Castelnuovo Berardenga villa rental - Il Prato with Club Montecchio's complimentary cocktail tray.
Il Prato with Club Montecchio's complimentary cocktail tray.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Castelnuovo Berardenga Villa Rental Photos and Description
Villa on private estate with 2 Luxury vacation homes, lge pool, Siena views, .

WHY A 'CLUB'?

Mainly because this area has so much to offer and we hope guests will want to visit more than once. But also because what we offer is much more than a conventional 'self catering' rental. Our 'FULLY INCLUSIVE' weekly RATES cover: a generous WELCOME HAMPER of speciality foods & wines from top quality local suppliers, PLUS as much FREE Montecchio HOUSE WINE as you wish, throughout your stay. 'New For 2013' our FREE COCKTAIL TRAY of branded spirits and local liqueurs such as Limoncello. Complimentary CONCIERGE SERVICE provided by local hoteliers, who help with everything from booking restaurants, to fixing a cookery class or even a massage, onsite at Montecchio! ; ALL ENERGY COSTS - very expensive in Italy! ; all linens & towels(inc pool) with cleaning and change of linens every 3-4 days, and at end of stay; continuous supply of Fragonard bathroom toiletries and daily consumables (everything from dishwasher tablets to Montecchio's own Olive Oil!). Baby Cots/Cribs with linens, and High chairs, where required. Indoor & Outdoor Games, as well as Pool Toys for the Large Pool (19m x 6m , shared, open 01/05-31/09); DVD, Video & CD libraries offering a wide choice; FREE WiFi in all houses.

The result, we think, is 2 Comfortable Vacation Villas, that really feel like 'Home From Home', from the moment that you walk through the front door. We hope that you will be tempted to come and judge for yourselves!

Details for Il Prato 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 2 Bathrooms

A spacious Two Bedroom north-facing house with spectacular views across the Chianti hills and the hilltop village of Montebenichi. Sleeps 4. *Large wrought iron four-poster Double with en suite full bathroom(shower over bath). *Twin with iron bedsteads and en suite full shower room *Ground floor lounge through to kitchen-dining room,with Tuscan style kitchen *Sofa bed in lounge(use agreed in advance; supplement charged) *Utility room with washing machine,ironing board & safe *Terrace has natural shade for much of the day *Hammock under trees in privacy of garden
More Details
Hide Details

Montecchio is home in Tuscany to James and Penny Benfield, where we spend half of the year, and which we enjoy sharing with guests.

We had the great good fortune to 'fall over' the best spot on the beautiful Villa Arceno wine estate, when contemplating the right place for a vacation home. After 30 years of living in Central London, and spoilt by a jet set corporate lifestyle with lots of travel, we needed something exceptional, in beautiful setting, away from the developed centres of tourism.

James Benfield purchased this villa in 1998

Because it's a 'little piece of paradise' :

- off the tourist track,

- in a stunning location on a hilltop, with the breathtaking scenery of the Chianti hills on all sides,

- in the countryside, but surrounded by picturesque villages, and just 20 minutes from the Renaissance gem of Siena,

- and most important for 'foodies', the area offers a wealth of good restaurants & quality wineries.

HOME FROM HOME standards of comfort and luxury.

Because we controlled the renovation of the large Tuscan farmhouse from the very beginning, we were able to develop the property with the emphasis on privacy. As a result, Montecchio is made up of PROPER HOUSES, and NOT APARTMENTS, as would be the norm in Italy. Each house has a separate outlook, private garden, and segregated parking pergola.

Both rental houses were designed and furnished in the same style as our own place, filled with pieces of art & furniture from our own collections, and the kitchens equipped to professional standards.

The result, we think, is two comfortable Vacation Villas, that feel like 'Home from Home', from the moment that you walk through the front door.

All this plus the owners' in-depth knowledge of the area, and it's amenities, with the 'inside track' on everything on which local retaurants are 'hot' currently, to where to park safely & legally in Florence|!

49 Reviews of Property 95620 in Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy

Il Prato
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We arrived on a sunny afternoon at Club Montecchio on Novemver 16th. The location is very nice and everthing inside and outside the house in a very well-kept shape. The house is very well equiped. The owners have shown a very good taste chosing furnitures and decoration for the house. The welcome package (with lecker, sorry yummy, food from the region) The house bar and the house wine and the good service from the house keeping team during our stay were other highlights . The region has somany nice things to see like the Siena, Greve etc and so many good tavernas and restaurants where you will forget time ans space and just enjoy on these nice dishes.
We will be back in 2014.
Thanks to Penny and James!

Michael Scholz, Düsseldorf, Germay
Owner's Response: Michael's comments about the area really capture the essence of what Chianti offers travellers who love gret food & good wine in relaxed settings. That was a big part of what brought us here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Montecchio was a vacation I'll never forget

Montecchio was a vacation I'll never forget
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The villa was how I imagined living in Tuscany. A private drive to our villa with breathtaking views. A sunrise every morning that can't be captured in a photo, although I tried. The interior of our three-bedroom villa was designed and furnished with such Tuscan style and quality...more than we ever expected. The photos and copy on the Home Away website just can't capture the beauty. The villa is stocked with so much complementary food, wine and branded liquors. We arrived hungry and tired and we didn't have to think about finding a local restaurant, we had so much cheese, fresh bread and pasta and on and on. The owners are so cordial and caring. They made us feel so welcome. All of the restaurant recommended by the owners were excellent and nearby. Information, maps and reviews of many towns nearby were very helpful. Housekeeping and concierge service were always available and very helpful. I can go on and on, but I'll just stop here.
Owner's Response: We confess that it is lovely to read this review, as Charles F is a professional man, and he and his wife have a rental place of their own, so we felt some pressure, especially as we were not "in residence". However, we clearly did not need to worry, as our wonderful housekeeper(full time), and the hotelier friend who provides our complimentary Concierge service did us proud. Thank you ladies, as ever!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

A home from home in the Tuscan countryside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
James and the team made our holiday an absolute dream and I would certainly return. My wife and I and our two young children spent a week in the villa surrounded by the gorgeous countryside and quiet space. The hamper of food and frequent support from the team on site, made for quality time which enabled us to quickly recharge the batteries. There is a high of degree of finish and the villa is well stocked and every detail has been thought off.
Owner's Response: We love having families at Montecchio, and it is a joy to read that everyone had a good time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Tuscan Treat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a wonderful treat staying in Il Prato, at Casale Montecchio was. We were warmly greeted by Christina who showed us where everything was and told us what we needed to know.
An enormous welcome hamper, which included Prosecco, wines, beers, biscotti, pan forte, pecorino cheese, prosciutto, pasta sauce, olive oil, bread and much much more, was enticingly placed on the kitchen bench.
The rooms were beautifully furnished and impeccably clean. Better than displayed in the website photos. The kitchen is superbly equipped for the home chef, including beautiful crockery. Homely touches such as travel guides, cook books, CD's, videos and board games are appreciated when you just wish to kick back with a nice drink from the complimentary cocktail bar. The Disarronno amaretto was a real hit as was the coffee machine and the house wines.
A few of our travelling trip braved the pool, which was enormous, although it had cooled down a bit.
Relaxing in the hammock or on the sun lounges under the Tuscan sun in beautiful gardens...what more could you want?
It was lovely to meet the owners, James and Penny. It was especially lovely meeting Abbie, our four legged kitchen assistant who came through the hedge to help us out :)
Thank you James for your professionalism in all your dealings with us. Especially the follow up call after we had departed. We will definitely be recommending your property to all our friends back here in Australia.
Thanks also for the recommendation to Bottega del 30 restaurant. Amazing food and meeting Helene was a real treat.
We hope to return to your property again soon.
Owner's Response: Wow, this is such a nice review to read ! I only hope we can continue to please guests as much as we seem to have done for Robyn and group. They were such charming visitors, who really made the most of their time with us, by finding a good balance between sight seeing(we are in a very good central location for getting around), and just enjoying Montecchio's spectacular location in a private vineyard, in the Chianti hills. Bottega del 30, the Michelin starred restaurant that is mentioned, is just 8 minutes away..............we are truly spoilt!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Fabulous villa in Tuscany!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This villa couldn't have been more lovely. The unit was part of a larger building with accommodations for the owners and other guests. The villa was beautifully designed and furnished. We were two couples and the accommodation was perfect for us. Each unit had a very private yard to itself for eating or lounging on the patio. We spent a week enjoying the villa, and traveling about the area in our rental car. The villa is well situated for visiting wineries, restaurants, and historical sites. We cannot recommend this villa highly enough. The included food, wine and liquor that was there for us on arrival was an added bonus to what was an outstanding vacation rental.
Owner's Response: Teresa and her family were a delight to have as guests, arriving with a plan to maximise their time, and taking the opportunity to explore the area tot he full.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Truly owners who care!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
It would be hard to write adequate superlatives about this property. Forget the fact it is in a stunning location (albeit remote down a long gravel road). In the morning the views out the window of the mist hanging overly the vineyards in the valley are worth the trip alone. And the visible stars at night in the pitch black sky are uncountable. But it is the accommodations inside that shine. Everything is in impeccable condition. And the owners have outfitted it as they must have their own home. If you like to cook we can say you will enjoy the excellent kitchenware and certainly the generous foodstuffs placed in the fridge and pantry. (I wish I had bought some of the biscotti placed in the kitchen from the local bakery since they were the best we have eaten in Italy.) There were actually three ways to make coffee! The outdoors even had a grill and charcoal (of course with starters and matches) that we used to enjoy steak Florentine having bought great aged steaks from the local butcher. There was even a fresh herb garden. We traveled with our 18 month grandson who was always glad to be able to run around on the manicured lawn and play with the stones on the gravel path leading to the house. It would be impossible to find fault with this property and we hope the Benfelds continue for many as the owners. It shows both their style and graciousness. Hope this review doesn't make it impossible to return!
Owner's Response: We put great store by detail - the little things that guests should not have to worry about(flashlights by the bed, nightlights in bathrooms, pencils & notepads etc), so it is rewarding when our clients notice. Alan and his wife also rental property owners, so they are good judges for what we do!
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Vintage chianti

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I enjoyed a memorable week in Tuscany at Club Montecchio, L'Oliveto. The accomadations exceeded my expectations. Montecchio was a lovely and relaxing retreat to savor after a hard day touring Siena, Florence and many little towns in between. We made great use of the well equipped and well stocked kitchen, and enjoyed our daily wine ration immensely. I tip my hat to James and Penny.
Owner's Response: It is good to read Tim's review, as Penny & I had to leave for our other home(in the UK) the morning after his party arrived, and we always worry if we are not around, whether our guest are being properly looked after. Hence it is reassuring to know that Cristina, our housekeeper, and Rita who look after Concierge, were on their usual good form!
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Perfect country retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Il Prato at Montecchio was the perfect country retreat for our recent trip to Tuscany. James and Penny we exceptional hosts, truly accommodating, friendly, and invested in their guests having a wonderful stay. James even called a local chef who opened his restaurant just for our dinner - what a special evening to share with our family. We highly recommend Casale Montecchio!
Owner's Response: Sarah and family arrived with a plan for maximising their time in Tuscany, which is always a good starting point. From there it was a real pleasure to add just s few touches to bring in local colour. It is good to read that they enjoyed their time with us.
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We are quite fussy when it comes to holiday properties - but James and Penny really have provided everything you coud possibly need. A well stocked kitchen, local wines, cook books, good beds and decent towels. All the nice things you have in your own home basically. We hate staying in a place that looks good in the pictures but turns out to have nothing more than a basic Ikea fit out. This is the exact opposite.

We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the local restaurants. August is busy in Tuscany, with the tourist spots filling up early in the day, but this area is surrounded by better places to eat and its own stunning scenary - while still being close to the hot spots of Sienna etc.
Owner's Response: Richard and family were quite evidently experienced travellers, with informed comment and feedback on the Villa, and it's amenities, ans well as the surrounding area. Naturally, therefore, it is pleasing to read that they were happy with their time with us!
business
Il Prato
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95620
+44 7879476002
Castelnuovo Berardenga Chianti Senese
5

Ein wunderschönes Haus für wunderbare Ferien

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Die vielen sehr positiven Bewertungen beschreiben genau, was den Urlauber erwartet: ein wunderschönes Haus mit zugleich liebevoller und perfekter Ausstattung. Ein wirklich großer Pool mit einem herrlichen Blick über die Landschaft. Besonders mochten wir auch die Restaurantempfehlungen in Villa a Sesta. Alles in allem: ein wunderschönes Haus für wunderbare Ferien. Wir kommen sicherlich wieder!
Owner's Response: Es war ein Vergnuegen Die Famile Dormann bei uns zu haben. Es macht immer Freude wenn wir Besucher von Europa bekommen.