Kyoto house rental - It was repaired Gion historic district building by
It was repaired Gion historic district building by
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Kyoto House Rental Photos and Description
House, Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

The Gion House has opened on October 2011, and a traditional Japanese ''machiya'' is located smack in the center of Gion. The Gion House was designated Gion historic district building by Kyoto City Government. The Gion House was built in 1892, and was completely restored under the supervision of Kyoto City Government, and it was stand up for historical Gion principle. It is rented an entire house. Our quests may come and go freely, using the house as their own.

The restoration was a labor of love, requiring the participation of artisans specializing in traditional carpentry Kyoto style techniques, and using natural materials in all areas both inside and out. Great efforts were made to recreate an atmosphere, which will allow guests to experience the traditional way of living.

An added modern touch for comfort is the luxurious bathing area and bathroom...where you can soak in the bathtub of pottery while gazing at ‘’Tsubo Niwa’’ garden, after a full day of sightseeing. The bathtub is from Sigaraki ware, and made by hand of traditional craftsman, who has made Shigaraki ware in front of Emperor some while. And, as room will be separated by traditional Japanese fusuma (papered sliding doors) and shoji (Japanese paper) screens with flowers beautifully arranged in along walls, you will feel a sense of warmth. Thus, the guest can experience Japanese aesthetic feeling and mystery in objects of everyday life. The house can be accommodating total maximum 4 persons, and are provided Japanese luxury style Futon on the tatami mat floors. The tatami are using un-dyed organic straw mat and authentic first grade base of tatami.

The living area is adjacent to its own small ’’ Tsubo Niwa’’ garden. There are both floor-heating system and bath-heating system, keeping the place warmer in the winter season. There is space called’’ Hiroen’’ which is located in between living room and garden. This space will give a feeling both outside and inside when the guest are sitting, and there is also designated a World Heritage Site ‘’Yakusugi’’ dining table, which is a Japanese cedar that term 'Yakusugi' refers to trees are more than 1,000 years old. It is forbid the cutting of ‘’Yakusugi’’ now. The light are bring fun to the room, antique light, special order for hand made bamboo with paper light, and traditional wire work ’’Gaishi Biki’’ on the ceiling. Wooden floor and Table were rubbed with natural 100% perilla oil which has been used by Kyoto's Machiya house.

The Gion House are just 3 minutes' walk from Hanamikoji Street, just 2 minutes’ walk from Miyagawacho, which are called ''Hanamachi'' geisha district in Kyoto, also find geishas scurrying down the alleyways on their way to work in the evenings easily.

The oldest Zen temple ‘’Kenninji Temple ‘’is a just 1 minutes walk away. Other temples are such as Kiyomizu temple, Sanjusankando temple, Tofukuji temple, Chion-in temple, numerous restaurants, and downtown shopping district located nearby, which are possible to visit from the Gion House by walk.

You’ll enjoy the luxury and authentic Japanese atmosphere of the Gion House, and spend quality time here in ’’ Machiya’’ our Gion House.

More Details
Hide Details

43 Reviews of Property 949158 in Kyoto, Japan

The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
average rating of 4.837209 based on 43 reviews
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
5

Special place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home. All that you would need is supplied, but that is not the important part. We felt as if we were truly in a special place. The area is immaculate and full of adventure.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
4

terrific and well located Machiya !

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
we had a great stay at this Machiya. Its in a great location and it has been designed very beautifully with a minimal aesthetic. it is small but comfortable and the bathroom is so amazing, especially the bath! there are a few good restaurants nearby and its a great place to walk from. the guest guide was very helpful for suggestions on our first night as we arrived at night and needed to be able to dash straight out for dinner, so it was great to read in the guide where was good around the corner. the bedroom upstairs is spacious. we loved it, but would have liked the small sofa to be downstairs. there is no TV but not really needed on a holiday like this!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
5

Excellent and Comfortable Machiya!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family and I love this machiya in the center of Gion district. It is really an unforgettable EXPERIENCE staying in a traditional Japanese house on your own for 4 nights. The house is very clean, tidy and well equipped with everything you want from hot bathtub, heated floor, induction cooker and washer/dryer. Thanks to Tokuji Tanaka san for keeping very well this beautiful Gion House and I must say good job for him to provide a very good instruction book for foreigner like me to operate all the hitech equipment in a traditional house!

Even though the house is about 10 minutes walk from the nearest Kiyomizu Gojo rail station, it is actually a good walk through all the well organised machiyas and neighborhood. We took a suggested walking route from the instruction booklet provided by the owner and it turned out a very relaxing and interesting walk to Kiyumizu-dera, Kodai-ji, and all the way to Heian Shrine. Along the way are shops, food stores and restaurants that we have not seen before.

I will definitely come back to Gion house one day and it is highly recommended to couple and family of 4. Lastly, not to forget that we met our first geisha on the first day in Gion, I am sure you will find them around next door.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
Mountain View, CA, USA
5

Beautiful house in beautiful neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved the scent of the wood, the textures and the brightness of the space. The view to the small garden is pleasing. The bathroom is cozy, yet very practical. Very close to many temples. If you are a food lover and want to hit top rated Michelin guide restaurants within a 15 minute walk from home, the Gion house is it! The owner was very helpful with the booking and in addressing all the practical questions we had regarding the house (laundry etc.)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
Singapore
5

Perfect stay in historic Kyoto!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We stayed 7 nights at The Gion House in Nov 2013, and truly missed this beautiful machiya when we left for the second leg of our Japan trip in Osaka. The location of Gion House is superb - we love how it its located in the heart of historic Kyoto, where it is not uncommon to spot a geisha or maiko shyly shuffling to work, as well as its proximity to key attractions near Shijo-dori as well as two railway stations. The amenities of the Gion House are new, so modern and well equipped - we love the strong wifi, the traditional futons, the ceramic bathtub and the kitchen. It was a treat to be able to cook on some nights during our long stay when we tire of eating at restaurants, aided by daily evening trips to the local well stocked supermarket mere minutes away by foot. It was a semblance of living like a Japanese family in the heart of Kyoto for a week, and we enjoyed the experience tremendously.

Tanaka-san's warm hospitality is a boon - he is very responsive to all emails and queries, and even dropping by to assist us when we needed help. The care taken to equip the Gion House for the convenience of guests is delightful.

We will definitely return to the Gion House in a heart beat every time we visit Kyoto - it's that lovely!
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
4

Location location location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our family of four stayed for four nights and overall it was a very pleasant experience. The house has ample charm and you can see the care that went into the restoration. Everything works well. The best part of the machiya is its location - there are so many sights and delectable restaurants within 15 minutes walk. Tanaka-san the owner is also very helpful with suggestions and obviously cares about his guests.

The only slight downside is the noise level. Partly due to the traffic on the street, and exacerbated by the machiya traditional construction, the road noise penetrates the house. As antidote, we flipped the mattresses so they are away from the street side, and I bought and used ear plugs. We ended up sleeping well so its a minor negative in the whole experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Thank you for your staying at the Gion House.

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit with us.
Only negative side, we actually got a feedback about noise since previous guest.
Such an authentic Japanese traditional house is so widely opening for window, and made by wooden frame. That is why, easy to come extraneous sound in the house.
We decided to install both top level soundproof frame window and glass inside of the house. This product is an industry leadership position. It will be improved and will be gotten off noise from December 2013.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serving you again when your travel plans bring you back to Kyoto.

Take good care.
Tokuji Tanaka
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
Middle East
3

3 nights in Gion

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great home with much to offer. Pictures give you a good taste of the home. We enjoyed our stay and found the location to be pretty good and central. The traditional Japanese style bath was fabulous! It was a pleasure to take a soak after a long day of site seeing. Kitchen set up worked for us - a small fridge for beverages and snacks; stove top for coffee. For me, more than my spouse, the beds were not comfortable. Traditional Japanese bed is not for me -- far too hard despite flipping the "mattresses". My husband had no issues. So why not a higher rating? The noise factor. The home is located on a fairly busy road for trucks. We knew it might be bad when the owner kindly left ear plugs for guests. Early morning (meaning 3 am through about 5 am) was the worst. Value for money really dropped with this factor. The other suggestion i would give is to negotiate departure time - standard is 10 am -- at 9:45 am no knock - just had someone walk in - not pleasant. All in all, nice property with some good features but certainly not for everyone with the noise factor when you need quiet.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
Perth Australia
5

Beautiful and clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Beautiful old traditional Japanese house finished to high standard.
We stayed for 9 days with two children and had a great time. The location of the house is perfect as it is just a walk away from the old district with narrow streets and cute shops.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
4

EXCELLENT

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location, walking distance to temples, shops, and local restaurants. The bathtub is so great that i spent over 30 minutes everyday enjoying it. We definitely will visit again. Thank you Tanaka san !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Gion House is Centrally-Located in Gion
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p949158
+81 0 9071 161785
Kyoto Japan
Hong Kong
5

Perfect base for a couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon vacation in Kyoto. The intimacy and homey comforts were perfect for our needs. The house interiors are elegantly simple and the tatami/wood furnishings smelled fantastic. Tokuji-san was wonderfully gracious, very helpful in all the emails leading up to our stay and arranging an early check-in for us.

My favorite part was the bathtub, beautifully crafted of ceramic and controlled by hi-tech wizardry - you set the water temperature and water level and the tub quickly fills itself. It was a real luxury after a long day of activities!

The open kitchen is located on the ground floor with the living room. We enjoyed preparing breakfast and fruit; don't expect to make any elaborate meals, as the area is small with limited though very functional tools.

Location is fantastic, as it is in the quieter part of Gion but very close to Kennin-ji and Hanamikoji, as well as the commercial area of Shijo-dori. It's about a 10-minute brisk walk across the river to Pontocho. We loved the Ukiyo-e "museum" around the corner (actually the house of a woodblock printer), and the vintage shop next door (only open on weekends).

The only concern is that it faces a road that has regular traffic, and though it couldn't be called "busy", we heard occasional cars and scooters through the middle of the night. I'm a lighter sleeper than my husband and this bothered me more than him. The owner does provide ear plugs.
Helpful votes: 1/1