Grand Lake house rental - View of Twin pines from the back/lake
View of Twin pines from the back/lake
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps20
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Grand Lake House Rental Photos and Description
Lakefront Log House, 6 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16-20)

Available for year-round rentals, now booking 2014 and 2015! Plan now for the perfect Colorado getaway for your multi-family vacation or reunion. Classic log home on 1 acre lakefront property w/ 6+ bedrooms, 4 bathrooms 2 full kitchens and 2 separate living spaces/--it's like 2 homes in one and your own private rustic mountain resort! (rental rates include entire property--including the use of our boats)

Our vacation home, 'Twin Pines Lodge' is a sprawling, authentic hand-crafted full-log home nestled on a peaceful 1 acre of private lakefront property on Sun Valley Lake, bordering Rocky Mountain National Park and the Arapahoe Nat'l Forest--yet only 3 miles from downtown Grand Lake. Property includes private dock, private sandy beach, 2 fire pits (one wood, other propane), hammock, horseshoe pit, volleyball court, ping pong, foosball, outdoor sauna, board games, 2 50' HD TV's w/DVD and Direct TV, wii game system w/video games, book/DVD library. Property also provides use of 4 mountain bikes, canoe, pedal boat, kayak, life vests and fishing poles--it's everything you need for the Colorado experience you're dreaming of! (for additional photos, visit our Twin Pines Facebook page via link at end of listing)

Relax on the large deck overlooking Sun Valley Lake and take a deep breath of clean mountain air in this classic Colorado Mountain lakefront setting with towering pine, aspen groves, brilliant wildflowers and soaring white-cap mountain views. Our mountain property offers total peaceful seclusion in the beautiful Sun Valley Ranch neighborhood located directly adjacent to Rocky Mountain National Park, approx. 3 miles from downtown Grand Lake, and approx 90 minutes from Denver. Ski at the family-friendly resort Sol Vista only 25 minutes away, or Winter Park Resort, only 45 minutes away.

Property is abundant with wildlife-- watch the Moose graze along the pristine mountain lake shoreline--just a few feet away from the deck. Sun Valley Lake, a 22 acre non-motorized mountain lake, is also known as 'Moose Lake' because it's natural habitat where Moose live--and Moose calves are born here each spring. Elk, Deer, Fox, Otter, Beaver, Bear, Osprey, Hummingbirds are also frequent visitors.

Our inviting, spacious log home offers approx. 3800 sq ft with two very distinct living spaces (perfect for the families who want to vacation together, but not be on top of each other.) The cozy 'Historic side' has 4 bedrooms total: 3 main floor bedrooms (King master with ensuite full bath, large bunkroom, small queen bedroom) plus a queen loft bedroom. It also has a full kitchen/dining area (seats 14+) opening to an intimate family room and another 3/4 bath. In addition to the loft bedroom there's also a loft family room/TV area with Satellite, DVD, and Wii games.

The 'Chalet side' has 2 upper level bedrooms (King master bedroom and queen bedroom w/ convertible twin), plus open loft/library with queen futon and full bath. Chalet-side main floor has an open-concept kitchen w/large great room plus half-bath and laundry room. The 2 living areas are connected via a large central front entrance into a convenient large foyer/mudroom, w/ doors that can close off each side for privacy. Both kitchens are fully equipped w/ 2 of almost everything.

A large outside deck spans the entire back of the home overlooking the lake, w/ seating for 14+, propane firepit and gas grill (propane provided).

The warmth of hand-hewn natural log is everywhere, brightened by the soaring 25 ft ceilings in the Chalet side w/ a huge wall of windows overlooking the lake and mountains. Home is comfortable and inviting--tastefully decorated w/ quality furnishings and bedding, and classic mountain lodge decor--yet totally family friendly.

So much to do on or within walking distance to this property! Relax on the large deck overlooking the lake, catch record-breaking trout in Sun Valley Lake right from our private dock or small sandy beach or boat. Guests enjoy full use of our canoe, kayak, pedal boat, inner tubes, life vests and fishing gear. (lake is stocked with Rainbow Trout each spring) As a guest of our home, you also have exclusive private access for fly-fishing on the Colorado River located 1/4 mile from front door.

Grab a mountain bike (2 adult bikes, 2 child bikes provided) and hit the trails for an early morning ride, or wander out the door and explore miles of beautiful hiking in Rocky Mtn. Nat'l Park. (maps and guidebooks provided) Nap in the hammock in the afternoon breeze. Paddle the lake at sunset as the trout are jumping and the alpenglow appears on the mountains. Roast marshmallows in the beach firepit under a brilliant star-filled sky.

Explore the extensive library of books, DVD's, video games and board games, wrap yourself in a cozy blanket and find one of the many quiet nooks in this home to snuggle in a chair by the fire, let go, and relax!

The Winding River Resort is walking distance from the house, and here you can enjoy guided horseback rides into RMNP, pony rides, a petting zoo, basketball courts, evening activities such as square dancing, cowboy poetry, etc. An 18 hole golf course is 3 miles away, and you can also ride your ATV or snowmobile right from our driveway to 200+ miles of groomed trails. (trailhead located 1/4 mile from house) The outfitter at the end of the road offers ATV's and snowmobiles for rent and guided horseback trail rides through Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park.

The wonderful, family-friendly town of Grand Lake less than 5 minutes away and offers a full-service marina for renting pontoon/fishing/water ski boats and jet-skis on any of the 'big lakes' Grand Lake, Shadow Mountain Lake or Lake Granby, and there's a great little family beach. Wander the downtown 'boardwalk' and explore numerous local art galleries, gift shops, restaurants, live music cafes, ice-cream shops, mini-golf, go-karts, etc. A grassy central park/playground offers a great picnic spot. Grand Lake is also known for it's fine live theatre productions, check out the summertime drama productions!

Need help planning your gathering? Owner is a professional event planner/interior designer, and happy to assist you with any details you need to make your family vacation, reunion, wedding, corporate or church retreat the quintessential Colorado experience you've been dreaming of.

Keywords: Grand Lake Log Home, custom log house, lakefront log cabin, Twin Pines, private dock, private mountain lodge, Rocky Mountain National Park, Sun Valley Lake, executive vacation rental, family reunion, colorado, moose, boating, fishing, Winter Park, skiing, snowmobiling, fly fishing

More Details
Hide Details

We're from Fort Collins, Colorado and a large, active family with 5 kids and 1 grandchild. We love living the 'Colorado lifestyle' ...skiing, hiking, snowshoeing, boating, fishing, snowmobiling and ATV'ing ...and hanging out by the lake in our log home!

Kami Gilmour purchased this house in 2011

We searched for a Colorado vacation home for 10 years with a list of 'must haves' before finding our dream home. The Sun Valley Ranch neighborhood embodied everything we could imagine--lakefront, riverfront, mountain views, direct access to hiking/biking/snowmobile trails, and the 'get away' feeling but less than10 minutes away from town!

18 Reviews of Property 392971 in Grand Lake, Colorado

Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Castle Rock, CO
5

Magical Family Moment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I'm a teacher and a coach who has rented this Twin Pines Lodge twice now. I bring a group of high school runners to run and relax together as a team. Kami has provided us with an unmatched experience. The house and it's lake front area is the best on Sun Valley Lake. I've rented from over 6 different houses and Twin Pines is the best hands down. Most owners seem to be annoyed that people want to stay at their house but Kami makes us feel welcome like family. As a result my runners treat Twin Pines like their own. She has helped me build my cross country team into a true family. My runners wait in line to sign up for this summer camp. I'm very thankful for Kami and her beautiful house. Rent with confidence! This one's special.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Columbus, Ohio, USA
5

This place was great for us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a group of 10 who came to Colorado for a golf/hiking trip. The place is great with tons to do and close proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park and Grand Lake Golf Course. It was fun to sit at the outdoor firepit and listen to the elk bugling in the evening. The house is well equipped and really worked for our group. The thing that sets this property apart from so many we have dealt with is the attentiveness of the owners. Kami was an absolute pleasure to work with and wanted to make sure our stay was enjoyable. I strongly recommend Twin Pines for families and any large group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
UK
5

Awesome, escape from it all, fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is a beautiful lodge right on the edge of a gorgeous quiet lake. Kami and Tim greeted us and made us feel very welcome. There was just the two of us on a romantic get away... and the huge lodge actually felt very cosy... although it would also make a perfect extended family / friends get together with super comfortable beds and numerous bathrooms. We can't wait to return with a group! It's in a great location just off the national park and with loads of things to do close by... or you can simply relax, row in the lake, fish, cook (there is every cooking utensil you can possible need and an awesome grill outside) or play one of the many games (including table tennis, volleyball and table fussball). The outdoor sauna is a must, and we loved our evenings by the fire pit! 100% recommend this place and will definitely be back - thanks Kami and Tim.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Lancaster, PA
5

Beyond amazing--Best vacation ever for our family reunion!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Twin Pines Lodge for my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary and weeklong family reunion (21 people) this summer, and all I can say is…WOW! I was worried this house was going to be a “too good to be true” scenario, but when we arrived I thought it was even better than the photos! Even our “hard-to-please” family members were blown away at the quality of the home, property location, furnishings and amenities. (most comfortable beds EVER!) The home and the location are absolutely breathtaking, and the little details took it over the top. Having rented several vacation homes throughout the past few years I’ve been accustomed to the bare minimum . Not in this case! The homeowner (Kami) literally thought of everything, and this home was stocked far beyond what we expected! It also helped that she provided detailed communication in advance of our arrival so we didn’t have to bring/buy items that were already there! And having 2 full kitchens ended up being a life-saver for that many people! Kami also sent us her family’s “Top Favorite” list of things to do in the area—complete with insider tips—and we were able to experience things we wouldn’t have known about! (the Winding River Resort is walking distance from the house, and is a charming western experience with horseback riding, cowboy guitar night, square dancing—so much fun!) Hiking and Atv’ing trailheads are also within walking distance. Onsite the mountain bikes, boats, fishing and Ping Pong were a HUGE hit. And we loved the feeling of the Sun Valley Lake neighborhood which was peaceful and spacious but only a few minutes to town (it seemed like many lakeside vacation rentals in Grand Lake were on the busy highway or a jam-packed neighborhood—which we didn’t even think to ask about!) And twice during our stay a mother moose and her calf came to graze literally about 20 feet from where we were sitting on the deck. The view, the lake, the fishing and just relaxing as a family around the firepit in the most beautiful mountain location we could imagine was a dream. I can’t say enough about this experience—and for my parents it was hands-down the best anniversary gift we could have ever given them. We will definitely come back before the next big anniversary! Highly, highly recommend!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Hayden Lake, Id
5

Great Family Reunion Destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property was perfect for our family reunion. The house was very clean and cozy, with room to spread out. (We had 17 in our group). Hiking and ATV trails close by. LOTS of wildlife to see from the property, and a lake perfect for a paddle boat ride or a bit of fishing. The owner was pleasant to work with and very accommodating to our needs. We would highly recommend this property as a vacation rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

This place has everything!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed here for our manager's get away for 2 nights. There were 13 of us, and we had so much room! Linens, bathrooms are like a fine hotel. The outdoor fireplace is a dream, and we had a fantastic time with the water craft or just sitting on the dock watching the lake. We saw moose too!
I would highly recommend this spot for a big group!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Harrisburg, PA
5

Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We just returned from our vacation. The house was amazing. It was stocked with everything we needed. The owner sent us a very helpful list of what to pack as well as what not to pack. The first and best impression was that the house was very clean! We used one of the kitchens for our breakfast items and "adult beverage" area and the other kitchen is where we took turn cooking breakfast and dinner. We also found the "top to do list" really helpful. We went hiking, we fished off of the dock, we had a guided fishing excursion on Grande Lake, we went to the beach area in Grande Lake and used floats and beach toys. We used the propane fireplace on the deck every single day. I miss having my coffee by the fire already! We also went horse back riding, kayaking, used the paddle boat and canoe every day but best of all we made memories that I would not trade for anything in the world! It's most important to be together but it's even nicer when the owner of the home is so very thoughtful and generous. We so LOVED our family vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Iowa City, IA USA
5

A Great Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This wonderful "log cabin" on a quiet lake was the site of a fabulous vacation for our 3 generation (ages 2 to 65!) extended family. We slept 13 very comfortably with privacy, quiet and comfort. Our young granddaughters loved the "bunk room"; the oldest (teenage) loved "the loft". We have rented summer homes over many years...this was, by far, the best equipped ever, with a very well-outfitted kitchen and great recreational toys (watercraft, bikes, fishing gear etc). The lake was quiet enough to allow our 5 and 6 year old granddaughters to practice kayaking by themselves, and our 9 year old to fish when she wished. The home was also thoughtfully stocked with paper products, soap, fire wood etc, which eliminated a hurried run to the store on day one.
The proximity to town and RMNP could not have been any more convenient, allowing for quick trips for ice cream and many spectacular hikes along the Colorado River, and above 12,000 ft across tundra.
Frequent wildlife sightings included Moose, River Otter, Mule Deer and Osprey on the lake and (additionally) elk, marmots and ground squirrels in the park.
Internet service was slow in the house...certainly a mixed blessing for some. But the public library in town allowed for quick wifi connections in case a file was a must have.
The owners of the property could not have been any more helpful or gracious, genuinely interested in insuring our stay was a good one.
We have been vacationing as a family for many years in great locations. Many of our family thought this was the best, so far! Several commented that the home was "even better" than in the pictures.
A great home in a great part of the country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Lawrence KS USA
5

The Perfect Place for Us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My family includes ages 5-65. Seven adults and four children. Each of us found our place in this rambling rustic and beautifully decorated cabin. Whether it was games furnished for the kids or boating or biking or larger hikes for the adventurer grown ups it was all there. Maps are there..
Each family member got to know one another more than before. (Some traveled from East Coast) ..Time to spend with with someone who already shares your interest.
We cooked in all nights but one. We ate like kings. I learned what great cooks we have in the family. And also enjoyed a well stocked spice rack and appliance ready kitchen.
One family had just come from a music festival in Colorado. With a fire glowing, a banjo, guitar and fiddle, they played music just after sunset. This was followed by hilarious ghost stories...like the hot dog that was left on a fire and was trying to call on his cell phone. It turns out all right...don't worry
And speaking as the Grammy of the clan, I got all the peace and quiet, reading and sitting time I needed. This place is set up for what you need. I needed to settle some spiritual matters in my rattled urban brain. So I stared at the still water early morning and after sunset and some answers came to me. It has that sort of magic
We will be back..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Lakefront Log Home W/Private Dock: Perfect for Reunions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392971vb
970-689-5830
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Cottage Grove, OR
5

Unforgettable Setting for Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had our family reunion at Twin Pines during July 4th week. The setting was incredibly beautiful with its private lake with geese and moose taking late afternoon swims. The gas fire pit and new sauna were wonderful places to commune with family. The dining table, in the historic side, was ideal for dinners, and the kitchen had every we needed. When we arrived, Kami met us with fresh baked cookies and took an hour to show us the details of the place. There's a picnic table set up for rock painting. Two artists in the family made a "Rock Family" that remains with the growing rock collection in front of Twin Pines. Kami's availability was exceptional and consistent from our first phone contact, and with our needs and questions that arose during the visit, to the personalized thank you card two weeks after our stay. Kami recommended The Winding River Resort for horse back riding. She also recommended watching fire works from The Grand Lake Lodge. Both were perfect! We also discovered The Blue Water Bakery in Grand Lake for fantastic breakfast pasties and cookies, as well as internet access when the thunderstorms impacted the internet access at Twin Pines. It was great to have four bikes provided. I enjoyed the easy three mile ride around the lake. The ping pong table was great family fun, and we used the sandy volleyball court for our family Bocce Ball tournament. The washer, dryer, and other appliances are all first class. My only hesitation about choosing Twin Pines was the limited number of bathrooms. However, that turned out to be an opportunity in cooperation and humor. The serenity of the house and lake was beyound description. Our whole family will have life long, fond memories of the week we shared at Twin Pines.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1