Saint Georges du Vievre cottage rental - The Cottage
The Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Saint Georges du Vievre Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Quiet self-catering gite for a romantic couple

Our half-timbered, self-catering cottage, which we use regularly ourselves, is set on a gentle incline in its own half-acre field, bordered by our 2 acre forest. It's perfect for walks and cycling straight from the door. People who've stayed here say it's like a Hansel and Gretel cottage. It's at the end of a track, surrounded by valleys, trees and meadows as far as the eye can see - yet less than an hour from Rouen, Honfleur and the sea. Pont-Audemer, the 'Venice of the North', with its canals and medieval buildings, is just 10 miles away. And it's only 2 kilometres from the historic village of St-Georges-du-Vievre, which has shops, post office bank and bars. The cottage is small and simply furnished, with all the basic essentials. The living room has a beamed ceiling and wood-burner. The shower-room/WC is on the ground floor. And up steep stairs, into the roof space, with beams and 2 windows, is the double bed . Outside is a patio with furniture and a forest view to die for. Sit here with a glass of wine and listen to the birds. Bliss.

20 Reviews of Property 96237 in Saint Georges du Vievre, France

Romantic country cottage gite for two
average rating of 4.8 based on 20 reviews
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
4

Beautiful location with wonderful views.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The gite is in a beautiful location with lovely views. We occasionally heard a car in the distance but most of the noise came from the owl and the woodpecker and the horses in the adjoining field. For anyone looking for a peaceful location, which is not overlooked and which has plenty of walking and cycling within easy access, who doesn't want to be surrounded by English speaking voices whilst in France, and who is happy with no TV, internet connection or mobile 'phone signal this is probably the place to be. Nor did we hear a single English voice until we went to Honfleur; we really felt we were in France. The only downside was the size of the gite, which my husband found small and claustrophobic when rain kept us indoors. The wood burning stove however gave out plenty of heat and soon dried us out. There were plenty of places to explore and a lot of very useful information was provided. We had planned on a trip to Rouen as there is so much to see and kept talking about it but in the end we just couldn't drag ourselves away from the peace and quiet of St. Benoit des Ombres. A very peaceful and lovely location for anyone wanting to escape the world for a week or two.






fil
Owner's Response: The cottage is certainly a bit of real rural France, where it is rare to hear an English voice. If you want to get away from it all, including modern communications like TV and the internet - not to mention urban noise - then I believe The Old Bakehouse may provide what you are looking for. Fil did mention to me the compactness of the cottage (a large part of its 'cute' factor, I feel) and I promised that I would stress this. So here goes: it's around 20 feet long and 10 feet wide, of which the living room is about 10 feet by 9 feet, with a ceiling height is a couple of inches short of 7 feet. There's room, though, for two armchairs and a dining table and chairs, plus of course the cosy woodburner. Fil was rather unlucky in that the stunning summer weather broke shortly before they arrived in Normandy and so they spent more time indoors than perhaps they had planned. But it's great to know that they cancelled a planned trip to Rouen (which is lovely and well worth visiting, by the way) because they just couldn't drag themselves away from the peace and quiet around the cottage!
Jennifer
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
4

Charming Normandy cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We were delighted with this cottage as soon as we pulled into the driveway; it exceeded our expectations! It's a gem for anyone who wants a bit of leafy green seclusion since it is tucked away between pasture and forest, but it is only a couple of miles from the nearest village and a wonderful base for exploring upper Normandy.

The cottage has been tastefully renovated and although small, it's quite comfortable. We were lucky with the weather so we spent a lot of time eating meals outside on the patio. It was perfect for our dogs since the cottage is surrounded by an extensive open lawn and there are lovely walking paths all around the area. We would definitely consider a return visit!
Owner's Response: To exceed expectations is what every holiday-home owner aspires to, I'm sure. Though it does make me wonder whether I haven't extolled the virtues of the place quite enough to begin with :) Though I'm totally prejudiced, of course, I have to admit that I still experience that same thrill myself every time I visit the cottage - as I reach the end of the tarmac lane, where it becomes just a path, and there in the meadow, on its own, is the little cottage - and that's after more than 20 years. It's great to know that these travellers may pay a return visit. They are most welcome.
Jennifer Murray
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
5

location, location, location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
what a location if you want to get away from daily life this is the place to come absolutely idilic, no phone, no tv, no internet, this cottage is perfect has all the things you need to have a fantastic break. To get there from Calais is easy only 4hours infact we got back in 3hours.The surrounding area is beautiful, farm land, great little villages and great beaches if you drive a bit further, we come to France four or five times a year and will certainly come back to this area to explore further a great base. This cottage is great use it as a base , or use it as a very romantic break the choice is yours but whatever you will love it. Do the jigsaw, read, drink wine, eat cheese and relax, but remember as soon as you enter the real world again keep your phone switched off because as soon as that phone gets a signal all those people trying to get hold of you they do. I hope you enjoy we did
Owner's Response: It's always great to know that our guests at the cottage have enjoyed their stay. Considering how much France as a whole has to offer, it gives me a warm glow to know that our own pretty little patch in Normandy - truly peaceful and secluded, yet near enough for a quick fix to Honfleur, Rouen, the Seine or the seaside - has afforded these true Francophiles such a pleasant break. Anyone who really needs the internet (and this includes the owners...) can use the facilities at the Tourist Information Centre in the village a couple of miles away, where the staff are really pleasant. While the ferry port at Dover is between 3 and 4 hours' drive away, you can also get here via Newhaven-Dieppe (L D Lines) and via Portsmouth-LeHavre (P & O). Dieppe is less than two hours from the cottage by car, with a 4 hour ferry crossing, and Le Havre less then one hour's drive, with a 6 hour crossing or overnight. Jennifer Murray
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
Lewes
5

characterful cottage beautifully set

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This a wonderful, tranquil, and beautifully set gite in rolling countryside. It is ideal for a couple (with dog) who want to combine local walks with some sightseeing wider afield. The gite is well equipped for two and the woodburner was a welcome addition on cooler evenings and much more pleasant than the electric heating. The gite's position means that it catches the sun for most of the day and so even in early May it was possible to sit out and have an early evening drink. Fantastic walks right from the doorstep. Kitchen, bathroom, etc are relatively new and the lighting is excellent (reading was a great joy and the bliss of being away from wifi or a regular mobile phone signal enhanced the whole experience for us). It is fantastic for a dog who can run feely in the large grass enclosure around the cottage and the setting means that as long as a dog doesn't bother farm animals, its owners can just relax and not worry about traffic.
Brionne and Pont Audemer are the nearest market towns and have some good food shops as well as supermarkets; but wandering over to St Georges - a 30 min walk or 5 mins in the car - provides the necessities. Bernay about 30 minutes drive has some wonderful surviving buildings being one of the few sizable Norman towns to escape bombing. But Pont L'Eveque and Trouville are also much recommended. Honfleur alas has gone the way of St Ives and become very touristy.
All pluses for us then. The one point I would draw attention to is that the bedroom is reached by climbing stairs that are closer to a ladder than stairs. This didn't bother us, but anyone who is unsteady on their feet or not fully mobile would likely have problems. The bedroom is charming and well worth the effort though and the dawn chorus of birds and the sound of cuckoos brought back memories of southern English springtimes before we became all built over. Jennifer the owner was extremely helpful in all correspondence and the cottage was nicely prepared and ready for us on arrival.
Tom Healy
Owner's Response: Fantastic to know that guests who stay at our cottage really know how to make the most of all that the place and area has to offer. This is their second visit and I gather than their dog has a good time too! It does seem to suit those who like the peace of the countryside combined with a bit of what a typical Normandy town has to offer - unspoilt buildings, markets and something a little different from our own country. I do heartily recommend Honfleur, though, when the sound of birdsong starts to send you a little stir-crazy.... Jennifer
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
4

SECLUDED HIDEAWAY

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The position of the cottage is such that it can be both a secluded hideaway or the centre for touring . Within one hours drive one can find any aspect of a French holiday, castles, chateax,the meandering Siene or the bustling seaside of the coast. Honfleur (50mins) , Cabourg or upmarket Deauville all worth at least a days visit. Or just stay home and relaxe seeing only the few walkers and cyclists that pass on the lane. The network of tracks found in Normandy (bocage) makes walking and cycling a pleasure, several walks can be started from the cottage, there is a good map showing these lanes in the enormous selection of guides,maps etc found in a draw. Favourite walk was to the village of St Georges du Vievre, fresh bread, small shop, bar/tabac and friendly people. Sadly the restraunt has closed.
The discription and information given by the owner was pretty good. We found it first time using satnav, may be dificult to find without although a good map was emailed with other information. Comfy bed!
Very dog freindly, good vet in Brionne, speaks English.
Will be back next year!

Cliff and Sharon Blaydes
South Yorkshire
Owner's Response: Cliff and Sharon obviously made good use of what this pretty area of Normandy has to offer. There's nothing better than to know that you can easily reach the more touristy areas like Honfleur, Deauville and Rouen, and then come back to the peace and quiet of the countryside. One of the main reasons we bought the cottage is that it is really off the beaten track in a truly unspoilt wooded and gently undulating part of Normandy, and yet so close to everything that you'd want as a tourist. Some of our guests have taken the train to Paris, and it's easy enough to drive to Monet's garden at Giverney as well. Having just come back from a holiday in St Peterburg ourselves, where the bed was agony, I'm really glad to hear that Cliff and Sharon found our Normandy bed comfortable. Sound like the dogs enjoyed their stay, too.
Jennifer
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
5

Holiday cottage 96237

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
" We could not have chosen a better place to spend two weeks in France than this tiny cottage completely off the beaten track in the heart of rural Normandy. Everything about it was perfect - it was clean and comfortable, very quirky and well maintained. We tried not to go upstairs too much as they were so steep, but neither of us had any accidents with the low ceilings and exposed beams. Our two dogs loved the freedom of the field which was our garden and we kept finding beautiful local walks with absolutely stunning scenery at every turn. On the really hot days, of which we were lucky enough to have many, we discovered some beautiful lakes to picnic by, one at Pont Audemer and the other at a "base de loisirs" at Brionne which were great for the dogs to cool down in. The local village was 2.5 km away and we could easily pass the morning by walking there, buying our bagettes and stopping for a coffee in the square before strolling back. We visited loads of places and would definitely recommend Honfleur and Deauville on the coast as well as all the local chateaux, abbeys and ruins. If you can stretch to it a meal at Chez Joel at Lieurey is worth a try for French haute cuisine - my husband's 5 course meal was a gourmet delight. My mushroom omelette (vegetarian) was nice too! Also at Lieurey was a good vet - important for anyone with dogs before the return to the UK.
Would thoroughly recommend for anyone who is in need of unwinding and especially if you have dogs. You will have a great time."
Owner's Response: I'm really glad that Sarah and her doggies had such a great time. The area is good for dogs it is off the beaten track and not not any main roads, and the cottage has its own meadow and two acre forest. Just like her dogs, Sarah certainly seems to have made the most of what this pretty little patch of Normandy has to offer. It's ages since we went to Chez Joel, and she's reminded me that we should go again soon. The square at St Georges du Vievre she writes about has all the amenities you need: post office, baker, butcher, bar, cafe, green grocer, grocer and information centre with free wi-fi facilities. I now know to direct future dog-owners to the vet in Lieury, should they need one. So thanks, Sarah!
Jennifer
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
5

October 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
A Hansel and Gretel cottage.......without the scary bits!.
• Petite and cosy
• Comfortable…….gorgeous Godin wood burner
• Pretty…..we loved the ‘colombarge’ style
• Tranquil…….owls and stars!
• Ideal base to walk, cycle and explore
• Rural but not remote
We were lucky……..the weather was beautiful………cold at night and sunny by day. Played ‘rough terrain’ Petanque in the paddock, sat outside for hours, completed the resident 500 piece (complete!) jigsaw (first for nearly half a century!) and generally ‘mooched’. Having left our 4 legged friends behind, it was lovely to have 2 horses next door to eat any ‘left-over’ French bread from St. Georges du Vivre boulangerie……yummy!
Highly recommended!
Owner's Response: I was really pleased when sue W and her husband told me they were familiar with woodburners. The end of October, when they visited, is the time when the weather can change. However, I needn't have worried, as Normandy seemed to experience an Indian summer this year. The Godin woodburner makes a lovely feature in the living room - blue enamelled and in the original, old-fashioned French design, which suits the cottage style of the place. I suspect ever-hungry Sultan and Monica, the two horses next-door, made the most of Sue's visit, just as Sue and her husband clearly did themselves.
Jennifer Murray
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
5

The perfect setting for a relaxing holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
After a busy week's holiday with our sons in the Haute Vienne we were looking for a place where we could relax and unwind, just the two of us and this is exactly what we found.

The location of the cottage is idyllic - peaceful, private and surrounded by wildlife. We heard and even saw the woodpecker, ate wild mushrooms from the meadow in front of the cottage and brought home a bag full of hazlenuts from the trees near the cottage and in St Benoit.

We spent the days walking and cycling in the surrounding area. The walking is easy, cycling on the other hand can be a challenge for middle-aged knees as some parts are quite hilly, but well worth the effort as the countryside and local villages are beautiful. We spent a couple of days in Honfleur, returning as due to the huge number of restaurants, the prices were very competitive and the seafood absolutely yummy!

The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed apart from a TV and Sky Sports (husband - ignore him!) and a barbecue (me) but disposible ones we bought in the local supermarket solved the problem.

We would thoroughly recommend the cottage for a peaceful and relaxing holiday for two.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Louise and her husband seem to have got the balance of sitting back & relaxing - and energetically getting on their bikes - just about right. Honfleur is also a good contrast to the peace of the countryside which surrounds the cottage on all sides. As for wild mushroom picking: that's better left to the experts only....
Jennifer
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
Near Poole in Dorset
5

Secluded Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A delightful tiny cottage in the most tranquil of settings. During our week we visited most of the nearby villages and towns, and a few farther afield. But we always enjoyed returning to base and cozying up in the cottage. It's ideal for two - and only two! Perfect for a peaceful get-away. We had exceptional weather (37 degrees on 27th June), which always helps, and spent one whole day just sitting in the middle of the meadow reading, only popping into the cottage to top up on Normandy cider, cheese and fine pate. Simple pleasures that are an antidote to modern business life.

Pont Audemer has everything you could want. But St Georges just up the road has everything you need - and it's only a gentle stroll away. Marvellous!

We will visit again. Perhaps with bikes next time, as there's so much to explore.

Steve & Lynsey
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Steve and Lynsey seem to have got the right idea about the cottage. It really is a get-away-from-it-all sort of place, with no near neighbours. Somewhere to unwind and enjoy the simple pleasures of life. And if you crave a bit of excitement, you can very easily get to Rouen and Honfleur, or the seaside. Others staying at the cottage have visited Monet's garden at Giverney and the Normandy beaches - and even Paris, by train.
Jennifer
business
Romantic country cottage gite for two
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p96237
+44 (0) 1273 888033
Saint Georges du Vievre Eure
Northamptonshire
5

The words rustic and rural now have a new meaning

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I am not sure what we expected but we both gasped when we turned the corner at the top of the track into the field with the cottage in the corner. Absolutely perfect for two (60+) as a romantic break from it all.
The local walks are lovely and we cycled most days. The resaurant 'Madame Dupont' has to be experienced. (We cycled there although the hill for the return journey was a little challanging). You pay a set amount (25 euros) and there is no choice. However there are 5 courses and as much as you want to drink included in the price. It will be one of those meals we shall never forget.
The cottage has everything you need for a country style break. We knocked our heads on the beams a few times but that all added to the experience!
As a 'get away from it all' break it would be hard to better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It seemed that our little cottage in Normandy fulfilled, and perhaps even exceeded, Sue and Peter's expectation. That's the way it should be. I do try and present the cottage as it really is, as there's nothing worse than being disappointed upon arrival. They are obviously an intrepid couple going to Mme Dupont's (Durand's). It is quite an experience and, significantly, hers is one of the few restaurants that has been continuously trading ever since we bought the cottage twenty years ago. For a peaceful country 'getaway from it all' break, I agree that the cottage fits the bill. That's exactly why we go regularly ourselves.
Jennifer
Helpful votes: 1/1