Taos house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
 

Taos House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6) Outdoor amenities

Unique, Beautiful, Artistic, Historic Completely restored adobe.

Casa Betita is a completely restored historic adobe dating back to the mid 1800’s. Casa Betita was home to generations of the same family until 2007. Since then, the house has been completely restored offering the finest elements of the 21st century with the charm, colors, textures and décor of true New Mexico including hand plastered walls, Kiva fireplaces, vintage rugs and the artwork of local artists.

You can hear the waters of the Rio Pueblo and listen to Coyote’s gathering in the evening. The neighborhood horses and one donkey can be heard calling to each other and occasionally one might hear the bells from the church down the lane.This is not your ordinary impersonal vacation rental. This is a well loved home with many unusual and special details.

Keywords: Taos, New Mexico, casa, master suite, rural, adobe, spacious, comfortable,artist retreat, secluded, quiet, special

I am an artist / writer / filmmaker / producer. I work and live primarily in California but love my home in New Mexico where my parents and grandparents from both sides were born and raised. When I am in Taos I spend time improving the garden, season by season, skiing and horseback riding, I also get some of my most important creative work done in the house which seems especially conducive to creative thought and activity. I am usually found with my co-pilot Dot, a 13-year-old Jack Russell Terrier.

Melissa Howden purchased this house in 2007

Taos is a special place of many stories. History is rich here, and the journey of each visitor under the vast canopy of sky adds another layer to the richness of the place. Experience Taos for yourself. You will be changed and fulfilled. Northern New Mexico also has two generations of family history for me, so when the opportunity came to care for this house and restore it, I jumped at the chance.I did not purchase this house as a vacation rental. I purchased it as a home. I was able to live in Taos for two years but economic conditions and work called me back to the big city, for now.

A pleasant 15-20 minute walk past horses, alfalfa fields and through back lanes to Taos Historic Plaza, shops and galleries, this is a home you will want to return to year after year. Taos is a year round destination offering breathtaking views, intriguing history and intimate privacy making for the ultimate relaxing and healing getaway. Unlike many vacation rentals I supply everything except your food. The woodpile is continuously stocked, the propane for the grill, organic linens and soap, even robes. If you are a special person or family looking for a special Taos experience, Casa Betita is the place.

38 Reviews of Property 319007 in Taos, New Mexico

Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 38 reviews
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Southold, NY USA
5

There is no need to continue your search. Rent Casa Betita !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I recently returned from spending two amazing months in Taos at Casa Betita. I would recommend Casa Betita to anyone looking for a truly authentic New Mexico experience. This newly renovated adobe is much more spacious than the photos portray. The setting is extremely private although you are only minutes from town. Taos is unique in the universe of " ski resort towns". The landscape of this high desert is unlike any other place. The alpenglow ( natural light in the mountains) is truly spectacular. This home is worthy of such a special spot on the planet.
Melissa, the owner made certain that the home was clean, well maintained and we had everything we could need, from a well stocked kitchen( definitely not your typical rental home), to comfortable bedding. She was always easily reachable to answer any questions or offer suggestions. The house is filled with pieces made by local artists that lend to the feeling that it had a history, despite such modern comforts as a wonderful hot tub on the property.
I can't think of anything I would change about this home or our stay, other than our time there flew by to quickly. I highly recommend renting this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your time at Casa Betita (even though the snow came late). I appreciate your appreciation of my home. That I believe is the difference (for example with the "well stocked kitchen") Casa Betita is my home. I was able to live there full time for two years. I can't be there as much right now but it is still my home and I believe that difference is reflected not only in it's design and provisions but also in the guests who come. I hope you will be able to return again and again.
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Bixby, OK
4

Love Taos!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
The home was very nice even though the yard needed attention. If you are staying here the gate can be hard to open & close if you aren't a very big person. The water in the master bath shower wasn't working but a call to Melissa and it was fixed really fast, this was over a holiday weekend too!! There was an owl each day sitting in the tree in the front, which was amazing to watch - we all loved being tucked away in a private area that seemed miles from everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
-
5

Fantastic home base!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We really loved the house. First, I own a vacation rental myself in Austin, TX. I would say our standards are high. The house is incredibly cozy, so darn warm. We loved the kiva fireplaces and radiant floor heating. Master bed and bath is just beautiful. Everything was very clean.

Casa Betita is incredibly well appointed, Melissa has stocked everything in the kitchen. Very nice sheets and towels, loved our fuzzy bath robes. We are family of 5 with 2 teenagers. We'd initially looked for a place with a 3rd bedroom but the bunkees did work fine for our 2 boys. Everyone agreed we had to have a hot tub and we were very happy with that decision.

Melissa has put a lot of thought into the house. The porches and yard are ideal for enjoying a quiet evening or time with loved ones. We would love to be back when everything is blooming. Communication was very easy and appreciated all of the suggestions Melissa shared on where to go.

We ski TSV and it's less than 30 minutes away. If I were there in the summer, I would make the walk to Taos Plaza as suggested (too cold when we were there). Very short drive. We loved the Love Apple (cash/check only) and had a fun NYE at the Taos Mesa Brewery. During Christmas/NYE we discovered that reservations were a must every night. That was not our experience last year when we stayed a week before Christmas. Heads up if you are traveling during a busy time. El Meze smelled great but we couldn't get in.
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Greenbank, WA
5

Wonderful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Loved Casa Betita! Wonderful home away from home; Melissa was a wealth of information about attractions, restaurants, cultural locations and shopping options. Her home is lovely; very happy that she's chosen to share it with us! Melissa also made the process of renting and finding the location easy for us. Great beds and linens, fantastic kitchen, and having two baths made our stay perfect. The home is close to town, restaurants and roads to get you wherever desires lead. Casa Betita has a homey feel with great area artwork and sculpture, comfortable lounging areas, and a hot tub to view the stars. It was great to have the use of laundry facilities...helped keep me to one carry-on bag! Love that! The high road from Santa Fe to Taos is a must-see, with a stop in Chimayo. The Oje Caliente Spa is another place to visit, soak in the mineral waters and stare at the landscape. A stop at the bridge over the Rio Grande, and a visit to Solaria Earthship were fun and educational! the Taos Pueblo is truly special. In awe of the beauty, the history and the people. When you visit, plan to spend some time there... To see spectacular desert scenery, go to Abiquiu. Do the loop from Taos south, to Abiquiu and back, highway 84 (I think). Big skies and fantastic rock formations as well as adobe churches, Georgia O'Keeffe's home and an excellent café. Restaurants in Taos are fantastic as are the majority of galleries. Fell in love with the area...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for posting. Reviews are so helpful. So happy you both had a great time. It was fun for me to be there when you arrived and be able to point you in the direction of things you were interested in.
Hope you will be back in the not too distant future.
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Steamboat Springs, CO
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Wonderful property. Quiet and peaceful. Great decorating. Would recommend to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Tampa, FL
5

Amazing Home in Taos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Casa Betita is a superb choice for your stay in Taos. The home is not only spacious, beautifully appointed, but is also extremely comfortable. Here are some highlights and notes:

-Many rentals are poorly equipped with the essentials (spices, coffee, cookware, etc) -- The great thing about Casa Betita is that all of the basics are provided so that you can just shop for your primary items and the rest is provided;
-Bedding is really important to me -- I work for a global Luxury Hotel company -- and I slept perfectly on the excellent mattress, great linens, and plush pillows;
-Taos can get chilly at night -- especially given that I visited in February! -- There was a great supply of firewood and 2 wood burning fireplaces that made the stay warm, cozy, and romantic (not to mention radiant floor heating that kept everything at a perfect temp);
-Privacy is really important to me -- I like to have lots of light -- with all curtains/shades open -- and yet feel that there is complete privacy -- this property delivered on that flawlessly;
-Do however be careful on directions -- the owner provided them and they are absolutely required -- GPS will lead you astray to get to the property;
-The home is filled with great art, neat nooks to relax and read a book, and a really high end spa tub with multiple jet settings -- so there are many places to relax and enjoy your vacation;
-Location is not walking distance to the Plaza -- but a very short drive -- and there are good restaurants and other attractions very close by;
-Baths are also important to me -- they were spacious, had great walk-in showers, and the master bath had a huge deep-soaking tub -- very nice.

My overall experience was excellent -- the owner was really nice about setting things up -- and I highly recommend Casa Betita for your visit to Taos.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I created my home for myself so I fully appreciate it when what is important to me is appreciated by others. I guess I do need to create a map with the back way to walk to the Plaza, as it actually is walking distance just not obvious to folks who don't know the way. But best for walking in Spring, Summer and Fall. Will do that next time I am there. And yes you are right, GPS will send you to another planet NOT to Casa Betita.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
McKinney, TX
5

Choose Casa Batita

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I have stayed at vacation rentals numerous times in various places in the southwest. This is my favorite one because it is so comfortable. It has an old spanish style but it also is equiped with modern conveniences. The home has anything you could want or need already. It is quiet, safe and very comfortable. The great willow trees in the front yard are very beautiful and to sit on the porch and hear the wind blow through the trees is very relaxing. Just what you would want for a vacation. It is near Taos and so it only takes a short time to get anywhere you'd want to go. You would not regret choosing this home.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
McKinney, TX
5

Casa Batita

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I brought our dog to Casa Batita in June of 2012. You could not ask for a more comfortable home. It had everything you could ask for and the heated floor was fantastic. The great willow trees and the porch with comfortable chairs made lounging sooo enjoyable. I would not hesitate to return. It is close to town so it only took a few minutes to get anywhere you wanted to be.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Green Valley, AZ
5

Casa Betita Rocks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our recent stay was absolutely wonderful. We cooked in the very well equipped kitchen, enjoyed the hot tob, used the barbeque and enjoyed fires throughout the days and evenings. Very roomy and comfortable. The pictures do not do the place justice s the house is much larger than the pictures represent. Master bedroom is large and the bed is very comfortable. Espescially important after a hard day of skiing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Betita,the Most Perfect Place in Taos, New Mexico
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p319007vb
Taos New Mexico
Woodland Park, CO
5

Highly Recommended!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We have stayed at Casa Betita twice now, and plan on going back at least once a year! The photos don't do it justice, it's much more beautiful and secluded than what shows.

One of the things that is most important to me is privacy. Lots of times I've been disappointed when I get to a location and find the pictures were deceiving. Casa Betita is totally private, fully stocked and very Clean.

There are apply trees out back and we even picked some apples and made a homemade apple pie on our last visit.

I love the organic hand soaps and sprays they provide. So much so, that when I got home, I ordered some for my own home. Casa Betita is decorated like a real home, not some cheap old used furniture, but lovely things you would find in your own home.

I don't think it's really close enough to walk to town unless there is a short cut, but close enough for a very short drive.

My only suggestion is I wish they would take out the trundle bed in the second bedroom and put in a double bed. We have fallen through trying to sleep two adults in it. It's great for children however.

The two fireplaces are fantastic, and the one in the master bedroom is so romantic. Also the Hot Tub is very clean, and very relaxing. I absolutely love this place and highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy that you will return.
Re: the trundle bed. I did have a double in that room for awhile and it was too crowded. Also people asked for separate beds for children and group ski getaways. There is a way to set up the bed with no "fall through" so that it is super comfortable especially when the provided feather bed is used on top. I am creating a little note with instructions so when you come back it should be comfy!