Castellina in Chianti apartment rental - Cosy studio 'Rifugio' sleeps 2 adults+1 child
Cosy studio 'Rifugio' sleeps 2 adults+1 child
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Castellina in Chianti Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouses/Apts (4BR,3BR, 2BR, 1BR) with pool & garden, Castellina (3km)

Farmhouse 'Casa Pineta' (8 - 13 persons)

approx. 200 sq. on 2 levels - 4 BR - each with en-suite BA, 1 very large kitchen with pantry and dining area, large living-room with open fireplace (sat tv, dvd, cd, wifi, ) separate airy dining room, terrace with loggia, spectacular roof terrace, community

Farmhouse 'Casa Acacia' (6- 8 persons)

approx. 120 sq. on 2 floors - 3BR. 2BA, 1 larger + 1 smaller live-in kitchen, wintergarden-style sitting room on ground floor, loft living-room with open fireplace on 1st floor , 1 south facing terrace, 1 courtyard terrace , wifi, cd, community parking

Ground floor apartment 'La Tana' (4 persons)

approx. 65 sq. on 2 levels - 2 small BR, 1BA, live-in kitchen, spectacular wintergarden-style sitting room (cd, wifi), large south facing terrace , community parking

1st floor loft apartment 'La Bellavista' (2-4 persons)

approx. 55 sq. - 1 BR, 1BA, small live-in kitchen, living room with dinign area and open fireplace (cd, wifi) courtyard terrace , community parking

Cottage 'Casa Capannina' (4-6 persons)

approx. 90 sq. on 2 floors - 2 BR each with en-suite BA as well as sofa bed, kitchen and joining airy sitting-room/dining- room (sat tv, dvd, cd, wifi), large terrace with gazebo, separate laundry facility, independent heating, water and electricity supply, private access road and parking

Ground floor 1 BR/1BA Studio 'Il Rifugio' (2-3 persons)

approx. 25 sq. - sleeping alcove with en-suite BA, kitchenette with dining bar, sitting corner, larger terrace, community floor

As most really old farm houses and hamlets - Poderi Val Verde - Farmhouses in the Green Valley - was built in a large, open, sun-filled valley, thus protected from cold north winds and wet fogs, ventilated by warm south winds in the afternoon, with pleasant cool night temperatures due to the surrounding macchia and woods and with unlimited supplies of fresh well water.

The famous ancient “mules trail” passed through here – mules transported salt from the salt mines of sicily to the north – trails that always followed the course of water and wells and developed into important traffic venes. Prove of this are the many monastries and cloisters and farm houses that you find along this old trails, which are also part of our trekking “network”.

Here you can spend your dream vacation – right in the heart of Tuscany – the Chianti Classico”

- only a few miles from Florence and Siena – in a region of vineyard covered hills, silvery olive groves, vast forests and colourful macchia slopes - and admidst hidden ancient farm houses guarded by cypresses and towering pine trees

Hidden in the middle of this ever-green valley, but only 500 m from the main road and 5 min drive from the famous wine town of Castellina in Chianti and surrounded by more then 2ha of wellcared parklike garden, olive groves and fruit covered terraces – unlike any other you might find - sits the imposing guest house complex which is dived in 3 apartments (2-4 Pers.) , and/or 2 semiattached houses 'Casa Pineta (8-13 pers.) + 'Casa Acacia (6-8 pers.) as well as the lovely small villetta 'Casa Capannina ' (4- 6 pers.).

The community pool of 6x11 m, filled with purest well water, with extended leisure areas and surrounding gardens as well as sports facilities is open as of mid may . During the cooler months you may use the private pool house (not heated) of the property owner, the only of its kind in the area.

'Casa Pineta' is the second oldest house of all. It was built in various steps over a time period of at least 300 years, repeatedly extended as needs for more space arose. Therefore the various levels within the house that create a particular flair.

Once it stood separate from the neighboring 'Casa Acacia' - but then the gap was closed - thus creating its stunning, unusual roof terrace. At the beginning of the 19th century the bread oven with vault ceilings was added, which we now use as breakfast room.

This house, like all others, was constructed with quarystones by the farmers when clearing woodlands and macchia slopes to prepare land for vineyards and olivegroves .Stones that traditionally were use for building houses or terrassed-walls. Its original use was as living quarters for the farmers and workers. Prove of this give the typical ceilings, built with handcut oak beams, some of the original cottofloors, narrow doors, the old fireplace that people used to literally sit in to warm themselves, the original sandstone sink and many more little signs, that we shall gladly point out to you. Stair and doors sills of local grey sandstone show obvious signs of wear - signs that thousands of feet leftover the last few hundred of years.

All large farmhouses were renovated 15 years ago and retouched in 2013 , but the typical Tuscan structure of old oak beam ceilings and terracotto floors remained intentially untouched. All rooms are handpainted in the typical warm colours of a Tuscan country home : shades of yellow, orange and green. this and some pieces of typical 'arte povera' furnitures give you the feeling of living in an ambiente of ...once upon the time ....

All rental units of Poderi Val Verde - Farmhouses in the Green Valley - are intentionally rustic – with original fire places, old cotto floors and roof beams, their roofs, window and door fixtures and many little architectural particularities mark centuries of living in this place. We are fully aware that with this we are going against the usual main stream of modern design in old walls , but we want to keep this place special and authentic hoping that our guests appreciate our efforts. .

When you step into our accommodations – you seem to step back into the past – rooms , setting and furnishing are according to the “Arte Povera” – as it used to be – as you saw it in films such as “Under the Tuscan Sun” or in “Romeo and Juliette” - but functional as in any modern house. Shady rose-covered loggias and sunny terraces with nice views are part of this all.

All houses and apartment have their own private terrace, each equipped with barbecue and plenty of garden furnitures. Naturally a valley. even as vast as ours, can not offer miles of views , but guests still consider the view onto olive groves and terraces, forests and meadows as well as the macchia particular. Only there you may see boars, deer or other wild game as near as 100 m .

And its protect position offers warmer temperatures, cool afternoon breezes and protection from the freezing Tramonta winds that make swimming and outside sitting on hill-top positions often impossible. Its close surrounding green environments is responsible for the cool night temperatures, the Chianti Classico hills are famous for. And wait until you see our clear night sky . When was the last time you saw a shooting star or fireflies?

Enjoy the sunset in complete silence from your terrace, garden furniture, sun beds as well as a bbq. Gaze onto onto the extended gardens, the romantic creek and the surrounding meadows and vast macchia covered hills of this private property of more then 76 ha. Start your hiking and biking directly form your doorsteps on well marked trails.

Attention 'snowbirds' !!!! - Tuscany offers pleasant temperatures, low rates, all major Italian sights within 1 days drive, hot springs and spa, dining and wining at its best

Details for Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio' 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3, 1 Bathroom

Despise enormous tax increases so far no price increases . 'Il Rifugio' - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vw8ucANYcTw - is a spacious self-catering 1BR/1BA studio with well-equipped kitchenette, separate sleeping alcove, a cosy small lounge area with sofa (sofa-bed) and large en suite bathroom with shower/WC The very large ground-floor terrace, directly in front of the accommodation, is well equipped with garden furniture, (chairs, table, sun beds) , there is also a barbecue - this accommodation represents the perfect economical solution for a traveling couple.
More Details
Hide Details

The German owner Ulrike and her son Fabian (presently in Germany) - both Englishspeaking outgoing and very openminded people that will gladly be of assistance and share their experiences in Italy with their many international guests

Ulrike Eder purchased this apartment in 1997

Was infected with the 'Tusan virus' after my first visit (like so many others) some 30 years ago and after various vacations decided to finally settle in the heart of Tuscany - the Chianti Classico' area. Here I found everything I ever longed for - nature, peace, clean air, good food , fantastic wines and culture of the highest level. After some years I decided to share my experiences (also cooking) with guest from all over the world and opened a rental activity.

there are few places that are so central to everything, and offer so much - located only 500 m from the main road but in absolute silence of the surrounding nature (the only nature preserve area in the Siena region) - you are closed to most important sights and places of Tuscany - 5 min to the next town, so social contacts are guaranteed - less then 1 hours from the next major airport (Florence) so getting here is no problem - fantastic marked trekking trails starting from your doorstep (stunning nature in winter or spring) , biking of the finest (on the tracks of the Giro d'Italia, golfing with the elite, or simply enjoying a glass of wine, some pecorino cheese on your personal patio, watching deer and wild boar pass by, Tuscan eagles soaring above this magnificant privately owned valley - what can one ask more for

12 Reviews of Property 97038 in Castellina in Chianti, Italy

Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

authentic tuscan vacation

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Authentic Tuscan Vacation”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 NEW
My husband and I stayed in "Il Rifugio" for 5 nights as part of an Italian vacation. The location of the villa was perfect for traveling throughout the region. We easily made day trips to Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and Montepulciano. The Chianti region itself was beautiful and Ulrike was incredibly knowledgable about restaurants and vineyards in the area! Our apartment was quaint and clean. We had everything we needed and it truly felt like we were staying in a traditional Tuscan home. We were originally concerned that the apartment did not have air conditioning, but the room stayed very cool - it would not have been necessary anyway. The property is breathtaking and is a real, working farm complete with many animals - friendly dogs and cats and a funny peacock named Roberto! One of the highlights of the trip was the cooking class we took with Ulrike. As a "beginner" cook, Ulrike took special care of me and was very patient in teaching me to make chicken liver pate and panna cotta. We would highly recommend Poderi Val Verde for those travelers looking for an authentic Tuscan experience! :)
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

mitten in der toskana entspannung pur

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Im Mai 2013 haben wir zum wiederholten Mal (10 x und mehr) einen Kurzurlaub in der Toskana auf dem Gut Poderi val verde gemacht. Wir sind immer wieder von der Atmosphäre des gepflegten 350-Jahre alten Bauernhofes in der herrlichen Umgebung eines grünenTales umliegenden Wäldern beeindruckt. Es gibt einem die Möglichkeit, vom Alltag auszuspannen und die Ruhe und Natur zu geniessen. Aber gleichzeitig bietet die zentrale Lage im Herzen der Toskana die Möglichkeit, viele Sehenswürdigkeiten z.B. in Florenz, Siena, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Pisa usw.schenll zu erreichen. In dem 3km entfernten Ort Castellina in Chianti gibt es gute Möglichkeiten zum Einkauf oder aber auch Restaurants, falls man mal nicht die eigene gut ausgestattete Küche nutzen möchte. Die Umgebung des Gutes Poderi val verde bietet auf ausgeschilderten Wanderwegen Möglichkeiten die Natur und Landschaft zu erkunden, oder auf dem Gelände mit einem großen Swimmingpool, großer Liegewiese, Fußballplatz und Volleyballnetz dort aktiv zu werden. Wir haben die kleine Wohnung "Il Rifugio" bewohnt,die im Wesentlichen aus einem großen Raum besteht und die mit guten Betten mit angenehmen, festen Matrazen, richtigen Oberbetten, einer schönen großen Dusche und einer offenen bestens ausgestatteten Küche mit Herd, Kühlschrank, Mikrowelle, Kaffeemaschine, Wasserkocher, Toaster und ausreichend Geschirr ausgestattet ist. Die Fenster sind mit Fliegengittern insektensicher, die große Terrasse hat eingene Sitzmöbel u.Liegestühle und einen eigenen Grill. Sollte man zum eigenen Kochen weniger Lust haben, bietet die Eigentümerin auch einen Kochkurs an und als Muß, einmal wöchentlich das Willkommensessen mit typischen lokalen toskanischen Produkten aus eigener Herstellung. Die Eigentümerin, Frau Eder, kümmert sich liebevoll um die Einrichtung der Wohnungen und des gesamten Geländes und bemüht sich dabei den Charme des alten Bauernhofes zu erhalten. Sie steht in allen Fragen freundlich und hilfsbereit zur Seite, gibt beste Ratschläge für Schön- und Schlechtwetterausflüge und viele Sehenswürdigkeiten. Außerdem bietet sie auf Nachfrage verschiedene einfach leckere Marmeladen, Olivenöl u.a. aus eigener Produktion an. Für die Tierliebe ist mit 2 Hunden, zahlreichen Katzen sowie Hühner und Schafen gesorgt. Insgesamt ist die Anlage für Reisende, die den natürlichen Charme der Toskana, Ruhe und Erholung mit dem Charme eines alten toskanischen Bauerngutes und guter Ausstattung verbinden möchten, eine ideale Reiseadresse.
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

great stay

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2013
Very beautiful place. My wife and I only stayed there three nights but it was the best stay of our trip to Europe. Ulrike was great. made you feel right at home. Enjoyed the welcome dinner and the pool was fantastic on the warm summer afternoon. Cool and refreshing. The grounds were beautiful. If we are lucky enough to go back to Italy again we will definitely stay here again
T

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Value
Location
Sleep Quality
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask Thomas D about Poderi Val Verde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

h b
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013
Booked Il Refugio - we are a young couple who were after a relaxing stay in a good location to explore the Chianti region. Ulrike very welcoming and the welcome dinner was lots of fun. Il refugio was nice and cool inside, an escape from the July heat, and the kitchen was well-equipped. Nice outdoor patio for eating and sunbathing. Loved that this wasn't a regular hotel or B&B stay - had walks starting from the farm, sheep, pets and a peacock. We could easily have stayed longer. Castellina is a few mins drive with lots of restaurants and a Coop. Set in spectacular hills of Tuscany.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

we came again

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Alan Lee said...
Jun 11, 2008
No Rating
Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, Castellina in Chianti, Tuscany - Siena (175426)
-
Date of Stay June 11, 2008
Helpful votes:6/6.
having already had 2 holidays here (2 weeks in the apartment "La Bellavista" in 2007 and 3 weeks in the studio "Il Rifugio" in 2008) we can highly recommend Poderi Val Verde for the 1st class standards of accommodations (all apartments are excellent), well kept grounds and personal attention set by the owner. This is a beautiful peaceful location (with exception of saturday nights when everybody mets at Ulrike's patio for a tasty Tuscan familystyle welcome dinner cooked by her), very convinient for touring all of Tuscany. Let us point out only a few of the specials of this place: wildlife in the surrounding woods like boar, deer, large variety of birds, even a silver fox., homemade preserves and other delicacies, fresh eggs, extra vergine oil and homemade vinegars, original Tuscan food, its receipes also taught by Ulrike in halfday cookery courses that are very popular, and much, much more - brava Ulrike Ulrike !!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

sehr zu empfehlen

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
nke said...
Jan 13, 2013
No Rating
sehr zu empfehlen
Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, Castellina in Chianti, Tuscany - Siena (175426)
-
Date of Stay October 16, 2011
Helpful votes:0/0.
wir waren im August 2011 in der Toskana und haben einen sehr schönen Urlaub in der Poderi Val Verde erlebt. Wir hatten die Ferienwohnung Il Rifugio gebucht. Die Wohnung ist sehr gemütlich eingerichtet und hat eine tolle, große Terasse auf der man bei einer guten Flasche Rotwein, die ruhigen Abende geniessen kann. Die Anlage ist liebevoll gepflegt. Es gibt einen sehr schönen Pool und jeden Tag tolle Tipps und Infos von der Inhaberin. Nicht versäumen sollte man Ihr Willkommensessen. Die Poderi Val Verde ist eine tolle Unterkunft, sie liegt ideal für Ausflüge nach Florenz, Siena und San Gimingnano und u.E. in einem der schönsten Teile der Toskana. Wir freuen uns schon auf unseren Urlaub dort im nächsten Jahr. Vielen Dank für die gute und liebevolle Betreuung an die Inhaberin. Anke und Kai
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

listening ...

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
judy said...
Jan 13, 2013
No Rating
listening to the sounds of silence at night
Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, Castellina in Chianti, Tuscany - Siena (175426)
-
Date of Stay July 4, 2012
Helpful votes:0/0.
"Listening to the sounds of silence at night!" Ulrike is a charming host. You have privacy and spend your time as you wish but she is there if you have questions or needs. She is also a great cook and offers a welcome dinner for new arrivals. We arrived too late for that but did take her cooking class later in the week. We will use these recipes when we get home. The country estate was beautiful, there was the sweet aroma of flowers always present. I have allergies but was not bothered here. The studio apt. that we stayed in had everything we needed and a lovely private terrace to enjoy breakfast and a late night meal or glass of wine. The perfect stettng for a romantic Italian escape. It was a great location for day trips to local wineries and historical cities in the area. It was also great for families. There is a big refreshing pool, ping pong, a play area and hiking trails.
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

relaxing in the tuscan sun

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
nancy said...
Jan 13, 2013
No Rating
relaxing in the tuscan sun
Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, Castellina in Chianti, Tuscany - Siena (175426)
-
Date of Stay August 17, 2012
Helpful votes:0/0.
"Relaxing in the Tuscan Sun" Ulrike was a fab host, and made everyone feel very welcome during the welcome dinner. The complex was expansive and the views were outstanding. We liked being on our terrace at night star gazing with some vino. It was a bit hard to find, however if you had a sat nav no issues. The accommodation was exactly what was expected, and in Tuscany you are out all day and most nights we found, so just needed place to kip and wash. The pool was perfect, private and allowed for engagement with other families and children. Our five year old learned how to swim on holiday, and this was brilliant. our daughter was fascinated with the sheep, cats, dogs and bugs around the property. The village close, Castillina in Chianti was the prettiest one we encountered, with friendly restaurants and shops. A must is gettin a couple scoops of gelato from the shop in the village, it is a favourite. Easy access - 25 mins to Florence and Siena. It was nice to have Ulrike make us breakfast to start our day, and in summer would recommend site seeing in am, then the pool in afternoon as it does get hot. We enjoyed some wine tasting and tour about 10 mins away at a lovely vineyard, Casa Emma and brought home some lovely vino. A dont miss is Panzano, and Dario the famous butcher...anyone in the village can direct you to his shop- the pork and salami are to die for and make good lunches w/bread and cheeses. We will be returning and was one of the best holidays we have had. plus the guaranteed sun is great coming fro
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

tuscan charm

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
cp said...
Jan 13, 2013
No Rating
tuscan charm
Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, Castellina in Chianti, Tuscany - Siena (175426)
-
Date of Stay October 3, 2012
Helpful votes:0/0.
"Tuscan Charm" If you want a great central location, comfortable accommodations,a great home base for your stay in Tuscany, stay here. Poderi VV is within 25km of every major site you want to see, easy access to Florence, San Gimignano, Siena, Volterra and only a couple minutes away from Castellina. Castellina is a nice home base - small, charming town with several nice restaurants, two coffee shops (1 w/Wifi), a good grocery (co op), lovely old italian architecture and town square. The apts are comfortable and nicely appointed with kitchen gear, towels, everything you need for a short or long stay. Great spot for families and couples alike. Great pool. note: if you are looking for 5 star hotel type accommodations, this is not your place. If you want a comfortable home away from home, then this should fit your needs. The owner is very helpful in recommending restaurants, sites to see and how to get to them. The welcome dinner on Sat night is excellent local fare-lots of food and wine and a great way to meet others staying there at the same time. highly recommended. ( Note that they do have dogs and cats on premise and they are friendly and will visit occasionally. ) we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, beauty and privacy of this spot. Note that the studio called "il rifugio" is quite small but very functional and with a large patio. We will definitely stay there again.
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

delightful stay

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
tom said...
Jan 13, 2013
No Rating
delightful stay in tuscany
Loc. Casanova di Ricavo, Castellina in Chianti, Tuscany - Siena (175426)
-
Date of Stay October 8, 2012
Helpful votes:0/0.
"Delightful stay in Tuscany" My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon after a busy week in Rome. It was the perfect place to unwind and relax, tucked away in a valley teeming with wildlife observed from the pool or one of the various trails leading away from the garden into the hills and neighbouring Chianti Classico valleys. We came without a car and the local village, Castellina in Chianti, is an easy 30min walk through the valley and along a bit of road. Il Rustico is just the right size for a couple looking for a snug getaway. We cooked most of our meals in the kitchen, relaxed on a couple of cooler evenings on the sofa and gathered some wood from the forests to have an open flame barbecue one evening. Ulrike was an energetic host, even taking us into Siena one evening to watch her choir perform in the historic Palazzo Pubblico followed by an uproarious meal in a pizza restaurant with the choir, who all started belting out operatic classics at the end of the meal! We would also recommend the delicious welcome meal, and the cooking lesson was great fun.
business
Cosy 1BR/1BA suite/studio 'Il Rifugio'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p97038?uni_id=84977
+44 390577740266
Castellina in Chianti Chianti Senese
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

general reviews

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
for reviews (of this year or past years) for this accommodation please see

https://secure.flipkey.com/userhome/collect_reviews/#/read_reviews