Kennebunkport house rental - Welcome to our home!
Welcome to our home!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 6 nights
 

Kennebunkport House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8: maximum)

For those who are looking to spend a week in a well-appointed, upscale 'home' versus a traditional rental, this property will not disappoint. Furnishings and appliances have been chosen to reflect the care and concern of the owner for comfort and relaxation. Great pride and effort are obvious in the choice of everything from the granite countertops and new stainless steel appliances to the artwork on the walls, to the bikes provided for exercise, and the outdoor shower for washing off the ever-present sand!

This is clearly a residence that respects the beauty of the location and invites the renters to be comfortable as well as respectful of the quality provided. Set in a quiet, residential, family-oriented beach community, 60 yards from 3 miles of white sand, yet off the beaten path, this home offers everything for a peaceful respite away from suburban or city life.

Keywords: A 'home' versus a 'cottage', newer, well-appointed, well-located, comfortable, 'classy'

My husband and I are 'displaced' New Englanders who have found in Maine the place we hope to eventually retire. We purchased our home in 2004, and have furnished it in a way that reflects our love for the property, and the area. 'Innisfree' is a place to which we invite our friends and family, as well as discerning summer renters. Currently, we spend four months off-season in the house, and we take great pride and satisfaction in the people who come to be 'stewards' in our absence. Many of our tenants return year after year. Kennebunkport is a delightful community: one can shop in unique stores, swim in warm (for Maine) and safe water, and eat in marvelous restaurants. No 'chains' here. It is a place of quiet relaxation, yet accessible to Boston in an hour and a half, and to Portland, ME in about 30 minutes. Portland is a locale of excellent restaurants, ocean-going voyages, and an eclectic community. The Portland Museum of Art has a fine collection of Maine artists and there is always a concert or theater worth going to see.

Audrey Lakin purchased this house in 2004

We chose this location because it reflects our values: respect for the environment, respect for those around us, in a friendly atmosphere. We've created a house that is our home, as well as a place that renters could share. It has been our good fortune to make wonderful friends among the year-round residents, and we admire the commitment of those who wish to protect the area from advancing commercialism and chain stores. This is a place where one can hear the ocean, as well as hear oneself think. It is not a place of high pressure, nor amusement park noise. We appreciate being in a place that is so pristine, and hope that our home is an example of how very much we feel honored to be there.

One of the best features of our home is that we can walk out the door and be ON the beach in less than five minutes! We spend enormous amounts of time just walking the beach, watching the piping plovers, the seals, the gulls, and the people revel in being able to absorb the beauty of the surroundings. Somehow, everyone is friendly at the beach, and those who walk it daily get into a routine of greeting each other, yet keeping respectful distance if it's clear one doesn't want to be disturbed. Additionally, we LOVE the area restaurants and their commitment to farm-to-table high quality food. There are so many great places to eat that we can't possibly fit them all in! Everywhere we go, we find new 'friends' in the locals: from shopkeepers to artisans, there are treasures in abundance.

14 Reviews of Property 288124 in Kennebunkport, Maine

Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
5

Lovely home by he beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful home within walking distance to Goose Rocks beach. Well appointed home that the owners take obvious pride in maintains and sharing with others. We stayed with our two young children and felt like we were staying in a family home not a rental home. Thank you to the owners for sharing their beautiful home!
Owner's Response: This is exactly how we want our "guests" to feel; it is our home first, and a summer rental second. It's such a pleasure to share our home with people who feel the same way! We are grateful to those who take "care" to preserve both the furnishings and the atmosphere in the same way we do. It's not for everyone because of the emphasis we place on care taking , but those who appreciate a well-kept, clean and well-furnished home seem to enjoy it!
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Boston, MA
5

heaven on earth..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our second year renting this beautiful home and we wish to return again! It is modern and tastefully decorated, with state of the art appliances and amenities. We truly experienced home away from home during our stay- with the addition of the beauty of Goose Rocks and tranquility of Maine. We highly recommend this home without reservation!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a gracious review! We certainly like having people share our home who appreciate it as much as we do and treat it with equal care. Those who return become more like "friends" every year.
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
5

The way Life should be...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family had the joy and priviledge to stay at this beautiful home in GRB last summer. The way Life should be indeed!!! This "home" truely has it all: perfect location and just a few steps away from the beach, top notch amenities, extremely clean and well kept, beautiful light throughout the home, spacious and just perfect for people traveling with family and children... and last but not least... amazing owners;-) We therefore highly recommend this rental, and are willing to bet your first words once stepping into this home will be: WOW!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This review makes me smile! We are happy to have such appreciative and respectful guests in our home. Thank you for your kind words, and recognition of our commitment to sharing our "home" with discerning and caring families. We care deeply about the quality of our surroundings; we thank those who feel the same way.
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Toronto, Ontario
5

This House has it All!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We really enjoyed our stay in Goose Rocks Beach. We were very impressed by the home we rented. It was very clean, well organized, tastefully decorated, not to mention in close proximity to the beach - just a short walk on a not very busy street.

The Beach itself is great, long, white and sandy. Perfect for taking long walks, playing frisbee or just sitting. The surrounding area is quiet and people are friendly. All in all, a wonderfully relaxing spot!

If you like to cook, even on holiday, you'll really appreciate the well stocked kitchen.

>>
>> >>The description of this property we found to be accurate. We were very satisfied with our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Glen Rock, NJ
5

THE house to rent when visiting Goose Rocks Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Nothing is overlooked at this well-appointed, immaculate home. Great sleeping arrangements and plenty of room for everyone to be together or enjoy a moment alone (3rd floor is the perfect hiding place). Outdoor shower head a great plus to leave the beach outside and clean off the beach toys. Goose Rocks Beach is a quick 5 minute walk and is a well kept secret that we were happy to be in on - wonderful family beach that was enjoyed by all ages.

Food-wise the house has ample room for indoor meals as well as a large table outside with grill. The kitchen has all you need to make a great meal at home. Nearby we would recommend The Ramp and Pedro's - both very enjoyable.

The Owner's take great pride in their home and you'll consider yourself fortunate that they share it with others. We appreciated their input and attention to detail on several levels and their earnest concern that we enjoyed every moment in Maine (we did!).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This review is a lovely reflection of how we hope our guests feel when staying in our home!
Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Bethesda, MD
4

Very modern, comfortable house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a great stay at Innisfree. We are a family of four with two teenage boys and appreciated the fact that there was lots of space for everyone to spread out and a particularly charming room on the top floor with a porthole window view of the ocean. It was a great place for reading and writing and relaxing. The beach is very close, close enough that you can run home if you need something. We love cooking lobsters at home, and there was a giant big lobster pot to accomodate our needs. The kitchen is modern and top notch. We went on small outings--the Rachel Carson and Wells nature trails; Walmart (always a vacation favorite); Nunans for dinner and the Cape Porpoise Chowder House. I joined the GRB Community Center for one week so that I could play tennis, which I recommend to other players. Lots of nice places for runs there too, they have an annual 5K; there is nothing like running on the beach at low tide, with the sea air to cool you off. I would highly recommend the house to others.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Tampa
5

Innisfree

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Great home! Beautiful decor, perfect location...thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
'Thanks for opening your house to renters. We will be back!"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
'We opened the door and everyone ran around your house like there was a million of dollars stashed...I so loved the open floor plan and the bathrooms are beautiful..."
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Come 'Home' to Goose Rocks Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p288124vb
Kennebunkport Southern Coast of Maine
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
"Your home which you created has a lot of the TLC touches in it and it made our visit perfect."
Helpful votes: 1/1