Neskowin cabin rental - Coming into the driveway with the log-lined retaining wall and winter sunrise.
Coming into the driveway with the log-lined retaining wall and winter sunrise.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Neskowin Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 1 bedroom, 1bath (sleeps 2)

NOTE TO ALL MY PAST GUESTS (thank you), FUTURE GUESTS AND POTENTIAL GUESTS: I love every new year, full of potential. I spend days planning and scheming about what I want to accomplish in the next 12 months. But this year I broke my pattern. I made time to come visit my own cabin. I am asking you to consider this - forget your running, hiking, yoga, acupuncture, massage, ibuprophen...whatever it is you do to relax. Plan a getaway. Plan it here. Do not bring your computer. You will find peace and quiet until your mind becomes mushy. Turn on the hot water in the claw foot tub, add bubbles, lean back and look up into the trees, the valley, the stars. Then put your feet up while sitting on the couch watching the sun set over the ocean. Stay as long as possible. You may find a place inside that will stay with you even when you get back to your world. Do this for yourself...

Listen to the quiet…

This year-round retreat is totally private with magnificent 180-degree views. A west and south-facing deck overlooks sunsets, the ocean and miles of forest. Newly built in 2011, we have furnished this cozy but contemporary 1 bedroom, 1 bath home as a comfy getaway. It is located 300 feet above the valley floor, with southern exposure. Three sides of windows and decks show off a view from many vantage points. It is likely the most elegant “tree house” you have ever seen.

This is the place where you will remember what peacefulness feels like. You may be so 'busy' looking out the windows while curled up on the couch, watching the morning sun peek though the trees, the sun set over the ocean, the moon coming through the skylight while soaking in the claw foot tub, star gazing from bed....that you never quite make it down to the beach. (Although it is only a 5-minute drive.) Make the Green Flash Cabin your destination for Savoring Silence.

Sunset Magazine recommended our cabin as one of three best places to stay along the gorgeous Oregon Coast...in the September 2012 edition, 'The Call of the Oregon Coast.'

TWO-PERSON MAXIMUM, NO EXCEPTIONS. Keep in mind that the location of this cabin is one mile east of Hwy 101, sitting up high along a valley that has few residents. It has a one-lane gravel road that used to be a logging road - it cannot be found by GPS. If this sounds too remote for you, then you may want to be closer in to town. But if it sounds appealing, it is honestly just fantastic. It is two miles to the beach.

This is a retreat destination, without the ammenities of a microwave, WiFi or cable TV (although 3G access is very good). However, we do have a state-of-the-art stove, with touch-sensor commands. In addition, there is a dishwasher, electric coffee maker and toaster. While in the kitchen you are surrounded by views of miles of unspoiled wilderness.

The 'Green Flash' is an atmospheric phenomenon that, when the conditions are just right, you will actually see a very bright lime green flash - similar to a light bulb flash - right at the moment when the sun drops below the horizon at sunset. I have seen this only once during my time at the coast. It was truly memorable...

Just a 5-minute drive to the village of Neskowin, you’ll be far from the beach shops and boardwalks of larger beach towns. In Neskowin you will find one golf course, one grocery store, one art gallery and one wonderful café – the only commercial businesses. Enjoy 7 miles of gorgeous beach walking, evening bonfires, surfing, skim boarding and tide pool exploring. Within a beautiful 10-mile drive is Pacific City, where there are numerous fun shops, galleries, restaurants, a surf shop, another wide and walkable beach, plus the tide pools and hiking of unique Cape Kiwanda.

This beautiful part of the north/central Oregon Coast is just a two-hour drive southwest of Portland, between Lincoln City and Pacific City, north of Cascade Head.

Check out Sitka Center for Art and Ecology, a most wonderful facility located along the south side of Cascade Head. They offer a wide array of classes and workshops all summer. (about a 7- mile drive)

Green Flash Cabin, LLC

More Details
Hide Details

After living in Neskowin for 13 years, I moved to Portland with my family in 1991. I am a silversmith who handcrafts jewelry, and also manages several vacation rentals in addition to my own. I love my job, gardening, kayaking, biking, hiking, spending time with my dog, and taking off for a few days at the coast.

Stephanie Wiarda purchased this cabin in 2011

Neskowin is a small, special place that has changed little in the 30 years since I lived in and now visit the area. It is quaint, friendly, relaxed, has headlands, a long beach, eagles, majestic forests, hiking trails....everything you would want in a coast village.

Time, quiet, privacy, beauty, nature, peace, sunsets, tidepools, elk, deer, eagles, reading on the deck, dozing on the couch, walking on the beach. Time, quiet, privacy.

It is a 5-minute drive to the beach and village where there is one cafe, one small store, and access to the beach. Keep your eyes peeled for seals in the surf and sand dollars on the beach. I even found a whale vertebrae in the sand a few years ago!

26 Reviews of Property 972517 in Neskowin, Oregon

Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
average rating of 4.952381 based on 26 reviews
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
5

Everything you imagine and so much more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This place is incredible. While the photos absolutely do it justice, there is no way to capture the true majesty and magic of this cabin and its location. Working with Stephanie was easy, and she was incredibly responsive. The cabin was clean and beautiful upon our arrival, even though the cabin was booked every single day around our stay. It was quiet, relaxing, and romantic. While it was raining and foggy when we arrived, within an hour or two, the sun came out over the ocean just in time for the sunset. It was absolutely amazing. While it's been nearly two weeks since our stay, I find myself thinking of Green Flash Cabin regularly. We will most certainly go back. It was unlike anywhere I'd stayed before. I feel lucky to have been able to stay here on the night of our engagement. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our guests make us so happy, as we feel the same way about the cabin, and love to share it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful and Perfect

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I were here for a week on our honeymoon. The cabin was so beautiful and perfect! We both knew we would enjoy our time here, but we both agree it was even better than we imagined. Thank you for making our honeymoon so special. We will remember this place and hope to come back in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
5

A Perfect Tonic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
In thinking about what I needed to unwind from the craziness of work life, I was thinking about a cabin in the woods, but also like what coastal towns can offer. Luckily I found both in this beautiful retreat. Very quiet and serene, with wonderful forest and ocean views. And, a quick drive to town in either direction on highway 101. The owner was very responsive in her communications, and provided all the information needed to make the stay an easy one. I will certainly come back to this lovely spot.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review. It is such a pleasure to have feedback, and know that guests love it as much as we do.
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My Wife and I recently stayed at the cabin. It is beautiful, and everything is exactly how it looks in the pictures. The owner provided us with useful information. It was exceptionally clean and stocked with everything we would need. I give my highest recommendation to stay here.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for being our guest!
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
5

A Wonderful Hideaway with Inspiring Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
A well described and maintained retreat cabin. Excellent owner communication and directions. Wonderful placement of windows providing views of surroundings on three sides. If you hit it lucky, there'll be sunshine on decks morning, noon and evening. Interior casually classy. We would recommend this place to people who would love nature's peace in a quiet treed valley, the sounds of a stream if the winds are right and ever-changing ocean views. Plenty of variation in beach and restaurant exploration within a 15 mile radius. Closest beach just five minutes away. A definite recommend.
Owner's Response: Anytime a guest "gets it" as you have, it just makes me extremely happy. Thank you!
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
5

AMAZING CABIN!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Words can not explain our stay in this amazing little cabin. It was perfect! It fair exceeded my expectations, everything was even more beautiful than the pictures. The cabin was clean & well maintained. The views from all around the cabin are breathtaking. We picked up food in Lincoln City, so we didn't have to leave the cabin if we didn't want to. We didn't even have to pick up water because the drinking water from the tap was delicious! Stephanie was excellent as well. She included information on near by hikes that were well worth our time! We just regret not staying maybe just another night longer. We will definitely be back soon!
Oh, and make sure to bring plenty of bath salts! I will dream of that bathtub!
Owner's Response: Thank you so so much. I am so pleased when I hear such wonderful comments. Please do come again.
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
5

Romantic Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The Green Flash Cabin surpassed our expectations!! The home is beautiful with a great view from every window in the house. We packed plenty of food so we didn't have to leave the home unless we wanted to. Which we did end up hiking The Cape Kiwanda sand dune, which was 10 minutes south of the house.We took full advatage of the deck from morning coffee to evening wine. I also packed plenty of bath salts for soaking in the bathtub. We had a wonderful weekend!! It was hard to come home back to reality. I would recommend The Green Flash Cabin to all my family and friends, but I also think I might be keeping it a secret. :)
Owner's Response: We are so happy that it was a great experience for you both!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
Tacoma, WA
5

Relaxing Reading Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I spent three nights at the Green Flash Cabin during December and loved it. The cabin is secluded (only a couple of homes are viewable in the distance) and very peaceful. We enjoyed the wonderful views of the trees and ocean from all parts of the cabin. Everything we needed was there...really no need to leave, although we enjoyed a nice walk on the surrounding logging roads. Most of our getaways involve doing lots of sightseeing; it was nice to just stay put and catch up on reading. We would highly recommend the Green Flash Cabin for a relaxing weekend!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice comments!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
Portland, OR
5

Relaxing retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This retreat offers a place of calm to get away from technology and enjoy a simplistic and serene setting. The bathing tub was especially nice, looking out over the forest, and the view from the beach while laying in bed in the morning was peaceful. Highly recommend this as a romantic getaway, with opportunities to cook meals, read, rest and enjoy some quiet time, just minutes away from the charming Neskowin beach.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Kelly, Thank you so much. I hope you will visit again!
business
Secluded Retreat with Spectacular Views, featured in Sunset Magazine
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p972517
+1 503 484-7148
Neskowin Coastal Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Heaven

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The sunsets from the deck and every window were absolutely spectacular!Thanks for sharing your little piece of heaven with us!