Trinidad house rental - Front view of house. Photo taken March 2012.
Front view of house. Photo taken March 2012.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Trinidad House Rental Photos and Description
Rent the property from US$60 per night for single occupancy. Rates listed below.

Papaya House is a simple and comfortable bungalow providing conveniences of a home, together with an efficient and friendly service.

You rent the property and enjoy amenities such as free WiFi, your private pool, air-conditioned bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms, and the privacy that comes with renting a home away from home, rather than one room in a hotel. We price the property based on occupancy so that it is affordable even for a solo traveller. Our rates are US$60 per night for single occupancy to US$195 per night for maximum occupancy of eight people. There is a full list of rates below.

Our local property manager, Mike, is on hand in a small apartment adjoining the house. He has a separate front door so you may not see him very often but he is on hand should you have any questions. Mike was born in England but has lived in Trinidad since the age of about two. His family, including parents and grandparents, have lived in the immediate area (some in neighbouring properties) for five generations so far. When you make an enquiry you will be contacting Mike's daughter, Nerissa, who now lives in England but returns to Trinidad about two or three times each year with her husband and young son.

Mike offers a taxi service and/or tours for those interested. He enjoys showing and chatting about Trinidad with our guests, and goes that extra mile to find, as he has in the past, a steelband practice out of season for guests looking to experience it. He has also, for example, arranged the required permits for guests going turtle watching in Grande Riviere. For further details of Mike's taxi services and tours please scroll down below.

THE HOUSE

Papaya House is a simple, comfortable bungalow located in Tunapuna, eight miles east of the capital, Port of Spain. There are four air-conditioned bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms, an open plan living/ dining and kitchen. There is a washing machine, parking on the property and wireless internet .

LOCATION:

In terms of our nearest landmarks, the house is a five minute walk to the main UWI campus in St Augustine, specifically the entrance next to the UWI SPEC building. In the opposite direction it is a five minute walk from the house to the Tunapuna Market. There is a map further down this page - please scroll down and use the tool to zoom in and check exact location, or zoom out to see the property's situation relative to the rest of the island.

BEDROOMS:

There are three double bedrooms and one twin bedroom, all airconditioned, and with ensuite shower rooms. The beds in the double bedrooms are 4ft 6in wide, and the two beds in the twin bedroom are each 3ft wide. All four bedrooms are the same size and furnished in the same simple and functional way. Mattresses on the double size beds are Serta Posture Firm while mattresses on the single size beds are high density foam. Beds are made up with fitted and flat sheets, and there are extra sets in the cupboards for you to use if needed. Each bedroom has sufficient space to accommodate a travel cot (not provided).

SHOWER ROOMS:

The ensuite shower rooms each contain a spacious shower cubicle with shower curtain, sink, toilet and cabinet. They are all the same size, layout and colour in terms of tiles. Bathroom towels are provided, with an extra supply in the cupboards.

LOUNGE/DINING:

In this area there is a living room suite (a three seater, a two seater and a chair), cable tv, a radio/cd player and a multi region dvd player. There is also a small selection of novels and local books. There is a large dining table with eight chairs. This area is open plan together with the kitchen and is not air-conditioned.

KITCHEN/LAUNDRY:

The kitchen is fully equipped with a fridge/freezer, cooker (hob/oven), microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, blender, citrus juicer, pots, pans and crockery. There is a washing machine, and clothes can be hung to dry on the outdoor washing line in the backyard using the clothes pegs provided. This area is open plan together with the living/dining area and is not air-conditioned.

SWIMMING POOL/YARD:

The pool in the backyard is 20ft long by 15ft wide (approx 6m by 4.6m). Half the pool is approx 4.5ft (1.4m) deep, and the other half approx 5.5ft (1.7m) deep. There are steps on the shallower end to walk into the pool. We can provide a child safety gate for the back door of the house which leads to the pool area. Please note that while the pool can be used at any time of the day or night, this is a residential area and noise must be kept to a minimum at night. This is in keeping with noise pollution laws.

From the backyard, by the swimming pool, there are three steps down to a shady garden area. It contains fruit trees including mango, coconut, sapodilla and tamarind. Guests are welcome to help themselves to whatever fruit is in season during their stay. Please note that climbing trees is at your own risk!

PARKING:

There is parking on the property to one side of the house.

TAXI SERVICE/ TOURS:

For those interested, Mike offers airport transfers, taxi services and tours. Mike's vehicle is a Nissan Wingroad which is a station wagon/ estate car. When numbers require it, he organises for a second car and driver to ensure our guests' safety and comfort.

AIRPORT TRANSFERS cost US$7 per person each way.

TAXI SERVICES vary in price depending on your destination. As an example, the price for a journey to St Augustine, Curepe, Valsayn or Trincity would be US$8 in total for up to 4 people in Mike's car. If your group is more than four people then a second car can be easily arranged.

A journey to Port of Spain would cost US$20 for up to 4 people in Mike's car. If your group is more than four people then a second car can be easily arranged.

TOUR prices vary by destination. Tours are tailor-made and designed to suit guests' preferences and interests.

Mike has taken previous guests to Asa Wright, Maracas Beach, Caroni Bird Sanctuary, various hikes including Avocat Falls, Grande Riviere for turtle watching, the Pitch Lake and Temple in the Sea among others. He often does combined tours such as a North Coast tour that takes in Maracas, Las Cuevas and Blanchisseuse. That can be further combined with, for example, the return leg on a different route including a stop at Asa Wright.

EXAMPLE TOUR PRICES

A return trip to Maracas Beach, US$35 for the first person and US$10 for each additional person.

A North Coast Tour, US$50 for the first person and US$15 for each additional person.

A return trip and guided hike to Avocat Falls, US$45 for the first person and US$15 for each additional person.

PLEASE NOTE this is just a small sample and tours can be arranged to suit your interests, preferences and budget.

PHOTOS:

All photos on this listing were taken by us on a compact camera. The scenic ones are a few of our favourites from a very large collection over the years. We have tried to use more recent shots. As this site limits the number of photos to twenty-four and I have of course included photos of the property, I had just a few spaces left for the scenic/tour photos. Please note that the scenic photos have been taken in various parts of Trinidad (see photo titles) and are not in the immediate vicinity of the house.

RATES FOR THE PROPERTY:

We price the house based on the number of people in your group, as well as the number of bedrooms to be occupied. This is different to most other holiday homes that have a flat rate regardless of the number of people booking, but our policy allows us to offer good value to small as well as large groups. When you make a booking you will not be sharing the house with anyone else, even if you are just a party of one or two people. Minimum stay 3 nights.

For a full list of rates please scroll down to the rates section below. Rates shown are valid throughout the year except for Carnival.

The property will be cleaned and prepared for your arrival, and then cleaned following your departure. This is INCLUDED in the price you pay.

Additional cleaning (if you choose it) during your stay can be arranged, and is payable locally to our property manager - prices listed are per week.

Once weekly US$25, twice weekly US$45.

BOOKING AND PAYMENT:

Once you have decided to book we will send you a simple booking form to be completed and returned by email. A 50% deposit is required at the time of booking with the balance payable eight weeks before your arrival date. If booking within eight weeks of your arrival date, full payment must be made.

Payment can be made online by debit or credit card, using Paypal's secure website. You do not need to have a Paypal account. If you choose this method we will email you a payment request via Paypal, which will contain a link taking you through to their website. You can then complete the transaction in a similar way to other online purchases. We do not have access to your card information at any point.

Alternatively, we can provide UK bank account details for a transfer/deposit to be made.

We also accept payments by Western Union.

When you return the booking form, you let us know your chosen method of payment and we will send full details and answer all questions before we proceed.

CANCELLATION POLICY:

More than 8 weeks before your arrival date, deposit refunded less 20%

Between 2 to 8 weeks before your arrival date, 50% of full payment refunded (i.e. deposit forfeited)

Between 1 to 2 weeks before your arrival date, 25% of full payment refunded

Less than 1 week before your arrival date, no refund

More Details
Hide Details

15 Reviews of Property 95207 in Trinidad, Trinidad & Tobago

4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
average rating of 4.642857 based on 15 reviews
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
Watersmeet, MI, US
5

Perfect For Us!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We were very pleased with having selected The Papaya House for our 9 nights in Trinidad. Just because the property is advertised as 4 bed, 4 baths, does not mean a couple should not consider it. It can be rented as a 1 bedroom, 1 bath property at a very reasonable price. We are not travelers who require 5 star accommodations, and Papaya House had everything we needed: Internet, Cable TV, air-conditioning in the bedroom, kitchen, and swimming pool. We were so happy to have Michael, the on-site owner, take us around the island. He is the best tour guide imaginable—honest and dependable--and driving in Trinidad is not for the faint of heart! Correspondence with Narissa was smooth and fast.
Stan and Diana
Owner's Response: Thank you Stan and Diana for taking the time to write a review and for your lovely comments. I will be sure to pass them on to Michael as well. Hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you on a future trip - I'm sure Michael would be up for some more hiking competition! :)
Best wishes to you both,
Nerissa
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
5

Fantastic - The only way to spend a vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The house is simply, clean and well located by the main maxi taxi and bus route between Arima and Port of Spain, as described and shown in the photos, which was a relief.

You never know what to expect until you arrive, even with the great and fast responses from Nerissa. Once we arrived at Piarco, the true worth of the rental greeted us, along with my family like a long time friend, Michael.

Read all the details about this property, especially if you want to tour the island. I lived in Trinidad but have never seen this much of it in such a short time. Michael's knowledge and experience of the island helped give us a perfect trip, from local rest. like Wings, Eddy's or Weekend doubles to the best beaches, and hikes that were suitable for our abilities. Ask about the Sous and Black Pudding if your up for it!

For us, Michael brought that old Trini flare and warmth that seems to be missing today on this splendid island. He also seems to know everyone, well all the right people in the right places, like at Caroni, Las Cuevas or Blanchisseuse / 3 pools and even at Grande Riviere. Make the time to use his tour services and add an extra bit of wonder to your trip.

The team of Farther Daughter between Michael and Nerissa is perfect for making a fantastic holiday!

Thanks and we hope to see you again
The Nurses
Owner's Response: Hi Sydney
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and for your wonderful comments. I'm so happy to hear what a fantastic holiday you had and will be sure to pass on your kind words to Michael who, as you know, thoroughly enjoys showing off the island with, as you rightly say, that old fashioned Trini warmth and hospitality. We hope to welcome you and your family again!
Best wishes,
Nerissa
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
United States
5

Great Accommodation and wonderful helpful owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The house was fantastic. It was large and had everything we needed. The pool was great for the kids.
It is walking distance to the local supermarket and weekend market in a quiet neighborhood.
The house is conveniently located to get to many of the attractions in northern Trinidad including ASA Wright (an hour drive), Maracas beach (45 minutes) and Caroni swamp (15 minutes).
Nerissa was very helpful in planning our trip. She arranged to have groceries waiting for us on our arrival which was really helpful as we arrived late afternoon with 2 tired kids and it was great not to have to think about grocery shopping.
We had rented a car for the first part of our trip to Trinidad but returned it as soon as we arrived at the house and had Michael drive us around. He is very knowledgable and knows all the back roads. We could relax and let someone else worry about the driving.
We would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend this property. Our children are 11 and 1 and the house was great for both of them.
Thanks Nerissa and Michael.
Jane Clark and Art Kohn (Portland, OR, USA)
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely comments, Jane and Art! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you all again in the future.
Wishing you all the best for 2014!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Home Away From Home

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A guest from Italy emailed me the following during their stay
"Papaya House is truly a home away from home and Michael is such a pleasant and kind person! We are truly happy to be here. THANK YOUUUUU!"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
4

A great base to explore the island from.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The home was just as advertised on the web site. The rental was about 8 miles from Port of Spain, but was one of the very few rentals we could find on the entire island that had its own private pool.

The rental was well equipped and clean, and was a great place close enough to town, but far enough away from the crowds.

The accommodations were not luxurious by any means, but were very comfortable for the price. We wished that the bed was king sized and had a bit softer mattress, but it was okay. The sofa and love seat were also a bit hard and uncomfortable – but we did not spend much time on them.

We thought that being in a local neighborhood, that we would have access to a lot of local dining options for dinner, but unfortunately that was not the case. While there are many roti shops and local food available in the area during the day, most restaurants close in the afternoon and are not open for dinner. It seemed that only the Chinese and fast food places were open in the evening. It was a real surprise to learn how much the locals seem to love fast food chicken and Chinese food. We learned that the KFC in POS was the busiest franchise in the entire world – they even deliver to your home!
We had to go into the Port of Spain area for real, evening dining.

While the location was a bit far from POS, it was not a problem because the local caretaker, Michael, was available every day to provide personal taxi services for us. He took us everywhere we needed to go and basically gave us door to door service for no more than the price of a rental car. He also provide transportation from/to the airport.

Thanks, Michael for your services and for sharing the wealth of information about the island.

When renting the unit, the owner was very responsive and timely in getting back to us and all aspects of renting the villa were quick and easy. She was always willing to answer any questions we might have and was even kind enough to ensure that we had some basic food supplies when we arrived to the island.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
4

Trinilove and Halfpint say enjoy Papaya Pleasure

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Visit Trincity Mall, take a car/Maxi Taxi North or South. Visit Uwi around the corner, bathe in hot high pressure water everyday, cook in well equipped surroundings, eat fruit as you wake, splash in the pool, bring less and wash more in the machine, relax and watch dvds, work and communicate on the internet, enjoy comfort and Air Conditioning. Great excusrions on offer with a fantastic energetic guide, airport transfers too! Access to the local market, banks and grocery stores. We relax here are we visit family in all corners of the island. Family come and visit us and chill out with their kids for the day.

We know Trinidad well, but for any visitor Papaya is a safe location with good access to transport and to the city centre of Port of Spain, where you can travel by boat to San Fernando or Tobago. Piarco airport is nearby to the villa and we travel far south regularly.

Highly reccommended for good communication, privacy, retreat and comfort. We will always be back!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
4

Trinilove and Halfpint reccommend Papaya Pleasure

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Want a Trini lime with accessability, comfort, opportunities for excursions with an experienced guide, airport transfers, good communication, fully equipped ammenities, hot water with great pressure, internet access, fruit on tap, access to transport for North and South and Air Con. Papaya is our retreat with a splash after we've done all the mad family dash! Well worth the money and a fantastic location to access the wonders of sweet T 'N' T.
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
Edisn, NJ, USA
5

WONDERFUL HOME, FAMILY FRIENDLY, CLEAN AND NICE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
As an American having traveled numerous times to Trinidad over the last 25+ years I view Papaya House is an excellent choice for friends and families staying "local" in Trinidad. It is ideally located in Tunapuna a few blocks from a major local market, restauarants and the priority bus route - for catching buses and "maxi-taxis" to Port of Spain and the surrounding towns.

The home is very safe and secure. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and spacious. Each of the four (4) bedrooms has a nice bathroom with oversized shower. The kitchen, dining and living area room is very large and can accommodate large groups. The kitchen is equipped with all required utensils, silverware, dishes and appliances. The front porch (gallery) is very cozy and and great spot to sit and relax.

The inground pool and outdoor grounds are meticulously maintained and very clean.

Finally, the resident on-site housekeeper (Michael) is very knowledgeable and helpful about the island, a wonderful host and a pleasure to chat with and we consider him an invaluable asset to the house. After your stay I'm sure you will consider Michael a life long friend as we do.

We will miss Papaya House until our next visit to Trinidad.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
Philadelphia, PA USA
5

Very Nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I stayed at Papaya House for about a week. It is a wonderful place to stay and a great value. I really enjoyed the pool.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
4 Beds, 4 Baths, A/C, WiFi, Pool, Home away from home. Driver/Tours available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95207
Trinidad Trinidad & Tobago
Barbados
5

EXCELLENT HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My son, Marcus who was graduating from St Augustine Campus suggested that we stay at Papaya House instead of a hotel. My two sons and I stayed for one week and even invited friends to a celebration one night, We totally enjoyed our stay.

We are going to recommend Papaya House to all our friends who want to stay in T & T.

Sylvia (Barbados)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 5/5