Culebra villa rental - Balcony View
Balcony View
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
 

Culebra Villa Rental Photos and Description
1-2 bedrooms, 1 and 1/2 bathroom, sleeps 1-6

Thank you for your interest in Seabird. Seabird is a simple screened air conditioned beach-style 2 bedroom villa with private bathroom overlooking beautiful Ensenada Honda Bay. It is between town (a 10 minute walk) and beautiful, secluded, safe Soldado Beach. Sitting on its’ balcony for meals, reading, talking and watching the sailboats and colorful fisherman boats come in and out of the bay is unique. Maybe if you get lucky you may watch the occasional pirate ship or yacht. It sleeps 1 - 6 people. Sometimes we rent it as a 1 bedroom at the lower price if close to the date and still available. I have great prices for longer stays.

To access the villa you have to go up multiple stair steps.

The kitchen is fully equipped, making for great savings, with regular size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, and blender. It has pots, pans, plates, glasses, etc.

Seabird has FREE internet

You will have access to 2 private nearby loading docks for fishing, suntanning and being by the water or load/unload your boat

This villa has 2 bedrooms with queen beds. On the living room we have two queen futons

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 966037 in Culebra, Puerto Rico

Waterfront 2 bedroom villa with large balcony and great bay view
average rating of 3.2 based on 5 reviews
business
Waterfront 2 bedroom villa with large balcony and great bay view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p966037
+1787 1(787) 397-4974
Culebra Puerto Rico
NM, USA
4

Simple and delightful!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If we wanted everything to be perfect, we'd have gone to some 5 star resort on a fancy island. We chose Culebra for its simplicity and back home feel. It totally delivered. It's a slow island, relaxed.
The deck on the house is spacious and the view is awesome. The furniture is new, there's plenty of it, and Gaby was helpful, although we never met. The description does say "simple". I found it delightful.
The orientation is so that you can watch both sunrises and sunsets without having the sun in your eyes. And the sailboats have to pass right by you to get into town. Frigate birds ans stars overhead.

Not everything works. The floor is a bit crooked, and a rooster visited us on the deck every morning, looking for a handout. We have stayed in a lot of Homeaway places, and many provide a bit more in the kitchen: You will need to buy salt, pepper, any spices, oil, coffee filters (#4), and paper towels. Also soap for the bathroom. I didn't figure out the hot water until the last day (it's in the middle, not left or right!) The corkscrew and the blender were broken, and I left them out with a note, so I would expect them to be replaced eventually. Gaby, I would recommend providing potholders. Maybe a dishtowel.
No wine glasses, but I really don't feel that's a deal-breaker. This is an island getaway.

I found the place perfectly clean. 2 fluffy bath towels, 2 beach towels. Everything swept and polished.
No ants. A few lizards.
Yes, there are steps. Not an unreasonable amount (we're 60 and 65). And the view is worth every one of them. This is not wheelchair territory.

About transportation - it's walking distance from the town, and restaurants - but it's a bit of a hike with groceries. But how do you get to the many beautiful beaches, or explore the island? We wound up renting a jeep and used it every day.
There is no other way to get to the more remote beaches, which we visited instead of the more popular (still pretty empty!) Flamenco Beach. I thought having transport was worth it, but others staying in the same area went without and seemed fine.

We also stayed at another of Gaby's properties in Old San Juan. It was very well-located, no problems. High ceilings, fans, old-fashioned style. Nice for a night or two coming or going.

I'd stay here again.
business
Waterfront 2 bedroom villa with large balcony and great bay view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p966037
+1787 1(787) 397-4974
Culebra Puerto Rico
1

What a disappointment! Over priced!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thankfully I only rented for two days. There needs to be complete transparency in the description of this apartment. I was traveling with my sister and brother in law, both senior citizens. There are 47 steep steps up to the apartment with no railing and no lights at night. It is absolutely dangerous. What makes it worse is that it is never stated in the description. Further, there is a broken window and holes in the wall in the living room that are stuffed with paper towels. In the kitchen one of the faucets is broken. The apartment could be better cleaned. The stove top is dirty and there are dead bugs throughout. The sheets in the master bedroom were torn and the lightbulb was not replaced in one of the lamps. I have rented apartments from other sites before, there is not even a bar of soap for the first night. The second bedroom is outside of the main apartment and you reach it by going out the door through the balcony door. If you need to go to the bathroom at night you need to go outside open the main apartment with the key. It states that there are 2 futons in the living room, which I considered so no one would be away from the bathrooms except that they are vinyl and there is no air conditioning in the living room. That is definitely a problem in the summer in Culebra! . Again none of this explained in the description. While the description states simple, I would characterize it as run down and neglected. This site does not allow pictures but I do have them. The only thing this apartment has is the balcony and the beautiful view of Culebra and the property manager Maritza. She is very helpful upon arrival and accommodating. Quite frankly, I paid less for the Caribe Hilton in San Juan and A Motel 6 is better maintained. I would not recommend this apartment to anyone.


Home away
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Waterfront 2 bedroom villa with large balcony and great bay view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p966037
+1787 1(787) 397-4974
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We really enjoyed staying at Seabird. Every morining I would open my door directly into the great balcony and water view. We cooked looking into the water view which made it very relaxing. In the evenings we sat for dinner in the living room or outside for a slow dinner. The feeling in Culebra is unique. This simple comfortable villa was perfect for our stay and at the greatest price you will find in Culebra.
Owner's Response: Thank you,
We really try hard for our guests to enjoy the simple beautiful life of Culebra as we do.
Thanks,
Gaby
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront 2 bedroom villa with large balcony and great bay view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p966037
+1787 1(787) 397-4974
Culebra Puerto Rico
1

Bad Experience

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
its advertised as accommodation for up to 6 people yet the living room had a rattan curved sofa comprised of three separate pieces. The dirty mattress is what was offered to be placed in second room that has no closet. The shower was dirty and had almost no pressure, one of the towels was just black dirty. The light bulb in shower went off on a first day and was never fixed.The window in the living room had a whole and was 'fixed' with paper towel. The outside is beautiful but the grill was filthy, only one lounge chair. The 'fully' equipped kitchen was a joke. not enough cutlery for our group of five, no wine glasses, no basics. The property description did not match the reality at all. During our stay Gaby purchased two futons and a closet and we had to move twice. I will not trust the description
Owner's Response: This lady was different than any guest I have had. She had the choice of a larger property at rental time but chose the 2 bedroom property. She found the place too small. I had never in 3 years had a guest like this who complained about everything no matter what we did. I have had dozens of guests over the year who love the simplicity of the beachstyle house and its' natural beauty with the great price. To please her I changed her for the same price to the larger house that rents for twice at the price during peak season for all the days I could. She left the first villa in the worst and dirtiest condition my cleaning people had seen. I bought and sent new extra furniture for her and had it sent from the mainland with great difficulty at a cost of $1000 because I felt we could do better in some areas. On the second house my property manager took clean towels multiple days for her which we do not do. At one point he said " I cannot handle it anymore". They left the second villa in worst condition. My housekeeper called me for the first time ever almost crying. Air conditioners on with doors open, trash bags everywhere and dozens of dirty towels. To finish it off they lost the house keys. I did not say anything and tried to keep on pleasing her but I had to answer this report.
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Waterfront 2 bedroom villa with large balcony and great bay view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p966037
+1787 1(787) 397-4974
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Great Location, Service

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We stayed at two of Gaby's properties - one in OSJ, the other on Culebra. Both were clean, well maintained, and perfectly placed to get around by foot or a short cab ride in both areas. In addition, Gaby and his property manager on Culebra, Sebastian, were extremely accommodating, friendly, and helpful. They were easily available by email and phone for any questions and offered great recommendations for us as first time visitors to PR.
Helpful votes: 7/8