Montecito house rental - Elegant furnishings in an open floor plan.
Elegant furnishings in an open floor plan.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Montecito House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths (Sleeps 8-12)

Step through the gates of Spring House and you will be welcomed by a serene fountain and Zen statuary. Enjoy secluded privacy in a lush tropical setting. Step outside the gates and you are a mere 5 minute walk from Butterfly Beach - the most beautiful beach in Santa Barbara, the historic Four Seasons Biltmore Hotel and Spa, and Coast Village Road - the exclusive heart of Montecito with a wide variety of dining options, boutiques and gift shops, and business and banking services. Enjoy that vacation cocktail without the worry of driving home!

The layout of Spring House with allows maximum flexibility for multiple families or families traveling with a nanny. Your host is committed to ensuring you have the vacation of your dreams, and will make whatever arrangements you require, including grocery shopping, booking recreational activities (including contacts with extraordinary and exclusive local outfitters), providing catering services, vetted babysitting services, and arranging spa and beauty services with only the most talented professionals in the community. We will introduce you to the Santa Barbara only locals know. If you prefer total privacy, Spring House will be ready and waiting for you with no management contact.

Spring House exceeds customary expectations, and is a luxury experience from original art to thread count to Viking appliances. The living room contains two separate conversation areas which lead to an enclosed terrace through two sets of French doors, where a second fountain provides background music for your dining or lounging pleasure. The formal dining room seats six with room for additional tables and an adjacent bar with six bar stools. The main kitchen is adjacent to the dining room in an open floor plan style sharing the warmth of a gas fueled automatic fireplace and a flat screen tv. The kitchen is appointed with Viking appliances, granite counter tops and a soaring ceiling with skylights. A glass door and pass through windows over a farmhouse sink give way to a gracious brick patio decorated with potted plants and dense landscaping where the third of four fountains gurgles while you dine or relax. The BBQ is located here. The media room also serves as a fourth bedroom with complete privacy; it houses a 47' flat screen, a second fireplace, a queen sleeper sofa with additional memory foam feather bed, and a massage chair. The fifth bedroom contains an abbreviated kitchen with sink, mini-fridge and microwave, and a full bathroom. The wall of windows in this bedroom folds open to a lanai with treadmill, fountain, jacuzzi and sauna.

The master bedroom is furnished with an exotic teak king bed, a fireplace, a conversation area, and flat screen. It includes a huge walk-in closet with built-in dresser, an en suite bathroom with travertine counters and floors and a dressing table. The second bedroom also has an en suite bathroom, a queen four-poster, and a private balcony. The third bedroom is charmingly decorated with a seating area and game table, and contains a king size bed and a daybed with trundle to sleep four people comfortably. The house is well stocked with a wi-fi connected computer, iPod docking stations, movies, books, games, and puzzles.

The multiple cooking and dining options make Spring House a perfect location for major holidays or large scale entertaining. The extensive landscaping is well-lit for leisurely al fresco evenings in Santa Barbara's year-round temperate climate. The outdoor experience at this compound is a fantasy of light, sound, water and tropical foliage. Expect the very best...You will get it here!

PLEASE TAKE A LOOK AT OUR OTHER TWO BEACH PROPERTIES IN SANTA BARBARA: HOMEAWAY #275391 (SEASHORE COTTAGE AT EAST BEACH) AND VRBO #510209 (SHORELINE VACATION WITH SWIMMING POOL.)

More Details
Hide Details

I am a retired attorney. I own and manage two beach properties and I am currently renovating a third. I have extensive experience hosting vacation rentals in other areas of Southern California. I am assisted by a highly competent management team that has lived and worked in the Santa Barbara community for 30 years, so you can be assured that you will be well cared for should any concerns arise. We respect your privacy and leave you alone unless you call.

Elizabeth Winthrop purchased this house in 2011

The Butterfly Beach area of Montecito affords our guests a unique and rare opportunity to enjoy many aspects of town on foot. Given how much time most of us spend in our cars, we felt that this was a special gift we wanted to share with visitors to Santa Barbara.

Walking virtually next door and being on the gorgeous grounds of the Four Seasons Biltmore is certainly special, whether lingering over Sunday brunch or having a facial and massage at the spa. Afterwards, a walk on the beach feels just right. Sometimes after sleeping in, it's fun to walk over to Jeannine's All-American Bakery and sit outside for a delicious breakfast or lunch. And of course, when we want to see and be seen, we hit the night time scene at Lucky's, the hip Montecito steakhouse owned by Gene Montesano of Lucky Jean's fame.

25 Reviews of Property 963746 in Montecito, California

Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Wheaton
5

Exceptional!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The home, accommodations, location and homeowner are absolutely a perfect combo for this rental. Betsy could not have been more considerate and professional. We arrived with the home perfectly staged and prepped for our extended weekend, including a hand-written welcome sign, pack-n-plays and highchairs awaiting, and windows cracked, providing the most amazing fresh air this Chicago-man has experienced in over 6 months. We had 10 people all together ranging from 9mo-60y, and there was still room to spare!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Walnut Creek, California USA
5

Lovely stay at Spring House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our daughter's wedding was in Santa Baraba and we rented the Spring House to have a gathering place for our family. We had a fabulous time and the Spring House was perfect! It sleeps 10-12 people very comfortably and the space is designed in such a way that you can have comfortable get togethers with everyone while also supporting privacy and and quieter times as well. The grounds are lovely and the home is very close, walking distance, to the cute village and the beach. Betsy was wonderful to work with - would recommend to anyone and look forward to a stay there again in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Luxurious Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were a party of 8 family members and one toddler attending our daughter's Santa Barbara wedding. Spring house was the perfect retreat for us; a beautiful gem of a home surrounded by lush landscaping and artistic water features. Everyone had their own area and we never felt crowded. The house is elegantly appointed and sparkling clean, and the kitchen is fully stocked for home meal preparation. We had a lovely dinner party out on the main patio one night, and family members were able to flow in and out of the kitchen and make themselves at home. Wonderful restaurants are within walking distance in Montecito, as is one of the nicest beaches in the area. Believe all of the reviews you read -- everything is true! Betsy, the owner, was incredibly helpful, recommending several services that were needed for the wedding. She is fantastic to work with, and I never hesitated to contact her with questions. She responds immediately. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay at Spring House. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Richmond, Surrey, UK
5

Family oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
After attending a family wedding in Somoma, our group of 7 adults and 3 children travelled down to Santa Barbara where we were able to relax and enjoy a wonderful stay at Spring House. Everything we required was provided and we loved the house and the proximity to the beach and the shops in Montecito. We explored the centre of Santa Barbara and had some wonderful home cooked meals using the fully equipped kitchen.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
San Francisco
5

Splendid house by the ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a splendid, well-maintained house. My large family tremendously enjoyed what they dubbed the "Montecito Mansion" for nearly a week for UC Santa Barbara graduation.

We never felt crowded, even with a group of mixed ages and different needs. There was always a cozy spot to rest, and a joyful place for the whole family to gather for home-cooked feasts, at the long kitchen counter. We danced, lolled in the hot tub, visited the Ritz and the beach a short walk away -- and zipped off to UC Santa Barbara for a 15 minute ride to join the campus walks and graduation festivities.

We were delighted to find the home we rented in such splendid condition. The furnishings were just what anyone in our family might have found for our own homes, the whole house and gardens were beautiful, and spic and span.

You will be very lucky to stay here. The landlords were lovely and quickly responsive. Reserve early to be sure you get this lovely place for your vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
5

Wonderful weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We rented Spring House for a girls weekend and could not have been happier with our stay at this perfect weekend retreat. Plenty of room and every amenity possible. Betsy was so helpful and easy to work with. Thanks for a great weekend. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Marin, CA
5

No regrets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Last month 5 couples gathered in celebration at Spring House and we had such an incredible time! Such a perfect location for everything we wanted to do. Mornings were spent walking along Butterfly Beach to East Beach. We had late morning brunches at Jeannine's (delish!). Strolled downtown Montecito to window shop and for pampering pedicures. Afternoons were enjoyed at the beach and the evenings were so beautiful there was no need to leave the house - although we did venture out to a few of our fave Santa Barbara spots. Almost everything we did was within walkable distance from the house which was by far one the greatest perks of the property! The property itself was well maintained, private, and plenty big for our group. Everyone fit comfortably and the open living space between the kitchen and dining room made it a perfect place to gather for dinner. Having never had a walk-in-closet, I could have moved into the master bedroom permanently (it's HUGE)! Saturday morning we made breakfast at home and sat on the patio in the beautiful Santa Barbara sunshine. The patio was well protected and the landscape very lush which made us feel like we had a little oasis all to ourselves. I would highly recommend Spring House! A good time will be had by all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Healdsburg, CA
5

A Special Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We returned to Spring House for another month this year. We really enjoy this beautiful house. The location is perfect for walking to Butterfly Beach and the Lower Village. We didn’t need to drive anywhere. Everything we needed was within walking distance.
The house is also perfect for entertaining. We had a few friends join us during our stay. The kitchen is well stocked and we cooked most of the time. The owner thought of everything and there wasn’t anything we needed.
The furnishings are very nice and the house is comfortable with plenty of room to find a quiet spot to relax – especially in the gardens.
This house has something for everyone and is a very special spot. We look forward to returning again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Castle Pines, Colorado
5

Family Christmas Gathering in Beautiful Home at Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Four generations of our family gathered for an early Christmas celebration in this gorgeous home in Montecito. This was our first ever VRBO experience, so we didn't really know what to expect. It was so easy to communicate and work with the owner of this home, and things went very smoothly. The owner responded quickly and graciously to all our emailed questions, and even arranged for a Christmas tree to be put up to welcome us!

This home and its surrounding gardens are truly beautiful, and the location can't be beat -- it's an easy walk to the Biltmore and beach, or to charming downtown Montecito. The home owner provided us with lots of information on local restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, activities, attractions, etc., as well as who to contact in case of problems. When we couldn't get the garage door to close, the gentleman we called responded very quickly and got it fixed.

Ten people stayed at the home, although my elderly parents (who live in Santa Barbara) joined us for meals and activities. This home could sleep 12 people if you don't need privacy, but it was just fine for 10 people. The 2 kitchens are very well appointed, and the main kitchen is fit for gourmets! It had so many wonderful gadgets, including something we'd never seen before, which we eventually figured out was an avocado slicer/scooper. In one swipe, it removes the avocado meat from the skin and slices it perfectly! It was very nice to have the "separate" unit (which actually can be accessed from the main house, as well as from outside) for the great grandchild and his parents, since he needed nap time and different sleeping hours.

The patio and outdoor areas are quite lovely, although the weather was cool and rainy enough that we didn't really get to enjoy them. I'd recommend checking the propane supply and backup tank for the grill as soon as you get there. If they're empty, call right away and the maintenance folks will get them filled for you. We did enjoy the hot tub very much. The sauna hookup is a bit tricky, and you really need to read the owner's instructions about where the plug is located and how to get it going.

The home's amenities are top-notch - gas fireplaces, nice large TV screens, DVD players with large DVD collection (lots of "classics"), lovely furnishings, top quality linens. The photos on the website do a pretty good job of showing the home, and descriptions are accurate.

I'd recommend this home, and we may use it again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Ocean and Shops from this Beautifully Maintained Beach Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p963746
+1 805 689-9182
Montecito Santa Barbara County
Newport Beach, CA
5

Thanksgiving and Birthday 2012

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Again, what a wonderful time we had at this beautiful home. This is the second time we have stayed here in 2012. We enjoyed our stay so much the first time, we had my wife's parents come down for Thanksgiving and my birthday. The house and amentities are always five star. The jacuzzi and sauna are also a wonderful treat. A short stroll to everything in Monitceto. Our two dogs loved it too. Thank you again and we will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1