Merida house rental - Private pool
Private pool
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Merida House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 4

Welcome to Villa Sarteneja . . .

Villa Sartenja is a beautiful two bedroom, two bathroom remodelled colonial home in el centro, located on the famous Calle 66. It is only three blocks to the main square, and steps to the local park. During the day, it is an easy walk to nearby markets, museums and restaurants. At night you enjoy an outdoor concert or salsa dancing ...

Villa Sarteneja’s bedrooms have high-beamed ceilings typical of old colonial houses, with both mini-split air conditioners and ceiling fans for your comfort. The kitchen and bathrooms have been renovated with modern fixtures and appliances. Villa Sarteneja features beautiful iron work, screens on every window and over the smaller courtyard. The second, larger courtyard has a deep lap swimming pool and is perfect for entertaining and enjoying Merida’s warm tropical breezes, year round.

8 Reviews of Property 962683 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
Jersey (Channel Islands)
5

Another Great Stay At Villa Sarteneja

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Not only did we say we were going to go back to Merida but we actually did! This was our second stay at Villa Sarteneja this year. Because we had such a great time in April, we decided to stay there again for another 2 weeks. For us, it was a no-brainer. Debra & John have always been helpful via email. We already knew the house, which is well located, with everything close by. You are just around the corner from the park/square of St Juan with its shops and markets and about 10 min walk from the Gran Plaza. The pool was definitely a plus with us as you need to cool down a few times a day, and this is a pool long enough to swim in. The pool man is a nice guy and we practiced some of our (little) Spanish with him. Agustin, as always, was on hand when we needed him. We ate all our breakfasts on the terrace and drank freshly made smoothies on the sunloungers. My husband and I highly recommend Villa Sarteneja for your stay in the beautiful city of Merida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
5

Great Place to Stay in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Everything went smooth from the day we booked the place. Everything looks just like in the pictures. Agustin, the manager, was there when we arrived. He explained to us everything about the house, restaurants and places to go. Every time we needed him he was there to respond promptly. Debra, the owner has renovated fully this beautiful Villa. We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Merida. Don't miss to eat at La Casa de Frida. The best chile en nogada we had in this world (no spicy).
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
Jersey (Channel Islands)
5

High standard of accommodation in a central locati

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Villa Sarteneja was perfect for our 2-week stay in Merida (the last 2 weeks of April). We were greeted by Agustin, the house manager, on our arrival by taxi, late in the evening. Fluent in English and extremely helpful, he explained everything to us about the house and the surroundings. Agustin was very responsive for any query and we were provided with a mobile phone. The house is just like on the photos: clean, tastefully decorated & furnished. The rooms are large and the ceilings high, and with the fans & air conditioning, we felt at ease in the heat, even at this time of year. The pool is just what you need after a few hours of visits and the patio is where we had our meals. It takes less than 10 min walk to reach the Gran Plaza with its shops and restaurants. Yes, you do have to be careful and not leave any food out because of ants, but it is a normal occurrence in the tropical climes. This was our second visit to Merida, so we already knew about these little critters.
All in all, such a great place that we shall try to stay there on our next visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
Indianapolis
5

Perfect Base for Exploring Historic Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Agustin, the property manager, was waiting for us after our late night arrival from Houston. He explained the features of the home, gave us a cell phone to get ahold of him and left information about restaurants, sites and a small map. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The traffic noise begins around 7:00am but we were up by then. The pool was in full sun from noon till 4:00pm, perfect after spending the morning site-seeing and having lunch. The courtyard is entirely enclosed but still caught the breezes. The social club behind on the next block was practicing one day and we were serenaded to the music of John Phillip Sousa coming over the walls! We felt safe even late at night walking back from the restaurants. The Grand Plaza is within easy walking distance, the restaurants on Calle 59 are 4 blocks away. Park San Juan with one of the original gates to the city is around the corner. The Merida English Library is 7 blocks away. Paseo Montejo is a long walk away but if you are walkers, no problem. Taxis are plentiful and inexpensive, the most we paid was 50 pesos (late at night), most rides were 20 to 30 pesos ($2 to $3 US). We usually walked in the morning, staying on the shady side of the streets and took a taxi back during the heat of the day. We had only one issue with the hot water being clogged due to the lime scale in the area's water and Agustin had a plumber there immediately after we contacted him. Like Florida or any other tropical area, you have to be careful of food storage as ants are in abundance. Overall, the property is a good value and a good place for 1st timers to Merida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
Chicago, IL, USA
5

Great Villa... Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed at Villa Sarteneja for over a week, and enjoyed our stay very much. The location is as advertised... right in the middle of downtown, only 3-4 blocks from the main square, the market, and other sites. A great location. The villa is very well equipped and very comfortable. Perfect for 2-4 people. And the pool/patio area is wonderful - we spent most of our time in the patio relaxing and eating.

Finally, the villa manager is excellent. He speaks perfect English, and is very helpful. We look forward to staying again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
Longview, Washington, USA
5

Merida Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Villa Sarteneja was a perfect location for exploring both Merida and around other places in the Yucatan. The location in town was very close to all of our needs and being in the Centro it was easy for van pick-ups for other travel to the coast and the Mayan historical sights. We were very comfortable in the house right upon arrival. The local house manager also did a great orientation and answered the questions that we had to help us get going on our vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
5

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Thanks so much once again Deb for the wonderful time my son and I spent in your home there in Merida. Truly now feels like home away from home! We miss it already. You provided everything needed for a great stay, and the pool...WOW , so nice to wake up to the sunshine and enjoy the outdoor beauty. The location was very good as we loved to be able to walk out our door and within minutes be in the heart of Town, so much to see and do. Very importantly we felt very safe in our home away from home. Thanks to the caretaker Agustin, who greets you and is there anytime you need him. We would highly recommend a stay in Villa Sarteneja! We will be back,thanks again.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Villa Sarteneja - Beautiful Restored Colonial Home in Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962683
Merida Yucatan
Winnipeg, MB Canada
5

Perfect Stay in Casa Sarteneja

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My wife and I spent 2 weeks in Merida staying in the Casa Sarteneja. It was perfect the house is lovely and well appointed; actually the pictures don't do it justice. The house is very well located and we were able to visit all of the wonders of Merida with just a short walk. The main square is close by as is the Bus Terminal to Progreso (a 60 cent bus) if you want to leave the city and spend the day at the beach.
We would highly recommend staying in the Casa Sarteneja if you are planning a visit to Merida.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/16