Lower Haight apartment rental - Front of the house. Apartment on garden level.
Front of the house. Apartment on garden level.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Lower Haight Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2 Maximum

A great location for the budget conscience.

This apartment is for 2 people maximum.

Charming 1 bedroom garden/in law apartment. Next to Duboce Park on a cul de sac.

Small outdoor space in front of apartment.

The apartment is decorated with a combination of vintage and new furniture.

Centrally located. Close and walking distance to Castro, Lower Haight, Haight Ashbury, Hayes Valley and Mission Districts.

Near public transport, N Judah and Haight Street buses. K, M, L and T lines 7 min walk. 3 stops on train N,K, L, M to central downtown/Union Square.

Shopping and restaurants nearby.

This apartment is for 2 guests maximum.

There is no fold out sofa for sleeping.

This is an inlay unit with low ceilings.

I'm a San Franciscan living in NYC.

Lesa Herrera purchased this apartment in 1999

Budget travelers rejoice!

Unique, safe, quiet, central location.

22 Reviews of Property 975353 in Lower Haight, California

Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
average rating of 4.409091 based on 22 reviews
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
4

Location! Location! Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We could not have asked for a better location. Our stay was for 5 nights. Carmelita is so close to everything - Haight St - Golden Gate Park -and if it isn't within walking distance the public transportation system is so easy! Don't be afraid of the buses-the drivers are so courteous & helpful-seniors ride for only 75 cents & you transfer free! Leesa has provided lots of information about local restaurants & shopping - Safeway and Whole Foods are only 5 to 6 blocks away.
The apartment is very cozy & comfortable. Everything we needed was there-top of the line appliances, big fluffy towels, even olive oil. There were only a couple of things that kept us from being able to rate this a five star stay. The bed is a Tempurpedic matttress but the foundation is terrible - it creaks loudly every time you move-making for interrupted sleep and backaches. We would also like to say something about the claw-foot tub. We know that the description of the apartment mentioned that the tub was difficult and slippery and we did expect that. But the only thing that was provided to keep from slipping in the tub were some soft plastic suction cup "flowers" that stuck in the tub until you ran water in the shower-then the "flowers" floated loose from the tub and were more dangerous than nothing at all! We would like to suggest placing some "permanently adhered" decals on the tub bottom. These would stay in place and not float. We did solve the problem somewhat by wetting down a large towel & letting it lay in the bottom of the tub. Kind of messy but as long as we stood on the towel we felt relatively safe. Safety first!
Overall, the property is perfect - for a couple or single - a weekend or more.
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

What a great little place in a great area!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The location of this place was PERFECT!
It is far enough from the noise to make for a peaceful stay, yet only a couple of blocks to fun and excitement of the city! It is RIGHT next to one of the best FAMILY parks in SF, which has a MUNI stop right next to it. Ultimately, you can get anywhere in the city in just steps, or visit some of the best neighborhoods in just blocks.
I recommend it for couples and single visitors. A child could even sleep on the fold out couch.
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
4

A Lovely place to relax

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The garden apartment on Carmelita is a lovely place to rest and relax between jaunts about the city. It has everything from books to board games to coffee to peanut butter stashed away for your visit. Haight and all its funky shops are just a few blocks away and the N light rail takes you everywhere is half a block away. I would suggest getting a Clipper card for everyone traveling on Muni or BART. You can load and have one sent home before your trip through the Clipper website.

Beware: The tub is a tad hazardous. It's a charming claw foot, but not practical. It only has about 6 inches of flat surface on the bottom making it hard to balance. And it is slippery as anything despite the rubber mat on the bottom.
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
Dallas, Texas
5

just do it.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This was a wonderful find. I was in town for a long weekend to check out UC Berkeley, and didn't want to mess with renting a car, so finding a place very near public transportation was paramount. Not only is it extremely close to the Muni, which takes you directly to BART, but the location on it's own is really cool. The house itself more than met my needs, very nice kitchen area that has ample equipment to make your own meals. For me the bed was great. It is definitely firm but not hard, and it's also very dark in the house at night, so I got some great sleep!
The only slight issue was hearing the neighbors above during the day (I did not hear them at night or early in the morning and I'm a fairly light sleeper). You can hear a lot of footsteps and they must have a dog. Not a huge deal as I was gone most of the time, and even when I was there it just didn't bother me that much. Regardless some might want to bring ear plugs if they are more sensitive to it.
I would definitely recommend and would stay there again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

Cosy and Quiet Apartment - Perfect for Couples

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at the Carmalita Garden Apartment for the 12 nights of our holiday in San Francisco and loved it. The apartment was just as described by Lesa, the owner, and the information provided was a great help to us finding everything around the place.

A few of the other reviews have referred to some of the features that they didn't enjoy quite so much, as the apartment has low ceilings and a small roll top bath, however the apartment is advertised as being of a certain age and furnished in vintage style and we felt that the peiod features just added to the charm of the place. We had no problem with any of the fixtures or amenities and the water pressure was fine in the shower!

The apartment kitchen comes complete with a small toaster and grill as well as a hob, microwave and all the pots and pans you could need, which means that if you want to stay in for dinner it's no problem. It's also really great that there is such good recycling in the city including food composting, so we hardly threw anything away to landfill.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the apartment to be comfortable and cosy, and ideal for our stay. We're already planning our return to San Francisco and would definitely come back!

Highly recommended for couples on a fun and romantic city holiday.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

nice rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a nice rental in SF, nice neighborhood for walking, shopping, convenient to public transportation. Clean, well-kept, good for 2 or 3 people.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

Quite and Charming is Right!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I had a great stay at our little apartment on Carmelita Street.

The property was nothing too fancy, but it is well-maintained and the location is on a really cute street right next to Duboce park (fun to walk through on your way to the Muni for people- and dog-watching).

The property owner was very friendly; forgot to change the lock-box code to the one we'd be given, but responded so promptly (and apologetically) that it's really not worth taking a full star off for.

Pros:
Awesome location, very accessible to Muni Metro (and BART by way of Muni Metro if you're planning on making your way to East or South Bay).
Cute, well-maintained apartment, with Netflix Instant if you're planning on spending any of your nights in.

Cons:
At 6-feet tall, the some of the ceilings were a little low; it was fine, but if you're much taller, it could be a pain.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying!


_lesa
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
2

Brilliant location but.....................

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Lovely location with good public transport links but:
- noise from the ventilation/heating system for the home above meant that sleeping without ear plugs was impossible.
- whilst the bed was comfortable, for some reason it is very noisey if yourself or partner move during the night. ps: we are both 'regular' size people.
- the already low water pressue was reduced to a dribble when the washing machine for the attached home was being used - not pleasant when you're having a shower.
- whilst there was a comprehensive list of "Do's & Don'ts" relating to the apartment, there was no information to help guests during their first few days such as supermarket location (although a Safeway loyalty card was helpfully provided), recommended neighbourhood cafes and bars etc
- aged electric connections meant that in the kitchen, use of more than one appliance at a time meant the electrics tripped. The lack of electric sockets mean that there are lots of extension cables which feels slightly unsafe and lights in a section of the kitchen did not work.
Owner's Response: Dear S.E.
It sounds like you had a series of unfortunate events and for that I apologize.
I have lived in this apartment for 8 years before vacation renting and still stay there approx once a month. I have never been kept up by the furnace nor the bed. I think it is a good note for possible light sleepers. I will however take a look at the bed frame on my next visit.

This is a Victorian building built in 1899, and although the water pressure could possibly be improved on, there are laundry hours for the upstairs to avoid water pressure problems, I wish you would have notified me during your stay so I could have fixed this problem for you.

I seem to be used to (internet) savvy travelers who quickly find what they need in the neighborhood but I will compile a short list of local grocery stores and cafes. Sometimes, people email me and ask and I'm always happy to answer.
The wiring in the kitchen is 4 years old. Had I known you were having such problems, I would have sent somebody over to fix your problem. After receiving your review, I had the kitchen re-wired and everything is working great. I also replaced the 2 light bulbs that were out in the kitchen.

All in all, I am always available to my guests and ready to fix, with in reasonable means, any problems or concerns they might have. I'm sorry that you didn't notify me during your stay so that you could have had a better stay.

thanks
_lesa
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
Sacramento, California
5

Wonderful and Charming place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This unit was a great getaway and wonderful alternative to a hotel. The downstairs unit is charmingly decorated and well located in the city for easy access to downtown or golden gate park, as it is directly across Duboce park from the N Judah. The owner has put in a lot of effort to make sure that all the things you will need on your stay are available and clearly labeled and well stocked. The living room was comfortable and inviting and the bedroom was peaceful a great for a good nights sleep. Checking in a out was a real breeze and the owner, Lesa, was incredibly friendly and easy to work with.
business
Quiet and Charming Garden Apartment on Cul De Sac
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975353
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

Stunning apartment.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
There is literally nothing negative I can say about this place. I had the time of my life in San Francisco.

As a single 21 year old female safety was my top priority. And even walking around the area at 1am I felt really safe. The location is ideal. An N line stop is 30 seconds away (ok it wasn't running at the time I was staying but other stations are a quick walk away). As are a number of shops so carrying food back is no problem.

The apartment itself is beautifully decorated, excellently equipped and just perfect for anyone wishing to visit this amazing city. I cannot wait to return because I would not hesitate in booking this apartment right away, nor would I have any qualms in recommending it to friends.

All I want to say now is thank you to Lesa for making my time in San Fran unforgettable.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying and the sweet note you left behind.
I'm happy you took my word for it on safety as I know it can be difficult when you have no idea traveling to a new city.

I think this apartment is a great find and I'm glad so happy when people enjoy the apartment as well as the city!

_lesa