Not as expected. Not recommended.
As per prior reviews, we thought the exterior of the property was beautiful. The pool was nice and it had a tremendous view. However, the properties on either side were poorly maintained, and there was little privacy at the pool as the next door neighbors were directly next to you on their terrace the entire week we were there.
The interior was a disappointment. First of all, we all felt that the property was not clean. We found hair in the shower, as well as old food (a dish of butter/honey with crumbs in it) in the fridge. When we brought these things to the attention of the owner, she told us the food was left on purpose for us and to hire the cleaners back (at our expense) to re-clean. Needless to say we were not happy. I own a vacation rental myself. My response would have been to send the cleaners back.
All of us woke up with sore backs from the mattresses which were hard and uncomfortable. There were not enough blankets or towels. The caretaker is not a manager, but is the security guard. Although he is very nice, he spoke little or no English.
Although the property is listed as having internet, when you read the fine print it says there is no internet at the villa. Indeed, there was not even a television. This was not clear to us and I asked the owner about the internet a week before arrival. She did say that she told me when we booked. If so, why not take internet out of the listing. We felt totally cut off and had to travel down to the beach at Turkbuku or to Starbucks in Bodrum to get internet. Try even booking a restaurant reservation with no internet. Surprisingly, some of the neighbors had satellite dishes with TV and internet. Obviously, the owner does not think these modern conveniences are necessary but they are available in the area.
The location is high on a hill overlooking Turkbuku. The view is stunning. We did find some very nice and swank resorts with great restaurants in the town down the hill from the villa. However, the real night life, shopping and things to do were in Bodrum, 1/2 hour drive away. A car is a must, as is a Turkish Sim card in your mobile if you want internet.
Overall, we were disappointed in this rental. If we had known about the internet, TV situation we would not have rented. The cleanliness of the property was unacceptable. The mattresses were not comfortable. These things did not make for a relaxing time. I , nor any my 3 friends were happy with this property.
Owner's Response: Eugene, First of all you had told me that there will be 3 of you renting my villa.
Internet issue was discussed on our initial telephone conversation. That you must go to Turkbuku beach to get access to internet. we have tried to bring internet to our villa, however, it was impossible since the whole neighborhood is not designed to have it. I do feel it would be great to have internet on site, however, as of August 2013 we again tried to bring the specialist to install the internet for us, they were not able to do it unless the whole community act on that. This is not your problem, however, I did disclose the fact that you need to get to Turkbuku beach in order to access internet.
The villa was cleaned by the cleaning crew prior to your arrival. You are being unfair, unjust and I am very disappointed in your false comments. Villa is cleaned thoroughly prior to arrival of all of our rental guests. Plenty of sheets, towels are stored in the cabinets in the master bedroom. We have never had these remarks about mattresses and so on. Car rental was highly recommended to you and the distances were thoroughly and in detail explained to you. It is very disappointing and I do regret renting my villa to you and your friends especially since you did not disclose the truth about the number in your company. Very disappointed. We never advertise having TV on premises either.
You accepted all the conditions of no internet, no TV and distance of villa from center of Bodrum, and decided to rent my villa. Next time try to make the right decision prior to making false accusation and blaming the villa owner.
3 bottles of beers were left to welcome you and your two friends and now I just found out that there were 4 of you.
Our villa has a lot of privacy and no one else has ever complained about lack of privacy. The villa on our right is empty therefore, there was no one on that side.
All together, I regret renting my beautiful villa to you and leaving welcoming drinks in the refrigerator for your company. It seems that you have interpreted everything in a very negative way.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?