Lake Glenville chateau / country house rental - The Farm
The Farm
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Lake Glenville Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

5 minute walk from Lake Glenville, private home on 3 acres with wrap-around porch, soaring cathedral ceilings, stone fireplace, 4 bedrooms, including 2 master suites, and designer kitchen. Serene vistas of the Blue Ridge Mountains, Christmas tree farms, beautiful sunsets and natural flora and fauna.

I built The Farm in 2008, having purchased the three acres from my good neighbors down the hill. My late husband and I had spent summers at their cottage and wanted our own piece of this glorious, and peaceful countryside. When I'm not at The Farm, I live in Miami and am in practice as a Psychoanalyst. My Golden Retrievers can attest to the fact that this is dog country par excellance.

Gail Margoshes purchased this chateau / country house in 2008

The area of Lake Glenville, Highlands and Cashiers provide great boating, antiquing, hiking, photography, skiing, horseback riding and North Carolina country life. It's peacefulness and serenity is its most essential quality. Come and hear the silence of nature. You'll never want to leave.

18 Reviews of Property 967662 on Lake Glenville, North Carolina

The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
5

Wonderful Stay at the Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at the farm for a week in late December/early January. It was much nicer than I had imagined (much prettier than the photos). We have three little ones (2 year old twins and an 8 month old), and it was a perfect floor plan for our family. The kitchen is open to the living room so you can keep an eye on the kids while you cook dinner, etc. There are two bedrooms and a connected bathroom on one side of the downstairs and the master suite on the other. There is also a half bath downstairs. Upstairs is a very nice bedroom/bathroom. There is a very nice washer/dryer there (another great benefit for families with young children), and a doggy shower in the laundry room in case you need it. There is a wrap-around porch that was perfect for our toddlers to ride their tricycles on. The fireplace is wonderful -- it is high and deep so we never had to worry about the kids getting too close when we had a fire going. As other reviewers have mentioned, the linens and towels were luxurious. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the tools, pots, pans, crock pot, etc. that you could ever need. There is also a very nice gas grill on the porch. The property is beautiful and secluded. We saw deer in the back yard two of the days we were there. The location is just a short drive from Cashiers and also not far from Highlands. The owner, Gail, was truly a pleasure to work with. This is truly a beautiful and luxurious home, and we can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
5

Really enjoyed The Farm!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We needed a place to get away and decompress for a few days. The Farm was perfect. A great layout, warm and inviting living room and fireplace and a kitchen stocked with everything you could need. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a place to chill out for a while. We took our two dogs and they loved the big yard. The nearby town of Highlands was charming (don't miss the Wild Thyme restaurant when you're there)!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
5

Amazing and Pristine Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Staying at "The Farm" was a wonderful experience. It was the perfect spot for three generations of our family to spend time together in a beautiful setting with comfort and amenities that each could appreciate.
We had grandparents and teens and 'in-betweens', and all were delightfully comfortable! The area offered us many activities including white-water rafting, rock mining, boating and nature hikes. We grocery shopped at an incredible grocery in Cashiers and enjoyed cooking and sharing our meals together as one big family. "The Farm" gave us as much time together as we wanted and room enough to find a quite and restful spot, as well. Thank you for an amazing week at this magnificent home. We dealt directly with the owner who was so helpful and friendly to us. We would certainly recommend her home to anyone looking for a mountain vacation and hope to do it again.
The Williams Family
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
Madison
5

The perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Farm was exactly as advertised--a beautiful home with luxurious furnishings in the midst of one of the most spectacular locales in the country. The attention to detail was noticeable from the moment we arrived. We actually had a fair amount of rain during the week but were still able to have a great time taking advantage of the gourmet kitchen, beautiful fireplace and big-screen tv. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away from the grind of daily life!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
Tampa, Fl
5

Simply Heavenly!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just arrived home from our heavenly vacation at The Farm. I had originally planned a family vacation to The Homestead in VA and Williamsburg months earlier. Then as teens can be, they all bickered over what they wanted to do.... beach, NYC..... As a busy mom, I just cancelled and didn't plan anything else until the week before. I decided on the Carolinas, beach, mountains or both. The week of July 20th is a popular vacation week and most beach resorts were sold out. When I found The Farm, I knew that's what our family needed. We needed to reconnect and The Farm looked like the perfect place for family bonding. Let me say it certainly was everything we needed and more!

Like all the previous reviewers have said The Farm is just perfect, mountain luxury! We wanted for nothing! Luxury and serenity is the best way to describe our experience. One thing previous reviewers didn't mention was while taking a shower there is window where you can watch the wild life in the backyard. I saw at least two hens and 7 baby turkeys while showering one morning. My husband LOVED the towels and kept asking me "why don't our towels feel this soft". I'm ordering some of the Turkish towels so we can have a little bit of The Farm with us back home.

We loved rocking on the beautiful porch, roasting marshmallows in the fireplace, climbing trees, long walks down the dirt roads, playing Monopoly and actually having the time to finish the game. The Farm was the perfect place for our family to reconnect. We can't wait to go back and plan on spending Christmas at The Farm. Thank you Gail for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
St. Petersburg
5

Splendid 4th of July family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just returned from our 4th of July family vacation at The Farm. The setting was idyllic, exactly what we imagined. However, the interior of the home exceeded our expectations. Our wonderful host had a fully stocked kitchen with quality items, which the cooks in our family truly appreciated. Frankly, we could have had a formal dinner with the beautiful dinnerware and serveware. The beds were heavenly. Loved the quality linens! We had firewood, walking sticks, umbrellas, extra towels, games, books, etc. etc. A great Weber gas grill will all the accessories you would need. We could not ask for more. It was difficult to want to leave to explore the beautiful mountains. Our stay felt as if we were in a high-end hotel, but yet we were in a home that felt like home.

We were two couples, plus our teenage daughter and our dog, Ginger. Ginger enjoyed roaming the grounds, listening to the birds, and running up and down the hill. Ginger also once decided to go into muddy water and, thankfully, there was a doggie bath in the laundry room to bathe her.

Lake Glenville is close by and downtown Cashiers is about a 10 minute ride. Downtown Cashiers has a Farmers Market which any "foodie" would love. We did go to the Highlands (approximately 30 minutes) a few times and enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Madison's.

Hopefully, we will return soon!




It was difficult to leave paradise to return to wor
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
Jacksonville, FL
5

Great Family Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
When looking for the perfect NC Mountain family vacation spot - it does not get much better than The Farm! We spent three wonderful nights and days at this beautiful home and surrounding property with great family friends, and a good time was had by all. When our departure day arrived, we were all wishing that we could have a few more days!

The property is beautiful and allows for plenty of "roaming" room for the kids. Ours loved the expansive grounds, tree house and pond. It was great to see our kids "unplugged" and excited about being outside enjoying the terrific weather and all that nature has to offer.

The home itself is meticulously decorated and has every amenity that you would need or want in a vacation home. We were very comfortable and loved all of the comforts of this cozy, exquisite home. We could tell that the owner wants her guests to feel right at home. No detail is overlooked. The kitchen is amazing and well equipped. We prepared a big family feast one night and were not at a loss for any pot, pan, or utensil. Evenings were spent gathered around the great fireplace playing games and sipping hot chocolate. After long hikes and lots of activity during the day, it was the perfect place for us to retreat in the evenings.

We all highly recommend The Farm and are counting the days until we go back again next fall. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
5

Fall vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a fantastic time staying at "the farm". We brought our golden retriever with us to see the changing of the leaves. The location and house amenities were perfect. This place really is a dog's paradise. the cleared acreage for running around with my dog was great. We enjoyed the adjacent Christmas tree farm area also. They did not mind us hiking thru their trees. The dog even found a stray cow roaming among the trees. Better a cow than a bear !!!! The views of lake down the road were beautiful especially soon after sunrise with the fog lifting. The thing that made this place perfect was how quiet it was outside away from all the road noise. We sat outside and just enjoyed the view of the mountains, trees and lake. We will revisit this place again and again. Thanks Gail for your house.
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
Charleston, SC
5

Beautiful Home in the Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had an absolutely wonderful time this past weekend visiting "The Farm." There were 3 couples, 2 babies and 3 dogs who all truly enjoyed themselves. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare great meals, an amazing fire place, gorgeous furnishings and a great view! The yard is a perfect space for yard games and for the dogs to run around while others can sit and watch from the porch in rocking chairs. A little slice of heaven in the mountains with great hikes just minutes away and a view of the lake just at the top of the property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Farm - A Country Home on 3 Acres in the Blue Ridge Mtns.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p967662
+1 305 856-3060
Lake Glenville Cashiers Area
East Hampton, New York
5

Couldn't be better!

Couldn't be better!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I just returned from two glorious weeks in this wonderful house and I find myself homesick for it! The property description is very accurate but doesn't come close to describing how charming and comfortable it is. The house is immaculate and extremely well-maintained with a very helpful caretaker who responds quickly to a phone call for information or assistance. The owner is wonderfully accommodating and very attentive to your needs. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends and family. It is an exceptionally good value. We greatly enjoyed the nearby towns: Cashiers with its numerous fine antique shops and Highlands with high-end fashion boutiques (don't miss McCaully's remarkable cashmere store) and fine restaurants. Lunch at the Old Edwards Inn is a special treat. Fly fishing with a guide from Brookings is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. If you are looking for a wonderful experience in the Cashiers area, I doubt you could do better than this very lovely property.