South Iceland house rental - The house has an open space architecture with modern needs in mind.
The house has an open space architecture with modern needs in mind.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

South Iceland House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with jacuzzy, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range.

9 Reviews of Property 951133 in South Iceland, Iceland

Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
Washington, DC
5

Fantastic property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
5 of us spent a week in this house. Fantastic property and great owners. The house is modern, well equipped and well maintained. We enjoyed the outside hot tub, a must do while waiting for the northern lights at night. The house is warm and it has a nice fire place. The kitchen and leaving area are great to spend time all together. There are a number of attractions near by and a small village to buy groceries. There are also a number of restaurant that serve local food.
We enjoyed every minute of our staying and we will for sure return to this beautiful house again. We found it randomly searching and it exceeded our expectations. At our arrival the owner was there to welcome us and meeting him made the experience even better since he showed us around, explained the rules and gave us suggestions of things to do.
We loved it all.
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Cozy, lonely, luxury

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A modern and functionell house for a Big Family or Group of friends. Everything You need, every comfort for enjoying a totaly different form of vacation. With a beautifull hot shower and a Hot pot. By Car You can reach several attractions and groceries. The Owners are helpfull, friendly and uncomplicated.
I can only recommend this House for everyone !!!!!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Property was perfect. Thorsteinn was at the house when we got there and patiently answered all of our many questions. The house was very clean and everything was organized and easy to use. The location was more than perfect. Just far enough away, but not too far. One of our highlights was the drive to the iceberg lagoon. We also thoroughly enjoyed our day at the Blue Lagoon. Thorsteinn recommended we head to the Westmann Islands, but we ran out of time before we needed to head north. We spent a relaxing day at the house, sitting in the steam room, reading, and cooking. The views are incredible. You wont be disappointed if you choose to stay in this lovely home.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house was exactly what my fiancee and I were expecting. It is the best house in the area! And believe me, I looked at them all. The kitchen was spacious and well equipped. The floors were heated, the fireplace added a nice touch of ambiance at night. The view out the windows was spectacular; especially when the northern lights made the entire sky red. What a sight to see!!

The sauna, hot tub and dual head shower were fabulous! The location was perfect for day trips around the area. We stopped for groceries in Selfoss on the way home, and we were good to go! If you drink alcohol, check the times that store is open as it is only open a few hours in the afternoon. If I had to complain about anything, I would have to say that directions for the washer/dryer would have been helpful. It took quite a while to figure that out!

We would absolutely recommend this house to anyone and everyone. It is worth every kroner. If you are looking for a cheap place to hang your hat at night, this is not the house for you.
Owner's Response: Dear Gabriel and Christine,

Thank you for your review. It's a great point regarding the instructions for the washer and dryer. We will have them translated.
Hope to see you again some day!

Best wishes,

Thorsteinn
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Fantastic Iceland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was the perfect stay for us on our Iceland trip! The Grund offers great recreation in beautiful, quiet surroundings. The Grund is also located in the middle of the golden circle area, near all the coolest attractions. I don't really think we've could have found a better place to stay. A luxury house with the best amenities!

The customer service of the owner Thorsteinn was excellent; we really have no complaints, not the smallest.
I would highly recommend you to rent this house, you will have a hard time finding any better.

If you're up for some action in Iceland, I would also highly recommend a guided tour with an Icelandic super jeep. If you take a day tour with river crossing etc, you will definitely not regret. You could get picked up in Selfoss, so it suits well with staying at Grund.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Absolutely amazing holiday for 8 of us

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We loved this house, really, really loved it. Hope I get to live in somewhere like this one day. The hot tub was amazing and you could look out over the beautiful heath. There was plenty of parking and it was really quiet. I had the best sleep of my life here and the beds were really comfy. There was loads of space in the house and the photos really don't do it justice. The kitchen was great and there was plenty of room for our stuff. Beautiful staircase. You could see for miles off the balconies and we had an incredible view of the stars one night too. Really loved it here and hope you will too.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Christmas at Grund

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Grund is a beautiful holiday home. We had a fantastic Christmas break and really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars. The house has some really great features (games room, steam room, open plan living for socialising and eating) and is well located for getting around the main natural attractions in south Iceland. The wi-fi was fast and the sound system excellent. We had a party of five for the weeks stay, which was ideal, as if we had a larger party it would have been a struggle with the single (albeit excellent) shower and bathroom. Take a few DVD's for the long nights as the TV and Bose sound system is brilliant, but don't expect too many channels on the cable TV. An excellent holiday home, I would recommend it to anyone.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I would HIGHLY recommend the House at Grund for a Southern Icelandic adventure. It was a perfect staging area for day trips. The home is wonderful. The landscape is stunning. The location is perfect for multiple adventures.

The home was spotless, well appointed, and had every amenity we needed or wanted. The proprietor, Thorsteinn, was very professional and attentive to us and our questions both before and during our stay. We would have loved to stay longer and would definitely book this home if we did...Priceless!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Modern luxury house in a rural part of South Iceland - Winter and Summer holiday
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p951133
+354 8966469
South Iceland Iceland
5

Beautifully appointed home / spectacular location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Having just returned from a fantastic time in Iceland in this lovely home we can't wait to come back.

We were greeted by the friendly owner Thorsteinn who explained everything we needed to know and gave some great insight into local trips and activities.

The house is extremely comfortable, stylish and beautifully appointed in every way - the attention to detail and premium feel is evident throughout every aspect of the property.

The house sits on a hill with beautiful views all round. The spacious living area is open planned, light, airy and the perfect social environment for families and groups of friends.

A large, tiered deck leads down to the geothermally heated hot tub - a place the family spent much of the time every morning and evening in all weathers - from -4 and snowing to glorious warm spring sunshine. The house also has a brilliant steam room, sound system, TV's, WiFi - everything has been thought through to make the house the perfect environment for families and groups of all ages.

The house is located just one hour from Reykjavik in the heart of the golden circle area - making it the perfect spot for visiting the well known must do attractions and for day trips exploring the dramatic scenery further afield such as the glaciers and Jökulsárlón icebergs. There are great walks all round including a trail up in the hills to the hot springs at Hverageroi nearby. Thingvellir is just 15 minutes north, Selfoss with all local amenities is only 10 mins south. Solhestar horse riding centre is a 10 mins drive. Gulfoss, Geysir, Riverjet and all the rafting and canoeing activities are only 40 mins away.

Grund is not your standard holiday home. If you're looking for a relaxing and luxurious break in home from home with all the facilities to keep everyone happy this is definitely the place to be. We have had such a great time and cannot wait to come back.

Thanks for an absolutely brilliant experience in a fantastic location.
Helpful votes: 10/10