Harlem apartment rental - Brownstone entrance
Brownstone entrance
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Beautiful 3 bedroom apartment in a historic Harlem brownstone in famous Hamilton Heights (Sugar Hill) Harlem. Be part of the vibrant heart of Harlem, close to the home of Langston Hughes and the Alexander Hamilton Museum. Shop on famous 125th Street or dine out at Sylvias after catching a show at the Apollo Theater.

Or perhaps you want a starting point for bicycling Manhattan: close to Riverbank State Park, where you can enjoy laps in the olympic size pool or play tennis on the hill overlooking the Hudson. Tons of bike paths nearby, with a main artery into Midtown just a block away.

This apartment is one of three in the brownstone, it has hard wood floors, a skylight, old-style ceiling fans, and is nestled in the most beautiful block in Harlem. A very sunny 12 foot ceilings allow for floor to ceiling windows that overlook the tree-lined street on one side and a garden on the other.

This home provides quick access to the subway one block away: within 10 minutes you are downtown and enjoying shopping, museums, or a show. Your hosts will be happy to help you plan an itinerary to maximize the sightseeing potential. Or, you can enjoy some downtime relaxing at a Manhattan Spa or dining out for brunch at one of the exciting new restaurants in Harlem, like Red Rooster.

The Apartment comfortably holds 6 people, and the neighborhood is very kid-friendly. No Pets allowed.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a couple with two children who have been living in Harlem for 12 years now. We renovated this historic brownstone in 2006.

Harlem is an amazing cultural treasure with incredibly vibrant nightlife, and great proximity to all of New York City. This is a quiet residentail block with a small town feel that provides you with access to everywhere, fast.

Quiet building and block in a bucolic setting. One block from the subway with 4 lines that take you all over the city. Dining for 6. Comfortable featherbeds and lovely, high ceilings.

12 Reviews of Property 964081 in Harlem, New York

Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
4

Thanksgiving in NYC...fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The property was exactly what we expected. Clean and well furnished, very comfy. Great access to subway and nice quiet neighborhood with ample amenities.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
3

3 1/2 stars actually

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Despite the initial impression entering the building (the hallways were dark and extremely dusty), the apartment itself was quiet, clean and adequate for our needs. It was a good place for our family to stay and close to the subway. Estela was very helpful with any questions/issues we had, and responded in a timely manner.
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
Vancouver Canada
1

Dirty, Dusty Brownstone

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This apartment is dirty beyond words. From the moment you walk in to the poorly lit hallway up to the third floor you can smell the dust in the air and see it in the hallway carpets. The apartment itself was so dirty you could write your name in the dust under the sofa (I do not exaggerate). The bathroom floor shows signs of dirt as the grout is black at the foot of the sink and grey/brown everywhere else. It hasn't been scrubbed for years. The kitchen is completely dysfunctional - look at the photos as there is no counter space at all. If you look at the 2" gap between the counter and the fridge you will be shocked at the filth. Not surprisingly, we had a mouse cross the room on our last night. Look again at the photos - notice there is only a bed in two rooms. That's it. A bed. The beds are like marshmallows and your back will ache each morning. There were 8 hangers between the three bedrooms! Five guests. 8 hangers - we rationed them! There was an iron but no ironing board. The sink plug didn't work. We had to wash all utensils under the running tap. There is no view. The front looks out on to trees. The back looks across to other brownstones. There is no nice coffee shop to stroll to, nor are there decent groceries. The neighbourhood is noisy - more so at night than in the day. When I asked the owner to fix the sink I was told 'this is a vacation apartment, not a hotel'. I presume that means 'suck it up, Princess'. The coffee pot broke. We didn't get another one as the housekeeper was too busy to bring us one. All in all, an apartment that has great potential with the right management. For now it is dirty and uncomfortable.
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
Austin, TX
4

Well priced and safe

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This brownstone is very clean, a nice size, and very safe. A few friends and I were in town for a sporting competition so we didn't spend too much time in the apartment, but it was a nice place to come home to and sleep. Very easy to get into the main part of the city via the subway (station just around the corner). Estela was very responsive to any questions we had and made sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay in Manhattan.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great trip to NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Estela and Jason the owners were very helpful with the rental process. Estela returned e-mails promptly and was great in helping me navigate the NY subways to some of our tourist destinations. The apartment was just as it was pictured and great for spreading out and getting comfortable after long days of walking in the city. Great space for 4 adults. My husband and I and my 18 year old daughter and her best friend. Both girls had their own room. We made our coffee each morning before we set out on our NYC adventure. Harlem Heights is a great community, the people all so friendly. Quiet neighborhood was great to return to after our days adventures.
Thank you Estela and Jason.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great "Real" New York experience

Great "Real" New York experience
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We are a family of 2 adults and 3 kids (11,9 & 6) and travelled from the UK to stay in this apartment. We thoroughly enjoyed staying for 5 days. We found the location (which is only a couple of streets from the subway) to be perfect. Local shops have everything you need and you can be in downtown Manhattan in less than 30 minutes.

The apartment was really clean, exactly as in the photos, the owner really helpful in helping us plan our stay and things like wifi and cable TV were great.

The area felt like "real" New York and was a great part of our overall fantastic experience in NYC.

We'll be back soon !!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
5

This place was amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My friends and I stayed at this apartment from Friday to Monday. The place was exactly as pictured. For NYC it was spacious and very close to the subway. The owners were wonderful as well. I definately plan to stay again in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
5

Quiet, clean, and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband and I took our thirteen year old twins on their first trip to NYC and stayed for three nights. The apartment was a perfect size for the four of us, and the owner and housekeeper were friendly and efficient. We loved having private bedrooms (we learned long ago that hotel rooms offer no privacy, and are too expensive if you need two rooms) and being so close to the subway station to take the express train to Central Park, Times Square, and the harbor. The convenience made it easy to do a day of sightseeing and return back to the apartment for an early evening rest before going out again for the night.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Veronica's family was lovely, very easy to work with, and they left the apartment in great condition. They were really nice guests! We would love to have them anytime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
Lee, New Hampshire
5

Nice place, location, and owners!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We (five middle-aged women from various East Coast states) just spent a wonderful weekend reunion in NYC, made affordable, comfortable and safe by staying in this brownstone. The apartment, up a narrow staircase to the 3rd floor, is bright, well-furnished, comfortable, and quiet. For the five of us wanting real beds (not air beds), we had two doubles and a queen outfitted with down comforters and pillows in three bedrooms to choose from/share, and a living area with two comfortable sofas with lots of pillows and a full dining room table and chairs to sit around on for hours of talking and catching up. Small kitchen but adequate for our needs - we ate out all meals except breakfast anyway. Location is attractive with trees, interesting old architecture, and a block from the subway. We didn't see much in the way of restaurants in the surrounding few blocks but we wanted to go to Sylvia's down on 125th anyway - and did. We also traveled to Times Square, got half-price tickets for a play, and enjoyed eating there and in Chinatown the next day. Bonus was the free weekend parking on the street! We communicated with Estela, our landlady, by e-mail and she was very responsive to all our questions and concerns. Her housekeeper met us there with a key and showed us the apartment and answered other questions. We all agreed that we would come back to this apartment again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Harlem Brownstone on Quiet Block. Close to Trains.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p964081
+1 347 351-6695
Harlem Manhattan
ipswich ma
5

elane

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We are a family of five, kids ages 17 to 24, and this was a great apt for our family. In a great neighborhood, not even a block away from a great subway line, 15" downtown, always felt safe.
The apt is spacious and light, the beds are very comfortable, owner and housekeeper are really nice and accommodating.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: A lovely family. They left the apartment is perfect condition and were a pleasure to work with. They were wonderful guests!