Addison house rental - The Main House and partial view
The Main House and partial view
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Addison House Rental Photos and Description
Main House: 3 br, 2.5 baths, sleeps 6: Apts.1&2, (1 br, 1 ba, sleep 3 each)

Looking for peace, quiet and privacy?... consider staying at West Wind on Cape Split, a hidden jewel on the Maine Coast. The main house is a charming 3 bdrm 2 1/2 bath seaside post and beam cottage with fireplace. Also available are 2 fully equipped guest apartments in an adjacent building, each containing LR, BRm, bath, kitchen and its own deck. The lower apt. also has a washer and dryer. Rent just the main house or add 1 or both apts. This arrangement offers an ideal opportunity for a joint, but private, family or group vacation. The main house and both apts. have gorgeous sunset views over the ocean to the islands of Downeast Maine and the mountains of Acadia and Blacks Woods. Guests will enjoy the quiet of the forest, spectacular sunsets, abundant wildlife, and lobster boats from their private oceanside deck where they will also experience the refreshing summer temperatures, the sound of the ocean, and the wonderful aroma of the fir forest.

Apartments are available only in conjunction with the rental of the main house. They will not be rented independently.

The property also boasts beautiful gardens, plentiful parking, and a lovely pond with waterfall. Bring your boat along as a mooring is available for a separate fee. Sea Kayaking is also a popular local activity.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 962677 in Addison, Maine

Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
5

Awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were looking for the quiet and peaceful place and we found one. The house, the front and back yard were gorgeous and even much more attractive than pictures. Walking and biking around the sound Addison were enjoyable, safe and without trafic and now we are now in such athletic shapes. The cream of the crop of our vacation was going to the lobsterman village and buying lobsters. I brought a lobster pot, as Diane suggested, and it was my the most fashion shopping bag ever. I loved our evenings with dinner we cooked and we had all appliances and staff we needed for it. The most favorite part was my relaxation time near the fireplace in the evening with a book or a great movie. Thank you Jill and Diane for such a great vacation.
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
Ohio
5

Charming House with Amazing View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent two weeks at the house and had an amazing time. We highly recommend it. The view from the house is spectacular. Jill & Dee were extremely helpful and very patient with all of our pre-trip questions. The house is kept very clean and has everything you need for a relaxing & fun stay. The photos in the ad are very accurate & do not do the view justice. Our favorite activies included: getting fresh lobster daily from Bob "the lobster guy", exploring Acadia Park, watching the waves on the schoodic peninsula, Campobello Island (be sure to tour the light house and watch the tide go in & out, and taking a Puffin Cruise. There are no drawbacks to this house or location but a few things I would be aware of: 1) There are not many great restaurants around South Addison so be prepared to cook most of your meals. We wanted to grill & cook lobster so that was not an issue for us. The kitchen at the house is well equipt to cook any meal. 2) Bring your bug spray - it is heavily wooded around the house so the mosquitos come out in force at dusk. This would be no different at any other property in the area. 3) The wifi internet at the house is satellite based so it has a very slow speed and very limited amount of upload/download capacity before it shuts off. It is ok for light web browsing or reading the New York Times online every day. It is not robust enough for someone to keep up with their work email or stream any video while at the house. Overall we had a spectacular time and hope to go back again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
Underhill, Vt.
5

Paradise in Down East Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our 5th time visiting So. Addison Maine, and our 2nd time visiting Cape Split. We loved this property. The owners are great, and one of them greeted us upon arrival, which was very helpful. The home is well maintained, the water views are breath taking! One word for this home Paradise! Our dogs had a fenced in yard, the view from the bedroom upstairs was beautiful. It was private, really a slice of heaven!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
Turner, Maine
5

Privacy Plus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property was better than shown in the pictures. The smell of the firs blended with the ocean was wonderful. Our party used all three spaces and found them clean and comfortable. This is definitely a home away from home so we made ourselves at home. We found everything we could possibly need including some extras which were very nice. We attended the Machias Blueberry Festival which was fun. We visited the amazing Jasper Beach which is one of two lapidaries in the world. There was an island tour with a lobsterman which educated us all about that occupation. We spent most of the time relaxing on the decks or looking for seaglass on the various nearby beaches. I am an artist and though I usually do not paint landscapes, the view was so incredible I've brought it home with me in a painting that I worked on the entire week. We did not bring our dog, but he would have been safe in the yard. It was so easy to cook rather than eat out, we only had a couple of lunches. If you're willing to drive a a bit, you can be the first in the US to see the sunrise. The weather was perfect during our stay. We finished a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle and never bothered to turn on the TV. The only problem, or blessing, depends on how you view it, was the WIFI worked just fine but the internet was difficult to access after 8 and the morning on weekdays. Then there was the lobster, fresh from the boat at a neighbors. It's one of the easiest meals to prepare so we had that several nights, bought extra for lobster rolls for lunch the next day, came up with a delicious recipe without mayo. I would recommend it for an extended family get together or a group of couples. If privacy, nature, ocean and relaxation on your vacation is your goal, this is the perfect place. Jill and Dee were quick to answer any questions.

Our group traveled from western New York, Vermont and Maine. It was worth the drive. I would love to return every year if I could.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
Vienna, VA
5

Wonderful Spot in Down East

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time staying at this lovely and comfortable home in late July. It is located on spectacular Cape Split in S. Addison, Maine. This is a very comfortable home, beuatifully landscaped and located with excellent wide views of the open sea, complemented with lovely gardens. We found everything we needed in the house, and would highly recommend this as a vacation spot to other couples as well as to larger families, as the space available includes two additional apartments which could easily accomodate an extended family reunion. The owners are delightful and very helpful and the property is very clean, beautifully maintained and relaxing. We would, and already have, highly recommended this site for those looking to explore Washington County and Down East, and enjoy kayaking, lovely walks and a chance to learn directly about the character of real 'down east'. We had one of the best vacations of our lives, and hope to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
5

GORGEOUS PROPERTY: 5 stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The property is perfect, accurate listing with reagrds to location, layout, and amenities. The owner are 2 wonderful ladies, very accomodating, friendly, and knowledgeable. The house is meticulously clean, well maintained, and charming.
Jill and Diane took care of all our needs and even helped us register for a sailing class in Southwest Harbor. We found a lobster place in Sullivan township that sold lobster to us at $3.80/lb (cooked). We ate lobster every single day. The trip to Acadia National Park was spectacular. We also visited Campobello Island and a nearby winery town. I definitely would recommend this property to frineds and relatives. I would like to go back to the cottage if given another chance in the near future. We liked everything about this vacation. This classic coastal Maine scenery is beyond words. It is like heaven on earth.
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
Portland, ME
5

Superb family get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I would definitely recommend this property. It was also accurately described on line, well-maintained, and the owner was not only responsive to questions, but very kind and welcoming (meeting us in person at our arrival and departure)!

We stayed there with our well-behaved dog and toddler with another family we are friends with. We enjoyed the fenced in porch and the open main floor. We ate both inside in the kitchen and out on the deck. The adults stayed on the deck longer, enjoying the view after the kids went to sleep! Morning and evening trips were made down to the rocky shore to look at the water, investigate where the tide was, and take a big deep breath. We all live in Maine now, but it is still wonderful to get away to a secluded lovely location such as this Cape Split home.

Activities we enjoyed were going to the beach a mile up the road, going for jogs (with and without strollers) on the peninsula, voyaging further down east to Roque Bluffs State Park, stopping at "Wild Blueberry Land" on the way back, driving to Winter Harbor and taking the ferry over to Bar Harbor, and calling the local lobsterman who lives a few houses over to put in our order for that night, which we enjoyed using the big lobster pot at the house and with plenty of butter, yum!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous Seaside Cottage - Perfect Romantic Getaway or Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p962677
+ 912-8821829
Addison Downeast and Acadia
Ocean Township, New Jersey
5

Family of five had wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our Cape Split experience at "West Wind" was everything we were looking for in a vacation package from the first tentative emails and phone calls, to the time we sadly handed back the key to the owners to make our way home. The description of the house does not do this property full justice. It is a perfect house for a family to gather and yet be able to find secluded spots for quiet reading, lobster boat viewing, sunbathing, sunset watching,and even seal spotting from the waterfront rocks. Our one week was not enough time to really relax into all the house and development offered--forest walk, sheltered beach and marina a short walk away, kayak launch spots nearby, enjoying the beautiful pond and gorgeously designed garden--and still have time for a Bay Harbor whale watch, Millbridge puffin cruise, and an excursion to Cutler, Machias, and East Machias one day, and an excursion to Jonesport and Beals on another afternoon. The house is secluded for perfect peace--no noisy neighbors. We were glad we had shopped before arriving, but we since learned there is a supermarket in Addison as you turn off route 1 to go to the peninsula, about twenty minutes away. There is very little commercialism in the area, so don't think about cute harbor streets catering to tourists. Instead, look out for treats at Bohemian Mama's bakery in Addison, great lobster rolls at the Riverside Cafe--a roadside venue on the way to Machias, and another great bakery across the road from that at Jordan's garden center. The walking trails we had hoped to take on Great Wass Island and at Cutler were too demanding for our family group, but were tantalizing nonetheless for serious hikers and promised fantastic scenery. Fantastic scenery is available right at the house with every window providing a wonderful view. The kitchen is well supplied with useful utensils, and pantry space is more than adequate. My favorite spot inside was the window seat affording a view of the bay and the rocky cove below the house where you could see the tidal movements. The house has a wonderful lived in feeling that you just slot into. There is nothing impersonal about this space and one can tell that this house and the two other units on the property--we did not see inside those--have been lovingly maintained over time. We had perfect weather for our week's stay, but you would not need perfect weather to make your stay here memorable. Thank you to the owners for sharing a piece of paradise with perfect strangers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1