Las Terrenas villa rental - swimming pool with submerged double bed - great for sunbathing!
swimming pool with submerged double bed - great for sunbathing!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Las Terrenas Villa Rental Photos and Description
Extensive poolside terraces and gardens-4 spacious bedrooms/4 ensuite bathrooms

Beautiful, spacious villa in small exclusive beachfront development with 24 hour security - located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. Complete tranquillity in beautiful, peaceful setting.

Owner's villa, very attractively furnished and decorated. Villa Céline is an original architect design of 250 m2 with private pool, featuring submerged double bed - great for relaxing and sunbathing. The living area opens on to extensive poolside terraces and wooden deck. There is also a covered terrace and barbecue.

Four large double bedrooms with natural 'cross ventilation' - all with private bathrooms and french doors opening on to charming balconies with garden views. Spacious, light bedrooms located on ground floor and first floor.

Dora, my popular housekeeper, can prepare meals upon request and also arrange for the local fisherman to bring freshly caught fish and lobsters to the garden gate.........

Las Terrenas, nestled in the Samana Peninsula, is a little corner of paradise with long white sandy beaches lined with coconut trees, a charming village, wonderful food and a warm welcome. Many excursions and activities are available in this area.

.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 95303 in Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 14 reviews
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Christmas in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Villa Celine was the perfect place for our Christmas family get-together. With 8 adults and a baby the house never felt small or cramped. We loved the layout and focus on the pool courtyard area and were thankful for the great sliding doors/windows that allowed us to admire the lighted pool at night while keeping the pesky bugs out. Jacques from AIC met and led us in from Las Terrenas which was necessary as it would be very hard to find if not. The house was impeccable (beautiful flower arrangements a lovely touch) and Dora was there with a smile and a delicious meal to greet us that first day. She also went shopping with me on Christmas Eve making sure I knew where everything was (and you can find everything you need in the town of Las Terrenas, including good cheese, baguettes and wine). She also found us delicious fresh lobsters that appeared on Christmas Day afternoon for supper! Dora is a gem.
The beach, just 3 minute walk away was idyllic and felt like our own private beach as we saw 4 people on it the whole week we were there. Long walks and delicious places to swim were found on it by the young folk.
Elaine could not have been more helpful in responding to all my emails and myriad of questions for information beforehand. There was a small problem with gas and water running out at one stage but it was promptly and seamlessly taken care of by Dora with minimal inconvenience to us. Our only complaint was that we couldn't have stayed longer... The pool was a huge plus, the large gas barbecue a great advantage for our big family evening meals (loved it that people cooking in the kitchen were not left out of conversations in the dining room with open air plan)
Must visits include: the waterfall at El Limon - make sure you get the name of the guide to take you from Elaine, and Playa Cosón a 20 minute ride away: the same white sand but spectacular waves to body surf on – and scrumptious fish and pina coladas in whole pineapples at the beach restaurant.
One suggestion: - if you can, try to arrive on a plane early enough to get your car and drive up to Las Terrenas directly from the airport. The road was not easy to find coming from our hotel in Santo Domingo despite good directions. Signs are few in DR! If not, we stayed at a very reasonable hotel our first night in the colonial district called Hotel Frances and it was fine.
If you are looking for a complete getaway, a place to kick back and enjoy yourself in a safe and beautiful environment...you
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Great house with access to a secluded beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Villa Celine is a lovely property. It is architecturally interesting and very pleasing to the eye. The two wings of the house frame the pool area and create a wonderfully relaxing place to sit and enjoy the great outdoors. There are eight chaise lounges for relaxing around the pool. The kitchen wing and living room feature French doors which, when opened, provide a wonderful open air space. The kitchen wing ends in a covered porch area with chaise lounges and a fully functioning gas grill. This is a nice area if you want to escape the heat of the day. The kitchen was well equipped. There were ample pots, pans, skillets, plates, serving dishes, and glasses. The dining table was ample and could easily accommodate 8 people. The kitchen features a cool water dispenser supplied by a 5 gallon plastic water jug. Replacement water jugs are readily available for nominal charge at every local colmado and gas station.
While the Villa Celine is only a short walk from the beach, it does not have a beach view. This is not really a negative as the lush scenery is also very relaxing and exotic. Once at the beach, there is a substantial covered area if you want to escape the sun for a while. The beach was almost always deserted. The cove is a very special place. It is protected by a reef so the water is very calm and clear. Because of its clarity and depth, it is also very warm in the winter. It is also shallow making it safe to go far from shore alone. There is very good snorkeling along the mangroves on the left side of the cove facing the sea, along the reef, and in the many holes in the cove. Many of these are teeming with fish. If you snorkel, take a camera. It is very unusual to be able to find this many fish a ten minute walk from the place you are staying.
The Villa Celine is about 15 minutes outside of Las Terrenas. The access road to the Villa Celine is off the road to El Limon. The access road (a little less than a mile long) is not paved and somewhat typical of Dominican secondary roads. One quickly got used to the road, and knew where to slow down to avoid rough areas. We used the road every day and had no problem with it.
Las Terrenas has a number of good restaurants easily accessible by car. Las Terrenas also has a good grocery store with fresh meats, chicken, seafood, and vegetables. The store has a good wine selection as well. There are several colmados nearby with lots of vegetables cheaper than the grocery store.
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that this guest enjoyed his stay at Villa Céline and also the memorable moments passed on the beach at Playa Estillero - easily accessed from the garden gate of the property, it is reached via a private path and just a couple of hundred metres walk. Villa Céline is "2nd line" at the small, exclusive beachfront residence (only 8 properties) which has 24/7 security. There is no road running along the beach so it's a vehicle free zone and very peaceful..........great for snorkelling, swimming and walking. Upon arriving at the headland of Playa Estillero, to the right of the bay, the beach continues and it's possible to walk, uninterrupted, for miles amidst spectacular scenery (maybe taking an occasional dip in the warm sea!). Horseback trips can be arranged along these beaches.In addition, there are horseback trips to the nearby waterfall at El Limon - well worth a visit. It can also be organised for a local fisherman to bring his fresh catch to the garden gate of Villa Céline - many guests enjoy his lobsters, in particular, during their stay. Dora, my housekeeper, is available to prepare meals upon request - a popular service.

It was a pleasure to be able to assist this guest with the planning of their vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Best holiday & very beautiful home!

Best holiday & very beautiful home!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our holiday got off to a good start when we met Michel at AIC office in town-he was very helpful and welcoming. He escorted us to the house and helped us settle in. He also gave us some local recommendations which were very useful.

Upon our arrival at Villa Céline we were very impressed as everything appeared so much better than the photographs and descriptions had portrayed.
Dora the housekeeper made us some tasty local meals, always with a smile and kept the house spotlessly clean.
We had planned to get out and about a lot more than we actually did, but as we were so comfortable at the house we hung around more there. The time centered around the pool, the kids found plenty to do with the great pool and fantastic gardens surrounding villa Céline.
There were 8 of us (two couples with our 4 children) and we had plenty of room for us all. Great that each bedroom has its own bathroom facilities. Beds were comfortable. The guys loved the barbecue outside by the pool.
It wasn't easy upon heading home to get back to "reality" after having spent 10 days at this truly tropical paradise! We're already planning our next holiday there!
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased to hear that these guests had such an enjoyable stay at Villa Céline. I'm not surprised that that they spent so much time around the pool as it was designed to be at the heart of the daily living area of the property -with the kitchen/dining/ living room opening on to the extensive terraces on 2 sides. Humming birds can often be seen amongst the flowers bordering the far end of the pool and terraces........ The 4 ensuite bedrooms are located beyond the living room, with two at garden level (separated by a long hallway which overlooks a tropical courtyard) and the other two upstairs at first floor level with a similar layout - all bedrooms are light, airy and spacious with French doors opening on to a small balcony with attractive views of the garden.. Guests often tell me that they feel they are staying in their own private boutique hotel, especially when they experience the delicious meals that can be prepared by Dora!
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Relaxation in Las Terrenas!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you are looking for a peaceful, clean, and relaxing place to stay in Las Terrenas, look no further than Villa Celine. When I booked online, the owner was always available to answer my questions. Thank you Elaine. Once we arrived, we were guided to the house by one of the staff. The road would be hard to find at first without the guide. The area is secured with guards 24/7 and they take a lot of pride in their job and where they work. Once we arrived at the house, it is just like the photos. Dora was there to greet and we made arrangements with her on when to come to clean and when she would cook. The grounds were so green and colorful and there was always someone cleaning and taking care of the surroundings. The house is quiet and does have wifi. There is a TV but we did not turn it on. Each of the four bedrooms has a bathroom which is a plus and there are plenty of ceiling fans in each room. Even though there is no A/C, the house stayed relatively cool at night with the ceiling fans. The house is open in the dining, kitchen, and foyer so doors can be opened to let air flow. The pool was warm and perfect. There are plenty of wooden lounge chairs to kick back and relax after a dip in the pool. The walk to the beach is about 3 minutes and there is no one on the beach. The drive into town was about 15 minutes. We did not go into town but there were restaurants, bars, little shops, internet cafes, and grocery stores both small and large. Overall, we could not have been pleased and our trip was very relaxing and the accommodations were as described.
Owner's Response: I am so pleased that these guests enjoyed their peaceful and relaxing stay at Villa Céline. I spent a lot of time with my architect at the planning stage of the house - our aim was to make Villa Céline a comfortable and attractive place to be while, at the same time, showing consideration to the environment. With this in mind, all living areas and bedrooms were designed to have natural "cross ventilation" (from the sea to the front of the property and the hills at the rear).....all bedrooms have an ensuite bathroom and are light and spacious.........the pool pump and hot water system to the house are operated by solar panels (with an additional electrical back up system in place) etc. Day time activities usually take place around the swimming pool - a popular place to be as the living area, dining room and kitchen open on to this space where there are extensive terraces...........popular place in the evening also - the 4 bedrooms are located on 2 floors in the adjoining wing of Villa Céline where each has a charming balcony overlooking the extensive, lush tropical gardens. It was a real pleasure to assist Terry with the planning of his vacation.
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
4

Villa Celine LasTerrenas

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the villa. As in any adventure there were a few minor issues, but nothing worth worrying about. Dora made us feel very welcome even though our language barrier was a bit of a problem we always seemed to communicate our needs or wishes. Once we learned our way around the country and visited Samana several times for excursions and visited a school to deliver a few supplies to the children in El Limon who were along with their teachers very appreciative for the items we brought. All the people were friendly and eager to sell us anything. This was the biggest problem.... getting them to not sell to us. If you want a delicous meal have Dora cook for you. She prepared 2 meals for us with supplies (meat) from home and both were very good. Loved the pool and the fact that all bedrooms had en suite baths. Thank you for a lovely place to stay in the D.R. Nicolas from Flora tours was very helpful and we enjoyed more than a few beverages at the Mosquito Bar in Las Terrenas.
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Riverton, NJ, USA
2

Just returned from Villa Celine 1/19/13 - 1/26/13

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I really wish I could say that we had the best vacation ever, but unfortunately this was just not the case.

Here are the issues with the house itself we experienced: 1) We never received the Welcome Basket as promised; 2) Ran out of water to sinks, showers and toilets for over 12 hours one evening and they had to put a garden hose in the potable water tank to fill it up - very odd; 3) Electricity went out for no reason another evening - no storms or winds - also very odd; 4) The most uncomfortable living room furniture ever made resides in this villa. 5) As expected in the tropics… Tons of cockroaches in the kitchen and a few in the bathrooms

Here are some other things that travelers should know before visiting Villa Celine or any other place in Las Terranas: 1) The waters on the private beach El Estillero are gray and murky - not clear and blue as the pictures depict; 2) The neighborhood is located 1 mile from a paved road, which means you have to travel on an extremely rocky, bumpy, horrible washed-away dirt road every time you want to go into town - which is another 20 minutes away on paved highway; 3) The neighborhood is gated and guarded by men sporting shot guns; 4) The beach area is very private as long as you don't count the men patrolling with shot guns. 5) 98% of the people in the area speak only Spanish. My husband and I loved this because we were able to practice our Spanish, but the others in our party who knew no Spanish would have never made it back home to the States.

We did make the best of it and were grateful for the following positive aspects of Villa Celine: 1) The pool was perfect; 2) The beds were pretty comfortable and clean; 3) The barbeque grill was great; 4) The neighborhood is well-kept and pretty. 5) Dora, the house keeper was nice. 6) Each bedroom had a private bathroom.
Owner's Response: I was extremely surprised to receive this review as, on the same day, I received a message from the member of this group who had been my main contact (please see below) - the original copy has been forwarded to "HomeAway"...............I can only imagine that the person who wrote the review may have been having a bad day. It's unfortunate "HomeAway" do not have a system in place to avoid this type of post to be put on line .

Hello Elaine,

We had a really nice time. The house is beautiful. Dora was very helpful. The beds were comfortable. We did not get a Welcome Basket though as detailed in the listing.

We visited the water fall @ El Limon, several beaches including Playa Rincon and some very nice restaurants.

Best regards,

I have contacted this client to apologise for the missing "Welcome Basket", explaining that (as this guest was already aware) the member of staff at the agency who usually takes care of this had needed to return to France urgently due to a sad family emergency and was not around to "meet and greet".........another member of staff was available to assist but, unfortunately, the welcome basket appears to have been forgotten in the procedure. I have also addressed other matters stated in the review including the sad fact that man has not yet found a way to control nature or the weather and, if the water was "murky" in the bay this would have been due to adverse weather conditions present at that time (heavy rain/storms/changes in wind direction etc)......beaches are affected by these conditions all over the island and the world. I can confirm that the beach photos are of Playa Estillero as I took them myself and the beauty of this area is the main reason I bought my plot of land and built Villa Céline there.........Security guards are trained and regulated - there has never been an issue with the 24 hour security provided at Playa Estillero and I have always found the guards to be polite and helpful. I was left puzzled by the review comment that 98% of the people in the area speak only Spanish.........this is the Dominican Republic after all !? However, I have found that many local people do take pleasure in showing they speak some English.....in general, they are very friendly and welcoming. Many businesses in Las Terrenas are operated by Europeans and North Americans and English is widely spoken. .
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

wonderful house and wonderful vacation

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Thank you for making this vacation so special - everything went super smoothly from the moment we arrived to the moment we sadly had to leave. Michel had organised the airport transfer and, even though the roads were good, it was great to be able to sit back in comfort and admire the beautiful scenery on our way to Las Terrenas - the last part of the trip, along the coast line was truly spectacular. Dora was waiting to welcome us at Villa Céline and had prepared a great meal for our first night - very much appreciated. Michel had given some details of local restaurants - very good quality in beautiful surroundings. The house itself was above our expectations......we all felt so comfortable and at peace there. The bedrooms, each with an ensuite bathroom, gave each couple a good level of privacy and it was great to all sit around the pool together, surrounded by the beautiful tropical garden. Dora kept the house perfectly clean for us and also took care of our personal laundry - she was really so helpful and cheerful - she is a very valuable member of your staff. We had intended to spend more time sightseeing but actually ended up spending more time at the house than we had originally planned - perfectly happy to swim and read at the poolside. We all enjoyed our long beach walks from Villa Céline, going around the various headlands as you had described, swimming in the calm sea along the way and then returning for a cool drink back at the house!

I would like to thank you again for the the helpful information you gave before we arrived and for helping to make this such a wonderful vacation. We are hoping to be able to return to Villa Céline during the whale watching period - be in touch soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Return trip to Villa Céline

  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our second stay at Villa Céline - the children settled in really quickly as they already knew the place. They were in the pool within 5 minutes of our arrival!! Dora was waiting for us with her lovely smile and had prepared a great meal for our first evening - as tasty as ever!

Michel at the agency had organised the airport transfer and car hire as on our previous visit - really very helpful. We also tried a new restaurant he told us about -fantastic!

We really love your beautiful home -

With very best wishes - Catherine and Jean Luc
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
New York
5

Garden of Eden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is the place to be to get away from it all. The house was amazing and Dora was great. Could not have asked for anything more. From the moment you get to Las Terrenas and leave everything worked out smoothly. I would highly recommend this place to anyone anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
VILLA CELINE- tranquil setting- exclusive beachfront residence - private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95303
+33 0540395679
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
5

Beautiful Villa Off the Beaten Path

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Our family was looking for a tropical vacation but didn't want the crowds or pre-packaged experience of an all-inclusive resort. Villa Celine answered the bill perfectly. Our family shared the villa with another family, and it was a perfect fit: one family stayed upstairs, the other stayed downstairs--the kids played in the pool, we sat on the deck and had drinks in the evening. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. Michel was very helpful getting us set up and giving us advice about where to eat, how to get to some of the beaches, etc. And Dora was lovely. One of our friends has a little Spanish, so she was our go-to translator, but Dora kept the house clean and cooked us three great meals. It was so nice to come back to the villa after a day of activities or swimming at the beach to find big pots of delicious Dominican food. The town of Las Terrenas is nearby, and, although it is growing, it still has the feel of bustling small seatown. (French-speakers will find that French is also widely spoken here). The villa is also an easy drive away from Samana, where we went whale watching--saw a mother and her baby. And we took a boat excursion to the Los Haitises National Park--caves, beautiful birds, a great meal. I went diving one day with a local diving outfit. And then beautiful beaches--which we often felt we had to ourselves--the most crowded day would have counted as empty anywhere else. Be sure to visit Playa Coson and Playa Marico. We all agreed that we would happily return to Las Terrenas--and to Villa Celine--again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Chris,

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Céline and that you made the most of visiting the beautiful surrounding area - there is so much to see.

I wanted to clarify that you were travelling with your family and friends, as I have had a few enquiries since your review was posted, from clients asking if they would be sharing the property with strangers (i.e. as in hotel).Obviously this is not the case as only one booking occupies the house at a time......although guests do sometimes tell me that they felt they had stayed in their own "boutique hotel" as the house is light and spacious and each of the 4 large bedrooms has an ensuite bathroom. Dora's tasty cooking also adds to their enjoyment!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Villa Céline some time in the future
Helpful votes: 4/4