Galveston house rental - Huge front deck looking over the ocean.
Huge front deck looking over the ocean.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Galveston House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

You're not just on the beach, you own the beach.

Enjoy our inviting and spacious 1400 sq. ft. beachfront home on the sandy beach with breathtaking views over the Gulf of Mexico and Christmas Bay. The entire house has just been remodeled: kitchen, bathrooms, paint, decks, fireplace, beds, sofas, ceiling fans, even a new pretty white railing around the two decks.

We think you'll enjoy your time here while your blood pressure drops.

The master bedroom includes a king size bed, double futon that can pull out to be a double bed, reading lamps, an en-suite bathroom with a garden tub and separate shower, large walk-in closet, dresser, private porch, and tranquil views of the sun rising over the Gulf (there is no better way to wake up).

The guest bedroom has a new tall queen bed, reading lamp, lounge chair, and dresser. The bunkroom has a double bed on the bottom with a twin on top, another twin bed and a reading lamp. Feel free to take out our boogie boards in the closet.

The house is literally right on the beach with just a sand dune between the beach and our home. Our neighborhood uses a little wooden crossover bridge for getting to the beach in order to preserve the dunes. The beach itself is beautiful for finding treasures like shells that wash up from the sea. There is mostly fine sand with shells interspersed. In the summertime, the water around Galveston is warm. During certain weeks throughout the year, beachgoers will see a line of seaweed that has washed up on the beach. Seaweed is not always there and is not the norm, but it is natural and just a part of the beach ecosystem. It is partially responsible for building up the beach and dunes that we all enjoy.

Keywords: Beach House, Beach Front, fishing, inviting, Internet, wifi, cable, new remodel, texas beach, Air Conditioning, Linens, dunes, fishing, swimming, galveston, san luis pass, quiet neighborhood, Flounder, red fish, crabs, large porch, sunset, sunrise, views, relax, margaritas, TV, DVDs, unobstructed beach, shelling, family, reading, get-away, fireplace, mackerel,

More Details
Hide Details

We are a sister and two brothers helping to care for our family's vacation home. The picture is several years old but we look even better now! We've created countless cherished memories at this house and are excited about having you come and experience our treasured spot.

We've made this our vacation getaway ever since Dear Old Dad built it on what he called the 'Best Beach Lot Ever' (he talks like that sometimes). But before you assume he is exaggerating (don't feel bad, we sometimes do too) take a look at our pictures. This honestly is a location unlike any other with a view down miles of unspoiled beach.

We all agree that sitting out on one of the beach-facing porches of our house is our favorite thing to do - people watching, watching the pelicans fly by, dolphins at play, seeing the colors change in the evening. The house is not overly cavernous, but has plenty of space to find privacy when you want it.

21 Reviews of Property 341374 in Galveston, Texas

House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Plano, Tx
5

Great House and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
We had a great time in Freeport. The house was just as pictured. It was very comfortable and the deck was perfect for our dogs. They had a ball watching the sea birds and folks on the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

The perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This house is exceptional in many ways. It's location is unbeatable and literally right on the beach with wonderful uninterrupted views of the sea. The house itself is beautifully furnished and the moment you walk through the door you feel relaxed and at ease. The original welcome gifts and bottle of wine were a typical thoughtful touch. From the initial enquiry, through to booking, arrival and throughout the stay the owners are always so friendly and ready to help, advise and respond immediately to messages. We ate in every night and the kitchen was a joy to cook in with high quality equipment and utensils. We booked the house as we needed a week of complete rest and relaxation and it could not have been better. Long walks up the beach even provided the daily exercise, and so much nicer than going to the gym! How better to follow a long walk than with a long, hot bath, a good book and a view out to sea. We flew from the UK and have never got over the time change quite so quickly. The bed is unbelievably comfortable with yet more unbeatable views.

In order to give a balanced review I have been trying to balance the exceptionally good points with some less good ones. Sadly I can't think of any!

If peace, quiet and seclusion are what you are looking for, together with comfort and luxury, look no further. This house is a gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

AWESOME WEEKEND GETAWAY!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a great time here!!! We planned it very last minute, seller had great communication & was always available!!! House was perfect for us & the view from the decks are amazing!!! We can't wait to go back!!! ?
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball,TX.
5

CS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a great time. Very clean and right on the beach. Make sure you bring a lot of your own food unless you want to eat out every night. Does need a new TV, for rainy days and nights. Was very relaxing and had great views. Will go again next year. Katie was always available for questions and contacted us several times before trip with updates and instructions. Very safe area and everyone we met was very nice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house should be named "BEST HOUSE On the beach' instead of "LastHouseOnthebeach" !! The view from the decks were wonderful - house sits RIGHT on the beach with great views of the gulf / ocean. Interior of house is very nicely decorated, and updated. Beautiful kitchen, fully stocked, and you can cook and look out at beach/ocean at same time. Love the windows all across the back of the house facing the ocean! By the 2nd day there, we lost track of time / day of week, we were so relaxed. Since it was after Labor Day, beach was pretty empty so no crowds to deal with at all. Soft and sandy beach, too! The owners of property VERY responsive, too.. I had some questions prior to our visit, so wrote a few emails asking variety of things, and always received a prompt response. When we got there, also had a lovely 'welcome' 'goody' bag . Very nice touch - just that 'over and above' nice thing to do! We definitely would recommend this property to friends / relatives, and hope to do this vacation again in the near future!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Exactly as advertised. Wonderful.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house was clean and very comfortable. The privacy was great. The waves can be heard from every room in the house. The view was perfect. Sand was soft. Kitchen was easy to use. Close enough to Galveston to run into town for lunch but far enough away to provide solitude. There were days when we were the only ones on the beach. And we didn't have to fly 15 hours to find it! Rarely do I find something that lives up to my expectations and the last house on the beach certainly did. Great experience.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

christmas in Texas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
House was clean and well maintained. The views were amazing and we had a great time with our family. We went to Moody Gardens on Christmas Eve and really enjoyed all of the attractions there, especially the paddle boat ride. We highly recommend the West End Sand Bar (we went there twice) and the Red Snapper in for lunch/dinner, as well as Sharkies for drinks. The owners provided a very comprehensive binder full of information as well as several helpful emails prior to our arrival.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
United States
5

Little piece of Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What was supposed to be a weekend getaway, ended up as a week long stay at the beach, and I am SO glad I choose to do so! FIRST thing that you cannot help but notice once you are standing on the porch of this house is the VIEW! Water and beach as far as the eye can see! Sound of the waves all day!! This place is a photographers heaven! Yes you are in a subdivision with other houses, but you never really feel like you are. Going there in December I figured that we would just be walking the beach and maybe build a sand castle or two. I was so wrong about that! Up until our last day there, the weather was warm and wonderful, and me and the Grandson were on the beach every day. Building sand castles, looking for shells (and yes there were LOTS of shells), and the grandson romping in the water. My sister who came down with me LOVED it so much, that she's still talking about it! The rest of my family got there by Thur/Fri, and EVERYONE enjoyed the beach. We did go into Galveston (about a 30 min drive, and there is a toll bridge, $2 each way...have some cash with you) several times. For shopping, seeing the city, and a few rounds of mini golf at Magic Carpet Golf (go there if you can...so worth it). The house itself was very nice. There is a large living area that is nothing but windows, and views! A nice fully functional kitchen. The 3 bedrooms worked just fine, with the master bedroom being the best (of course) The HUGE tub in the master bath became my Grandsons favorite place to bathe, with bubbles and a view that is wonderful! The other bathroom is standard, but great to have with a full house! The wifi in the house worked great. There are plenty of books, magazines, games, movies (but no kid titles), and Dish to keep you entertained while in the house. My son did bring his Wii, and it was easy to hook up. We also brought a bag of activities down for the Grandson, and bought him some other goodies at the Walmart in Galveston. Not once while we were there did I hear anyone say they were bored! Communication with the family that owns this property was prompt and friendly. (thanks andrew) Any problems being resolved quickly.And when we got there the Dad and other brother happened to be at the house, and were also very nice. Only cons? Wish there had been a little more comfortable seating in the living room, and on those REALLY bright sunny days, some window blinds in the main area would be GREAT to have. BUT overall FANTASTIC stay! I WILL go back!!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

Perfect Beach House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family spent Thanksgiving 2012 at the Last House on the Beach and had a wonderful time. The beach was great – no problems with seaweed. It was warm enough for our grandsons to play on the beach and in the water. They pulled out the owners’ boogie boards and hit the waves, built a sand “fort,” and flew their Angry Bird kite. One morning, we drove into Galveston to the Pleasure Pier, which is only about a 20-25 minute drive. It is not a long drive, and we found it interesting. Like other reviews, we also saw pods of dolphins. On our last evening, the weather turned stormy, but this is also a great house for watching storms over the ocean. We started a fire in the fireplace and enjoyed the lightening show.

The house is a good distance from the other beach houses in the community, and it has a 180 degree view of the ocean and of the bay to the northwest. The house takes full advantage of the view through its many windows. The Adirondack chairs on the deck are comfortable and just sitting on the deck is a treat. There’s a nice library - the 7 year old wanted to know what the encyclopedias were! – filled with books and puzzles and games. Be aware that the bunk room is most comfortable for children. It might not work well for an extended period for anyone older or of large build. We were hosting Thanksgiving dinner, and this meal requires a lot of kitchen time and cookware. The kitchen is easy for multiple people to work in and, as others have mentioned, very well stocked – often with duplicate equipment. We never ran short of cooking equipment or serving pieces.

We started planning this beach vacation 6 months ago and considered many different beach houses in the Freeport/Galveston area. We decided on this house because it was located right on the beach, all the reviews mentioned it had a private feel, it had a working fireplace (November in Texas can be chilly), and it looked bright and cheerful in the photos…plus it could accommodate our family of 9. This was our first time to rent a house, it was our first Thanksgiving dinner away from home, and it was our first vacation with our grown daughters, their husbands, and our grandchildren under one roof. I was naturally nervous, and the owners were always responsive and accommodating – a pleasure to work with. The house was everything pictured and more, and our family found it to be the perfect beach house.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House on the Beach and Looking Out to Sea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p341374vb
+1 512-677-4693
Galveston Texas Gulf Coast
5

The Last House On The Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We truly enjoyed our two weeks at The Last House On The Beach. The kitchen was well stocked with nice glassware and enough dinnerware for a large party. The beds were comfortable and sleeping was pleasant with the sound of the surf just a few yards away. The location is great, very close to the dune walkover to the beach. The beach is very private and often deserted. We could walk for miles and not see another person. But the best thing is the view from the deck: Sunrises, sunsets, the birds and the dolphins. On a couple of occasions we were treated to long “dolphin shows” as the dolphins jumped and flipped and splashed in the surf in front of the house. Also, the stairway that leads from deck down to the ground has a gate and latch on it, so pets or small children can be allowed on the deck and there is no danger of them wandering off. It is a bit of a drive to a full service grocery store….you will want to do your grocery shopping on the way in or schedule it around a sightseeing visit to Galveston….but the Brite Light Bait Shop is very close and is surprisingly well stocked for a small ‘fishing oriented’ shop. So, if you need milk, eggs, bread, lunch meat, snacks, ice or drinks you can easily get them without going into the city.
Helpful votes: 5/5