Captain Cook house rental - Panoramic Ocean View from the Lanai
Panoramic Ocean View from the Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Come experience rural Hawaii, just 23 miles south of Kailua-Kona. Get away from the traffic and lights of the city. Relax on the Lanai, watch the whales and enjoy the panoramic ocean views and blue skies from this lovely ranch style home in "Kona Paradise".

Beautiful Pebble Beach, one of the best kept secret beach on the Big Island is just 5 minutes away with great snorkeling, swimming, diving, kayaking and boating! Swim with the turtles at near by Honaunau Bay or simply enjoy the private beach..

10 minutes to Hookena beach with Kealakekua Bay and City of Refuge nearby. 90 minutes drive to Volcano National Park

For Dolphin swim in the wild, Manta Ray swim at night or scuba tours, ck out KonaOceanAdventures website

Keywords: House

12 Reviews of Property 97153 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Utterly perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
House was clean, view stunning, the kitchen had everything needed for cooking, lanai amazing, ample space, tons of towels, washer/ dryer worked great, everything one could ask for.

Location serene, peaceful, quiet, safe, picturesque.

Beach below beautiful.

Completely chill. Possibly some of the quietest nights and most restful sleep I've had in years.

Hostess most helpful and gracious in answering my numerous questions.

Fabulous stay! So glad I stayed here!!!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Edgewood,WA
3

Stunning views, but average house

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The view and the lanai was all that this house had going for it...other than the location too! We fell in love with Kona Paradise! The snorkeling at the beach at the bottom of Kona Paradise was amazing! The beach may be a rocky, but at least you don't have to deal with the sand! We also enjoyed our mornings & evenings out on the lanai, in the morning taking in the beautiful ocean view and surrounding beauty. In the evening watching all the geckos play on the lanai! The house wasn't bad, but the carpets were dirty, the floors felt sticky and there was no soap for the showers. Would definetly like to stay in this area again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/3
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Portland, OR
4

Good Value

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We have no complaints. As the owner and others have noted, the house is remote - 45 minutes from Kailua, 20 minutes from most services. But it's only 8 miles from Hookena Beach. A little further north you'll find Two Step/Honaunau. Don't miss the Arch City coast hike there. Stop at the coffee/breakfast/lunch place at the nexus of Hwy 11 and 160 -- forgot the name, but the food is good, at the best price you're likely to find and the staff is excellent.

The ocean view from the house is remarkable. It's quiet (mostly), comfortable and if you're the sort who complains about the heat in Hawaii, at 750 feet up it's very pleasant. For what you get, the price is very fair. The kitchen works well, and is perfectly adequately stocked. There's a good bottled water supply provided -- don't forget there's a water catchment system, so mind your shower time.

Note that there's some construction next door; nothing too intrusive. Looked like they were finishing exterior work in February (2013).

If you're looking for sun at the house, maybe look elsewhere -- the deck is big and nice, but perfectly situated for shade. Do not stay here if you have trouble climbing; the driveway, like the neighborhood in general, is mostly vertical.

Could it be more comfortable; improvements made? Yes, at a cost, so adapt and enjoy. Aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Alaska
5

Quiet house with all the amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a great time with the family here. The owner was very helpful and accommodating. The house has everything you need for cooking. We saw whales daily(bring binoculars). Access to good snorkeling and boogie boarding beaches is a close drive. It is a long ways from Kona so stock up on the essentials before leaving. The closest local grocery store is around 20 minutes away. If you like to be away from swarming tourists this is the place.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Urbana, Illinois USA
5

Fabulous house in Kona Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I would definitely give this property an "Excellent" rating. The owner was most helpful in arranging our stay, with good communications and thorough information in advance of our stay.

It was very clean and thoroughly prepared for our two-week stay in May 2012. Everything worked, the kitchen was well stocked with various miscellaneous condiments, and we couldn't have been happier when we stepped in the door. The linen closet had plenty of extra bed linens and towels (including beach towels). Although we didn't use most of them, there were lots and lots of beach toys and other beach items -- perfect for a family with children, large or small. There was even plenty of laundry soap with the washer & dryer downstairs. We didn't try the gas grill on the lanai, but plan to do so during our next stay at this property in August of this year. From the lanai we were able to see wild pheasants, mongoose, and geckos, and were blessed with beautiful flowers all around the property.

All in all, it was exactly as advertised, and the view from the spacious lanai was just like the photo. Having toured the property on a previous visit to the island, we came prepared for the steep driveway and rented an all-wheel-drive vehicle. It managed the incline (common in this area) without a problem, although there was ample parking at the top of the driveway off the side of the street. The stairs up from the driveway to the door didn't cause us a problem, but should be noted for potential guests who have trouble going up and down steps.

The house to one side of us was for sale and thus vacant during our entire stay. On the other side of this property there was a vacant lot. We rarely saw anyone in the area, although that may be due to the time of the year (May).

Local restaurants & stores are approximately 15 miles north of Kona Paradise, as this is not close to any town. There were numerous ones about half way between the property and the city of Kona, and Kona itself is about 45 minutes to the north. Two good public beaches are within 5 miles of the property. I don't recommend the "pebble" beach at the waterfront below the property -- too hard to navigate the tennis-ball-sized rocks there, although we saw some folks who were braver than we.

We highly recommend this property and will definitely being going back ourselves!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Fort Worth, Tx
5

Very Nice Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I found the home to be very nice and just as listed. The view is incredible from the lanai. It is 45 min from Kona but that was just what I was looking for. It is very close to some of the best snorkeling around. I will try and rent again in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
MO
5

We Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed our week long stay at Kona Paradise! The house was great and we so appreciated all the amenities with it. We had breakfast on the lanai every morning before heading out for the day. The view is awesome especially on clear days. Also, appreciated having the use of a cooler, boogie board and snorkel equipment. We loved the friendly neighborhood with all its blooming flowers and the adventure of driving the steep roads. We had no problem locating it even as we arrived that first night in the dark--thanks to GPS. It was a good central location as we took off exploring in either direction. However, you don't just make a quick run into town. We loved all the fruit stands along the roads and friendliness of the people. We drove all over the Island sightseeing. Unfortunately, the day we went to the Black Sands Beach to play, the weather turned bad. However, we did find a sea turtle resting there and that was a thrill. We did visit the Volcano Park, the Observatory Visitor's Center, attended a Luau, saw water falls, the Southern most point, stopped at beaches and snorkeled, explored the little towns and much more. Also, swam with the dolphins and saw a couple of whales. Do be aware that the boat excursions do change or combine their agendas. It was wonderful to come back to a quiet house at the end of the day to relax and sometimes watch a movie. The house was everything the pictures and description said. Really appreciated the steps beside the steep driveway. We will recommend it to our family and friends. Thanks so much!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Marin
4

Christmas Vacation 2011

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This house was in a great location for us because we wanted to be far away from the crowds. The house is located on a very steep hill so we were thankful that we rented a four wheel drive. We did this amazing hike to the Captain Cook Monument which was a 1300 ft four mile loop. Great snorkeling at the monument. The house it self was clean and we cooked most of our meals in. The beach is down the steep hill about one mile down, the climb back up was really tough but by the end of our stay we were running back to the house.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Austin, Texas, USA
4

Great place to get away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family had a wonderful time in this quiet neighborhood (aside from one morning when the neighbors decided to renovate their driveway with a jackhammer). The house was well laid out and well supplied, including snorkeling equipment and coolers for our day trips. It made a wonderful home base for our trips to Kealakekua and Honaunau, Volcanoes National Park and the Green and Black Sand beaches.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha, hope to see you again in the future
Laure
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Special Rates - Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97153vbi
8089603610
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Irvine, CA USA
4

good

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Quiet. Clean and well-maintained. Very well equiped kitchen. Nice bathrooms. Excellent accoutrements, we enjoyed the beach bags, snorkel equipment and coolers. The cachement water system was no issue as there was ample water supplied.
The rental agreement came with full details from the owner/rental contact, who was also very nice.
We loved sitting on the porch watching the ocean. The beach (black pebble beach) had good parking, and the snorkelling was excellent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Aloha Michelle,

Thanks for the feeback; hope to see you again soon.

Laure
Helpful votes: 1/1