Austin house rental - Beautiful private hot tub with shade!
Beautiful private hot tub with shade!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 6 max

We call this property The Traveler because we realize that folks travel from all over the world to com visit Austin, and we wanted to provide a theme that might just make you feel right at home. As we continue to furnished out this property, we will be adding pieces of art from our own travels, including a map so you can leave your “mark” with us, in Austin.

This lovely two bedroom, one bath duplex features a hot tub, and lots of patio space to enjoy the weather. Zilker Park is just about a mile or so away, and downtown is just 3 miles.

NOTE: This house is half a of duplex, that can be rented to larger groups and families who need an additional 2 bedrooms and 1 bath!

JUST ADDED: King bed in Master, queen bed in second bedroom

Walk to the Barton Creek Greenbelt, there's a neighborhood entrance just down the street!

This property is owned by Brett Egge and Jay Reynolds. Jay is a life-long Austinite and co-owner of VacationCake Rentals (who manages the property). Brett caddies full time on the Champions Tour. Golf is in our blood so if you're planning to bring your clubs, definitely let us know!

Jay Reynolds and Lauren Bard purchased this house in 2012

We bought this property because we love the neighborhood. We love being close to The Greenbelt, Kerbey Lane Cafe, downtown Austin, and Zilker Park.

You can walk around the corner, into a neighborhood Greenbelt entrance and feel like you're out in the middle of nowhere. It's beautiful out there and an amazing way to escape into nature. Also, being so close to downtown, but in IN downtown has it's serious benefits.

15 Reviews of Property 971853 in Austin, Texas

The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Excellent Service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This duplex is great. Everything I needed, and more, for a comfortable visit in Austin. The hot tub is fabulous, the beds are comfortable. Jay and Lauren are responsive to all needs and they are the best resource for any of your Austin questions. I was really impressed with the level of service for the low price. I will be returning to stay with Vacation Cake.
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
Calgary
5

Great Little Austin Pad

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great little half duplex in Austin in a very central location. This place had everything we needed, full size washer & dryer and a little outdoor patio area with a BBQ grill (which we used quite a bit) and hot tub and king size bed which was very comfy. The bathroom and kitchen were well stocked with essentials and tons of towels, also detergent for the laundry which was great and often isn't provided- so a lot of thoughtful extra touches. The owner (Jay) was really responsive when we mentioned that the dining room light bulb had gone and came over to fix it during our stay. This isn't a brand new house, as it appears to be in an established older part of Austin, so do not expect a state of the art home, but it was really clean and comfortable and the wifi was great, easy to access and seemed to have a good speed at all times. Owners also have a lot of information in a binder about the area and local restaurants and full cable- so all the comforts of home- highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
Austin, TX
5

Great location, relaxing retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I stayed here almost a week, and found everything I needed at this great little house. The house was clean and well stocked, the bed was comfortable, the kitchen had most of what I needed to cook meals, and the hot tub was an awesome bonus. Jay was super responsive to any requests I had and was very easy to work with. The location is fantastic - close to lots of restaurants and bars, and walking distance to the scenic Greenbelt (which my dog appreciated). I would definitely stay here again.
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect for a girls weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We got the Traveler as a place to stay for a bachelorette party. We specifically wanted this one due to it having a hot tub. I was hosting so I coordinated all the arrangements. I worked directly with Jay, but sometimes had to reach out to Lauren. Both were extremely professional and polite. I was very pleased with how timely my questions were answered and just overall impressed with the whole process. Jay even allowed me to check in early to decorate even though the grounds needed minor maintenance. I assured him I didn't mind working around what they were doing so he agreed to allow the early check in.

The house offered all the comforts of home, including basic kitchen cooking/eating items to hand soap and lotion in the bathroom. If I say anything negative about the house, is the drive way and walking to the front door is on a steep hill, but you're in hill country so what can you do.

I love how close everything was to the Traveler. 7 mins and we're downtown. 3 mins and we're at the highway. 2 blocks away from several restaurants and one block from the most honk tonk country bars/dance hall I've ever been to (The Broken Spoke).

LOVE LOVE LOVE this house. I expect to do business again with Vacation Cake (Jay). Never again will I stay in a hotel while traveling to Austin!! Thank you again so much!!
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Very Nice, Easy to Work With

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I booked the Traveler for my co-workers during SXSW. Everything was clean and everyone had nothing but good things to say. One group even said their hosts left beer for them in the fridge :)
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Austin cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The cottage was great, in easy distance of Austin centre, clean and quiet. Could do with some comfortable easy chairs! Loved the area and would definitely stay there again should we visit Austin again. Very nice.
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Thanksgiving at the Traveler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our recent 2-week stay at the "Traveler" was delightful. We were in Austin to visit our son for Thanksgiving. Jay and his team were always available to answer our questions. The location is very convenient. The "Traveler" has all the amenities that we hoped for. We especially enjoyed the private hot tub. We cooked a complete Thanksgiving dinner in the well-stocked kitchen. A big "Thank You" from Indiana to Jay and Brett! Happy Holidays!
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
5

Austin Weekend with kids and dog!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
LOVE, LOVE this place!! Great location and peaceful setting!! Jay was great and made sure everything was perfect. Would definitely stay again.
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
4

The Traveler is awesome!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The Traveler unit A is a great cozy 2 BR with a beautiful patio deck and a large Jenga game in back. Jay was very helpful and accommodating in response to my emails. Will definitely return again! In a great location just a block from the main street of S. Lamar. House was stocked with utensils and small appliances too.
business
The Traveler 2/1 with PRIVATE HOT TUB, king and queen beds and awesome patio!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971853
+1 5129446888
Austin Austin area
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
5

Some of our best sleeps ever at the Traveler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Myself and three best friends spent 2 weeks at the traveller and we can’t say enough amazing things about it. Located within a safe and quiet neighbourhood it is only minutes away from convenience/grocery stores, restaurants, pubs, nature and is about a 10 minute car ride to downtown. It is also easily accessible to the hwy system.

The house has a lot of charm and maintains a perfectly comfortable cool temperature which provides for a heavenly escape from the hot Texas sun. The private patio makes for a wonderful morning coffee venue, or afternoon sun and evening BBQ session. We spent the majority of our time relaxing and dining in that area.

Booking was easy and the Jay (the landlord) was beyond kind and accommodating.

We all agree that the Traveller is our new Austin home away from home and will definitely be back.
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a great stay. Y'all were lovely guests. Please come on back anytime!