Poultney farmhouse rental - Looking across the front of the house to the pool
Looking across the front of the house to the pool
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Poultney Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 10)

Welcome to Fair Haven Farmhouse, our spacious, tastefully furnished 2100 sq. ft Vermont home. Within its private 100-acre surroundings, this 1850's farmhouse sits on a jut of land just above the Poultney River and looks out onto 50 acres of farmed, organic clover fields and the Green Mountains. Soak in the hot tub, cool off in the private, in-ground pool or just take in the lush mountain views from one of the rocking deck chairs . For the more adventurous, set off for the the river, our rustic riverside deck and a 4-person paddle boat.

Other seasonal, out-door features:

*Children's Playhouse

*Swing set

*Bicycling

*Fishing on the Poultney River (over 1 mile of frontage)

*Land use for snowmobiling and cross-country skiing

This is a well-loved home ideal for families with children, Girl's weekends or couples looking for a relaxing, undisturbed getaway.

From the poolside mahogany deck we built several summers ago to the refinished 16' wide wood-plank floors, this house reflects our love for the outdoors and our passion for preserving its interiors. This is our oasis; our escape. Let it be yours. Spend your mornings on the river, your afternoons by the pool and your evenings on the deck. Indulge in a weekend of hard-to-come-by family time or take a few restive days for a quiet leaf-peeping retreat.

The house is 2-stories. On the 1st floor is a kitchen with an attached mudroom, a generous Dining Room with seating for 8 off of which is an outdoor deck with outdoor seating. There is also a large Living Room/Office with old barn post-and-beam framing, a slate front porch with porch swing, a downstairs Master Bedroom (Queen bed) and a full size bath.

Kitchen features:

*Stainless steel appliances

*granite tile counters

*slate floors

*coffee-maker, waffle-maker, toaster oven

Living Room/Office:

*Flat screen TV with built-in DVD/VCR player (satellite TV)

*DVD library (children and adult movies)

*Board games and cards

*Wi-Fi

*Epson Printer/scanner

The Deck:

*6 Person Hot tub

*Gas Grill

*Outdoor table w/4 rocking chairs and 9’ sun umbrella

The 2nd floor opens onto a hallway off of which are 3 additional bedrooms (2 queens and a full) an additional room with 2 twin beds (no closet) and a ½ bath. There are ceiling fans throughout the house and all bedrooms have access to AC units in the summer.

Local Attractions and Nearby Amenities:

From the Property:

Summer Activities

*Bike riding (2 older, adult bikes available, one with child seat.)

*Paddle boating on the river (4-person paddle boat available)

*Swimming

*Fishing (2 poles provided)

Winter Activities (use of land, but no winter equipment available with the house)

*Snow-mobiling

*Cross-country skiing

*6-person Hot Tub

*Wildlife watching in the adjacent fields (binoculars provided): Deer, Turkeys, Birds

Off Property:

Bomoseen-10 miles (5-7 minute drive)

*Boat rentals with waterskiing (Woodard Marine)

*Lakeside Dining (Lakehouse Bar and Grill)

*Crystal Beach (great for kids) and Avalon Beach

*Golfing (Prospect Bay Country Club)

*Hubbardton Battlefield and Museum (May to mid-Oct)

*Horseback Riding and Rodeo (Pond Hill Ranch and Pro Rodeo)

Rutland- 15 miles (20 minute drive)

*Cross Country and Downhill Skiing (Killington)

*Live Entertainment, Performing Arts (Paramount Theater)

*Movie Theater (Flagship Premium Cinemas)

*Day Spa (Five Elements Day Spa)

*Rock climbing (Green Mountain Rock Climbing)

*Antiquing (Prozzo Auctions. Check Thursday’s Rutland Herald for weekend listings)

*Mountain biking and hiking (Killington lift-served mountain biking and hiking via the K-1 Gondola on 50+ miles of trails.)

*Shopping (Diamond Run Mall and Downtown plaza)

Manchester Center - 35 miles (45 minute drive)

*Designer Outlets: BCBG, Brooks Bros., Coach, Escada, Armani, Michael Kors

Lake George/Glens Falls -35 miles (40 minute drive)

*Theme Park (The Great Escape)

*Rafting, Tubing, Kayaking, Boating

*Hot Air balloons

*Outlet shopping: Eddie Bauer, Gap, J.Crew, Nine West, Corning, Polo, DKNY

*Museums (Fort Ticonderoga, The Hyde Collection)

*Symphony (Glens Falls Symphony Orchestra)

Distance to airports:

20 min. to Rutland

1hr to Burlington

1 hr 15min to Albany

3 hours to Boston

4 hours to NYC

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 961569 in Poultney, Vermont

Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Had a great week at an awesome place. Beautiful home with a wonderful piece of property with great scenery. Had fun in the pool and on the river in the paddle boat. Took day trips to Saratoga and Six Flags. Lots of bike rides with lots of wildlife. 5y grandson found the biggest snake we have ever seen in the wild. Glad he did not touch it! Highly recommend this rental!
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A wonderful farmhouse on beautiful property. In ground pool and a river with a paddle boat. Home was welcoming and comfortable and had all the accommodations needed. Highly recommend this property
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Linda, for your generous review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the farmhouse and hope to see you return.
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
5

Beautiful spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The farmhouse was exactly as described! The weather was perfect, thank you for ordering that for us Bryan. The lilacs were in full bloom and incredibly fragrant. The beds were comfortable and the entire property was clean and well maintained. Thank you for a memorable girls weekend. We'll be back!
Owner's Response: Fran,

We are so very glad and your friends had a great weekend. The lilacs are one of my favorite things about the house. Courtney will take cuttings inside the house and the smell is amazing. We welcome you back anytime
Bryan
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
United States
5

great place to stay for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a lovely place with great views and amenities, as described. Owned by a family as their country place, it features a pool and hot tub, is a simple, comfortable, aptly appointed home, historical and updated. Beautiful grounds and convenient to Fair Haven and Poultney. It was clean, offered convenient kitchen amenities and a grill on the deck. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This place was fantastic! It has plenty of room, gorgeous views, and is very quiet and peaceful. This is a perfect spot for families and/or couples to get away for a vacation. I would recommend staying here during any season of the year. I'll definitely be going back!
Owner's Response: Eric- Thank you so much for the glowing review. We look forward to having you back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
5

Fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This home was a perfect spot for me and a couple of fellow grad students during our fall residency. Very convenient to Green Mountain College and lots of activities. Everything on the property is so well-kept and beautiful, and the hot tub was a great way to relax after having such a full schedule during our stay. Although we didn't take advantage of the huge kitchen because of all the time spent on campus, it'd be a perfect place for families to host dinners at home. Great experience working with the homeowner as well!
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and saying such nice things about the house. We are always glad to hear that the hot tub is doing its job of relaxing after a long day. Congratulations on your graduation. We hope you'll stay with us again should you want to visit Green Mtn campus in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
Boston
5

The most relaxing vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband, parents, dog and two teenage girls had the time of our lives! The house had plenty of room and everything we needed was available to us. I could not keep the girls out of the paddleboat. They went
exploring on the river for hours. We went sight seeing during the day and relaxed in the pool and hot tub in the evening. The caretakers of the house were very helpful and accomodated all of our needs. We truly appreciate the opportunity to stay in your home. We could not have been happier and would love to stay with you again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Kelly- Thank you for the positive review. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy most, if not all, that the house has to offer. Did your girls ever make it down to the small rapids in the paddle-boat? It sounds as though you spent your days much the way we do when we're there. We hope you will return to stay with us again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
1

DIRTY, DIRTY, DIRTY

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
LOVELY OLD HOME WITH LOTS OF CHARM IN DIRE NEED OF LOVING CARE. COBWEBS, DUST AND DEAD BUGS EVERYWHERE, MICE TO ENTERTAIN IN THE EVENINGS AND PLENTY OF DEAD WILDLIFE TO FISH OUT OF THE BEAUTIFUL POOL. HAD TO CLEAN THE FIRST NIGHT THERE IN ORDER TO SLEEP, AIR CONDITIONER FILTERS HAD TO BE CLEANED AS WELL. THEY ASK THAT YOU REMOVE SHOES AND WE HONORED THAT REQUEST BUT WE NEEDED SOMETHING ON OUR FEET TO KEEP THEM FROM STICKING TO THE KITCHEN FLOOR! ITS REALLY A SHAME BECAUSE IF IT WERE CLEANER IT WOULD BE A WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY WITH FRIENDS OR FAMILY. THERE WERE 7 OF US AND WE HAD PLENTY OF ROOM, LOW WATER PRESSURE MADE TAKING A SHOWER IN THE ONLY FULL BATH A CHALLENGE. WE HAD TO VACATE THE UPSTAIRS BEDROOM BECAUSE OF A HORNETS NEST IN THE AIR CONDITIONER BUT THAT CAN HAPPEN IN AN OLDER COUNTRY HOME. ITS A JOKE THAT WE HAD TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL CLEANING FEE FOR OUR PETS, I HAD TO PAY MYSELF TO CLEAN, I THINK THAT AT LEAST A REFUND OF THE CLEANING FEE IS IN ORDER HERE! WILL NEVER RENT HERE AGAIN....I DID EMAIL THE OWNER UPON OUR RETURN BUT HAVE RECEIVED NO RESPONSE OR APOLOGY. I ALSO CONTACTED THEIR MANAGEMENT WHILE THERE TWICE WITH NO RESPONSE. I HAVE RENTED THRU VRBO BEFORE AND THIS IS MY FIRST DISAPPOINTMENT. I GAVE THE ONE STAR ONLY IN HONOR OF THE HOMES AGE AND CHARM.
Owner's Response: Nedra. My wife had responded to your email, here is what she said.

Hi Nedra-
We are very sorry to hear the conditions of the house disappointed you. We try to cover all the issues you raised about the house: the potential for rodents and insects, the water pressure and the TV's West Coast feed in our Welcome binder, which you may not have seen, but realize that had you advance notice of these considerations, you might have made a different decision in staying with us. I have amended our vacation rental sites to include the low water pressure and the TV's West Coast Feed . The house is on a filtered, well-water system, which is gravity fed. That is why it has low pressure. The TV is a West Coast feed because that is where the bill goes to be paid. As for the house's cleanliness, that is disappointing to us as well and we will alert our property managers to the issue immediately.
Thank you for informing us of the house's conditions.
Best,
Courtney and Bryan

AND the follow-up: We immediately contacted our house managers, They had been traveling during your stay (my apologies) -As for the cleanliness: This is a house surrounded by nature- It's going to get in. - Because we hope to address any issues a guest might have during their stay rather than after, I contacted the current guest to ensure their experience was not the same. They said it was not and were more than happy with the house's conditions. Again, I am sincerely sorry you felt otherwise.
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
Queens, NY
5

Best Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Thank you, Bryan and Courtney! What a wonderful house, what a wonderful vacation! From start to end you were so helpful and patient when answering all our questions. It made a difference. Thank you.
Highlights definitely included the beautiful in-ground pool that is inlaid with some type of plastic so we didn't get scratched. The hot tub and lounge chairs were equally enjoyed. We loved the expansive property with loads of privacy. Every morning we sat on the porch swing enjoying the mountain views, every evening we relaxed on the back deck. Once on the property, it was easy to forget that there were other people in Vermont aside for our group. The kitchen was great and the many countertops and work/storage spaces suited our needs perfectly. It was hugely convenient to have a washer/dryer and working internet as well. I personally loved the bedding. There were many extra blankets and pillows in every room and the linen was clean and comfortable. Speaking of comfortable... once we sat down on the couch... it took a lot of will power to get up again... I also liked the personal touch added with family pictures dotting the rooms. The house is beautiful, well tended, has a warm feel to it and we can't thank you enough for sharing your home with us.
Note to other travelers: Bring bug repellent. During the summer months, bugs abound. Also, Vermont is a beautiful state and the hiking is wonderful. We hiked up Killington (challenging) and took the gondola down. We hiked up Prospect Mountain, near Lake George (somewhat challenging). We hiked an easy trail in the woods near Bomoseen Lake.
I would absolutely recommend this farmhouse to others looking for a similar vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Rochel,
Thank you for such kinds words. We are sincerely glad you enjoyed the home as mush as we do.... hope to see you again. bryan and courtney
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Farmhouse on 100-Acres W/ Mtn Vws, Rvr Frontage, Pool, Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961569
+1 310 3109948366
Poultney Killington Area
Lincoln, Nebraska
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This house is a perfect retreat for a family reunion! The large kitchen and dining area allowed all of us to gather and enjoy eachothers company and the well equipped kitchen made it possible for some great cooking!! Plenty of bedrooms to accommodate our large family and the grounds are just beautiful! The location of the property was convenient for us as well. Thanks to the owners for allowing us to stay the extra night...it was greatly appreciated!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your generous review. We love to hear that others find the same joy in the house that we do. We spend a lot of time in that kitchen when we're there: on the rug in front of the fireplace with the kids and making elaborate meals which we don't normally have the time to cook or enjoy. We hope you and your family will have another chance to gather for more great cooking in that kitchen.
Helpful votes: 2/2