Lake Arrowhead cabin rental - Winter at Hobbit Hollow.
Winter at Hobbit Hollow.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Arrowhead Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Located at 5200 feet above sea level, this charming 1950's cottage is locally known as Hobbit Hollow. All seasons are wonderful... Summer months are mild with temperatures averaging in the mid 70's fahrenheit providing the perfect climate for boating, sailing or an outdoor barbecue. Fall is beautiful with autumn color and weather cool enough to enjoy a fire in the fireplace. Local skiing at Snow Summit; snow from as early as November until as late is April... February/March is when we typically get the most snow of the year. Spring is late in the mountains; May/June is when the daffodils, tulips, iris bulbs, dogwood trees and rhododendron bushes are in full bloom.

We have owned 'Hobbit Hollow' for over 10 years now. We've enjoyed wonderful vacations with friends and family and are happy to share this special hideaway with others now.

Cedar, pine and dogwood trees tower over the large stone patio and provide a shade canopy on sunny summer days. At the side stone patio is an outdoor fireplace, adjacent is a built-in barbecue with rotisserie to grill a special meal. A quick nap in the hammock breathing the fresh Alpine air at this altitude will alter your attitude.. help you forget your worries and cares!

Wood walls and beamed ceilings are lacquer finished redwood, floors are white oak. Bedrooms have plush wool carpet. With wood beam ceilings, the living room has a massive stone fireplace. The living room also has a large window with lake, forest, patio and garden views. Two master suites; one is referred to as 'The Red Room' and the other 'The Blue Room'... each has a queen size bed. 'The Blue Room' has a large built-in bed that could easily accommodate two adults in addition to the queen size bed. The kitchen is fully equipped with butcher block counters, a farm sink and a classic 1950's O'Keefe & Merritt stove/oven.

The drive to Lake Arrowhead from Los Angeles is only 1 1/2 hours - traffic permitting... and from the coast of Orange County it takes about 1 1/4 hours. San Diego is about an hour drive as well... Within an hours drive you can enjoy a complete change of season, climate and scenery... Hobbit Hollow offers a great escape weekend respite. Enjoy cherished quality time with friends and family. Take off for fun-filled holiday or a romantic getaway with someone special... just a little more than an hour drive from most of greater Los Angeles cities.

Lake Arrowhead Village is a 5 minute drive or 20 min. walk. The Village is known for its seasonal free concerts and family entertainment. There are also outlet/discount shopping opportunities, restaurants, a candy store... The Lake Arrowhead Resort Hotel is a 5 star facility with a full gym and spa - available to the public for a small fee. Summer months at the lake offer kayak or paddle board. Several times a day you can ride the Arrowhead Queen around the lake and hear stories of early Hollywood Royalty that made Lake Arrowhead their vacation home away from the city. A year round vacation retreat!

More Details
Hide Details

Large stone patio with views of the lake and privacy

Charming romantic retreat. Quality furnishings

6 Reviews of Property 970407 in Lake Arrowhead, California

Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p970407
+1 949 6331166
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
5

Beautiful, peaceful, tasteful--HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We fell in love with the photos of the cabin, but were even more surprised that it was even better than we had hoped! The house and property are so well cared for and expertly decorated. It was like we had the most gracious hosts without them even being there. Rooms were clean and lovely. No traffic outside. There was a hammock, espresso machine, board games and DVDs. Mark laid out a welcome basket for us when we arrived... The perfect getaway. House was not air conditioned, but the windows kept it nice and cool. If you need a respite, this is your place.
Owner's Response: Kate, thank you for the kind comments. Hope you are able to come back for the winter and enjoy the snow and ice skating nearby. Warmly, Mark
business
Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p970407
+1 949 6331166
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Happiest Anniversary

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Thank you for opening your mountain house to us. It was just what the doctor ordered. Peace, tranquility, beauty and fresh air. We had so much fun together this weekend. It was the perfect way to celebrate our anniversary!
business
Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p970407
+1 949 6331166
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Inspired getaway!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Thank you so much. The three of us loved every minute of it and you've inspired us to buy our own getaway!
business
Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p970407
+1 949 6331166
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
5

Perfectly Appointed w/Absolutely Stunning Views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We have had the pleasure of several vacations in this home and every time we walk through the beautiful Dutch doors I get a sense of "awe and ahhhh." Not only is this house absolutely charming it is also incredibly elegant. It features a gourmet kitchen fit for a chef, huge wood burning fireplace in the incredibly comfortable and open living room, and phenomenal wood paneling throughout the home which gives the lovely feeling of living on a ship. This vacation home could easily grace the cover of any decorator magazine. Now, that's just the indoors. Step outside onto the magnificent patio with a table that seats at least six, for a special outdoor dinner under the stars and an additional side patio that features a top-of-the-line outdoor grill and another large sitting area. And, don't forget to lay on the hammock hanging amongst the trees. I really cannot say enough good about this Very Special home and I promise that you will not be disappointed!
Owner's Response: Thank you Krista,

Really appreciate your comments. So happy you appreciate the details and have enjoyed your stays at Hobbit Hollow. We would love to have you come back soon. You've never been up during the winter months so there is a whole season you can still experience that is beautiful in our local mountains.

Kind regards,

Mark
business
Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p970407
+1 949 6331166
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
5

"When can we go back?"

"When can we go back?"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Ever since we left Hobbit Hollow, our three kids have been clamoring to go back. We had a magical stay at this perfect little mountain getaway. It is decorated perfectly for just what it is, with fine furnishings and an exquisitely outfitted kitchen. The yard and surrounding grounds offer abundant space for kids to explore or for adults to hang out. The beds were amazingly comfortable, in fact, the entire home was cozy and warm. We were there during the summer, so we didn't have a fire, but it just begs for a crackling log in the fireplace with a good book to snuggle up with. We highly recommend a stay here and can testify that the owner, Mark, is available to ensure your stay is pleasant and memorable.
Owner's Response: Thank you Dave for the kind words. Would love to have you up for the fall or winter - All seasons are wonderful!!

Kind regards,

Mark
business
Lake Arrowhead - Romantic Mountain Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p970407
+1 949 6331166
Lake Arrowhead Inland Empire California
5

Perfect Cabin Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Our stay Hobbit Hollow was an absolute perfect cabin weekend getaway!

We live in Newport Beach and with my family in town from Connecticut, we desired a relaxing weekend where we could get out of town for a few days and experience nature. Upon arrival, the gorgeous stacked stone landscaping and rustic exterior instantly transferred us to another time! The delightful two bedroom cottage was well appointed with charming furnishings and amenities that made our stay cozy and effortless. While the location was less than 10 minutes drive to the Village, we felt so comfortable that we hardly left all weekend. The patio and BBQ area was huge and allowed us to spend much of our time outdoors enjoying the gorgeous scenery. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the tools needed to create virtually any kind of dish and there were stacks of DVDs and games to keep you entertained. My only critiques would be that the process to work the DVD player be simplified and there be a list of where things are and how they work (i.e. extension cords for the outdoor table lights, emergency phone numbers, instructions for the TV & DVD, etc.). Other than that, I would certainly recommend Hobbit Hollow and look forward to another stay!

Sandra Vila
Newport Beach, California
Owner's Response: Hello Sandra,

So happy you enjoyed your stay. We make every effort to give our guests the feeling that this is their own home and that they are so welcome and comfortable that they will not want to leave.

We are available to take your phone calls morning, noon or night and were happy to take your call to answer your questions about the DVD player and also help you locate the items you needed.

Our guest book has emergency phone numbers for police, fire, hospital... and also phone numbers for all local services in the village including shops, restaurants, markets, boat ferry rides and even a calendar of events in the village... there is also a listing of the local hiking trails with maps and phone numbers to the ranger stations. Ice Castle International training center is also just around the corner and is open to the public (hours noted in our guest book). There is an interesting "History of lake Arrowhead" also included in our guest book.

We are always open to improving the comfort of your stay and appreciate your suggestions.

Kind regards,

Mark