Brilliant location but.....................
Lovely location with good public transport links but:
- noise from the ventilation/heating system for the home above meant that sleeping without ear plugs was impossible.
- whilst the bed was comfortable, for some reason it is very noisey if yourself or partner move during the night. ps: we are both 'regular' size people.
- the already low water pressue was reduced to a dribble when the washing machine for the attached home was being used - not pleasant when you're having a shower.
- whilst there was a comprehensive list of "Do's & Don'ts" relating to the apartment, there was no information to help guests during their first few days such as supermarket location (although a Safeway loyalty card was helpfully provided), recommended neighbourhood cafes and bars etc
- aged electric connections meant that in the kitchen, use of more than one appliance at a time meant the electrics tripped. The lack of electric sockets mean that there are lots of extension cables which feels slightly unsafe and lights in a section of the kitchen did not work.
Owner's Response: Dear S.E.
It sounds like you had a series of unfortunate events and for that I apologize.
I have lived in this apartment for 8 years before vacation renting and still stay there approx once a month. I have never been kept up by the furnace nor the bed. I think it is a good note for possible light sleepers. I will however take a look at the bed frame on my next visit.
This is a Victorian building built in 1899, and although the water pressure could possibly be improved on, there are laundry hours for the upstairs to avoid water pressure problems, I wish you would have notified me during your stay so I could have fixed this problem for you.
I seem to be used to (internet) savvy travelers who quickly find what they need in the neighborhood but I will compile a short list of local grocery stores and cafes. Sometimes, people email me and ask and I'm always happy to answer.
The wiring in the kitchen is 4 years old. Had I known you were having such problems, I would have sent somebody over to fix your problem. After receiving your review, I had the kitchen re-wired and everything is working great. I also replaced the 2 light bulbs that were out in the kitchen.
All in all, I am always available to my guests and ready to fix, with in reasonable means, any problems or concerns they might have. I'm sorry that you didn't notify me during your stay so that you could have had a better stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?