Hot Springs house rental - Sunrise Lookout
Sunrise Lookout
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hot Springs House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

Sunrise Lookout is a truly unique mountain top vacation rental in the heart of Pisgah National Forest and the Blue Ridge Mountains. Come enjoy the peace of the cabin and amazing views of the Spring Creek area.

Our home is private, yet accessible, and situated atop a mountain on 4 acres. We modeled our home after the Duckett Top fire lookout tower, which is visible across the Spring Creek valley. Inside, you will find a simple, modern design with a bright living area, 2 bedrooms (plus a futon in the living area), and lots of windows to enjoy the views. The cabin is stocked with games (for adults and children) and books and toys for kids. There is cozy in-floor radiant heat (and A/C for those rare days when it is needed) to keep you comfortable. We have wireless broadband internet and a WiFi radio (listen to stations and podcasts from around the world).

Outside, help yourself to seasonal offerings in our gardens...blueberries, raspberries (golden and red!), blackberries, and a variety of vegetables and herbs. Enjoy the views and peace on the hammock chairs, the porch swing, or the outdoor dining set. There is a charcoal grill for cooking and a fire pit (wood supplied) for relaxing. The hot tub is also a favorite feature -- we clean and refill the hot tub for each set of guests. The hot tub is located on the deck which surrounds the second floor.

Your four legged friends are welcome at Sunrise Lookout. You may also encounter wildlife during your stay as we share the mountains with bears, bobcats, turkeys, coyotes, and other animals.

We are located about 45 minutes from Asheville and 20 minutes from Hot Springs in the friendly and scenic community of Spring Creek. We are 7 miles from Max Patch (and the Appalachian Trail) and the same distance from Harmon Den Recreation Area. You can fly fish in the area creeks or fish in the pond at Max Patch. Rafting/tubing are available in Hot Springs, and there are local opportunities for horse back riding and llama trekking. Also, ask us for directions to the secret swimming hole when you book!

Feel free to contact us with any questions about our home or the area.

Visit our website at www.SunriseLookout.com and 'like' us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/sunriselookout.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 969329 in Hot Springs, North Carolina

Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 13 reviews
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
5

Amazing get away- you'll be a repeat vacationer

Amazing get away- you'll be a repeat vacationer
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I LOVE this place. The cabin itself is very nice. It feels very new and is always very clean. We love the views, and we particularly love the solitude and peace and quiet. Yet, it is a short-ish drive to Hot Springs if we want to go out to dinner. The main reason we first stayed here is because it is pet friendly. It is so hard to find a truly nice place to stay with your pets, and this is one of them. We have stayed here many times over the years, and will continue to do so. We have visited during all seasons, and love visiting any time of the year. The hot tub is nice- I only wish that the temperature could be made warmer, it always feels on the lukewarm (vs. hot) end to my husband and I, but that is my only complaint. The owners are very fast with communication, which I appreciate.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone. You will love it.
Owner's Response: We're glad you have enjoyed your visits to Sunrise Lookout! Thanks for the note about the hot tub. We will increase the temperature and hope that you find it more comfortable next time.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
Texas
5

Honeymoon In the Mountains!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cabin was the perfect place for the last portion of our honeymoon! October in the mountains was GORGEOUS! The cabin was well equipped and fit us perfectly. We did run into the neighbors twice but it still felt secluded and like we had the top of the mountain to ourselves. I was so happy to find this place where we could relax and enjoy the wonderful scenery. Sitting on the porch and grilling while we watched the sunset was by far the best part! We are already trying to plan a trip back!
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a great honeymoon visit! We have a few guests who have honeymooned at Sunrise Lookout and returned annually to celebrate their anniversary...hopefully you can do the same!
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
5

marvelous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful time staying at your cabin! The cabin was marvelous, the views astounding, and we had the most wonderful time. Thanks for it being impeccably clean. Our weim loved the dog bed, we all loved the wraparound deck and fire pit, and the monkey bar and kids swing were great fun for the kids. The children were able to have the most spectacular easter egg hunt outside!!!
The owners were very helpful and easy to contact, and we had a wonderful time hiking, biking, and fishing in Pisgah NF, SMNP, and Cherokee NF. We love going to Max Patch and would love to return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Me and my pals stayed here for my birthday weekend and it was just incredible! We had crummy weather, but that didn't matter because the house was just so relaxing to be in. We played games, grilled out on the amazing Weber grill, and enjoyed the hot tub. The dogs loved lounging in the dog bed and the radio was already set to stream my favorite radio station - KEXP out of Seattle!

I will definitely stay here again... Maybe for a week next time! It would be the perfect writer's retreat.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
4

Lovely!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We absolutely loved our stay at this cabin! The house and view were gorgeous and while we had a slight issue worm the hot tub the management was more than helpful!!! We can not wait to go back for a longer stay. And my husband was wishing it was for sale :-)
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your chilly stay! I'm sorry the hot tub wasn't maintaining heat. We've had it checked out and it seems to have just been the extremely cold air temps/wind as it's working fine now. I hope you were able to make it to Hot Springs for a soak and we look forward to hosting you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
Ocala, Florida
5

Perfect girls getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is a very comfortable and modern home in a beautiful setting. This home had everything we were looking for, views, hot tub, fire pit, grill, and everything was as promised. There was a fantastic meteor shower our first night and the stars were so beautiful! I stayed here with my two daughters, and we arrived a little late the first night and got lost. Karen and Erik were both so gracious, they answered our call right away and got us back on track. Thank you so much! I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend this place to my friends. I enjoyed reading others comments in the journal, it made me want to come back in all seasons.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
5

Great Place to Stay With Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Great place to soak up the views. The top floor wraparound deck has great views of sunset. Top floor living room has same views with ample windows. Interior has nice finishes. The area has some good bike riding on winding country roads, some paved and others not with little traffic. Many loop combinations, just be prepared to climb. I would definitely consider staying here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
5

Loved my stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is such a beautiful spot. The cabin is tastefully and efficiently designed to meet all your needs, and makes for such a comfortable stay. I enjoyed every part of it, from sitting on the porch to watch the sunrise to soaking in the hot tub. Anyone who wants a perfect get-away to the mountains needs to stay here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
5

Perfect little mountain cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Sunrise Lookout couldn't have been a better spot for our family. The rustic/contemporary setting, the fantastic views, the wonderful berries, the fact that the location feels remote but is within reach of "civilization" - it was a perfect getaway. We came away thinking if we built a mountain cabin, we'd want it to be just like this.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunrise Lookout ~ Peaceful Mountain Top Home With Amazing Views ~
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p969329
+1 8285452892
Hot Springs Asheville Area
2

Disappointed!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The house amenities were fine unfortunately the customer service was lacking! The one and only toilet in the house got plugged up and the plunger provided was not acceptable. We called and asked the owhers to get us a better plunger and they were not to interested in our problem. They live an hour away from the rental. I had called twice and the second time after hours of tying to clear the blockage the owner told me that they were an hour away and to call back if I couldn't clear it! I explained that we had already worked on it for hours before we called. I got the message so we didn't bother calling back!

There are many other properties in the area to choose from so I would recommend you keep looking for another house to rent!
Owner's Response: I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We always try to be responsive to our customers' needs. However, there is clearly a misunderstanding about what occurred. According to my memory (and phone log), you called once to report the problem with the stopped up toilet and I called back to discuss it 30 minutes later. You never mentioned you had worked on it for hours. I told you I could bring another plunger but it would be a while as I live an hour away (I figured it would be unstopped before I even got there). Your response was that there were 4 guys there so you would probably be able to take care of it. I said to call back if you still had trouble and I never heard back, which led me to believe the issue had been resolved. I didn't find out it wasn't until my cleaner called the next day saying she arrived to a stopped up toilet and a 1/4" water on the floor, which she was able to resolve.

It seems that I didn't realize the depth of your problem and you didn't understand I was willing to help. I apologize that the issue didn't get resolved while you were there and regret that this is your memory of our home!