Lake Algonquin - Wells house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms plus loft bed, bath and a half, sleeps 5 adults, Wi-Fi, Cable

Welcome to Whispering Pines Wells with its own private association beach that is just a three minute walk away.

This is a four season getaway retreat that was outfitted and furnished with the vacationer in mind. The first floor has a fully equipped modern kitchen and dining area, a living room with flat screen tv and a freestanding gas fireplace, a bedroom with a new Queen size bed and a bathroom with a tub and a shower, as well as a washer and dryer.

The upper level has a loft area with a twin bed and a desk, and a master bedroom that features a queen size bed. There is also a half bath.

A large front deck and a screen porch adds outdoor living space in the warmer months & has a porch glider, adirondack chairs and a patio table.

There is a fire pit for your evening enjoyment. A gas grill is also available for you to use.

Why drive for hours when a great vacation is so close? Whispering Pines Wells is a short drive from most anywhere.

In the winter months, it is only 20 minutes to Lapland Lakes cross-country skiing and 40 minutes to Gore Mountain. In the summer and fall, there are many hikes in the area to waterfalls, mountain tops and the Northville-Lake Placid Trail. A great bike ride is the 3.5 mile loop around the lake and through the town. In the spring, you can go fishing in the lake or one of many nearby rivers.

Inside Whispering Pines you will find wifi, cable, a blu-ray player with Netflix and Pandora, books, games and puzzles and an iPod speaker. There is a fully outfitted kitchen with a k-cup coffee maker, crock pot and a blender. Outside there is a large flat yard, hammock and chairs, two kayaks, a 15' canoe and a Sunfish sailboat, with all the accessories. There are carts for transporting the watercraft the short two minute trip to the launching area.

We enjoy the Southern Adirondacks and have been vacationing in this area since we were children. For a long time, it has been a dream of ours to own a home on a lake and in the mountains. Our hope is to share our good fortune with families like you, who want to enjoy the fun and excitement of Lake Algonquin and all the magic that this region offers, but then want to retreat to the whispering pines, to reflect on the day, and dream about tomorrow.

Let us be your hosts for your next vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 956214 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

OUTSTANDING!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This place was perfect. My friends and I were looking for a getaway from NYC and we couldn't have asked for a better cabin to stay in. It was nice/new, spacious for five people, and the decor was bear-themed! The place was even better than the description, and it was a lovely weekend!
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Super Cute! We loved staying here.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Paul and Monica were wonderful. The house had everything we needed, and it was the perfect place to spend the holidays!
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Beautiful, just like the pictures

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We recently spent 3 nights in this beautiful log home, along with our toddler and my husband's parents. It looks beautiful and comfortable in the pictures, and it has the same feeling in real life (this isn't always the case!) The kitchen is spacious and well-appointed, including a fresh sponge for our dish-washing and counter cleaning needs. It was nice to see a few condiments in the fridge, too, because we didn't buy everything we needed, as we were just staying for a few days.

The bedrooms and loft bed area were beautiful and comfortable. The d├ęcor all fits together to create a very pleasant atmosphere. It was very convenient to have a 1/2 bath upstairs.

The stairs are quite steep, which was a bit of a worry with our toddler, but we managed to keep him safe. The owners have stuffed animals and books for kids, and our little guy had a great time exploring and making "friends" in the house. All in all, it was quite child-proof.

The neighborhood, at least at this time of year, is very quiet. Being there felt like an escape from the hectic pace of the East Coast. We took many walks around the neighborhood, and for the most part, the neighbors were friendly. The neighbors near the boat launch were quite rude, unfortunately, so stay away from that area if possible. Plenty of other places to spend your time around the peaceful lake.

It was wonderful to have access to the canoe and kayaks! The wheeled contraption made it fairly easy to transport the boats to the water, and once I started paddling, I felt calmer than I have in months. I had a great time admiring the reflection of autumn leaves on the water, and traveling slowly along the shoreline. I was the only person on the whole lake!

In review, the cabin is very clean, comfortable, cozy, well-appointed and well-stocked. We'd stay there again. Thanks, Paul and Monica!
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Heavenly beautiful perfect vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
As soon as we stepped inside, our reaction was "oh my God !" what a beautiful house. We felt we were in dreamland. Beautiful cozy house with magnificent decoration. Everything was placed in such an order that we felt homely in no time. Everyone including our 3 yr. old and 62 yr. mom fell in love with the place. Paul and Monica were extremely responsive starting from the inquiry, reservation, during stay and even after we left the place. It was pleasure to communicate with Paul and Monica. They provided valuable information regarding various events and places around the town and we took full advantage of that which made our vacation more enjoyable cutting down research time. The lake is just across the street which makes it an ideal place for relaxation. Everyone found their most favorite spot in the house i.e. my mom love gas fire place, our 3 yr old loved rocking and reclining hugging stuffed bear bigger than her in size watching family movies on ABCFamily channel. Every single equipments in the house is high-end (Bose sound bar and Logitech Harmony 650 universal remote just for e.g.). We all felt sad leaving the place and going back to our own home and that feelings tells much more than everything I have written. We are missing it even after coming back.
Thanks Paul and Monica for sharing your paradise with us as we truly enjoyed and we are looking forward to come back again next year.
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Thorndale, PA
5

Wonderful cottage!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We just came back from a week long vacation in Wells. Paul and Monica's cottage is the place to go. It was clean, comfortable with lots of amenities. We were able to enjoy the canoe and kayaks on the lake directly across the street.
The kitchen was well supplied with everything we needed to cook our meals. It even had a rack of spices and a sample of k cups available for our use!
The screened in porch was lovely...a great place to read a book on the glider or work a puzzle.
Paul and Monica were quick to respond to all our questions and needs.
We hated to see our week come to an end. Hope to go back!
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
United States
5

Memorial Day in Wells

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We (two couples from Brooklyn) just spent a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Paul and Monica's lovely vacation home in Wells. The house is comfortable, clean and well-equipped and the location is gorgeous. We cooked all our meals, used the kayaks and canoe and roasted marshmallows in their fire pit. We loved the place and the hospitality, and will definitely try to come back to Wells!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We would love to have you come back! We rented for many years on our vacations, and know what features we loved, and so we try to offer our guests similar opportunities that will make their stay memorable.
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
4

Fantastic home away from the city!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My friends and I drove up from New York City for the Thanksgiving weekend. We were recommended this place by someone else who also owns a home nearby. She said that Paul and Monica's place would be a better fit for a group our size.

We fell in love with the place instantly. It was gorgeous and right by the lake. The house was fantastic. It is fully furnished and had pretty much every amenity that I can think of - plenty of silverware, coffee machine, dishwasher, microwave, tv, dvd player, iPod dock etc. It was clean, well lit, had a fully stocked kitchen, a comfortable and homely feel to it. They even had a bunch of jigsaw puzzles in the toy room.

The home sleeps 5 people comfortably - 2 in the master bedroom, 2 in the bedroom on the lower level, and 1 on the twin bed in the loft.

It was pretty cold when we were there, so we didn't get to explore the lake/beach area much. But there was a canoe, shed full of tors and an outdoor grill available for our use. The TV is kinda tiny given the size of the living room, but I wouldn't except anyone to really be looking to watch TV on a vacation anyway!

The town of Wells is very tiny and there's not much to do around there. So as long as you're willing to venture out to the neighboring towns, you should be okay wrt food/restaurants. Plenty of outdoorsy stuff to do. I can only imagine how amazing the place will be in the summer.

Paul and Monica were amazing hosts. They were prompt in responding to emails and answered all our questions.

I would definitely recommend this place for a weekend getaway or an even longer trip.
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Fully loaded and away from it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
AN outstanding house with all things needed, nice quiet location, quaint town, not the hurried bustle of some other popular adirondack towns. House was immaculate when we arrived, with detailed instructions for locating all items. Ceilings fans really cooled the house during a very hot week. Those kayak wheelies are the cats meow! Nice fire pit. We will certainly be back next year! Thank you so much for a beautiful vacation! Best
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
4

Wonderful, relaxing vacation in a beautiful home.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed our trip here immensely. The home was beyond our expectations. Everything we needed to make our vacation a great one! The town has very little to offer in conveniences however the bigger towns were not a bad drive away.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Vacation Home w/ Lake Rights - Family Friendly, Three Minute Walk to Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p956214
+1 518 346-5403
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

GREAT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a nice place!

We had a wonderful weekend in this cozy house. All amenities are included to spend a good time: canoe, fishing poles, BBQ, etc.

And the deck is amazing to have breakfast.
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review! Every time we go to our retreat, we always try to do one more project to add enjoyment for our guests. This weekend we added two full view storm doors to bring the outdoors "in" and add more of a breeze from the beautiful pines! I love this new addition! Also, my husband and his best friend constructed a fire pit for roasting marshmallows and enjoying a fire under the stars------another cozy addition! This fall we have plans for a screened in porch on the Park Road side of our retreat. We are always thinking how to make everyone's stay more enjoyable. There is nothing more wonderful then hearing that our guests have had a super time! We look forward to having you return----you are always welcome!
Monica and Paul