Winchester apartment rental - Rainbow over Forest Lake Fall 2012
Rainbow over Forest Lake Fall 2012
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Winchester Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 6.

Private beach, dock, raft, rowboat, canoe, 4 Kayaks, or launch your boat. Cable TV, high speed internet, WIFI, 42' flat screen internet TV.

Sleeps 6 - two bedrooms - One with Queen bed, one with two single beds, and a full size pullout couch in the

family/living room.

106 feet of sandy beach with dock and raft for your swimming, boating, or fishing pleasure.

8' sliding door to patio 80 feet from water's edge.

Central air conditioning

Faces east for beautiful sunrises. Beach is sunny all day.

Eight golf courses are in the region.

Everything provided except beach towels.

Activities - swimming, fishing, boating, hiking, mountain climbing, golf, miniature golf, go carts, bowling, shopping, restaurants, plays, auctions, antiquing, Ice Fishing, Ice Skating, Snowmobiling, Cross Country Skiing, 1 hr. to Snow Skiing - Okemo - Mount Snow - Crotched Mountain.

Optional opportunity - To possibly rent 18' speedboat 190 hp with driver for cruising the lake for sight seeing, wake boarding, tubing, and water-skiing. Wake board, and water ski lessons available. All water equip. provided-ski's,wake-board,etc $75/hr

The best of New England awaits you. A quaint New England town with baked bean suppers, antique shops & auctions, fairs and friendly people all nestled in the foothills of New Hampshire. Enjoy your weekends and vacations with deer, fox, Bald Eagles, and Canadian geese as life slows down to a relaxed pace. Four miles from New Hampshire's largest wilderness state park - Pisgah State Park. It's great for hiking and enjoying the great outdoors. Twenty four miles to Mount Monadnock - Elevation 3,125' - One of the most frequently climbed mountains in the world.

- Most people are having such a great time - They don't leave the lake.

This abode is located on Forest Lake in Winchester, NH. The Monadnock Region is great for Summer time fun, Fall foliage, Winter activities or Spring time hiking.

- Handicap accessible - No stairs to climb or hills to navigate. 80 feet from the waters edge.

- No running up and down stairs with food plates, etc. The patio and barbecue grill are right outside your sliding door.

- Beach is sunny all day from sunrise to sunset - Some beaches are shady most of the day.

- Equipment provided - Canoe, rowboat, 4 kayaks, life vests

- Optional equipment available for a rental fee - Speedboat, Water-ski's, Wake Board, Water Tubes. $75/hr

2 hrs. from Boston, MA

1 hr. 20 min. from Hartford, CT

2 hrs. from Albany, NY

3 hrs. from NYC

More Details
Hide Details

I am one of twelve children. I grew up in Meriden, CT and used to come to Forest Lake every Summer, since 1950. I graduated from the University of Hartford in Hartford, CT in 1979 with BS in Business Administration and graduated with MBA in Management in 1986. I spent most of my career as Material Manager for a small company in Bloomfield, CT. My wife and I are currently retired. I am currently on the Winchester School Board and on the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

Bill McGrath purchased this apartment in 2005

I spent every Summer here, since 1950. I really loved the area and the people. My dream was to retire here. We purchased this property in 1992 and in 2005 we built our retirement home on Forest Lake. It's like being on vacation year round. We hate to leave to go anywhere else.

We love the lake, the woods, and the mountains. We like the rural character of the area. It's so peaceful and serene. It's like being on vacation year round. We like to travel, but we enjoy the area so much we don't like to leave.

8 Reviews of Property 971040 in Winchester, New Hampshire

Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place was truly amazing. We knew the first morning we were there that we would be back next year. Bill and Sandy were great and very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed playing with Cassie. If you want a wonderful vacation give them a call, you won't regret it.
Owner's Response: Vickie,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed hosting you and Brenda in August 2013 and are looking forward to your return in 2014. You have now become like family.
Bill & Sandie
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Amazing Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is the most stunning location we have ever stayed at, the apartment is beautiful and has everything anyone could possibly need. The hosts,Bill & Sandie were marvellous, their kindness and friendliness made our holiday complete. We look forward to returning next year.
Owner's Response: Graham & Alyson,
Thank you. We throughly enjoyed hosting you and are looking forward to your return next year. I understand that you will be bringing Alyson's mother. During your stay next year, we hope to take you to the Keene Pumpkin Festival; hopefully they will have it during your stay with us.
Bill & Sandie
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

BEAUTIFUL vacation home with EVERYTHING you need!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My son took me on this vacation and we were both so impressed when we pulled up and saw the most gorgeous view of the lake and mountains that it was just breathtaking!
The owners were just fabulous. So pleasant and friendly. The apartment was just gorgeous. It has every possible item that you could possibly need and then some. I am disabled and I was just thrilled. Not a problem in the world..Everything is spotless. You don't have to bring hardly a thing from home.
I could just go on and on...BUT ..our plan is to try and go again next year and stay a bit longer.

Thanks for the wonderful time.
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Great place, wonderful hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I spent a weekend at this apartment, and we're planning to return next year. The view of the lake from the living room is amazing! Unfortunately, we didn't have sunny days, but it was still great to just relax, reading and watching the rain on the lake. The house had everything we needed, and the owners, Bill and Sandy, could not be more friendly and attentive. They'll do everything to make sure you have an excellent stay. And we definitely did. Can't wait to go back, hopefully for a sunny summer week!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Awesome Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Was one of the most memoriable vacations our family has ever had. The place was super clean. Bill and Sandy were terrific. Would highly recommend to anyone. We look forward to going back soon!!
Owner's Response: Paul & Carla,
It was our pleasure hosting you and your family. You became like our extended family. We hated to see you leave. Thank you for having us for dinner. Carla you are an awesome cook. We are looking forward to hosting your family again sometime in the future.
Bill & Sandie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
null
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Bill and Sandy were great hosts. We enjoyed our stay in their home. The kids spent all day on the lake swimming, kayaking and fishing. I plan on coming back with my son for a little ice fishing this winter!

Great place for a family to get away and enjoy the great outdoors.
Owner's Response: Tom, It was our pleasure hosting you and your family. I enjoyed teaching your son, Nick, how to water-ski. I had a feeling that he was going to get up on the first try and he didn't disappoint me. We look forward to hosting you and your family again sometime in the future.
Bill & Sandie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Winchester NH

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a wonderful spot. We were there for tounaments that my children were participating in but wished we could've spent the entire time at the lake. The home was immaculate with all the comforts of home, the owners couldn't have been more accomodating to our family and the lake was beautiful. All the use of the boats and the option too ski was a great plus. We have already booked for next year! This vacation spot is highly recommended.
Owner's Response: Thank you David and Kristine. It was our pleasure hosting you and your family. The boys really enjoyed the fishing and the boating. We are looking forward to you returning next year. Thank you for booking again.
Bill & Sandie McGrath
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful lake side get away, quiet, and peaceful.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p971040
+1 6032397072
Winchester Monadnock Region
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Accommodations met expectations. Early morning kayak trips around the lake and daily swims were great. We took a day trip to Boston which was very manageable. Keene and other towns satisfied our needs for the week. Our family of six adults were comfortable during the stay. Bill and Sandie were gracious hosts. We have already recommended this property to our friends.
Good location for relaxation and a peaceful setting.
Helpful votes: 3/3