Fairbanks cabin rental - Bright fall colors (September) surround the solar
Bright fall colors (September) surround the solar
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

Fairbanks Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), sleeps 4

This solar cabin is a destination for travelers who want a unique Alaska experience.

Cabin living is close to nature. Outside your front door are trails for hiking and cross-country skiing. Explore nearby duck ponds. Pick blueberries. Avoid the moose. Photograph nature in all seasons. Summer trails are often wet, so wear boots.

You won't be 'roughing it' too much. The solar cabin has two bedrooms, carpeting, indoor composting toilet, full kitchen, and a hot shower building. The cabin has no running water. Enough fresh water is provided in five-gallon containers for drinking, cooking, dish washing, and hand washing. An modern indoor composting toilet is safe and sanitary.

The solar cabin offers economical, clean, private, and quiet living for the short-term vacationer. This is a no-smoking property (no smoking indoors or outdoors).

11 Reviews of Property 958671 in Fairbanks, Alaska

2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
average rating of 4.8 based on 11 reviews
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
5

Solar cabin stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was an interesting experience to "rough it" a bit and see how solar living can be sustainable! Composting toilet is weird, but usuable...missed the sink more than running water. Glad for the chance to try it and also be out of town a bit...moose tracks appeared in the driveway, but we didn't see the moose. Cabin had all the comforts, but the stairs to upper level was a bit challenging for seniors!Host was very helpful in managing stay and also gave tips on what to see and do... Museum of the North was amazing, esp. the architecture. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Yes, the stairway to the upstairs bedrooms is steep and anyone considering this rental property should know this in advance. Guests can always use the fold-out couchs downstairs if they like, but nearly all guests sleep in the confortable beds upstairs. The bedroom balcony offers a panoramic view of the surrounding waterfowl refuge and, on a clear day, the Alaska Mountain Range. Thanks for the review. -- Eric
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
Eagle River, AK
4

Fairbanks cabins - diamonds in the rough

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Put aside your preconceived ideas about renting a cabin off the grid. Apart from the lack of running water the similarities end there. These spacious two-story cabins are powered by solar photovoltaic panels and have all the comforts of home: electricity, heat, full-sized refrigerator, TV, and stove. The composting toilet is odor free so it seems like a regular toilet. A separate shower facility is clean and private with a locking door, including a running water sink and a large prep area. Set among the black spruce forest of Creamer's Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge you feel secluded and away from the noise of Fairbanks. It's a nice feeling to stay there knowing you are not contributing to greenhouse gas emissions. Eric, the owner, is a very knowledgeable and friendly guy. Overall, I highly recommend staying at these cabins.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this wonderful review. I'll just add that the cabin is on the utility grid so electricity is always on 24-hours a day. Sunshine or nighttime! -- Eric
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
5

Nice cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Cabin was in great area outside of town but close to town. Only downfall was indoor toilet, smell wasnt the greatest. Overall would reccomend
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I understand there have been mixed reviews on the composting toilet. Mostly positive reviews I see. Composting toilets can't compare to gallon-per-flush toilets that require a full septic system (not an option with our local permafrost soils). -- Eric
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
United States
5

Light all night

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved the cabin. It was comfortable and clean.
It was close to everything in Fairbanks, but far enough away to feel completely out in the country.
Loved the composting toilet as we had always been curious about them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
United States
5

Light all night

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved the cabin. It was comfortable and clean.
It was close to everything in Fairbanks, but far enough away to feel completely out in the country.
Loved the composting toilet as we had always been curious about them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying. "Quiet" and "private" are the best words I've found to describe my cabin right next to a large waterfowl refuge.
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
United States
5

Great Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our cabin has a great 2nd story deck and looked out over a spruce forest...very relaxing. The compost toilet was fascinating and the shower house has a nice shower. I believe it is still a work in progress and when all done will be even better. We hit the weather just right...came from rainy Anchorage to sunny, warm Fairbanks (although we later found out that we missed 3 sunny days in Anchorage!). We did the touristy things...The Discovery Paddlewheeler and the Goldmine..Dredge # 8 and walked Creamers Field. Our big regret was that we didn't have enough time to see the UFA museum.
I don't know about the other beds, but the little twin on the 2nd floor was very comfortable. The kids (2 14yr olds) thought the cabin was cool. So did the adults.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. I'll add that your stay was when the wild blueberries were starting to ripen. The cabin is surrounded by blueberries and cranberries that ripen in late August. Yum. -- Eric
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
Yorba Linda CA USA
5

Robin from Yorba Linda CA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We really enjoyed the 0 footprint cabin. Eric was amazing about getting back to us on email throughout the 4 months before our stay. He even came over and told us more about the cabin and local points of interest. The cabin is fairly new and we loved the shower house, which is just a regular type bathroom with a shower and sink. On our last day we walked outside to find a moose in the front and 2 in the back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Very cool that you saw three moose at the cabin! The next day I looked for, and found, the fresh moose tracks. The fact that the solar array produces more energy than guests use -- zero-energy footprint -- still amazes me. Thanks for staying.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
Germany
5

Excellent place indeed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed in spring at this unique Alaska house, and we were so overwhelmed by its beauty, by the view (mountains and forests + wetland), by the nice surrounding and by its management! What a place! It's new, well equipped, cosy and located right in the boreal forest: It cannot get better than that! We highly recommend it.
Falk & Lisa (from Germany)
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Since your stay a shower building was added. Imagine how wonderful ... HOT showers and cabin living!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
Runnemede, NJ USA
4

Alaska the last frontier

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Nice place to stay in private location close to things to do.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
2 Bedroom Cabin Seeks Adventurers. Private & Quiet!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p958671
+1 907 378-5545
Fairbanks Alaska
5

Most beautiful setting and space.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Thank you for hosting our three Yukon Quest 2012 teams: Norwegians,
Russians, Danes, Americans, Swiss, sleddogs, and all !!!

We more than appreciate your generous hospitality and kindness towards our
special needs. You simply have a wonderfully unique place! Go Green! With
Gratitude ... The mushers and crew.
Owner's Response: It was great having you as guests. Thanks.
Helpful votes: 1/1