Biwabik house rental - Summer wildflowers
Summer wildflowers
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Biwabik House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

The Green Gate Barn Home is a one of two exceptional vacation rentals on a private 13 acre farmstead (see The Green Gate Farmhouse, our other vacation rental offering). We are conveniently located adjacent to the Giants Ridge Recreation Area. Our guests enjoy direct access to the Mesabi Bike Trail, skiing and golfing at Giants Ridge, and lounging at the beaches of Embarrass Lake just a short walk from our door. We are a year-round destination, catering to nordic and alpine skiers, cyclists, paddlers, golfers and those simply choosing to relax at our historic homestead retreat.

Green Gate is a truly unique barn home, combining all the modern amenities with the rustic charm of the original 1935 hay barn that inspired the project. The 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom guest house can accommodate up to 6 people. A well-commissioned kitchen, dining room, and comfortable lounge area with cable TV and WiFi make Green Gate your home-away-from-home. Guests can also enjoy campfires, explore the surrounding countryside, or relax at a lake beach just a few minutes away.

Green Gate Guest Houses is a sustainable lodging facility. We support sustainable tourism by following strict green building standards, choosing environmentally-conscious purchases, adopting energy conservation and renewable energy technologies, using environmentally friendly products and supporting non-motorized recreation.

Located 1.5 miles from Biwabik and 3 miles from Giants Ridge Golf and Ski Resort. Direct access to the Mesabi Bike Trail and Snowmobile Trails. Water access for swimming and paddling nearby, and 1/4 mile from Superior National Forest Scenic Byway.

Keywords: Private, rural, farm, farmhouse, nordic skiing, downhill skiing, giants ridge, golf, northern MN, arrowhead, iron range

More Details
Hide Details

Shawn is a degreed professional (Mechanical Engineering and Nutrition Science) who relocated from the Twin Cities to northern Minnesota in 2002. Since that time, he has worked in a variety of positions, while also renovating the historic property that is now the site of two vacation rentals. Inn his spare time, he enjoys the many opportunities for outdoor adventure in northern Minnesota.

Shawn Callahan purchased this house in 2002

I built these vacation homes on our historic 13 acre homestead to provide a one-of-a-kind lodging option for the many travelers to this area.

34 Reviews of Property 957749 in Biwabik, Minnesota

Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
5

Pepsi challenge weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
absolutely beautiful home with incredible attention to detail.
really enjoyed meeting Shawn and finding more about the property.
A true gem for a rental.
Would love to come up in the summer for some biking.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
5

Incredibly beautiful, inside and out, with perfect service to boot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our second stay at Green Gate. We wanted to be near the Giant's Ridge facilities for biking, skiing, etc, so we chose this elegant and private property to enjoy our stay--and we were glad! The owner, Shawn, is on-site (or nearby) at all times and is totally committed to 5-star customer service. For example, I asked for a bread loaf pan to bake bread and he delivered one within minutes. I texted him, asking for more fresh eggs for breakfast and "bam!" he brought some over. We asked for directions to bike trails and ski trails and Shawn gave plenty of useful info. He even let our kids feed the chickens!

The house--(barn, really)--is an AMAZING work of art. The craftmanship is unlike anything I've ever seen. It's totally comfortable and environmentally responsible at the same time--a tough combo to achieve! There is a delightful selection of reading materials on site, from the vintage to current, plus wi-fi and Direct TV. The property is flush with abundant natural beauty, perfect for both casual strolls through the woods and more serious athletic endeavors.

We visited once with two adults and two kids, and another time with grandparents, one adult and two kids. The kids were thrilled with the property as it provides that "just play in nature" experience. One should note that the walls between the bedrooms don't go all the way to the ceiling. This gives lots of light and airflow but does not provide a sound-proof bedroom. That said, it's hard to decide whether to spend your time inside or out--both are so gorgeous--so we were all somewhat dispersed for much of the day.

We love going to Duluth, but heading up to Green Gate is just a bit farther and well worth it to get away from the city. There's an unmistakable, inherent tranquility at Green Gate that one comes to miss.

We didn't want to leave and we can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
5

Our "Little Barn" in the woods

Our "Little Barn" in the woods
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We planned a long President's weekend in Biwabik to take our children skiing at Giant's Ridge and were so thrilled to find the Green Gate guesthouse on VRBO. The "barn" was exactly the unique and exciting location we were hoping to find for our kids. We told them we were staying in a barn and they didn't believe us. So imagine their surprise when we pulled up and there stood our "Little Barn" in the woods. We were so impressed by how well-kept and clean the property was and how much thought Shawn has put into the details of hosting guests. From farm-fresh eggs and healthy snacks, to a well-stocked kitchen including spices and condiments, every open cabinet and door provided a welcome surprise. The kids had fun exploring and playing inside the barn and we made several family snowshoe treks down to the river and around the property (snowshoes provided by Green Gate). The built-in eating area was a great family-gathering spot for meals and for playing the games and doing puzzles that we found in another cabinet! It snowed more than 10 inches on our last day and rather than battle the blizzard, Shawn offered us a half-price night and we stayed to ski amazing powder and spend one more cozy night in our new "barn away from home." We created such great memories thanks to Green Gate Guesthouse and can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
5

green barn

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The "green barn" is an amazing place to stay. The accomodations are amazing, with lots of little extras. (spices for cooking, cocoa, coffee, tea, etc....). And your host Shawn is super accomodating. would recommend this to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Coon rapids,MN
5

Nice getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I wanted to get away from the city and relax for a long weekend. Nice distance not to far away and very private. The barn is very unique, cozy and inviting. Has all the amenities of home, sleep number queen bed with muslin sheets was very comfortable, large screen TV was enjoyed by my husband. We enjoyed the free range brown chicken eggs in the refridg. My favorite was the heated floor, no cold feet and the lighted stair case. We enjoyed daily hikes on the Mesabi trail that was covered with a fresh blanket of snow. We also made our way down the stairs behind the barn to get a closer look at the streaming water. Shawn did a wonderful job on the property and we marveled at his ingenuity to make everything Eco friendly. We will be back to enjoy the summer or fall sights. Scott & Nancy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN, USA
5

Incredible Escape With All the Comforts of Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We hosted our in-laws to Minnesota and they were set on seeing both Lake Itasca, as well as Lake Superior. Given that those are on opposite sides of the state, an overnight stay in northern MN was in order. The Green Gate Barn could not have been a more perfect location, and we were sad to only be able to stay one night! You will not believe how incredibly the interior has been re-done by Shawn, the owner. Everything is so detailed, comfortable and mixes old and modern together. You will have to ask him to tell the stories of all the buildings!

The kitchen has all of the amenities that you might need for a weekend culinary escape. And if you don't plan to cook, there are a few snacks and goodies kindly provided by the hosts. The 2 bedrooms in the barn were so comfortable and had really neat artifacts from the nearby town, Biwabik. One thing that may be helpful to know (but didn't cause any issue for us) is that the ceiling area between the 2 bedrooms is open--loft style. Again--no problems for us. It's hard to pick, but my favorite part of the barn is honestly the COUCH! I just sunk into it and was very sad to have to get up :).

Shawn gave us lots of suggestions of dinner locations in the area, and we ended up having some great Jamaican food (who knew?). The property is located literally across the street (in the best way possible) from a huge Ski/Golf Resort, which would make for easy equipment rental if you wanted to cross-country ski/snowshoe.

We have jokingly claimed this property as "our cabin" a la Minnesotans, and we definitely intend to return! Cant wait to hunker down, snooze on that couch, and explore the river on skis! Couldn't recommend this any more! Must stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Minneapolis
5

Great get away weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved our stay at Green Gate for our girls weekend. Shawn covers the details in the barn guest house, from the amazing construction to the spices in the kitchen and historic information about the area. Arriving to a campfire in the fire pit with a fresh snowfall was incredibly welcoming. Great hiking at Giants Ridge and walking on the trail next to Green Gate. We enjoyed lounging in the beautiful space and cooking in the kitchen too. Thanks Shawn for creating a special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
St. Paul
5

Amazing, one-of-a-kind stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our stay in the barn home was amazing. The interior of the barn is incredible, gorgeous and so much fun to just study. The kitchen had everything we needed and the rest of the house was stocked with amenities that made us feel completely taken care of. The furniture in the living room was so comfortable and perfect for sinking into for a lazy afternoon. The automatic lights on the stairway never cease to amaze us and the Sleep Number bed in our room was well-appreciated. Shawn stayed in text contact (perfect for a phone-phobe like me!) and stopped by to make sure we had everything we needed, offer suggestions for outings and volunteer some fresh eggs. The stairs/walkway down to the river made for an easy trek and we were able to pick up the local bike trail right from the property.

The only thing that I might note is that the upper walls of the bedrooms are open to each other and the rest of the barn (part of the green heating/cooling, I'm guessing?) so it requires a little bit more quiet after the first person has gone to bed and a little bit less sleeping in after the first person has gotten up.

Still, we'd all highly recommend the location without reservation and definitely hope to be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Duluth, MN
5

The Green Gate Barn Home is dreamy, to say the least!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were completely blown away by how amazing this property is. It has to be one of the most unique, beautiful, creative and cool places to stay in Minnesota. Shawn has meticulously made a barn into a top-of-the line, eco-friendly and stylish retreat.

The kitchen and bathroom are thoughtfully stocked with detail, the land around it is a woodsy paradise, it was comfy, cool–we didn't want to leave! What a gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Unique Barn Home Next to Giants Ridge Recreation Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p957749
+1 2182902607
Biwabik Minnesota
Larchwood, Iowa
5

Scott and Katy - Larchwood, Iowa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our stay at the Green Gate was terrific and perfect! It's in a great location, tucked away in the woods, just far enough from a busy highway, but still close to the resort and town. It's also close to a river and bike trail, if that's the kind of adventure you're looking for. Shawn has done an amazing job renovating the two historic buildings. He's incorporated all the modern conveniences guests appreciate and expect, while preserving the rustic, historic integrity of the structures. The property is well maintained and spacious, allowing guests to have plenty of their own space. Funny story, our group was playing croquet. It got dark on us as we finished our last game, so we were in a hurry to put away our game. By accident, we left one of our croquet balls behind in the lawn. We didn't notice it was missing as we hadn't used the game since our trip to Minnesota. One day, we got a package in the mail at home. It was our missing black croquet ball that Shawn had found and returned. Not that's EXTREME customer service!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway