Sullivans Island house rental - Sullivan's Island Home
Sullivan's Island Home
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Sullivans Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5.5 Baths (Sleeps 12)

This amazing house is difficult to describe in words so check out the video to the left by clicking on the video icon over the picture (double-click on the video itself for a larger version).

Breathtaking ocean views are only part of the charm of this incredible oceanfront, 3500 square foot home! A private swimming pool with a volleyball court are just outside, and the spacious deck wraps-around three sides of the house! Other features include a gas grill and pool table.

First Floor: Guests of this home can enjoy the large living room and dining room area, featuring exposed beam cathedral ceilings and large sliding glass doors, which allow for spectacular oceanviews while socializing, eating or playing pool. Two dining tables provide ample seating for 14. The kitchen is open to the living area and features oceanviews. Off the living room is a bedroom (queen) with garden tub/shower. There is also a half bath off the living room.

Down the hall, there is a second bedroom (king) with private bath, walk-in closet and sitting area, bedroom (queen) and bedroom (queen) share a bathroom.

Second Floor: At the head of the stairs is a bedroom with two queen beds. There is a full hall bath. The master bedroom (king) is down the hall and features a sitting area (with a sleeper sofa), a TV/VCR/DVD and has extraordinary oceanviews. The master bath has a whirlpool tub and separate extra-large stall shower. There are excellent oceanviews from the bath, as well!

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 973836 in Sullivans Island, South Carolina

Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
average rating of 4.647059 based on 25 reviews
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My sister and I rented this house for a family reunion of 12 people. When we got there, all the beds were made and towels in every bathroom. The kitchen provided anything you could want in terms of cookware and serve ware. The pool table was a real hit with our kids. The location right on the beach was perfect. When we left our kids wanted to know if we could come back next year.the house was perfect for a large group. We even used the volleyball court! (I brought my own ball). Sarah did an excellent job preparing the house, even leaving an extra bag of ice in the freezer, and extra propane for the grill. We all were up to watch the sunrise on our last day.
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
4

Family Reunion 2013

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house was perfect for a large family, we had 12 adults. We loved being on the beach, watching the kite-surfers and ships from the deck. The overall great room, kitchen and dinning worked out well. The homes furnishings are very laid back and well worn, great for a beach rental. We used the pool area several days and pool is very clean. The only draw back was the deck, it is in need of replacement, several boards are coming up or feel like you might fall through. It also would have been nice to have enough tables and chairs for everyone to sit on deck for a meal. I would recommend this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Columbus, Ohio
1

August 2013 Family Vacation

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our 11 family members (10 adults/1child) enjoyed the beachfront location. The house has spectacular ocean views and very convenient to shopping, restaurants, etc. We loved watching the wind surfers and ships in the distance as they made their way into and exiting the Charleston harbor. Pool area is very nice and was serviced/clean twice during our one week stay. Basic house supplies were well stocked. We found the kitchen and counter space small and inconvenient. Deck condition is beyond horrible. This house is not well maintained; it needs updated and many repairs. We were very unsatisfied in the overall cleanliness of the house, such as furniture, floors, drawers. Left a voice message for owner on first day and call was never returned. Would we rent this house again: No. Would we recommend: No.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Omaha, Nebraska
5

Perfect Family Get-A-Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We took 7 adult kids and their 7 kids on a once in a lifetime family trip to the ocean, and it couldn't have worked out better. The house sits on the beach, and while I thought the pool was going to be superfluous, it turned out to be a real plus. The bedrooms were furnished with comfortable beds and plenty of linens. A couple of the bedrooms had TVs, but we never turned any on during our stay. We were too busy. The upper deck was great for watching the action on the beach and sipping (adult) beverages, while the lower deck was shaded and perfect for hiding out and reading a book. The kitchen was well equipped, and there's a gas grill on the deck that we made good use of. The furnishings in the house were just right for a hassle-free beach vacation...comfortable and well-used. Ceramic tile floors made for easy cleanup from sandy feet.

The fridge had a hard time keeping up with the initial grocery store fill-up, but there was a note telling us to expect that. The decks are huge and couldn't be better for hanging out on. They're somewhat worn and will eventually need replacing/painting, but I wouldn't have traded the view for anything.

If you want a roomy, clean, comfortable home right on the beach, this is the place. If you do go, rent bikes. They're great for exploring the islands and going into town for dinner and early morning coffee.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Dayton, Ohio
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house is great! Sarah is the perfect property manager, and great at her job. She is there if you need her, but does not bother you. The first night we noticed the A/C to the front part of the house did not work. We called Sarah who checked the settings from her location. She stated someone had moved the unit from Auto to Fan, which probably caused the unit to freeze up. It never did get any better so Sarah arranged for service on Sunday to make the necessary repairs. She even followed up to make sure we were comfortable.

Unfortunately we we there through Tropical Storm Andrea. Despite our best efforts to minmize damage the glass top table on the deck broke during the storm. We called Sarah just to advise her of the damage. She stated she would have someone out shortly to clean the mess up. We told her we already did this, but was very appreciative of her concern.

The house is perfect in everyway, and I would even say probably one of the better houses in the area. This is byffar the best kept house I have ever rented through VBRO. The beds are comfortable with plenty of room. We had 12 adults and 2 kids and never felt cramped.Only the master bedrooms have TV's. Most people do not come on vacation to watch TV, but the weather was not the best so this would have been nice but would not let it keep me from renting the house again.

The beach access close to the house can be an issue, as we did notice a few guys going underneath the house to what we assume to relieve themselves as there are no public facilities on the beach. Really only an issue on Saturday/Sunday as the beach is pretty quite the rest of the week.

Restuarants close by are small with limited parking. Not very condicive for large parties even if willing to be broke up. We enjoyed the amenities at the house, including the gas grill much more than going out. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare food tor large parties, and there are gorcery stores very close to the house.

We also ordered carry out from Steel City Pizza a couple of times, which was good pizza and reasonable. They delivered to the house.

Overall a great vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Matthews, NC
5

Fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a family wedding to attend in Charleston, so we rented this house for our whole family...12 of us were more than comfortable and it was large enough to not be on top of each other at all. The beach was gorgeous and the bonus of a pool was great! Our weather happened to be beautiful as well. Just we were at a place where the public walked next to the house for access to the beach.
The location to Charleston is only 15 to 20 minutes...perfect!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Alexandria, VA
4

Fun location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The owner offered us a discount for filling in an otherwise unfillable week, which we really appreciated. Overall, we had a great stay at a nice house in a great location, but there some improvements that could be made. The proximity to the beach and the changing sandbars is great. The pool and pool area was beautiful, quite enjoyable, and regularly maintained. The house interior was clean, functional, and supported a large group very well; loved the pool table. Most everything was functioning, although the ice-maker in the freezer is incredibly slow (needs maintenance). Upstairs air-conditioning did not cool, but ceiling fans made it tolerable. The exterior of the house (deck, stairs) are not well maintained. We found the gas grill filthy with a thick layer of burned-on BBQ sauce and bones and only a melted plastic brush to attempt cleaning. The deck layout is very nice, but nails and boards on the deck were popped up in many places, and the wood is badly weathered. While there, the high tides washed away the back stairs to the beach (now water-front); I was disappointed that the owner did not reply or acknowledge the e-mail I sent informing her of the damage. Fencing along the public access walkway would be a useful addition. Many people parking for the day ended up walking (some relieving themselves) under the house or through the yard to get to the beach, especially during high tide (which was under the house by the time we left). Again, we had a wonderful time here for nearly two weeks, it met our vacation needs, and we have no major complaints. But with a little more loving care, this can be an outstanding property.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Charleston, SC & Boston, MA
5

Perfect for our family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This house was perfect for our family of 8 adults and 5 kids. The kids loved being so close to the beach and the lagoon created at low tide was a safe, calm area for them to learn paddleboarding and kayaking. We cooked great meals, watched dolphins, and woke up to beautiful sunrises. It was a perfect family vacation and we look forward to returning next year. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Guatemala
5

Great rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We loved this house! We were there for 2 weeks and found it perfect for our needs. It was well suited for our families with small children--safe, comfortable and plenty of play space.

The location is also perfect. Walking or biking distance to IOP shopping and the restaurants on Sullivan's. The beach has a sandbar in front making it perfect for the little ones.

We loved our time there and plan to go back.

Thanks!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Vacation Rental with a New Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p973836
Sullivans Island Charleston Area
Cleveland, Tn
5

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The house was ideal for our 5 couples. The property was very clean and well maintained. We slipped into Charleston on several occasions for shopping and meals...However right on Sullivan's Island there are numerous restuarant's to sample...
I would highly reccomend this house to large families or large gatherings of friends..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2