for visitors to have an exceptional stay. That really does sum up what drives so many of the things we do, whether it's having lots of firewood stacked and ready, having blankets and towels for your furry pal to use, or just having a full assortment of spices so that home cooked meal is more affordable. We look forward to having you back!
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
Frisco, TX
5

The Perfect Summer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is our second year visiting St. Mary's Glacier and this property. It was absolutely wonderful...so much so, that we have scheduled to visit next summer, as well. The owners are wonderful and everything is "as advertised." We give it a 5-star rating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Skip and Toni - it was so wonderful having you back this year, and already looking forward to next year's visit. I did want to share some of the comments you put in the guest book, as you highlighted so well some of the many things to do in our area. You wrote: We had lots of company this year and the cabin worked perfectly. Our youngest daughter came first. She's 27 and we enjoyed rafting Clear Creek, ziplining, biking from Vail Pass to Fresco, hiking and shopping in Silverthorne. The oldest daughter and grandsons 4 and 7 also got to come for a week. We went to the Denver Zoo, Dinosaur Ridge and Copper Mountain, although the best part was probably taking them fishing up at the lake and on a hike to the glacier...their little legs made it all the way up! Also had friends from Denver who had wondered how we could be away from home for so long, but once they saw Saudade they understood!
business
Stream-Side Mountain Cabin on Five Acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p382672vb
720-470-2759
Idaho Springs Front Range Colorado
St. Louis, MO
5

Beautiful Cabin and Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had never been to Colorado or stayed in a cabin before, and this home exceeded our expectations by far. The cabin is large and beautiful, but with a personal touch. We had four adults and a black lab and had plenty of space. I loved the way the cabin was decorated and all the little extras to make our stay enjoyable! We used the walking sticks and snow shoes to hike in the snow, and the pan to look for gold in the stream. We especially enjoyed the wildlife - the birds were amazing to watch and we loved seeing the neighborhood fox each morning! Nearby Idaho Springs is an adorable town with several great restaurants - We enjoyed Tommyknocker's, Main Street and Azteca. Overall this was just the perfect place to stay and we really appreciate CJ and John for sharing their wonderful home with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway