Gardiner house rental - The amazing view from our property!
The amazing view from our property!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Gardiner House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 12-14

We have an absolutely ideal location... amazing views and convenience too.

Start your days watching the gorgeous sunrise on Electric Peak (one of the highest mountains in Yellowstone National Park) right from the breakfast table with the gentle sounds of the Yellowstone River flowing by the property. Our vacation rental home is perched above the Yellowstone River with an expansive view overlooking Yellowstone National Park. Wildlife abounds! Watch eagles, osprey and ravens soar BELOW YOU over the River. From the dining room or deck off the back, we've watched a wolf pack pursue and take down a pronghorn, eagles catching fish in the river, bison herds grazing, elk swimming across the river and a pronghorn give birth to twins! You never know what you may see - it can be utterly amazing wildlife encounters or simply the awe inspiring beauty of the mountains and river.

Our view is south facing, so there's lots of sunlight to soak in all day long. At the end of the day, grill in the yard while you watch the sunset reflections on the river and enjoy the 'big sky' views of Montana and Yellowstone.

The convenience of our property will make your vacation feel simplified and relaxed. You can walk to the grocery store, restaurants, ice cream and pizza too...check out the bookstore, gift shops or even white water rafting outfitters where they'll 'suit you up' and take you rafting down the river, right by your vacation home! Elk River Art Studio is right next door (that's us!), where we create art inspired by the landscape and animals you'll experience during your visit to Yellowstone. A little further, the Roosevelt Arch at the northern entrance to Yellowstone National Park is just a mile away. And just a couple miles from there, you can soak in the Boiling River - the hot springs in Yellowstone Park. There's A LOT to experience in Yellowstone (we certainly love it!) and we'd be happy to point you in the right direction and help make it a vacation of a lifetime for you.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I are both artists, living, working and raising 2 children, at the edge of Yellowstone. We enjoy living in the midst of wildlife, surrounded by the beauty of the natural world - and take advantage of our Yellowstone 'back yard' (literally!) every chance we get. I paint outside in Yellowstone often and in our 'spare time', we hike, cross country ski, canoe and kayak.

Shirl Ireland purchased this house in 2006

We literally searched for years looking for 'the spot'. We are artists fortunate enough to live where ever we'd like. Our property is on the Yellowstone River overlooking Yellowstone National Park. We lived in this home while we built our new studio and gallery on the property. The mountain and river views are gorgeous and we're at the edge of a wonderful, friendly small town. We can walk to the grocery store and Yellowstone National Park too! Hiking, skiing and soaking in the Hot Springs are just minutes away. Plus, we're close enough to take advantage of Livingston and Bozeman, MT - a couple great towns with good vibes and bigger amenities. You can get to lots of art, outdoor activities and shopping after a beautiful drive up Paradise Valley (aptly named). That's why we call our spot 'the center of the universe.'

Not too many places on this Earth have what we have. How many people can watch a wolf pack hunt, eagles and osprey catch fish, bison herds graze, elk swim and twin pronghorns born - right from their dining room window? We watch Electric Peak (one of the highest mountains in Yellowstone Park) as the sun rises it turns a beautiful 'morning pink' with the soft sounds of the river in the background. We can watch the sun set and turn the river to a ribbon of orange, then at night, with the moon above, the river again comes alive and sparkles with the moons reflection. How could we want anymore?

9 Reviews of Property 974510 in Gardiner, Montana

Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Sammamish, WA
4

Awesome trip to Yellowstone!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our entire family thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Yellowstone. It was nice to come home to the comfort of a house instead of a hotel. The layout of the house was perfect for us. There were nine of us and we did not feel like we were on top of each other. We were up early and in late from our park visits so did not really get to enjoy all that the house had to offer but would highly recommend it to others. The location to the park was perfect! Thank you John for your suggestions in the park as to where to go and what to see, it was really helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Family (11 of us) Vacation to Yellowstone Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Oh my goodness...this was the best vacation ever!! And we all agree..Not just all the fabulous fun the park itself offers as sightseeing, river floats, horseback riding, zip lines...etc...but this wonderful family home and our hosts, John and Shirl...lots of space, furnished with any and all you need, beds are so very comfortable...separate area for the kids and teens in the downstairs which includes two of the bedrooms and one of the bathrooms. The view and location are perfect. You can walk to town, grocery store, gift shops etc..John and Shirl are like family that you have come to visit...accommodating, fun and absolutely
lovely people. Thank you both...we will be back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Woo Hoo! What a spectacular review! Thank you for such lovely words. We SO appreciate it - and are THRILLED to hear it was your "best vacation ever". That really makes our day. You were fabulous guests too. We hope to see you all in Yellowstone again....
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
5

Great Time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Excellent stay - great first time for visiting Yellowstone! House was nice - beautiful kitchen, and an awesome deck overlooking the Yellowstone River and the Gallatin National Forest. Our hosts were very gracious and helpful. If you have a large family and want to visit Yellowstone this property is perfect - plenty of sleeping spaces and a very good sized home to accommodate everyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We certainly appreciate that you took the time to submit a review. It's always good to hear that you had a wonderful first trip to Yellowstone. Glad we could be part of a great experience for you. Nice to know you appreciated the large kitchen and spacious home, too. Thanks!
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Lacey, WA
5

Family Reunion Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had 12 people,6 adults and 6 children. The house was large enough to accomdate us with plenty of elbow room and not be in everyones face. A large table that fit all of us at meal times. We felt right at home, The kids could play downstairs without disturbing others upstairs. The view from the deck and yard was just awesome. So refreshing to sleep with the windows open and hear the river going by. Beds very comfortable. The owners were most helpful and informative. We would go out all day exploring Yellowstone and in the evening coming back the kids would start talking about going back to our Yellowstone House, everyone felt right at home. It was a great vacation and the house played a big part in it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We really appreciate your review - thank you. Glad to hear the house felt spacious for your group and that you all liked the large dining table, the awesome views and our deck, too. It's certainly important to us that you feel at home and sleep well... So hearing the beds were comfortable and you enjoyed the river sounds at your "Yellowstone House" is wonderful! Hope you can make it back again some time.
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Helena
5

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Great spot for our big group of skiers. I liked the large kitchen, since everyone want to gather there no matter how comfortable the rest of the house is. And the open floor plan let conversations flow both to the dining room and the living room. The owners (who lived next door) were nice, very helpful.We came, we feasted, we skied the park, we feasted some more, we played games, we did yoga, we read, we slept. Pretty idyllic. Thanks for all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to put in a review. It's so nice to hear about the good times guests have in our guest house. Glad you enjoyed your ski trip - and the home was comfortable for your large group. Hope to see you again!
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Billings, MT
3

Great Views Average home

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed only 2 nights at the property. The views out the windows were great, and the proximity to Yellowstone was perfect. The house was bit more dated and worn than we had expected from looking at the pictures. Could use some updates for the cost, but overall it was an average place to stay for a couple of nights. The artwork was beautiful and the owners were fantastic to work with.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I’m glad you found us “fantastic” to work with. We certainly do our best to show our sincere appreciation for your business, by providing great service – along with those extra amenities like locally made organic guest soaps and local fresh ground coffee, too.

Yes, the views of Yellowstone National Park are wonderful and we’re glad our very close proximity to Yellowstone National Park was perfect for your group. Especially, when you can only stay a short time, it’s really nice to be VERY close to the Park.

Every year since we purchased the home, we have done a large remodeling project… We put our ‘off season’ time to good use! This year, our project is the deck and yard overlooking Yellowstone National Park and the Yellowstone River.

For the summer of 2013, our guests will be enjoying those fabulous views of Yellowstone from a brand new deck with all new landscaping. We’re very excited for such a wonderful improvement for our guests for this coming season.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Georgia
2

A Disappointing Experience

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
When I rented this house for our group, I was excited to think that we would be overlooking the Yellowstone River. However, when we arrived and saw the camper parked beside the house and the washer dryer connections in the entryway, we knew that this was not what we had anticipated. (The washer and dryer were downstairs.) It was a hot day, and the house reflected that. I had neglected to check for air conditioning, and there isn't any.
Two of the three baths were tiny, very dated, and not connected to bedrooms. There was rotten wood on the back of the house, and the back deck was in serious need of repair. The finishes looked more like an old mobile home than a house.
When we couldn't get the TV to work, we were told that we could watch DVDs but that the TV wasn't set up for channels. When a TV is listed in the description, I assume that it works as a TV!
Now for the pluses: The house was clean, and the owner's beautiful art work was displayed throughout the house. The appliances were very nice, and the beds were comfortable. It was overlooking the Yellowstone River and the proximity to Yellowstone makes it a good location for exploring the park.
However, we were so disappointed that we left a day early and paid for a room elsewhere.
In case it seems as if I am being too picky, my reviews for the other 2 houses where we stayed were 5 star.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Cape cod
5

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Close the park, close to grocery, lovely views from the deck, plenty of seating for large group, excellent equipment in the kitchen, marvelous host who provided stuff from her own home for us to cook with when needed, who helped us get connected with local help and transport. Nice to be able to play ping pong, too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We certainly appreciate that you chose our place to host your wedding event....we love having great memories made at our guest house! We put a lot of effort into making our guest house a comfortable 'home away from home' with everything as easy and comfortable as possible so you can fully enjoy your vacation. So it's nice to know you enjoyed our ideal location and views, stocked kitchen and large dining table. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review.
P.S. - AND, thanks for calling me "marvelous" :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best View in Gardiner - great Yellowstone views AND on the river!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974510
(406) 848-9449 (Montana, USA)
Gardiner Yellowstone
Raleigh, NC
5

Best View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The description "Best View in Gardiner" could easily be expanded. Sitting on the back deck, looking at not only the Yellowstone River at your feet, but the grasslands at eye level, and the snow covered mountains... well I could go on and on about the beauty of this unobstructed view into YNP. We thoroughly enjoyed getting up before sunrise, going into the park for animal watching and hiking, and returning after lunch to relax and enjoy this great view. The original artwork, extremely comfortable beds, and large kitchen and dining table are just a few of the things we enjoyed about this place. Would we come back? In a heartbeat! Would I recommend it to friends? Without hesitation (except for fear of reducing availability for my return trip!). The owners, in addition to being such talented artists, are genuinely nice people very responsive and interested in making your stay enjoyable. I could happily visit again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review Ed... So glad you had a wonderful and comfortable vacation. We certainly appreciate all your kind words...and look forward to your stay with us again!
Helpful votes: 2/2