Austin bungalow rental - Dining area with Italian made dining table and chairs.
Dining area with Italian made dining table and chairs.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Austin Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

South Lamar and Zilker combined equal location. Enjoy this mid-century bungalow in the heart of Zilker and South Austin. Decorated with vintage auto posters and other fun stuff.

It’s five minutes by car or cab to downtown. Only a two minute walk to Maria’s Taco’s, Matt’s El Rancho, Mr. Naturral and Irie Bean Coffee Bar. You are also a short walk to Barton Springs and Lady Bird Lake. But really, if you are downtown bound, no car is needed at this address because it’s also just one block from the main Lamar bus line that goes straight to UT and Downtown, cruising past Alamo Draft House, Uchi, Olivia‘s, and Barton Springs on the way. Or, take a cab, it's only three miles to downtown.

The home is two bedroom, one bath with complete kitchen, and dining. Sleeps five with queen beds in each bedroom and a pull out single in the living room. The bathroom is located in a hallway between the bedrooms. Grab dinner from Mr. Natural or Artz, take it home and enjoy a glass of wine on your own patio.

Keywords: Cute, Zilker, Bungalow, pets considered, 78704, walk to ACL

More Details
Hide Details

We love to travel, and it's because of the convenience and fun we have had in staying in vacation rentals by owner that we decided to make the experience availabe for others in this home.

Rebecca Heston purchased this bungalow in 1997

This home is location friendly and South Austin proud. It's located in the wonderful Barton Hills/Zilker neighborhood which we also call home. We are long time Austinites, and still think the city is one of the best places in the world. Open, friendly, and healthy - great music and lots of good food and fun. As we've watched Austin evolve into an urban destination with an outdoor twist, we thought - why not offer this home as a location that has the best of the lake and the parks but also is in close proximity to downtown? So we did.

This is a wonderful house for people with pets. It has a small side yard that is fenced, and lots of sidewalks leading to the informal dog park at Zilker Elementary and on to Zilker Park and LadyBird lake. The house is cozy and perfect for one or two couples.

18 Reviews of Property 402379 in Austin, Texas

Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 18 reviews
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect little vacation house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This is a great vacation house, fully equipped, nicely decorated, and in a GREAT location! Zilker Park is very close, as well as South Congress district. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. We had our two kids with us and were very comfortable; everyone had plenty of room. We enjoyed the nice breezy patio! We visit Austin a few times a year and this will be our new place to stay! Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you all liked the house. It's certainly more interesting than ever with the farmer's market and outdoor trailer shops nearby. Please come again!
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

Right in the middle of my favorite part of Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Biggest pluses: 1. Comfortable mattresses; 2. Very responsive, helpful hosts; 3. Near very cool stuff (food trucks, coffee shops, some of the best restaurants in town); 4. Driveway, patio, all your basic needs. Hope to stay there again.
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
4

Wonderful location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The location was truly convenient for us, and the house was as pictured. Nothing fancy, but very clean and everything we needed was provided. The property owners were friendly and helpful. We would recommend this location to friends/family.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
College Station, TX
5

Great Location and lovely house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great location cozy house. Close to everything, and the owner's binder of closeby activities was very detailed and helpful. Owner was also very helpful and friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Mindy! We appreciate guests like you, and we are so glad that the local information was helpful. We continue to work on gathering menus and other information regarding all of the wonderful things to do in the area.

Please come again soon.
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
5

What a sweet, charming, lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I stayed in this very wonderful home for a few nights and can't imagine staying anywhere else for future visits.

The house is absolutely as described - I so appreciated some of the small but very helpful comforts the owners made sure were in place. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and I used it often; I loved having fast internet and ample places to sit and work, including the front porch, which ended up being my favorite place to hang out. Beds were comfortable and I loved how each room was so welcoming while still leaving a feeling of space to unpack/settle. I didn't use the TV/Cable but it was good to know it was available.

The location is absolutely perfect for those wanting to stay close to Zilker, etc. - and getting downtown and to other areas was really easy. The house is right off of the main road but far enough that traffic noise and such isn't really an issue. Just down the street are some awesome places to eat, like Gourdough's and Kirby Lane Cafe, all in walking distance. There was a very helpful house guide with other suggestions of where to eat and how to get around that I really appreciated, although I didn't have enough time to try them all.

But best of all are the owners - I had a chance to meet and chat with Becky and felt so welcome then and in the future! The communication before and during my stay was so important and I felt really comfortable about reserving a stay here. I'll be back, and would recommend this place to any mature and responsible folks who want a clean, comfortable, convenient place to settle in during a trip. This is definitely my first choice of places to stay for future trips, and I hope to visit again soon! Thank you so much Becky!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Visitors like you add so much to the fabric and texture of Austin. I do hope you come again - and hope you decide to stay with us. Remember that we offer a returning guest discount too!! All the best, and hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
-
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
So much to do from this clean and comfortable house w/great location in a very popular Austin area! The house had everything we needed and we spent much enjoyable time in the mornings sitting on the back patio just talking. Odd for us, but we never even watched tv! Too much to explore. The owners had stocked the house with some nice extra amenities. We used tripadvisor to guide us to different things to do and eat, all either within either walking distance or car. We used our car at first when we ventured further out but the owner told us about the city bus stop (0.50 cents to ride one way!) located approximately 250 yards from this clean and home like house. The city bus can take you on a short ride to many different fun things on this popular side of town including 6th Street. Parking downtown is expensive and it can be a problem to find a space. The bus made that worry free. We stopped using our car and rode instead! Two dollar each for an all day unlimited pass! Go to www.capmetro.org to plan your city bus trip. Easy and fast website and you can use it on your smartphone. This website will tell you what bus # to ride, where to catch and the times it runs after you put in to and from information. Very smooth. Would bring a backpack next time to be hands free from shopping. The neighborhood was fun to walk in. The house is a great value and was very comfortable. We didn't want to leave and did end up asking and staying an extra night. The owner was very helpful with information of the area and Austin in general. We feel like we made a new friend! Check out the trail around the Lady Bird Lake, formally Town Lake, Eddie V's downtown for wonderful seafood (#15 out of 1201 Austin restaurants), Saxon Pub down Lamar St. for great live bands on Friday and Saturday nights, downtown shopping and of course walk 6th street on Friday or Saturday night. Don't miss 6th street. Very interesting! Would love to come back soon! Thanks to the owners!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you all so much for the great review! I especially appreciate your providing the information regarding the bus stop and the ease that someone can use it to get around town. We look forward to seeing you all again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
5

Spring Break in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My friends and I (20 somethings) had an amazing time at this house while we enjoyed Austin over SB! Exactly as advertised, very clean, great location on South Lamar. The owners were extremely friendly and made our stay super easy. This house is a fantastic value and I hope to stay here again the next time I visit Austin. No complaints whatsoever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Happy New Year

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We wanted to share what our New Years guests told us in the guest book: "We loved staying in your place. Thank you for the Christmas lights and the little touches like the poinsettias. We had a great stay, it was wonderful to be able to take a cab inexpensively to downtown. We hope to be back."
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
Findlay, Ohio, United States
5

Tom M

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The accommodations were just as listed. There was some traffic and train noise nearby but not intolerable. The house is well kept and well furnished. Felipe and Becky were great hosts -- available but not intrusive. Definitely would consider staying there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks, Tom. We appreciate your review. We DO want to be available if our guests have any questions or need information, and we are glad that you recognized that, but we are also thankful that we didn't appear intrusive in our desire to be of assistance. Hope you visit again someday!
business
Downtown, Barton Springs Minutes Away - 78704 Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p402379vb
512-413-6446
Austin Austin area
Minneapolis, MN
5

Great, clean house conveniently located

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We visited the weekend of the inaugural F1 race, reserved many months in advance. The owners accurately represented the location, size, and description of the house, and were renting at a very reasonable rate, relative to the other gouging going on in town that weekend.
Off-street parking and proximity to many businesses was a bonus. Had breakfast twice down the street at the Kerby, that was great. We didn't use the kitchen at all, but it and the bathroom was very clean.
I would recommend this rental to anyone, and would use it myself again should my travels find me back in the wonderful, still refreshingly weird, town of Austin.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you, Jay! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Formula 1 race as well. Hope you get to return next year!