Montezuma villa rental - 2nd floor bedroom and deck, queen bed on wheels to sleep under the stars!
2nd floor bedroom and deck, queen bed on wheels to sleep under the stars!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Montezuma Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4 to 10 people

This hilltop home is 1 kilometer from Montezuma Beach on a 28 Acre Wildlife Sanctuary Bordering the Montezuma River, and less than a 5-minute drive from the center of Montezuma, where one can easily find an abundance of excellent restaurants, grocery- and gift-shopping and night life, not to mention the miles and miles of gorgeous beaches and trails. For those without a car, a 10 minute walk down the driveway gets you to the bus that runs every 2 hours between Montezuma and Cobano.

The fully-furnished home has two huge bedrooms with two bathrooms. Magnificent, 360-degree views of coastline, open sea, mountains and forest. The construction features large, open-air living room, dining room, kitchen and bathroom with custom-made wicker furniture. There's a very large front porch with hammocks, table and chairs and flowering plants all around.

Both bedrooms are octagon-shaped; the upstairs bedroom has a balcony with a 180-degree, walk-around corridor, walk-in closet and private, open-air bathroom with magnificent views, stone floor and built-in garden. This bedroom has one queen-size and one double bed with wheels that can be moved around the room, or onto the balcony to sleep under the stars. The downstairs bedroom, one-level lower, has the same magnificent views of the coastline, ocean and mountains. It has a King-size bed (also on wheels) with 6 huge drawers, for clothing or storage, plus one single bed. This bedroom has an overhead fan, a built-in-the wall air-conditioner, an extra-large desk for computer, etc., a television, as well as a stereo sound system with speakers throughout the house. This stereo sound system has AM/FM Radio, double cassette tape and CD Player. In addition, there is an additional double mattress and a single-size mat which can be used as a comfortable meditation couch or for additional guests.

Fully-equipped kitchen with 6 burner stove & oven, full-sized fridge. In back of the house is a washing machine with a pila alongside, and a hot water tank that serves the entire house. There's even an outdoor shower, decorated with a wrought-iron palm tree, where one can shower outside with refreshing, cold water from the river! This home and property is truly a nature-lover's paradise!

The land is managed as a 'Wildlife Sanctuary'--so all kinds of animals come and live here. The only sounds up here are those of birds, all three species of monkeys, and the ocean and river. The animals we live with are: mapache (raccoon), pizotes (coatimundi), sloths, monkeys, porcupine, ant eaters, aracaris (relatives of toucans) and tons of birds of all kinds.

Right out the front door, across the way, there is a path down to the famous Montezuma River. This gorgeous river has abundant waterfalls (small to huge), varying-size swimming holes, howler, spider and white-face monkeys and all kinds of species of birds and animals. You can easily hike to the famous Montezuma waterfalls, but because we're above town our guests have the river all to themselves up here!

More Details
Hide Details

I came to Costa Rica in 1987 for a 2-week vacation and literally couldn't leave! I felt I had come home, even though I couldn't speak a word of Spanish at the time. I ended up in Montezuma, a tiny fishing village 'at the end of the earth' back then, where only 4 people owned cars.

Kati Winnegrad purchased this villa in 1989

I purchased 11 Hectares of land which are dedicated as a Wildlife Sanctuary. Even though paradise has been discovered as one of the preferred tourist attractions of Costa Rica, the blessing is that those of us who came long ago are predominantly environmentalists.

Montezuma Sanctuary is the perfect spot for people who want to connect with nature. Sitting on a breezy hill inside a 28 acre (11 hectare) private wildlife sanctuary, our views are 360 degrees of forest and the gorgeous coastline. The famous Montezuma River runs along the side and back of the property, just 50 meters down a simple path. This gorgeous river has abundant waterfalls (small to huge), varying-size swimming holes, howler, white-face and spider monkeys and all species of birds and animals.I invite you to share in this unspoiled jungle paradise, just steps away from the picturesque town of Montezuma and its beautiful beaches.

Warm Regards,

Kati

11 Reviews of Property 972527 in Montezuma, Costa Rica

Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My friends and I spent a wonderful time at this beautiful Villa in Montezuma. The place has amazing views and great common spaces to hang out around the kitchen and living room. The fact that the living room is completely open space (no windows nor doors) makes this living room area fresh because of the winds that come from both the Ocean in the front and the River in the back, plus it allows one to feel in total contact with nature. The Villa has two enormous bedrooms (each one can sleep up to 6 or more people), and two bathrooms, each one with open-air showers and wonderful slate floors.

The upstairs bedroom is a very special space. It has access to a deck overlooking the property where you can sit or sleep out under the stars and watch the sunrise over the ocean in the morning. Sleeping in that room, with all of the windows open, is an experience you will not forget.

The house has everything you need to have a comfortable vacation. The kitchen is well equipped and the furniture is both tasteful and comfortable. This Wildlife Sanctuary Villa is conveniently located less than a mile from the town and beaches of Montezuma (5 minute drive) and far enough to avoid the noise of the bars and restaurants from downtown. If you don’t have a car it is about a 20 minute walk down to town and there are buses that run up and down the hill every 2 hours.

The place does not have a swimming pool, the owner never wished to have a chlorinated pool because she has, instead, the Montezuma River right in the backyard, down a trail where we went swimming. It is a short hike (hilly so take good hiking shoes or sandals, NOT flip flops, and once you get to the River, you have the place all to yourselves, along with all of the birds and the monkeys who are always there.. We spent about three hours just reading and sunbathing, and it was heavenly.

Kati, the owner, and Johnny, the Administrator, will do anything they can to accommodate your needs. Johnny (who lives in the tree house next door) is a great host and helps you with anything you might need.
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for the glowing review Andrea. We loved having you here and we are looking forward to your next visit.
I want you to know that we are working on getting an "Official" Not-for-Profit Status for this beautiful Sanctuary we have for the animals. Our intention is to become self-sustaining, with all monies being used to maintain salaries and maintenance of the property.
Warmest love to you, Andrea!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Our favorite experience since arriving in CR

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
WOW..Fabulous doesn't even begin to describe our time here. The home is completely open to the Rainforest, as we were told it would be. The downstairs area is a large open area that serves as the living, dining and kitchen area with an opening out to a huge patio area complete with lounge chairs, rockers and hammocks. The kitchen (as well as the rest of the house) is well equipped with everything you would ever need to prepare your meals. Kati has a sound system with speakers throughout the house.

The bedroom downstairs is a large octagonal room that is decorated perfectly and is totally secure if your a little shy about sleeping out in the open air.

The upstairs bedroom is unbelievable!!! After climbing the most unique staircase I have ever seen, you enter the master suite. Once again, the room is huge and in the shape of an octagon. The arched windows on all walls are completely open to the outside to allow the nigh time breezes off the ocean to blow through your room. This room has it's own private deck with chairs and swings sitting high above the trees with an incredible view of the Pacific. After being awakened by the Howler Monkeys we sat out on the deck and watched and listened to the forest come alive....truly spectacular!!!!

Both bathrooms are open to the forest on the side with the shower. You feel that you are showering in the middle of the forest.

Kati was a wealth of information and a delight to work with. We have since come to feel that we have a new friend her in CR.

We cannot wait for our family and friends to come visit so we can make our way back to this wonderful home.

Don't miss this one!!!

Ed and Nan
Owner's Response: Dearest Nan and Ed,
Thank you so very much for your very lovely and articulate Review of our 28 Acre Wildlife Sanctuary Villa. It truly made my heart sing to hear how much you two enjoyed your stay with us. I know you wanted to stay longer, and I was sorry that we had a previous reservation for other guests, not allowing you to spend more time with us!!! However, as you said, “We cannot wait for our family and friends to come visit so we can make our way back to this wonderful home.”, so I know we will be seeing you again.
Because you didn't mention it in your review, I was wondering if you had seen our almost-daily animal/bird visitors, like the white-face and howler monkeys, pizotes (coatamundis), guatusos, deer, the variety of birds and the zillions of butterflies and humming birds, etc. Did they not come around to see you?
I am truly grateful that you will be renting a home full-time here in Costa Rica because I, too, feel I have some wonderful new friends here. I look forward to getting together in the not-too-distant future.
With deep appreciation and much affection,
Kati
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Unbeatable views with great privacy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon and wish we could have stayed longer. The house is beautiful and exotic with the open floor plan and open air. We saw - and heard - a lot of wildlife, including iguanas, coatis, capuchin monkeys and many birds and butterflies. The house enjoys near total privacy in every direction. We chose not to rent a car, and it was a half-hour walk down the long hill to Montezuma and the beach, with a quick US$6 taxi ride back up to the house. A steep, but quick hike down to the river behind the house rewards you with beautiful pools and access to waterfalls, as well as even more wildlife.

The owner, Kati, was eager to offer us suggestions on transportation and gave great recommendations for our stay in San Jose, as well. Although he does not speak English (so be prepared for that), the caretaker, Johnny, is very helpful.

This is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy Costa Rica's outdoors in a unique and cozy home. It was the highlight of our trip and we highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
4

An amazing and relaxing natural experience.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is an amazing and unique place for a spiritual and relaxing nature experience. I am Costa Rican, so I have visited Montezuma and Cabuya almost every year, since more than 25 years, but I think this place is very special because of many reasons.
It has a 360 degrees spectacular landscape view with the sea and the coast and the typical Pacific forest, which is the home of a lot of birds and wild animals that you can see around the house and from the open wide windows of the second floor bedroom. You can enjoy the magical sound of the sea waves in one side and the murmur of the Montezuma River in the other side. The track to the river allows you to enjoy some natural and private swimming pool and several little water falls in the middle of the forest. The sky changing colors over the sea during the sun rise are incredible. And you can see the sunset over the forest, a very rare experience in y this part of the Nicoya gulf.
The house is completely integrated and open to these natural surroundings, you can enjoy the white faced and the howling monkeys that came near the house. From the open windows of the second floor bathroom you cans see the coast and the forest while you take a refreshing shower.
After visiting this place, you would wish to come back again!!
Owner's Response: Hi Mario,
I just finished speaking with you on the phone, thanking you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. During our conversation I asked you what it was we needed to do to improve our home/property/service in order for us to have received a 5-Star Rating (you had given us 4 stars and we strive to receive 5 stars from our guests). I know that I made it clear to you to be completely honest and frank with me so that we could learn what we could have done better. I was so grateful to hear you say, "I NEVER give the MAXIMUM rating for ANYTHING (whether it be an employee evaluation, an evaluation of a meal or service in a restaurant, etc. etc.!!!" Your explaining this to me was so helpful because I was surprised you hadn’t given us a 5-Star Rating, based on your comments to me after your stay -- you had told me that you were amazed with the beauty and grace of our home and how much you loved being there, and that you want to come back again next year. So, as you so graciously put it, “I gave you the highest rating I ever give for anything -- 4 out of 5 stars." We are always seeking to improve on our facilities and customer service and therefore are always open to any kind of suggestions our guests have regarding their stay with us. We look forward to your visit again next year.
Warmest regards,
Kati
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
Toronto
4

Peaceful yet exotic!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had the opportunity to stay at Kati's house and loved the experience. Kati was so pleasant to deal with and the house was very easy to get to. It was so nice to have the open air home and being so close to nature. We had a 'natural geographic' experience and loved every minute of it. Seeing the sun rise was a beautiful site. Johnny was very helpful and it was nice to have him on the grounds as he kept a very good eye on the house. We explored the area and enjoyed coming back to the house for some quiet time. If you want to experience the open air living in Costa Rica, this is a great house to do it in.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

A beautifull peace oasis!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had such a great time meeting with friends in this magnificient villa! Honnestly the photos on the profile dont't do justice to the place and don't reflect the impression we had when we first walked in. The place feels warm, inviting and has a general feel of peace and calm. I loved the concept of being "in the nature" with almost no doors and no windows. The view on the ocean was amazing and the sound of it at night like a lullaby.

The distance to the village and beach makes it an easy walk down the hill and insure you a calm and private place. The river at the back is also a nice and refreshing option and you can walk your own way to the famous 3 waterfalls of Montezuma.

Johnny (who lives next door) was really welcoming, helpfull and nice to us. We could see the attention he puts in keepping the place and the garden just perfect. Altough we did'nt meet Kati in person, the conversations we had on the phone were very friendly. She is a lovely women with a really big heart and one can tell that she is happy to share her peace of paradise.

I definitely recommand the place and thank both Kati and Johnny for giving us opportunity to build amazing memories in this wonderfull place!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
Montreal, Qc, Canada
5

Pura Vida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Five days in this paradise was not enough to disconnect and live the way it should be. This is a big open concept Villa with 2 huge bedrooms. The open concept allows to be completely immersed in nature with a comfort of a 5 stars hotel. Montezuma is quite hilly and the house is located up the main route.

I truly recommend this Villa !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Antoine,
Not all of our guests think to write a review, so it is always a pleasure to hear what they have to say about their stay with us. Your commentary says what most of our guests say when they have stayed less than a week.....that "it just wasn't enough time!!!" They have all said, in one way or another, that just as they were beginning to "settle in" to the peacefulness and grace of being in the Sanctuary, that they were sorry that they had to leave for the next "Programmed Destination.” I'm glad you mentioned it so that others, perhaps, won't make the same mistake -- not just because it is so lovely being in our home, on the land, or in the River below, but also because there is so much to see and do in and around Montezuma. We've had people stay a week to 2 weeks with us, using the Villa as "Home Base" from which to explore all around Montezuma, Malpais, Santa Theresa, Playa Hermosa, Manzanillo, Playa Coyote and more.
I would like to mention here that the entrance to our property is less than 1 mile from downtown Montezuma and the beaches. For those, like you, who choose not to rent a car, there are buses every 2 hours that pass by the entrance to our property.
It was a great pleasure meeting both you and Veronique and I sincerely hope you will tell all of our friends about us that you two will return again soon.
With much affection,
Kati Winnegrad
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Beautiful house on secluded nature reserve

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This beautiful open-plan home allows the visitor to feel at one with the surrounding nature reserve. A curious deer approached us without any fear and you will see many unfamiliar birds and mammals. Johnny made us very welcome and I look forward to returning for a longer stay.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
5

Tasteful, Fresh & Airy Healing Wildlife Sanctuary

Tasteful, Fresh & Airy Healing Wildlife Sanctuary
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Three days at the Wildlife sanctuary are not enough. We all really loved being here and discovering the abundance of wildlife that surrounds this beautiful property. Way above Montezuma, although actually quite close, this makes wonderful peaceful getaway from the world. Johnny the caretaker is very helpful and sweet. Definitely a great experience.
Owner's Response: Hi Dee,
Thanks so much for the lovely Review you posted on the Home Away.com website. We were so happy that you and your friends had such a wonderful time in our home. Dee, you're so right in saying that "Three Days is Not Enough" because we continually hear this from our guests as they are leaving to continue on with their vacations. They say things like, "Just as we were beginning to truly RELAX into this lovely home of yours, we have to leave to go to our next destination and we wish we had booked more time with you here."
By the way, Dee, we are now working with a lawyer to become an "official" Not-for-Profit Corporation because, as you know, it has always been our intention to support the Sanctuary with the Rental Income, in other words, we wish to find a way for this Sanctuary to become totally self-supporting.
Hoping to see you again soon,
Warmest regards,
Kati Winnegrad
(506) 2288-5335 OR 2642-0660
business
Montezuma Sanctuary: spacious hill-top villa w/360deg view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972527
+506 8888-1123
Montezuma Puntarenas
4

Very beautiful home with views to match it!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The property is well kept, beautiful flower garden as well as waterfalls just a small hike down the trail. This place is a nature lovers paradise. We had a great time here and anyone who loves nature will too!
Helpful votes: 1/2