Oxford house rental - Lake view of home
Lake view of home
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 9 nights
 

Oxford House Rental Photos and Description
6 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom, 1 Half Bathroom, sleeps 12

Major renovations in 2011, 6 bedroom Lakeside home on beautiful Thompson Lake. Brand new Kitchen appliances with fully equipped Kitchen (dishes and cookware for large family). 'The Charleston room' (Master Bedroom) with King size bed and gorgeous view of water on first floor. 'The Caroline's Castle room' with Queen size bed on first floor. Full bathroom is on first floor. Great water views from all lakeside facing windows. Four bedrooms are upstairs with half bath. Large wrap around deck with two large tables and seating along the entire length of the deck. Front lawn is large enough to play some outside games (crocquet or badminton). Home is on a very quiet road that is great for children that want to ride their own bikes. Enjoy using our two kayaks and canoe to explore the gorgeous lake or you can bring your own boat. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets on the Lake! The water is gradual entry so is nice for children. Much to do within 10 minutes to an hour's drive.

Telephone, Cable TV and wireless internet are included. No pet and No smoking property. Our home is very well appointed, you will have everything that you need to cook a meal either inside or out on the large gas grill. Enjoy eating either at the dining room table (can seat 8) or out on the large deck that has a tremendous amount of seating area. There are many movies to watch, outside games for children and adults plus a basketball hoop. Enjoy toasting marshmallows or cooking hotdogs on a stick over the lakeside firepit.

When I was a child, our family owned property on Thompson Lake. This experience created so many wonderful memories including swimming and boating, sitting by the fire telling stories, and eating a picnic by the lake. I dreamed of owning a waterfront property on this wonderful lake and now I can share my dream with you and provide an opportunity for you to create your own special memories.

You may find you never want to leave the lake once you are here, but Maine is beautiful and has much to offer. We would be happy to suggest day trips and things to do in the area. We want this to be your home away from home.

~Mindy and John Davis, owners.

More Details
Hide Details

Growing up in Maine ourselves, and experiencing family time at the lake, we really wanted to be able to offer similar opportunities to other families. Being able to share memories and stories while sitting around a fire toasting marshmallows or cooking hot dogs, can be one of the best memories that you can experience with your family and/or extended family and friends. Having a fun BBQ and enjoying the outdoors while seeing loons, birds, and other wildlife can be most enjoyable when you are taking a break from your very busy everyday life.

Mindy Davis purchased this house in 2011

We love Thompson Lake in Maine. It is the lake that we grew up with. It is one of the cleanest lakes in Maine. It is a large lake yet is quiet as most folks that use the lake are living on the lake.

12 Reviews of Property 964459 in Oxford, Maine

Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
5

Truly a "Lakeside Dream"

Truly a "Lakeside Dream"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Mindy and John thought of everything. Five star rating across the board!!! This house felt more like our home than it did a rental. It was clean and comfortable. It was conveniently located close to town, Wal-Mart, Hannaford’s and the casino. The house was everything we hoped it would be. The bedrooms were very spacious with plenty of storage and closet space. The cove was so quiet and relaxing. we enjoyed fishing, kayaking and canoeing. Thompson Lake is extremely clean. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends. It was truly a “lakeside dream”!!

Thanks again ?
Owner's Response: We have enjoyed making our home available to others and providing what we think will be what you need to enjoy your vacation. Our hope is that when you arrive, you will feel that it is clean, homey, and will be what you have anticipated. Our cove is so peaceful and relaxing and yet we are not very far to many wonderful things to explore if you decide that you want to go for a day trip to explore. We hope that you will return again soon! ~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
5

Perfect for summer relaxation with friends!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was wonderful! It was clean, comfortable and designed with a touch of Pottery Barn style. I stayed with myself and boyfriend and 3 other couples. There was plenty of room for eating, games and relaxing on the water. The deck/dock set up is great and easily accessible from the house straight to the water. There were plenty of fans when it was warm during the day and extras blankets for the wonderfully chilly summer nights (or watching a movie). They kayaks and water floats also came in handy. My favorite time of day was watching the sunrise from the master bedroom! I would definitely recommend this house for a group of friends or even a family.
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you had such a relaxing time at "a lakeside dream". Having stayed at rental homes ourselves over the years with our children, we wanted to make our vacation home comfy where our guests felt like it was their home away from home. It's wonderful how our home is so close to the water that you have the great view and especially the view of the sunrise is beautiful! We hope that you can return again soon!
~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
Boston Area
5

Truly a lake side dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful time. Great Amenities!! Lots of room for a big family with young children. Even though the lake is shallow near by you can swim out a bit and it gets plenty deep. The shallow water is appealing with young children and keeping them safe while still having fun.

Plenty to do outside (canoe, kayaks, basketball hoop) and inside (cable service and wifi) and . Thompson Lake area is very beautiful, as is the surrounding area(s). Not too far from North Conway for a day trip and some great shopping at the outlets.

We had a great week. Hope to go back again.

Thanks Mindy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. What we like most about our cove is that it is shallow so that a young family can enjoy the water and that the setting is tranquil and relaxing. We feel our home is in a wonderful spot as you can enjoy nature up close, yet we are within an easy drive to shopping in North Conway, Freeport and Portland area, hiking, and the ocean being within an hour's drive too. We hope you can return again another year!
~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
5

Perfect family getaway! Memories are made here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
A wonderful place to get away from it all! Perfect house on a gorgeous lake. All the amenities of home, in a picturesque setting. This was our second year with our little boys and extended family. Great memories made for us and children! Couldn't have been better and a great vacation home and spot!
Owner's Response: Memories are what make family vacations the best! Eating outdoors, sitting by a campfire, cooling off in the lake on a nice summer day.....Glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you come back again next year!

~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
Dracut, Massachusetts
5

Relaxing stay on the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house is made so comfortable to stay in. It's clean and spacious, it has everything you need and if there is problem call the owners and they respond very quickly. The lake is beautiful and quite and with the row boat and kayaks that are provided you can be entertained for hours. It's the perfect house if you want to just lounge around or to watch wildlife. I really hope to return with my family in the future.
Owner's Response: The wildlife is one our favorite things about this lake. Thompson Lake is such a peaceful lake and a wonderful destination when you really want some relaxation.

We are happy that you enjoyed our home and we look forward to you coming back again!

~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
Lewiston
5

Such a great time!!!! :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We spent a weekend this fall on the lake and had such a wonderful time!! It was the perfect way to spend my birthday! We had a big dinner outside on the deck overlooking the beautiful lake and enjoying the foliage! We jumped in the kayaks afterwards and floated around the lake taking in the amazing sights! We have three young children and they had a total BLAST!!! We brought their bikes and they were able to ride up and down the road and didn't have to worry about traffic. They enjoyed playing in the water off shore and also taking rides on the kayaks. When the sun went down and we were forced to move indoors, the fun didn't end! The kids LOVED the basement....set up with an air hockey table and a cute little movie nook! The main floor and upstairs was very accomodating! Everyone had their own rooms and nice comfy beds! :) The only negative thing I could say about this place is that we had to leave!!! We were ready to move in! The kiddos can't wait to go back! Such a beautiful and relaxing place! A PERFECT family vacation!! Thank you so much! I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone! The owners were more than easy to work with and so so so friendly and accomodating! Great place and GREAT people!!! See you next time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Your comments remind me of my memories as a child going to this lake. There is something about being at a lake for family relaxation time. Getting away from it all and enjoying quality time with your family makes for many happy memories. Kayaking and canoeing around the shores of Thompson Lake is so much fun for adults and children! This is a calmer part of Thompson Lake so it makes it easier for the children to paddle and there is so much nature to see on this lake. The children usually love the basement "room" that they can call their own where they watch TV, movies, or play air hockey!

We are happy to have you as our guests and hope that you will return again.
~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
1

Not a "Lakeside Dream" as advertised

Not a "Lakeside Dream" as advertised
  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The service was not great. We had construction ongoing for half of our vacation. Rental management firm would not do anything about it because they told us my husband approved the work. They did not tell us the whole scope of the project. They said work to be done "on the street". They didn't say that 24 yards of heavy rock would be dumped DIRECTLY on the property. Owner gave us her phone number on a card at check in and "thanked" us for our willingness to oblige. We called her to complain about the scoope of work, she never returned our call and then blocked our number. She said we were harassing her. We called and left a voicemail, I sent her a text of the workers wheeling wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow on the property, but she never returned our call. If she had called or come by, that would have at least been a a little better. She did come by on the first day, prior to the construction to deliver fans to the house as the airflow is terrible. There is one window in the front, and 2 tiny windows in the back with no ceiling fan in the living/dining/kitchen area. The side of the lake that the house is on is VERY shallow and there are huge tree stumps everywhere. From dock to almost all the way across the lake, 90% of lake is maximum 4.5 feet deep and where the boat is parked it was 2.5 feet deep. The rental agency said in description that there are 2 baths. Don't be fooled, there is only one shower for the entire 6 bedroom house. We own our own rentals and would NEVER treat our guests in the manner that we were treated, nor would I use deceptive advertising. Buyer Beware.
Owner's Response: We are committed to making sure all of our guests are satisfied and comfortable and our advertising is very descriptive and accurate to that end. We are sorry you were disappointed, however your review contains complaints regarding things that you were made aware of at the time you made your reservation. You knew that "rip rap" rock was going to be placed along the shoreline to prevent erosion.
Weather is out of our control and during your stay it was one of the warmest humid weeks of the summer. We did the best to alleviate this by providing extra fans beyond the 6 fans already at the home. However, when the air is very humid, no amount of fans or windows will help.
We are in a cove that has a lovely gradual shoreline and is great for swimming (particularly young families). The lake itself is very large and is great for boating. Pictures on our site are "real" photos of the lake, house, bedrooms and bathrooms, with detailed descriptions.
When we responded to your complaints, you threatened us with a bad review even though we addressed what we could. We were surprised and disappointed to discover that knowing we had a "no pets" policy, you disregarded that and brought your pet (dog) with you anyway. We had to ask you to make other arrangements for the dog. As a result of this, we had to have a special company come to clean our home to remove the allergens.
As a sign of good faith, we offered to refund the remainder of your rental dollars if you wanted to leave immediately. You chose to stay for the rest of the week.
We want to assure our future guests of our commitment to and our pride in our "lakeside dream" home.
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
Simsbury, Connecticut
5

Lovely home on beautiful lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our extended family spent a week this August at this home on Lake Thompson. We had a wonderful stay and the house lived up to all expectations. We had two senior citizens with limited mobility, teens, youngsters and everyone had a wonderful time. The beds were wonderfully comfortable.

We brought our canoes and kayaks and used those provided with the property. We rented a motor boat and the kids tubed and skied around the lake. We went for local hikes in the area and got to hit the shopping in Freeport and the lovely downtown of Portland both only 1 hour away.

The house was very well appointed and very well kept. The owners were fabulous and clearly put a lot of attention into the details. Every morning we got up to a lovely view out the kitchen and bedroom windows. The docks, the patio, the grill and the firepit were heavily used. The neighbors were quiet and friendly as we took walks around the neighborhood. The kids enjoyed the air hockey table in the basement.

We had the pleasure of fireworks being shot off across the lake from the house one Saturday night. Everyone came away will rested, refreshed with smiles on their faces.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The lake house is convenient to so many wonderful things to do and enjoy in Maine, yet the home is located directly on the water where one can enjoy the quiet, peaceful nature of this wonderful lake.

Our home with many bedrooms allows room for families to spend time together to create memories. We hope that you will return again someday.

~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
Bellingham,MA
5

BEAUTIFUL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What can i say except the owners are wonderful and so accommodating. They have been so pleasant to deal with from the start. The House is plenty big enough for 12 people. We had a large party and their was more than enough room. The way this home is furnished is beautiful all the way down to the shades on the windows.The outside is very well kept, a very nice fire pit, the dock is very nice as well. The water in this lake as got to be one of cleanest i've ever been in. We caught two BIG sized fish right off the dock. Plus plenty of little ones. Its a little shallow right in front so boating you will definitely have to do out in the open part of the lake. Otherwise this place is perfect. I have never rented a house that i didn't feel like i had to clean before i even settled in. This house was clean from top to bottom. Thanks again for letting us rent your beautiful lake Home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our vacation home. The water is shallow in our cove which is great for young families. This cove is excellent for kayaking, canoeing, fishing and nature watching, but you do have to be careful getting from our dock to the main part of the lake with a motor boat. However once you have reached the main part of the lake, the lake is quite large, beautiful and so clean! We hope that you will come back soon! ~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream
business
Renovated and Charming Home On Pristine Thompson Lake... Great For Families
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964459
+1 207 2077544611
Oxford Western Maine
5

Our week at the lake house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a week at this lake house and had a wonderful time. This week was an opportunity for my husband and I to spend time with our children and grandchildren. The house worked well for our group of 9.

The house was great. The lake was gorgeous. We spent time kayaking, swimming and fishing every day. The house, itself, contained all of the essentials and room needed. We cooked on the grill most nights and ate out on the generous seating deck.

We used the fire pit nightly, cooking s'mores and steaks!

We definitely enjoyed our week and will definitely consider staying again! We highly recommend.
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our home for your family vacation. Sitting around a fire at night is one of the best memories that we have of vacationing with our children. Talking, sharing stories and memories, making s'mores...while watching the beautiful flames and hearing the crackling sounds from a campfire!

We hope that you and your family come and stay with us again!

~Mindy and John @ a lakeside dream