Austin house rental - Dove Haven on Walnut Creek
Dove Haven on Walnut Creek
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps20
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
7 Bedrooms, 4.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16, Pool & Spa, Jacuzzi, Home Theater

Dove Haven is a large house in a quiet, secluded neighborhood along Walnut Creek, with nearby access (within 5 miles) to Austin’s largest technology companies--Samsung, Applied Materials, and Dell. The house is two stories (3600 sq ft), with 8 beds, sleeping 16. It has 7 large bedrooms, 4 ½ bathrooms, a large open-space living/dining/kitchen area, a beautiful pool with heated spa, master bath Jacuzzi, and stained concrete flooring downstairs.

Dove Haven is suited for large family or business gatherings and entertainment. The exceptionally large living area sports a Yamaha 7.1 Home Theater system, with 50-inch HDTV, Blu-ray disc player and Time Warner cable content. Each of 7 bedrooms is large and includes cable TV (Time-Warner) and a private or semi-private bath (except the 'Office' bedroom). We've named each bedroom; there are so many!

Free long-distance telephone and hi-speed, wireless, internet access (wifi).

Bring your favorite Blu-ray/DVD movie to enjoy the Yamaha 7.1 Home Theater system. Or better yet, drive the Yamaha with your own audio/video content (e.g., Netflix movies, business presentations, etal.), displaying video on the 50” HDTV and sending sound to all 8 (7.1) speakers. The Yamaha has cables for connecting your laptop computer or other personal portable video or music device. If your video player device has a HDMI or VGA jack, you can connect to the Yamaha. If it has neither, you will need to purchase or provide a special HDMI adapter for your device. All other cables and instructions are provided at the house.

Converse with someone in another room using the intercom system, or use it for whole-house radio. On cold days enjoy the warmth and ease of a beautiful gas log fireplace—a special type that radiates heat. The kitchen has granite counter-tops.

Located between Austin and Round Rock, near I-35, it has quick access to Austin’s entertainment district, UT football games, shopping, Round Rock, and Georgetown. For the adventuresome, escape through the back gate and trek down the trails through the 6-acre greenbelt down to Walnut Creek. Explore the impressive rock formations. This is part of the Texas Hill Country—where the water runs clear! Walnut Creek is the largest creek in the Austin area north of the Colorado River. The greenbelt is home to owls, deer, raccoon, coyote and, oh yes, armadillo. Relax by the pool and listen to the owls in the evening. Before sundown watch the doves fly in for a drink from the pool. It’s a Dove Haven!

PARENTS, PLEASE NOTE: THERE IS NO CHILD-PROOF FENCE AROUND THE SWIMMING POOL.

The backyard is fully privacy-fenced, with locking gates. The neighborhood is very safe and peaceful!

More Details
Hide Details

In 2011 I retired from 31 years as an engineer with Schlumberger. My wife and I own and manage three vacation rental properties. We enjoy providing relaxing and safe properties for our guests and their families. We are both originally from Houston, then moved to Austin in the late 1960s when attending, then graduating from, the University of Texas, where we met each other in the Longhorn Band. Hook-em Horns!

Kermit Graf purchased this house in 2011

My wife wanted this house, not me! It was was an unfinished foreclosure/bankruptcy; a neighborhood eye-sore that would take a tremendous amount of work to finish. She said it had good bones. After 11 months of hard labor and lots of contractors we turned an ugly ducking into a swan.

This house is well-suited for large gatherings. Even architects have raved about the design, both inside and out. The infrastructure is fantastic allowing: home theater system, fabulous lighting inside and out, wired/wireless network, cable throughout for TV, CCTV, security system, fabulous pool & spa design with pergola, beautiful landscaping with river-rock trails.

27 Reviews of Property 975232 in Austin, Texas

7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
Beaumont, TX
5

AMAZING Austin Home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had the BEST time staying in this home. We came out to Austin for a bachelorette party of about 10 girls. Everyone loved staying in the house- in fact, a few even commented on how they wanted us all to buy the house & live here together. It is nicely updated, has beautiful furnishings & decorations. The owner has even taken the time to label where everything is & how to use things, if needed. It was immaculately clean & such a pleasure to stay in. We were sad to leave to come home & even looking back at the pictures now makes me want to head back to Austin. It was also very easy to get to downtown Austin where we spent a good bit of our time.

I would HIGHLY recommend this home to anyone wanting to stay here. I don't have a single complaint. Even the owner is easy to work with & very accommodating. Best rental I have ever had & I hope I am able to go back to it in the future.
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
5

Brilliant House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Just returned from Austin and our stay @ Dove Haven.
Cannot say enough about the house and grounds. We had 12 family members ranging in age from 4/12 to Grandparents. The house was great for everyone. Play & pool area for the children, hot tub for adults.
Kermit was very helpful by calling, to let us know the pool had been fixed. We hosted a rehearsal dinner for our son and everyone was amazed at the great house. We arrived early and the cleaners were very helpful in letting us leave our suitcases and groceries in the garage whilst they finshed cleaning the house, we then made a trip to the airport to pick up more family You will not be disappointed in this house.
Thanks Kermit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
5

Dream Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The pictures absolutely do not do this place any justice. It was much bigger in person than I imagined it would be. Kermit has truly thought every little detail through with clear instructions and helpful labels all over the place. This house is beautifully designed, decorated and wired with all kinds of state of the art technology. I hosted a group of ladies for a bridal shower weekend here, and they were all extremely amazed. I catered for the event, and I can't tell you how much I appreciated the spacious modern kitchen with all the tools available! There's a reason this place is booked all year. You will not regret your stay at Dove Haven one bit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
5

Very clean! Very organized! Very spacious!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Amazing house! It's like walking into a dream, and I didn't want to wake up. Great yard, beautiful kitchen, spacious master bedroom and bath. Great pool!! Our daughter got married in Austin, and we had the chance to entertain her In-laws, and they were amazed by this gem of a house. We loved this place, and really want to stay here again. Thank you Sandra and Kermit!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
5

Wonderful vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful time staying at this property. The owner stocked up all the essential things that you would need. All you need to bring is your own tooth brush and toothpaste. Everything else is there. The home is so clean and well kept inside out. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and relatives and will come back if we have another large family gathering. The children greatly enjoyed the pool and play area. Thank you very much!
Julie T -Pearland TX
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
Florham Park, NJ
5

Could not have rented a better place! Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a beautiful home to rent! Obviously a lot of planning and care went into this property. I rented it for 6 nights for my family of 11 to come to Texas to see my daughter graduate from the UT Law School. We travel a lot and have stayed in many rental properties within Austin, Texas, the rest of the US and Europe. This by far was the best and at a great price. The house was spacious and well thought out for big groups. The kitchen is a dream! All new and well stocked. Plenty of seating for all in the living room and around the large dining table. We enjoyed the stereo system and we were able to get the larger UT graduation right up on the big screen TV! The intercom came in handy when trying to find someone within the house. We turned on the house music when everyone needed to get up on the mornings that we toured Austin, went boating on Lake Travis and river rafting. The bedrooms were comfortable and quiet. The bathrooms were all new and well stocked with shampoo, tp, towels, ect. Most afternoons and evenings were spent around the pool and relaxing in the jacuzzi. We even took the little hike to the creek! Thank you again Kermit for your kindness and the wonderful place to stay. Oh and thank you for all the little, well written notes that explained how to use all the great amenities this house had to offer. We are hoping to return in the future as our daughter has settled in Austin. Nancy and family
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
Dallas
5

Best vacation home we have ever rented!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This home was so perfect for our family gathering! The space is so well laid out and everything is so functional and upscale. We especially loved how well everything is labeled, which made finding light switches, heating the spa, and working the wonderful master multi-head shower and jetted tub so easy. We rarely return to a place for a second visit just because we enjoy trying out new places, but the family is calling for a repeat on this one!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
5

Mother's Day Weekend and graduation

Mother's Day Weekend and graduation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We loved the home. It was very cutely decorated and the rooms were spacious. Everyone enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the 6yr old loved the play area. Both bedrooms downstairs, the master and the guest had full bathrooms which was really convenient. The 4 bedrooms upstairs share 2 bathrooms. Each of the rooms is in a pair with the bathroom in between. The living area and dining area accommodated our large group of 12. The kitchen was beautiful with stainless steel and granite. We will definitely stay here again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

Dove Haven is Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
A group of friends & I rented this house for a couple nights to get together from around the USA and catch up. The house is immaculate, well-stocked, nice, and suited all of our needs. We found the place ready for immediate use. There was plenty of parking in the garage, in the driveway, and on the street in front of the house. The pool and spa were pretty clean & the outdoor area in general had plenty of seating for our whole group of 10. We found every tool and pay we needed to cook with in the kitchen. The coffee, paper towels, and other supplies provided by the Grafs complimentary were excellent perks. If they'll have us back again we're sure to rent this house in the future.
business
7-bedroom House, Large Pool, Beautiful Creek, Quiet Neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p975232
+1 5129231276
Austin Austin area
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Dove Haven is amazing! The pictures just don't do it justice! The owners have thought of everything to make the stay perfect! I highly recommend Dove Haven and plan to come back when we have a large group staying in the Austin area again! 5 stars, no doubt!