Keaau house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Keaau House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Enter the magnificent Royal Palm lined drive and experience Big Island history. Enjoy the unique atmosphere of a one of a kind guest-house located in this Historic Plantation Estate.

The history dates back centuries to the legend of the Hawaiian Princess La'ieikawaii hiding in the place known as Paliuli. Later King Lunalilo, the most liberal king in Hawaiian history, became the owner of the grounds. In 1898, the local sugar plantation owners build this beautiful residence and its guest house (ohana).

This guest-house has been completely and tastefully restored. The floors and walls are still preserved in the original 100-year-old red wood and it has been refurbished with new tropical island and teak furnishing. It features two twin master bedrooms, both with queen-sized beds, with wood and marble bathrooms and ocean views. It also includes a fully equipped kitchen with new appliances. The living room is equipped with Cable TV and Wireless High Speed Internet.

From the verandah you enjoy the expanse of a large front lawn with the swimming pool and a view of the Pacific Ocean in the distance.

The guest house sleeps four adults and it is not well suited for young children. Situated on what were originally landscaped as botanical gardens, the guest-house is surrounded by 9.25 acres of lush tropical grounds with flowers (orchids, ginger blossoms, magnolias, plumerias etc.), fruit trees, rare plants and trees. Hawaii’s largest Banyan tree and Elephant Ear trees are dwarfing the house and lawn.

Centrally located on the east side of the Big Island, the Historic Plantation Estate is convenient to Hilo, Kilauea Volcano National Park, the snowy summit of the Mauna Kea observatories, Onizuka Center for International Astronomy, black sand beaches, tropical gardens, waterfalls, warm water ponds, hiking, the historical villages of Kea'au, Pahoa and Kapoho area with it's wonderful snorkeling spots.

The Main House, nineteenth century Queen Anne architecture, dates back to 1898 and has been used in many photography sessions for movies, recordings, magazines, books and commercials.

After the plantation sold it in the early 1980, the property fell in disrepair until the present owners acquired it and worked for several years to restore it to its original beauty.

The Estate is centrally located, right behind Keaau Shopping Center and the Keaau farmers market. It is very convenient to Hilo shopping centers, downtown shops and the Hilo farmers market.

It is not far from Hilo downtown (7 minutes), Rainbow falls(10 minutes), Hilo beaches (10 minutes);

The distance to the historical village of Pahoa and Kapoho area with it's wonderful snorkeling spots, black sand beaches, warm water ponds, hiking, excursions to the lava flows, is 30 to 40 minutes;

To Hawaii Volcanoes National Park it is 30 minutes, to the snowy summits of Mauna Kea and its observatories about one hour.

It is also ideal for those who just need peace and quiet and want to enjoy absolute privacy and just take walks through the beautiful landscaped and jungle areas of this 9,5 acre property like in the mango forest with the remains of its ancient heiau or under the huge Banyan tree.

For those who love hiking, visit one of the nearby gems of Puna, Ha’ena Beach, with its beautiful soft white and black sand, its turtles and watch the humpback whales from January to March.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 95530 in Keaau, Hawaii

Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
-
5

Would return in a heart beat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is not just an address this is HOME.

The owners spent 15 years restoring what would have been lost and in its present state this plantation Estate is probably more beautiful than it was even in its history.

The basics are all entirely there…comfort, utility, fully stocked & very clean.

What needs mentioning is taste, very thoughtful restoration, a peace and a welcome that is just as good as it ever ever gets, These are lovely people we won't forget.

By living in the cottage you can daydream about an imagined past. The high vaulted ceilings & expansive windows bring the outside in & you are surrounded by the lush tropical gardens & spacious estate. Swimming in the unique pool its like you've found your grannies “infinity” rain barrel back…. if she ever had one.

The chickens who are so beautiful, that you can only call them designer chickens, run happily to get your veggie peelings. Gisella brought us fresh eggs among other treats.

You are within a short driving distance of the many treasures of the Puna district where you can still find the old Hawaii.

Go here in a wink and we’ve shared the address with all our friends as something magic. Book way ahead!
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Murfreesboro, TN
5

Affordable elegance in a unique setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Do you wish you could stay in one of the historic B&B's in the area, but can't quite stomach the higher price for just one room? Do you wish you could stay in an elegant and comfortable space, but wish that the choices were more affordable? Then this ohana is a dream come true!

This property is unique and you will NOT regret booking your stay here. Entering through the estate gates, you are greeted with a long palm tree lined driveway that takes you directly to the parking area at the main house. To get to the ohana cottage, you pass the salt water swimming pool that is reserved for your personal use during your stay. There is just enough distance from the main house to offer a feeling of privacy and seclusion.

Opening the cottage door, you are immediately calmed by the wonderful smell of fresh tropical flowers that Gisella has cut and arranged for you. The main room has comfortable seating, a dining area, and a full size kitchen. On either side of the main room are equally large en suite master bedrooms with large bathrooms. (Just because it has history doesn't mean you don't have modern conveniences!) Ceiling fans, combined with the high ceilings and many windows keep the cottage comfortably cool-- they knew how to build for the climate back in the 1890s! The pictures that were posted here only hint at how wonderful the cottage truly is.

The location in Kea'au is quite convenient, with Hilo being less than 10 miles away. You can quickly reach all the restaurants and sights that are in Hilo, and Volcano and Pahoa are not that far away either.

Gisella is a gracious and friendly host who works hard at keeping the grounds beautiful. It is so relaxing to sit out on the front lanai and look out over the expansive lawn of the estate and enjoy the beauty.

I had always dreamed of staying in a historical place like this, but was afraid that I would never be able to due to the usual cost of such locations. I was so happy to find this, because it is half the price of other similar places, PLUS instead of just a bedroom and bathroom, you get two beds and baths AND a full kitchen. Mahalo nui loa, Gisella, for sharing your wonderful location with us! We definitely know where we want to stay the next time we're in Hilo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
California
5

Betty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My daughter took me to the Big Island for Merrie Monarch, the annual hula festival. We stayed at the most incredible place, this guest cottage is perfect in every way. Just a short walk down a brick path through the tropical grounds and you feel a million miles away. We loved the cottage, so clean and just like the pictures, beautifully and comfortably decorated with tropical flair. Having two master suites was perfect for us, one on each end of the house with their own private access. In the center is the living area, dining and kitchen all with open plan and amazing views. Gisella had put fresh ginger flowers in vases upon our arrival & the smell was amazing. She was there for anything we needed and extremely hospitable, we became fast friends. The location is so close to town yet when you are on the property you are surrounded by a tropical you only see an enormous banyan tree, tropicals flowers and lush vegetation. We ate on the lanai every day to take in the sights of huge private pool and the tropical jungle surrounding us. We were fortunate to get a tour of the main house which has been beautifully restored. Driving in down the palm tree line drive makes you realize you found paradise. I am recommending this to everyone I know! Being from Hawaii I can say there is no place like it! Don't miss out on the perfect place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
California
5

Debbie from California

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
A special ohana like no other! Experience a part of history at this magical ohana in the midst of a tropical botanical garden. Wow, we loved every minute of our stay. Coming here will soothe your soul, slow your heartbeat & awaken your senses. The grounds are extraordinary, filled with fruits and tropical flowers. The cottage is perfect in every way. Exactly as the pictures show, very comfortable and large bedrooms & baths. Thoughtfully decorated and filled with amenities, very well maintained. Very clean & a view out of every window. Gisella is incredibly gracious and hospitable and very helpful, anything you need , just ask. You can relax by the private pool surrounded by tropical wonder or rest with your feet up on the lanai taking in all the incredible views. I took a hike every morning and was amazed at the beauty. I took over a 1,000 pictures during my stay! Inside the guest house you will find everything you need, the kitchen even has a full size fridge and dishwasher, just bring your suitcase and a quick trip to the grocery store and you never have to leave. When you are there you feel as though you have stepped back in time and are a million miles away from civilization. I could literally just stay there and never leave but should you choose to venture out, shopping, farmers market, groceries, restaurants are just down the street. It's the perfect place to stay on the island. This is what Hawaii is all about, we didn't want to leave and we plan to return every chance we get. It exudes aloha!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Honolulu Hawaii
5

Wonderful Restful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This rental was really a wonderful vacation for us. The pool was very clean and the salt water made it feel very soft and nice. The house was great and the kitchen was very nice for the times we felt like cooking. Otherwise there are some restaurants and grocery stores just a mile down the road, and Hilo is only about 15-20 minutes away too. The property was beautiful to walk around on. We saw an 'io (Hawaiian Hawk) twice and spotted owls several times. The hostess Gisella is very attentive and nice and really made us feel welcome. Overall it was a serene, restful stay and we hope to go back again for another "staycation" (we live on Oahu).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Canada
5

Canadian Cohort

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed at the guest cottage for several days in Dec. & it is every bit as lovely & magical as the photos suggest. The cottage is immaculate & well stocked, the grounds beautiful & spacious, the owner charming & accommodating. We arrived to find exotic flowers in every room - a welcome touch.Volcano National Park, Zoo, Hilo, Mauna Kea, & other sites all within easy driving. Good base. Definitely recommend! Thank you Gisella for making our stay so memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
5

Everything Was Exceptional

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I spent the first two weeks of a month-long vacation here. Hawaii is considered a paradise, but unless you stay here with Gisella, you will not know the peace, harmony, and contentment that truly constitutes Paradise. Gisella is gracious and generous. She made sure we had everything we needed and far more than we expected. We enjoyed her hospitality very much. The guesthouse was very clean, very comfortable and very hard to leave at the end of our stay. The estate is within walking distance of Keeau's business district, but the noise and the pace of this century disappeared every time we returned. By the time I'd walked long the cobblestone path to the guesthouse, I couldn't hear anything but birdsong and I couldn't see anything but acres of orchards, lawns,and towering banyan trees. This VRBO is the perfect getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Portland, OR, USA
5

A charming and unique hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We spent six nights in the guest house with our two kids ages 9 and 7. They are good swimmers so we were comfortable with them using the pool on their own and they had a blast swimming out there, all day long if we let them. This was a great base for exploring Volcano, Puna, and Hilo, and getting a taste of this less-touristed side of the island. The house itself is in impeccable condition and tastefully furnished, and the owners have kept its 19th century charm and elegance. Being the east side of the island, it did rain most days, but usually in the night time. Only our arrival day and one other day saw significant rain during the day. Gisella is a gracious host and favored us with a tour of the main house, which is amazing and defies description. I'd strongly recommend this as an out of the way retreat for up to 4 adults, or a family with kids old enough to swim unsupervised.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Northern California
5

A Glimpse of Heaven in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What a perfect place to stay while visiting the Big Island! Usually, when we visit Hawaii, it takes a few days/nights to unwind from our busy schedules but not on this trip. That first night we slept like babies. This is the perfect location. From here you can easily walk to a market, take a trip into Hilo, explore local sites or just thoroughly relax and not have to leave at all. We took advantage of seeing as much as we could, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Volcano National Park, Farmer's markets, Parker Ranch, Imiloa Astronomy Center and the Merrie Monarch Festival. Relaxing by the pool with a cup of coffee and a good book or sitting on the front porch and visiting, time seems to stand still. The owners are amazing. They are there if you need anything but also allow you to feel like it is your home away from home. Listening to the sounds of rain, frogs, roosters in the morning and the "stillness" was definitely God's gift to us. One can drift off to sleep, on the most comfortable bed, and wake up to the sounds of nature. The photos do not do this property justice. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone who needed a centrally located base to sightsee anywhere on this side of the island or to anyone who wanted to get away from it all. It was definitely hard to leave. Not only did we enjoy our stay but made wonderful new friends. It will not be our last stay here. For those of you who want more than a hotel life and still enjoy all of the amenities of home, this is the place to go!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Ohana with Swimming Pool in Historic Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95530vb
+1 (808) 217-8982 (Hawaii, USA)
Keaau Puna District
Ireland/U.S.A
5

Heavenly Hawaii!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
How do we begin to tell you how special this property is and how wonderful our stay was!? Lets begin with the guest house....it was charming, beautiful, clean, well maintained, cosy yet spacious and true to the description! Upon our arrival and as we entered we could smell the sweetest scent of flowers (ginger, freshly picked) which had filled the entire living room, it felt like paradise and yet we still hadn't seen the property as it was nighttime! We Instantly felt at home and after a long journey were pleasantly surprised by the extreme comfort of the mattresses! It was always so nice to go to bed after a long day of activities, we got a great nights rest every single night! We enjoyed getting up early with the roosters and having breakfast on the lanai, which is overlooking the garden, banyan tree, main house and pool and surrounded by plants, flowers and trees! (It feels secluded and private but it isn't too far from the road, you also can't really see the ocean very well, but it doesn't take away from the beauty and tranquility of the property)! At times you are almost transported back to a much earlier time in history! After breakfast we usually took a walk around the property, taking in the wonderful sights, sounds and smells, and most of the time came back with some delicious, ripe, fresh, fruits of one kind or another, we happened to be there when the avocados were dripping from the trees everyday, they were definitely the best we've ever tasted! We enjoyed having a pool for a morning swim or to dip in when it was hot, it was such a peaceful experience, with the lovely birdsongs and tropical surroundings! We enjoyed Hilo and the surrounding areas tremendously! It's absolutely beautiful and as time seems to move slowly, it's truly relaxing! Gisella was so kind, warm, welcoming, accommodating and helpful, she even offered to let us pick some flowers for the memorial ceremony we were planning to have! We all felt that it was really hard to leave, we had really made ourselves at home in just 6 days! We have already recommended this place to family who may go to Hawaii and would do so to anyone traveling to this area! It was great value for money and the property was in a great location! We would definitely stay here again....in a heartbeat! Thank you Gisella for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3