Kealakekua Bay house rental - Arriving at Hale Lana (front).
Arriving at Hale Lana (front).
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kealakekua Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Hear and see the ocean at Hale Lana....at peaceful Kealakekua Bay....a small, quiet, low key shoreline community. It is situated among a mix of local style and unique newer homes. It is an ideal retreat for couples or honeymooners. Views and sounds of the waves!

Only steps (a one minute walk) to enter the crystal clear water at the palm lined beach, across the bay from the Captain Cook monument, for the best snorkeling in the islands! The pristine bay is a protected marine preserve providing numerous water activities and spinner dolphin sightings (sometimes around your kayak!)and whales in winter. Hale Lana is removed from noise and traffic and is fully fenced and gated for added privacy.

The home is a new, superbly crafted pole and beam house showcasing natural woods, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, Italian floor tile, new tropical furnishings, a ten jet spa tub, and large indoor and outdoor walk-in showers. The high open beam ceilings through out, the roof cupola, decking and louvred transoms are reminiscent of a boat or 'Noah's Arc', thus the name 'Hale Lana' (translated as floating house). Free secured high speed wireless internet access.

This also efficiently allows the balmy breezes and scents of the bay and surrounding plumeria trees to float through. There are ample lanais to relax in the sun or shade and take in the sounds of the waves and the 360 views of the bay and surrounding pali (mountain). It is easy to let yourself 'hang loose' at Hale Lana!

Water temperatures consistently range from 75 (in Feb) to 82 In late summer.

CALENDAR reflects only when whole house is rented. The whole house may not be available, please inquire.

There is a FOUR NIGHT MINIMUM STAY REQUIRED.

Hawaii Registration ID # W00322962-01

Located at: 82-6277 Kahauloa St., Captain Cook, Hawaii 96704 (googleearth or mapquest)

Keywords: House

At present, kayaking in the Bay is by permit through a number of tour companies or your own permit online at jaqueline.m.velasco@hawaii.gov.

More Details
Hide Details

Reproductions of Hawaiian totums at the nearby Place of Refuge National Park.

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Kealakekua Bay is a very small, extremely quiet and low-key community providing the best of historic Hawaii and a pristine Marine Reserve all just steps away. My family has lived in Hawaii for more than 60 years and this is truely one of the most beautiful and unspoiled spots to live in or visit. I was fortunate to obtain a double lot in the community many years ago. And then several years ago was able to build a custom home with the help of excellent boat builder craftsmen with outstanding attention to detail.

Daily swims, just steps from the house, with dolphins and all manner of marine life. On my first visit to snorkle at Kealakekua Bay, and not more than 20 feet away, was a female humpback whale and her calf calmly swimming along! I hoped one day to be able to own a home in this very special area.

Entrance lock box with key and security code for easy check in.

46 Reviews of Property 95119 in Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii

Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
average rating of 4.882353 based on 46 reviews
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We rented the studio suite. Everything was perfect. During our stay we met two sets of friendly tenants upstairs (this place attracts nice folks) but hardly knew they were there. The birds in the morning, Manini Beach park close by, the sunsets at Manini, quiet, peaceful, ukulele neighbour, the thoughtful amenities (outdoor shower, washing machine, clothes line, beach chairs, etc) were all fantastic. Hale Lana is a beautiful place. All financial transactions went off without a hitch (Dennis was great). Highly recommend you explore nearby Captain Cook trail to the monument (take your time - steep trail) and Two Step (both fantastic snorkelling). PS. The Choice Mart in Captain Cook is highly recommended for any grub/supplies/liquor you need...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Where do you live?
5

Hale Lana is Aloha !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Aloha and thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful house! My husband and I stayed here (upper level apartment) on vacation for 17 days. The house was very tastefully decorated. It was everything and more than what we expected. We will have beautiful memories of the house and the island. The atmosphere was soothing and we loved it when we could open the sliding glass doors and enjoy the breeze throughout the day. We would take day trips to various parts of the island. However, we had just as much fun coming home to the beautiful Hale Lana in the evenings. We met the owner and he was extremely polite and friendly. Trust me, we would have loved to have stayed much longer. No doubt, we will be returning to Hale Lana!

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Portland, OR
5

Perfect Vacation Get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is the second time we stayed in the lovely Hale Lana downstairs studio. Everything about the place is perfect for the two of us. The house is located in a very quiet, peaceful community that is only a couple minutes walk from a wonderful snorkeling site. The décor in the house is tasteful and soothing – a perfect place to relax. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, the open-air style of architecture and ceiling fans keep the place the perfect temperature, the bed is comfortable, and the dining and living area is splendid. We really appreciate the outdoor shower and clothes line so that we can rinse off after snorkeling and dry our suits and towels. We love this place and look forward to our next visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

So thankful....

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
November 28, Thanksgiving
We are so thankful for this wonderful, private, ocean-view home to spend a lovely week. We saw dolphins from the balcony, a turtle in the bay and a daily visit from a resident mongoose. We loved Ho'okena Beach! We went there twice and snorkeled at Captain Cook twice with kayak rental from just next to Manini Beach. Saw a cornet [coronet, an odd long, very slender harmless fish]. Ke'ei Cafe was the best local food with great owners and atmosphere. Little Manini Beach is deceptively cold, there are cold springs, but ocean is warm two yards out. A wonderful location! We will miss it! Happy Holidays.
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
3

Lack of Aloha

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I very recently stayed here. We stayed for 4 nights and planned on staying at another VRBO for the 2nd half of our trip. This rental was very lovely and clean. We enjoyed the location. The problem began with an honest mistake on my part. I thought we were checking out on Wednesday, Sept. 4. But, I had my dates confused and we were to be out on Tuesday, Sept. 3. I have never been treated so rudely in my life. They acted like I had done this on purpose, and would not accept any apology ad they were throwing my things out of the house. Luckily, the next VRBO owner was a sweet heart. I would never rent from these 2 again. I saw their true colors. They don't know the meaning of Aloha!
Owner's Response: It was an unfortunate and stressful circumstance and all of my other properties (see links) consistently get 5 Star reviews. The guests have not told all of the story. There was a same day full-house check-in with arriving guests traveling a long time from Europe. I had made it very very clear in an email that we needed a prompt 10:00 check-out. Upon the cleaning person's arrival, the guests were no where to be found and cleaning person called me. We had to search the neighborhood and beach (and not knowing what they looked like), their vehicle was at the gate blocking entrance so no one else could come in (there is no parking on the street), fridge full of food and of course everything still unpacked everywhere. Upon trying to call them, one cell rang in the house and I left several messages on the other. Having no idea when they would return, we had to move (not throw out or put outside) their belongings to the living room furniture so cleaning could start in bed and bath rooms... or not be finished for the new guests' arrival. In this case, the loyalty has to be to the arriving guests. We had no choice but to move their many things. Not only do these guests have a vacation rental of their own and should know the importance of correct booking dates, but were only there four nights and not able to keep four days straight. They finally did call and were kayaking way out in the Bay (having such a good time, they forgot what day it was I guess). Very sorry, but it was their mistake and we had no choice but to move along until they did show up to pack their things. Kind of basic vacation rental 101. Three of us had to change our schedules, some made weeks in advance. So, please read the reviews from our years of other satisfied guests (and always remember what day you check out!). Mahalo, Dennis
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Our Own Little Paradise"

"Our Own Little Paradise"
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay at Hale Lana was perfect--we have stayed in many vacation rentals on the islands and all over the country and this is the cleanest, most tastefully decorated rental of them all. It is peaceful, quiet and relaxing and yet very close to superb snorkeling, shopping, restaurants and other activities. The provision of beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, ice chests and beach matts was terrific. Some of the best snorkeling on the island is very nearby at Two Step (Place of Refuge) and Captain Cook (Kealakekua Bay) as well as the night snorkeling adventure with the giant mantas, which is a must!! The gorgeous outdoor shower is an added bonus that is enjoyable and the use of the washer and dryer and clothesline was wonderful. Dennis was very personable and professional to communicate with and makes the rental process very efficient and easy. You cannot go wrong with this little gem in the Hawaiian paradise! (This review was originally posted by the guests on homeaway.com #225250.)
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
5

Captain Cook Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed 5 glorious nights at Hale Lana (upstairs). The home is just spectacular, meticulously maintained and fully equipped. The location is awesome, extremely peaceful and safe. Go to sleep and awaken to the sounds of Kealakekua Bay. Manini Beach, (a short walk), is an excellent spot to sip your morning coffee, watch the beautiful sunsets and fantastic snorkeling. The wrap around lanai and thoughtful layout allows the splendid breeze and scents of flowers to waft through. No need for AC! The lanai makes for the perfect dining setting for our meals prepared in the amazing kitchen while viewing the bay. Convenient location to farmers markets, grocery stores, sight seeing and activities makes Hale Lana your only choice!

Dennis is an absolute pleasure to work with. He quickly responds to any questions and refunding your security deposit. We highly recommend and would certainly return !!!!!!!

Mahalo Dennis!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Poulsbo Washington
5

Quet Jungle retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This lovely rainforest get away is CLEAN and QUIET with a wonderful view of the landscape and rain forest (ocean too). The cooking facilties are great as well. We cooked every meal while we we stayed. Nearby there are beaches, snorkeling, hiking, whale watching, fruit stands and coffee plantations. A little farther down the road there is guided snorkeling, volcanos with hiking and viewing, shopping, bike rental, sea turtles or you can just enjoy the quiet beauty of this cottage. We took the extra time and travelled to take the boat ride to see the lava flow into the sea!! Spectacular!!.
This cottage is the cleanest, quietest place we have ever rented. We highly recomend this as a restful relaxing get away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Grants Pass Oregon
5

Layne (Grants Pass, OR)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Been to all the islands some more than once and I would have to say this overall ranks #1. The house was beautiful, immaculate, had any amenity you could imagine and more. Neighborhood was very quiet. Most of the places we've stayed you feel like a tourist, not so here. You can go to the Captain Cook Monument for snorkeling if you want but its just as good at Manini Park almost outside your door. If you get bored there's Two Step a couple miles down a quiet road. Plenty of good places to eat in the area and the farmers market on Sunday is great. If you are looking for an upscale quiet getaway without the price, this is where you want to be.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Be Right at the Bay! Best Snorkeling and Dolphins Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p95119vb
+1 808 328-7338
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
upstate New York
5

two weeks of bliss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Perhaps the fact that the sliding doors allowed us to wake to a gentle breeze, or maybe it was laying in bed looking at the stars. Each morning we strolled to the beach to watch for the humpbacks or dolphins that we saw often. We are accustomed to quiet and Hale Lani did not disappoint. The accommodations were so well done! The high ceilings and wrap-around views were beautifully designed and the full fence allowed us the privacy we wanted. There were two beaches we could walk to. Snorkeling was wonderful. It took 7 minutes to drive to the City of Refuge where we could sit in tidal pools, watch the fish and birds, and seek out green turtles. Owners provided menus of nearby sites and restaurants plus directions to the store so that we could have breakfast and lunches at "home." This was the best vacation we'd had in years!