Volcano cottage rental - Mahana's Lanai in the afternoon sun.. beauty and apapane birds all around!
Mahana's Lanai in the afternoon sun.. beauty and apapane birds all around!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Volcano Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 K.Bdrm, 1 Q.sofabed, Pack n Play, 1Full Bath, Sleeps 4+ baby

Menehune Mansions

CLIPPED COMMENTS-- I could not have even dreamed this place up // Beyond expectations // Top notch accommodations // Comfortable,warm,spotlessly clean // Charming // Lovely cottage in a truly one of kind setting // A special experience and memory // Wanted to move in and stay // Better than advertised // Very clean and beautifully maintained // Beautifully decorated with such a warm,cozy feel // Couldn't have asked for more // Just beautiful // Beds are soooo comfortable // charming // magical // amazing // LOVE IT! // We appreciated the quality, quiet, and all the little extras // Wonderful place in a wonderful setting // This cottage is a class act

GUEST GUIDE COMMENTS-- Guest Guide made our stay most enjoyable // guest book was so informative and such a big help to us as we planned our day- alot of work on your behalf and much appreciated // very grateful for the incredible Guest Guide // The Guest Guide was sooo helpful, we used it everyday // I wish I would have read your guest guide more

thoroughly when I got here-it's great! // Guest Guide was a bonus!

This Menehune Mansion is on a beautiful 1/2 acre, that is shared with another identical Mansion, but privately situated. Fireplace, King Bedroom, 1 roomy Bathroom, Full Kitchen with Breakfast Nook, Living Room with Queen pull out sofa, Large Covered Lanai,and Carport. HIGH CHAIR AND PACK N PLAY available with notice. W/D available for stays of 4 or more nights.

OUR CUSTOM GUEST GUIDE offers 4 different day trips (could not do it ALL in 4 days) for you to chose your interests... each 'direction' lists many sites in the order you will come upon them, how to get there, descriptions... Also includes restaurant recommendations, detailed hike information, out of the way places and more. Local events and an ONGOING calendar for special things that happen in the area like Ranger led hikes, Hawaiiana events and the like. It's very common for the Park and Art Center to have events that are a real treat.

MENEHUNE [meh-neh-HOO-neh]-- Hawaii’s legendary mystical and shy forest dwellers are small in size at about two feet high, although some are only six inches high. They live in the deep forests and hidden valleys of the Hawaiian Islands, far from the eyes of normal humans. According to legend they are very industrious master builders that use their great strength to accomplish mighty feats of engineering and construction overnight.

In that spirit, we welcome you to 'MENEHUNE MANSIONS'... which to the UNMYSTICAL HUMAN, would appear to be A VERY SWEET FOREST COTTAGE.

Minutes to Hawaii Volcano National Park and tucked away in the uniquely beautiful forest of desirable Volcano Village.... you will come home to a tropical, clean, fresh, warm and cozy hideaway... for a menehune mystical price

More Details
Hide Details

We have so enjoyed our second home and very well received vacation rental Maile Treehouse which is also in Volcano Village.

We thought we would like to offer a more budgeted alternative but with an upscale experience... It has been a true delight to help make a vacation special for people... we hope we can do that for even more travelers now....

Leslie Hess purchased this cottage in 2012

98 Reviews of Property 969725 in Volcano, Hawaii

Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
average rating of 5.0 based on 98 reviews
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
5

Amazing Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was very cute,quite, comfortable, clean cottage minutes away from volcanoes national park.
This is an heavenly place to stay. We enjoyed our stay here.
Leslie has taken care of all the ammenities. This was our first stay in rainforest and we felt like a home away from home.
I also read about menehune and their stories from one of the books, and I felt spirit of menehune's.
Electric blanket and humidifier was great plus as it was cold in night. The whole setup of this cottage was well taken care of.
we had morning coffee in the porch while listening to bird chirping which was a great start of the day.
Would recommend this to anyone who plans to stay near volcanoes park.
I am already thinking of one more trip to this place and plan to stay here again.

Sumit & Sharvari
Foster City, CA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
Portland, OR
5

Great visit to volcano village

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Dec 26
We had a wonderful time at this cute little cottage ("mansion"). The girls had finding all the menehune scattered through the house. It is so close to the national park. The place was so clean and perfect for our stay.
FROM 11 y.o. daughter J.. I had a really fun time here. I like how they left popcorn and popcorn containers in the cupboards! I also liked the board games they left and the iphone music player. The menehunies hidden around the house were really cool and I enjoyed the book about the menehunies..
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
5

Exceptional - Difficult to leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is a perfect little cottage in a perfect little place. Piece of heaven. Very peaceful, clean and comfortable. Loved it and will recommend to anyone. This area is a shutter bugs delight. I (we) took full advantage. Helicopter ride, nighttime volcanic glow, morning walks up and down the road, and especially the Botanical Garden. Akaka Falls, Black sand Beach etc. etc. etc.... Finishing our stay with a beautifully prepared dinner from Chef Ron was their best suggestion of all. Strongly recommended. It was painful to have to re-accustom my feet to shoes, they became very comfy in flip- flops. Upon our arrival home, the temperatures were -20C (-4F) and today they were -35C (-31 F). When I return to Menehune Mansions, I will be at peace again. Best vacation ever.
Jim and Gail
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Oh... My... Gosh

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Sept. 23
Oh... My... Gosh! What a lovely place. Everything was perfect. We really enjoyed our stay here. So quiet and homey. The binder you've made was great, so much time was put into it, and it was very helpful. So close to the park and a short drive
to Hilo. Our original honeymoon was cancelled because of hurricane Sandy- it was a blessing in disguise as we would have never gotten to experience this 'home away from home'.

Pompton Lakes, NJ

Oct. 24
How do I describe this cottage in the rainforest?  One word "wow!"  We had a wonderful stay here!  The little touches you have put into the place are awesome! Love the owl in the tree, all the little notes around, the decor is beautiful and the visitor
book was so helpful!  We loved visiting the park w/ the hot spring pool of water.  We would recommend this cottage to all our friends and we hope to return in the future!  We had a very relaxing stay and wish we could stay forever! ps the bed was
very comfortable!
Glenn and Anita
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
Chicago, IL
5

Adorable accommodations in your own private paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Wow! This place was even better than the pictures.

My boyfriend & I rented a Menehune Mansion for two nights. We needed a place to call home while we explored Volcanoes National Park during the beginning half of our trip to the Big Island, & this place delivered above expectations.

PROS:
- Incredibly comfortable king bed complete with a heated blanket that was especially cozy during the cool nights
- A little gas fireplace (but we didn't use it)
- Ample eating & seating space (although we didn't dine in during our stay)
- Menehunes hidden throughout the home which was such a cute touch! I'm almost 30 & I had a blast trying to find all of their hiding spots; I'd imagine it would be even more fun for little kids.
- Nice, hot water to clean up after a day of hiking in the park, plus GOOD water pressure
- Amazing surroundings that really add to the authentic rainforest experience -- we were surrounded by lush tropical plants out our door & we woke up to the birds chirping in the morning.
- Timely communication with the owner prior to our trip, & our security deposit was given back to us within two days of check out, so we were able to use that money during the rest of our trip!
- Located within a three minute drive to the front gate of Volcanoes National Park. No, really! We timed the commute.

CONS:
- It would have been very challenging to find Menehune Mansion in the dark. After you exit the main highway in to the town of Volcano, there are very few street lights, & even then many of them are shadowed by the trees. Luckily, we had a few hours to kill before check in, so we actually drove to find the unit in the daylight. Don't use Google Maps to find this unit; follow the owners' directions that are provided before your stay!
- This isn't a con about the unit, but I want other guests to be aware that Volcano is a very small town with no night life & very little dining options. So, if you're the active type looking for the Kailua-Kona experience, then you should stay in Kailua-Kona. If you want something off the beaten path that will be a night & day difference from Kaliua-Kona, then this place can't be beat.

We will definitely be staying here again some day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
5

Amazing!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a great 3 night stay here. We spent 2 entire days in the park- did multiple hikes, the glow at Jaggar Museum. Dinner at the Lava Rock Cafe exceeded our expectations, the Kalua Pork was great.
We had a lovely stay and an unforgettable beginning to our honeymoon!
Matthew and Laurie
Lexington, KY
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
5

A Little Slice of Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This quaint, cozy, and comfortable cottage set the bar very high for our first trip to Hawaii. Nestled away in the rainforest only minutes from Volcanoes National Park is this little slice of heaven. We stayed in the Hune Mansion and it was absolutely wonderful! (The cottage is even cuter in person.) We felt like we were in our own home. The cottage was spotless and every amenity was available from dish soap and paper towels to full bottles of shampoo and conditioner. There was even a very detailed Visitors Guide created by the owners to give us information on local eateries and recreation. The owners’ little touches to make us feel at home made all the difference! We especially enjoyed the heating stove in the living room. It kept us cozy on the chilly nights (low 40s) as did the electric blanket in the bedroom (I must get one of those!). The dehumidifier helped to keep the rooms dry and it was easy to empty the bin. My one son has allergies and had no issues being in the cottage. The bedroom was a nice size with a large closet and the bathroom was huge! The kitchen/dining area had everything we needed (including coffee and tea) and the sofa in the living room doubled as a pull-out bed for our 2 young sons. I also liked that we had a car port for our car, although we had such great weather we didn’t need it. There is also a full-sized W/D for those who stay at least 4 nights. We chilled out on the front porch in the brisk mornings while I sipped my coffee. The foliage was awesome! I also loved that the cottages were named after the Menehune and the story behind them; my boys especially loved learning about them as we read some of the books at bedtime. The cottage is only 35 minutes outside Hilo and about 5 minutes from Volcanoes National Park and 10 minutes from Volcanoes Winery. I highly recommend the park (Lava Tubes and End of the Road). We also travelled about 1 hour to Akaka Falls and spent time in a little town called Honomu nearby the falls. The owners kept in close communication throughout the rental process and gave us very detailed maps and information (Mahalo, Leslie!). I’m so glad we found this cottage. We highly recommend and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
Beijing
5

A super little place - extra clean and very cosy.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved this little property - it was very cosy for the two of us. The description was very accuarate. We enjoyed exploring the local parks and beaches. The cottage was surprisingly isolated and quiet at night and very very cool as the local climate gets a bit chilly. The cottage is very well appointed with all the necessitites for a visit to the area. The only thing we felt it was lacking was some sort of grill - even a cheap charcoal one. We like to grill while on vacation and were limited to cooking that could be done in a kitchen.
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
Where do you live?
5

Really nice little place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The little cottage was just what we wanted. There was adequate room. The house was very well-equipped and the posted instructions and suggestions were very helpful. Everything was neat, clean, in good condition, and well-organized. The setting was very nice--surrounded by trees, foliage, and a multitude of bird songs. it was quiet and private. The location was convenient to the Park. And the rental price was excellent for the quality of property--especially in this area. In short, we really liked this place, would stay here again, and would recommend it to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fanciful Cottage! $100/nt!!! 'WOW', 'What a Find' , 'Magical''
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969725
(808) 987-0417 (Hawaii, USA)
Volcano Puna District
5

volcano visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Thank you very much for the use of your cottage. Every aspect of our stay exceeded our expectation. Everything, every detail, large and small was new, fresh, clean, attractive, and helpful. As vrbo owners ourselves, we have experience with what a quest needs and would appreciate having. We left with some new ideas for our property. Mahalo! Your proximity to the volcano and village were perfect. I've already highly recommended this place to family and friends.
Best regards,
Peter and Jean
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway