Dingmans Ferry lodge rental - Front of House
Front of House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Dingmans Ferry Lodge Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 3 Full Baths,1 Half Bath, 2 Full Kitchens, 4 Living Areas, Sleeps 16

Relax with the whole family at the Hemlock House, nestled on a wooded acre in the heart of the Pocono Mountains. This fully equipped retreat is located in beautiful Pike County, surrounded by thousands of acres of protected forest land--less than 2 hours from NYC and Philadelphia. The Hemlock House features 4000 Square Feet of space, an abundance of windows, and a fabulous hearth and fireplace!! The home also boasts 2 huge Kitchens, 4 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, and 4 separate living areas including a gameroom with Foosball, Card Table, Pool, Darts, and a vintage Atari Video Game! Add to that a 6 person Outdoor Hot Tub, Wi-Fi, 4-TV's(including a 60 Inch Home Theatre), a fabulous outdoor fire circle, BBQ, and a deck overlooking the forest! The property is immediately adjacent to beautiful Pecks Pond, where you can rent boats, fish, picnic, and watch the Bald Eagles nest!

This property is NOT located in the typical Pocono suburban-style gated community!

Please check our calendar below for availability--we keep it completely up to date!

Need more space? See our sister properties! Please see our other listings #241947(The Lodge), and #398417(The Bungalow)--all properties are within a 5 minute drive of each other.

Minimum Rental Age: The minimum age for rental of the property is 25.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 948942 in Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania

One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
4

Great getaway for multiple families with kids!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Do not come here if you are looking to be 'in it all' because your far from it. If your looking to just hang out and de-stress this is the place.

Its very hard to satisfy all parties when traveling with multiple families, especially with kids. Well, this place certainly was perfect! The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed to have a great time! The best part was the kids had their own side of the house!! They got to do their own thing, while the adults got to do theirs.

We loved so much we decided to stay an extra night! Owners were responsive and very friendly. We got to meet him on our way out. Definitely looking to stay again this year!
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
Bronx, NY
4

Serene getaway for friends

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Upon arrival, the furnace was up and running, which was great being that it was quite cold in the house. The wood and fire pellets were conveniently located and fireplace detailed instructions were also very helpful. We noticed that in the game room the pool sticks were all broken, which was a bummer and so was the dart table. Ping pong table and foosball table were fine, which was good. Bathrooms and bedrooms were stocked with clean linens, however we did notice something sticky on the floor, which we cleaned up by purchasing a mop and floor cleaner. Only one kitchen was stocked with utensils, which was fine being that we were only using 1 kitchen. Hot tub was very relaxing. We were reluctant at first being that it is an outdoor jacuzzi and it was 17 degrees outside, but we were fine (could'nt even notice). TV in the larger apartment has no remote control but all the other TVs do. On our third night there the refrigerator and microwave sockets must have blew a fuse or something, not too sure. We searched for the fuse box but everything in the basement was locked so we just transferred all of our food to the other kitchen. Patio was very relaxing also and lets lots of sunlight into the living room. Water pressure was excellent and heat and hot water were also excellent. Beds were comfortable as well all 4 of us took turns sleeping in each room. Overall amazing stay, minor things could be fixed, but would definitely recommend to friends and would definitely return.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
4

Wonderful Family and Friends Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We booked this house last minute as a way to get our family together all under one roof. With kids and two labs it can be difficult to find something family friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. It was closer to the road and other properties that I had expected but aside from that it was perfect. The game room was a great source of entertainment as was the hot tub. We would book the house again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
5

Weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Great place! It has lots of space and many things to do. There's also two kitchens which was great since cooking for 10 people can be difficult with only one kitchen area. One thing was that there were no salt, pepper, or oil. We had to go buy some but left it there for the next guests to use. Other than that, everything was perfect. We would definitely come again. Thanks Brett!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
4

MLK Weekend Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The property was great and had all the amenities one could want in a group outing. Very satisfied with house as well as owner.
Great communication. Very happy with stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
5

Ski/Weekend Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
THis is the second time we have rented from this group. Stacy is always there to make sure you know what is going on regarding your stay. The communication was excellent, and all the guests that we went up with were all well informed. Last year we stayed in poconodreamcabins.com "The Lodge" and were blown away by it. We had such a great time in the Hot Tub and cooking big meals in their kitchens (which had everything you needed). There are so many different things to do in the area. We had such a great time that we are considering not only making annual trips to the poconos through this group, but possibly going up twice a year each year. I recommend the lodge if you have 8-10 people, and this house for sure if you have more than that. The game room kept us busy for hours while watching the flyers and the NHL playoffs on the 60 inch TV!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
3

Not What I expected

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
“Nestled on a wooded acre” implies to me a certain amount of privacy. There is no privacy at this location. The house is less than 100ft from a road that leads to a gated community and the cars speed back and forth regardless of the time of day. Behind the house a gravel “alley” and there are houses across the alley, one directly behind this house. There is also a house on the front door side of the house. I had trouble figuring out where the acre was, but it seems that a big piece of it is on the other side of the driveway from the house.

The “fireplace” is in the game room area however it is not a fireplace at all, but a woodstove. For me there is an ambiance created by a fireplace that is not the same as a wood stove. The hot tub is located off of the game room, and is essentially in the driveway and under the deck. This might not be as bad as it seems if the underside of the deck was clean instead of filled with cobwebs and the string of rope lights under the deck was actually working.

The house was clean but definitely run down. When we arrived there was a faint smell of paint. I didn’t mind that so much, but I did mind the can of water with a dirty paint brush in it that we found in the laundry room sink. Also you should know that the dryer is not vented to the outside. There is a lint catcher that should have water in it. I had never seen anything like this, fortunately my daughter had, but we had to clean a huge glob of dryer lint out of the catcher before we could even add water.

Part of the thermostat cover in the main room was broken off. In itself this isn’t a big deal, but add to that the damaged master bathroom door, and the outlet and light switch covers that are old, broken and askew and the whole house just has a feeling of being old and run down. The mattresses on the pull out sofas were thin and worn. Children might be ok on them, but they are too flimsy for adults.

I appreciate being able to find a place that allows pets, but this just wasn’t my idea of a “retreat”. The pictures make the house look much nicer than it actually is. I would not stay here again, and I would not recommend vacation rental this to my friends.
Owner's Response: Hello everyone this is Brett, the owner of the house writing. I hope future guests will consider the 50+ Five Star reviews our properties have received(see also 241947, 398417) when they consider a stay at the Hemlock House. We work very hard to maintain all of our properties, and the Hemlock House is no exception. This house has had a complete overhaul in the past two years, including new flooring and fresh paint throughout. High end appliances have been installed in the main kitchen. There is a new patio deck out by the hot tub. All in all I would argue that the house actually looks better than the pictures indicate.

As for privacy, the house sits on exactly 1.03 acres, and it oriented in such a way that it faces out into the wooded area shown in the pictures. If you require more privacy we have houses that sit on 5 or 10 acres, but be aware that even on that large tract of land you can still see other houses. The "alley" described in this review is actually a gravel road that circles around the back side of the house, enabling another approach to the two paved driveways that access the house.

The game room features a wood pellet stove, and the downstairs living room features a wood burning high-efficiency fireplace insert as pictured. These are both safe, efficient, and environmentally friendly units that provide warmth and a beautiful fire.

We have video tours available on our website if you would like to see the layout of the house and property better.

I'd also like to add that we are very responsive to any questions or maintenance issues you might have during your stay. More often than not a quick phone call can resolve any issues in operation of the many systems and amenities of the Hemlock House. We have people on standby to deal with any issue that may arise.

If anyone has any questions regarding suitability of a particular property to an individual's tastes, please feel free to ask! We want you to be in a house that you will be happy in, and we have houses to suit any taste or need. We want you to enjoy your stay--and we want your family to enjoy the Poconos as much as our family does!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
4

Comfortable getaway in the Poconos.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Comfortable, clean, nicely equiped accomodations . We loved the game room and found everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Hope to return next Fall to do it all over again. Don't pass Kevin's BBQ without stopping, and the Pickerel General store can supply most anything you require.
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
4

Rental review of 948942

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our families had a delightful time. The property was clean with plenty of room for us. We especially enjoyed the balcony for cocktail hour..We would certainly return again.
business
One-of-a-kind 4000 SqFt Retreat--Game Room--Fire Pit--Hot Tub--Near Peck's Pond!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948942
+1 973-768-7296
Dingmans Ferry Delaware River Valley
5

Awesome house; awesome experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was really something special. I stayed with a group of 8 guys for one of my best friend's bachelor weekends, and the house was perfect. There were so many hangout spots and so much to do - game room, hot tub, fire pit, multiple living rooms, two full kitchens, patio and upstairs deck. I definitely recommend this house for anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway. The owner/manager was also incredibly helpful and responsive. Overall, a incredible experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1