Truckee cabin rental - Front view -- horseshoe driveway
Front view -- horseshoe driveway
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Truckee Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Make you own family history and memories in this historic, vintage cabin furnished in period décor. Feel the magic of this authentic, 1930's, ''Old Style,'' Tahoe cabin with the Yuba River in your back yard (literally), in the sweet community of Kingvale (near Donner Summit and Soda Springs).

Avoid the traffic of the Tahoe basin, yet be close to all that the Tahoe area has to offer. This truly special property offers a unique experience. Minutes from Boreal, Sugar Bowl, Donner Ski Ranch, Royal Gorge and the Pacific Crest Trail, off historic Highway 40 (Donner Pass Rd.) 10 min. to Donner Lake. Great location when coming from SF/Bay Area (Eastbound Hwy 80) -- easy in and out (chain requirement only applies after you pass the Kingvale exit).

Located near Donner Summit, in a sleepy community called Kingvale, (5 min. from Soda Springs), on Hwy 80. This Non-Smoking cabin is 1700 square feet, has knotty pine inside with log accents, a beautiful big stone fireplace, and separate dining area. No sheetrock. Modern heating. A large deck faces the river. Sunny in summer, lots of snow in winter. Let the kids just play outside.

Kingvale is a forested community of charming 1930's and '40's cabins and unpaved roads - it's almost like going back in time. Enjoy a magical retreat where you can relax and play in the summer sun or the winter snow. There are only a couple of owners who rent their cabins in Kingvale. This is a unique opportunity to share in the magic of this cherished place.

Drive to the front door in spring/summer/fall. Walk from the parking lot in winter -- like the ''olden days'' (about 2 blocks to the cabin). 2 cars maximum in winter.

Cancellation Policy: Full refund 30+ days in advance.

Less than 30 days in advance, we will make every attempt to re-rent the dates and give a full refund for days re-rented. Any remaining days will be credited toward a future midweek, or short notice weekend vacancy.

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Fairfax, CA and also have a guest rental cottage in the back of our Fairfax home. We enjoy owning, managing, and improving our rental properties, and 'getting to know' our guest renters.

Amanda Bostian Martin purchased this cabin in 1999

We fell in love with the historic cabin itself, the community of Kingvale, the on-the-river location, and the ease of access to the Donner Summit area and it's resorts.

Fish in the river from the back yard.

Avoid the traffic of the Tahoe Basin but have easy access to it.

Conveniently located minutes from the Donner Summit resorts.

8 Reviews of Property 974631 in Truckee, California

1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Ukiah
5

Everything you'd want in a cabin

Everything you'd want in a cabin
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our visit to this sweet cabin was in early fall so there was no snow yet...I can only imagine how wonderful it would be with snow! Everything was as described and the owner was very helpful and accommodating. We were a small party of 4, using two bedrooms, but there is ample space for a larger group. It was a throwback to classic cabins from back in the day, but with all the modern conveniences. Totally charming and welcoming and very relaxing. Very quiet. Will return again for sure.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Walnut Creek
5

Relaxing, Peaceful & Charming

Relaxing, Peaceful & Charming
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our entire group absolutely LOVED this charming cabin. It’s something right out of a story book. The cabin is bigger than looks in the picture and very well maintained. The cabin was very clean, neat and had everything we needed and more. Our group was only 4 people but there was definitely room to sleep more people. We all love to cook. We used the vintage stove that worked like it was brand new. We had everything we needed as far as pots and pans, dishes, glasses, silverware, etc. The cabin owners were fabulous in responding to all our questions prior to our trip and trust me we had plenty of questions! Once we were there, we did not need a thing. We are planning to stay again next year, the year after…you get the idea. Hopefully next time we are there longer than an extended weekend. I would definitely refer my friends and family (and have already) to this lovely spot. During our stay in the summer we visited downtown Truckee which has unique items for just about any occasion. On the way back to the cabin, we took the old highway and saw most of all the spots that the photo book on the coffee table inspired us to visit. We all learned lots about the history of the area at the different designated spots which were well documented. We were glad that we did not see the bear hanging from the bottom of the overpass over a deep canyon...yes you read that correctly. If I did not see the picture…I would not believe this story.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Placerville, California
5

Stepping back in time to unwind!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hello Amanda,

I just want to let you know our family had a great time at the cabin. It felt like we walked into a time warp and it was very nostalgic and relaxing. It far exceeded our expectations. I told my husband, I can see us taking our "future" grandchildren here and making all kinds of memories. Thanks again for sharing your family heirloom with us. It was very special!
Owner's Response: Jen-- I love your sense of time warps -- both past and future! That's the great thing about memories...you can make them, re-live them, and plan for them. So glad you think the cabin is as special as we do. Come back soon -- with or without grandkids.
--Amanda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
4

Charming and quiet

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Had a great time! 2nd time the family and I have been there. Place is exactly what's needed for a large family or group that want to turn off, tune out and spend quality time together. River running through the back yard is awesome sight to wake up to. Nearby Truckee is quaint little town where you can grab a Starbucks and other conveniences. Landlord is pleasant to deal with.
Owner's Response: Kudos to you for making that quality time with your family actually happen. One of the best possible uses of a cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Sacramento, CA
5

Beautiful place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin was wonderful!! Our two boys LOVED walking on the rocks in the back yard, and just running around. They also fell in love with the GIANT teddy bear!! Thank you for making it such a quaint and family friendly place to stay. We hope to contact you again.

Best wishes to you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Kids really respond to being "in the woods" and just playing outside. Nature really is the best playground.
--Amanda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Vacation Rental 974631

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a Great Cabin Experience and Stay

This cabin was just the perfect balance between old and new. It worked out great for our growing extended family, as it even had privacy and separation between the adult quarters.

We wanted our Grand-kids to experience staying at a real cabin in the mountains, not just a modern house in woods, and that is just what we got. Yet with all the rustic and vintage charm of a true cabin, it still has modern conveniences of having two full bathrooms, four bedrooms plus an open loft, a kitchen with many appliances and even an updated electrical system. Great job on that, as you don't see the new wires running all over to the new plugs or fixtures.

Due to the late summer season, the adjacent river had only small pools and pockets of water and was pretty much dry, but actually it even worked out even better going a short distance to Donner Lake where the Grand-kids could fish from the many free Public Piers along the North Shore.

There is also a lot of history in the area, with the Pioneer Trail and first railroad line over the Sierras that just a short distance away.

The star viewing at night was a treat as well.

We would recommend this to anyone that wants to experience such a cabin with a great vintage flavor.
Owner's Response: Glad to hear how well the cabin worked for your multi-generational family gathering. The bedroom downstairs is perfect for the elders so they don't have to climb stairs. Good job making family history and memories in this historic cabin.
--Amanda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
Manhattan Beach, California
5

Charming and authentic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This cabin has been thoughtfully and lovingly restored to allow visitors to experience a simpler time without sacrificing comfort. Everywhere you turn you'll find something to bring a smile or refresh a long-forgotten memory.
The owners have anticipated your needs in every season, and you'll feel welcome and comfortable the minute you step inside. We enjoyed the covered front porch and the back deck which is open to the stars and surrounded by towering trees. The sound of the river, so close behind, is relaxing and soothing.
Additionally, there is a booklet in the cabin compiled by the various owners of properties in this close-knit community of Kingvale, and you can read about how and when the cabins were built, many by Mr. Homer Bales, who built this cabin. My husband, a carpenter, continued to marvel at the beauty of the woodwork and cabinetry, all constructed before the advent of power tools. Amazing!
We had a great time exploring the cabins and the town of Truckee, with its historic district, and the magnificent views on "Old Highway 40," just east of Kingvale (do yourself a favor and ignore Highway 80 once or twice on your way to Donner Lake!). We highly recommend a visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much sending us a copy of the wonderful book you had published documenting your stay at our cabin. What a perfect way to memorialize your time together in Kingvale. We love it when our renter guests "get" the specialness of the cabin as much as we do. Many thanks for sharing your memories book with us. So thoughtful!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
1930's Real Tahoe Cabin on the River - Charming & Historic
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974631
+1 4154977330
Truckee Lake Tahoe North Shore
San Ramon
5

A wonderful stay in Kingvale!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We would like to take this time to thank you again for sharing your beautiful cabin with us! We had a wonderful time visiting Kingvale and Donner Lake. I love backyard being right next to the creek/river! Just a georgous setting! We wished we could have stayed there stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We hope to see you again soon. Some of our renter families come back every year and make the cabin their home-away-from-home tradition.
Helpful votes: 4/4