Black Mountain house rental - Welcome to Grandview at Highrock.
Welcome to Grandview at Highrock.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Black Mountain House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, 2.5 bath, sleeps 6-8

Grandview is perched high atop a 3400' mountain ridge in Black Mountain, NC and offers an amazing view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, including Mt. Mitchell, Grandfather Mountain and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Yet, this secluded setting is only a convenient 5 mile drive to interstate 40 and the Front Porch of Western North Carolina; the historic town of Black Mountain, NC. This recently renovated vacation home features hardwood floors, tile baths and custom woodwork throughout providing the peaceful, relaxing environment of a quality secluded mountain getaway. It has 3 bedrooms and 2.5 baths that can accommodate 6 adults or 4 adults and 4 children. A comfortably furnished open floor plan provides an ideal setting for a relaxing vacation in the mountains. The fully equipped custom kitchen with concrete counter tops has everything needed from picnics to entertaining. A large deck gives you a front row view of the magnificent mountain scenery. Two flat screen TVs with DirecTv (55” HDTV in theater room) are ready for catching the big game or the latest flick. The high speed wireless internet access allows you to stay connected should you need or care to be. The high capacity washer and dryer are there to put the remnants of the day’s adventure firmly in your memory only.

12 Reviews of Property 961306 in Black Mountain, North Carolina

Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 12 reviews
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
Deerfield Beach FL
5

This was a Christmas that we will never forget

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Christmas at Grandview - From the moment we talked on the phone about renting this property, Chris went out of his way to help us with arrangements as we were traveling to a place we have never been. Chris went and cut down a tree for us and sent us pictures in the field of the tree the picked. After a long 12 hour drive from Florida we arrived in the dark, rain and fog and Chris had the house lit perfectly so we could find the house and when we opened the door the tree was decorate so beautifully and there were present under the tree with our dogs names on the packages. Its at the top of a hill with views that will amaze and you can see more star on the back porch than Ive ever seen. Chris and his wife left us home made cookies all wrapped in tissue paper and wine on the counter with a ornament for us to bring home to remember the trip. A beautiful poinsettia was on the table. Although it rained the first few days we didn't care. We wandered around town Went to a local butcher for meats and spent tie enjoying the tree and fireplace at home. Mom flew in on Christmas eve and had the time of her life ( although a little cold for her) we took her to the Biltmore and Grove Park Inn for Christmas dinner. ( you must go there - both are over 100 years old and magnificent. The house had everything that we needed to cook Christmas Eve dinner. It is kept in immaculate condition. My hubby was looked out the window one morning and saw the biggest wild turkey he ever saw and watch it take flight over the treeline into the woods. My mother will never forget this trip and we wont either. There is so much to do in this area we hope to be back in the fall to see the leaves change. Chris thank you for making this a trip we will never forget and since i gave my Chris a camera for Christmas we have the pictures to prove it !!! thank you again Carolyn, Chris, Grouper, Ralphie and Mom
Owner's Response: Carolyn,
Thank you very much for the amazing review. I'm so glad that everything met your expectations; I know how much you were looking forward to you Christmas vacation at Grandview. It was an absolute pleasure having you as a guest, please come back again!
All the best to you and yours in the New Year.
Chris
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

A Hidden Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
With vacation rentals, there are usually two extremes: too commercialized/touristy and too much like you are in someone else's home. Grandview was the perfect middle ground: Clean and professional with a personal touch. It is truly a hidden gem: incredible views, pet-friendly, impeccably clean, comfy beds, privacy, affordable rates, a cozy atmosphere, a great, safe location, and even a fire pit in the backyard. Most of all, though, Grandview has something that many others don't: an attentive, caring and hospitable owner. Chris was lightning fast to respond to any inquiries I had during my stay, and went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was nothing short of amazing. The little things really gave the experience a personal touch: a guestbook, a welcome package with wine, quick and easy communication with the owner, tons of DVDs, Christmas lights, travel brochures and restaurant menus, etc. If you are staying in Black Mountain, I whole-heartedly recommend staying at Grandview! You won't regret it.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the amazing review! It's that kind of feedback that lets me know I'm doing something right. It's great to hear you had such a memorable time and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Until then, I'll continue to do my best for all of my guests and hope to keep those kind of reviews coming. Thanks again for staying at Grandview and have a wonderful holiday season!

All the best,
Chris
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

Perfect Mountain Getaway Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is an adorable cottage that has recently been renovated. It was clean, comfortable, cozy, and had all the amenities we could want! The view from the deck was amazing!! The yard was large and private so that our dogs could go off leash without any worry. The fire pit in the back yard was so nice. We lit a fire at night and sat out under the stars. We had an amazing time and are so glad we stayed at Grandview!
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Nothing delights us more than hearing we've pleased our valued guests like you. Thank you again for staying at Grandview at High Rock, we hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

Fabulous Fall Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
10 out of 10!! We rented this house for a week in October and could not have been happier. This cabin was perfect! The cabin was cozy, newly renovated, beds were extremely comfortable, backyard completely private for our dog to run free and the views spectacular. The location is another fantastic part about this house. We took daily hikes directly from our front door, drove 10 minutes into the town of Black Mountain for lunch and shopping and then another 5 minutes, you are in Montreat where the hiking trails are endless and the views worth every step. And Ashville is only 15 -20 minutes away to do more shopping, dinner and night life. This is a perfect getaway and I look forward to coming back!!
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you very much for the rave review. We're so glad to hear you had such a wonderful time at Grandview at Highrock. We do our best to provide our guests with the ideal Blue Ridge Mountains getaway and love to hear that we're successful. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
Westfield, New Jersey
5

mountain view cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The cabin was very clean and set up nicely. I loved the master bedroom and bath. The views were spectacular and we loved the deck and firepit. We would rent this cabin again.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

Perfect Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
As other reviews have said, it would be best to visit in the warmer months if you do not have a good mountain climbing vehicle. We have a Hyundai Accent and it climbed the dirt road like a champ. The drive up the mountain is daunting if you are not used to it. Please do not let this scare you away! This is part of the allure of being in a secluded mountain cabin. You really do feel like you are away from it all. After the second day of our stay we felt used to the mountain roads. It is wise to follow the directions given by the rental company closely as the house is unmarked with a house number. We got permission from the owner to have our small wedding ceremony at the house. It was magical and our pictures turned out great! The view is spectacular. It is well worth the drive. Our family and friends loved the cabin. We stayed after the wedding for our honeymoon week. The kitchen is stocked with everything you could need. The dish washer was wonderful, the gas fireplace gives a nice cozy feeling on cooler nights, and the fire pit in the back yard was great for s'mores! There is a main/master bedroom upstairs with a bathroom. Downstairs there are two bedrooms and a bathroom that shares the laundry room. The big TV downstairs was a hit for the teenagers that came. There are towels, wash clothes, sheets, blankets, and hand soap.There is a washing machine and dryer that has laundry soap and bleach for use. It really does have everything you need except food. Be sure to stop at Ingles before you trek up the mountain. The rental company was a pleasure to deal with. We had no issues while staying there. The town of Black Mountain is beautiful and quaint. It has great restaurants. Try The Trailhead and Dark City Deli. There are also cute shops. There is even a dog park behind the Bi-Lo. Overall our stay was wonderful. We even had a lovely card and bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived since it was our wedding weekend. We loved the small details such as that. We will be coming back for sure!
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a positive and detailed review. It's very rewarding to get such good feedback as great care is taken to provide a first rate experience for our guests. May the magic of your stay at Grandview at Highrock remain through a long and happy life together! All our best.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This home was awesome for our "girl's long weekend." We hiked, seen the art district in Asheville, went horseback riding and enjoyed the view morning, noon and night. Thank you for the area information and being pet friendly. I am grateful for the joy and blessings that weekend gave to all of us. We have discussed a return trip when it is a tad warmer. May your home continue to bring joy to others.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the heart-felt review. We're happy to have helped provide for a great weekend getaway and hopefully some lasting memories. We hope to hear from you again!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

Perfect Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Four of us spent 3 nights at Grandview to celebrate two of our birthdays and it was absolutely perfect. The kitchen provided everything you could possibly need, and the beds were all extremely comfortable. We woke up to amazing views every morning and felt very much at home. I would definitely rent from High Rock Rentals again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're always excited to hear that our efforts to provide a quality experience for our guests are appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and happy birthday!
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
Carbondale, IL, US
4

Great Thanksgiving!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our family (7 people, ages 8-72) gathered from VA, MD, and IL to celebrate Thanksgiving, 2012. This house was lovely - especially because it was warm enough to make a lot of use of the porch with the amazing view and charcoal grill for the turkey! The kitchen is well-equipped and things seem mostly to be new. Location is great - isolated, but only 30 minutes or so to Asheville, and about the same distance to the amazing Chimney Rock. One caveat - the road to the house is steep and a little daunting the first try - but none of us had 4 wheel drive and did fine - not sure we'd want to tackle it in heavy rain or snow!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're glad you had some quality family time over Thanksgiving; hopefully being at Grandview made it all the more enjoyable. The Thanksgiving turkey is done on the grill at our house too, Yum! You're right about things seeming new, the majority of it is brand new. You're also right about the road. To gain over 1200 feet of elevation in the 5 mile drive from town takes some steep parts, fortunately it's two lanes. To our guests who visit during the winter months (for the true mountain experience) we recommend having 4WD/AWD. I'm sure you agree that, upon arrival, it's well worth it!
Our best to you and yours this holiday season,
Your Hosts.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Long Range View of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Black Mountain, NC.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p961306
+1 828 575-3993
Black Mountain Asheville Area
5

Perfect Mountain Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our time in the mountains was absolutely amazing. We found the home to be very charming and comfortable, we can't wait to visit again. The biggest feature was definitely the view which was one of the best we had seen. We spent most of our time on the back porch relaxing, laughing, and taking in the breathtaking mountains.

Black Mountain was only a short drive down the mountain and was the ideal small town, just like we had always heard. Good food, good shops, and good hiking. We will be coming back for sure.
Helpful votes: 1/1