Taos house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Taos House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths (Sleeps 6-9)

The original 3 rooms are over a hundred years old, bought after the war by Louis Ribak and Bea Mandelman, who started the Taos Modernist Movement in the huge studio, where Louis had his Art School.Purchased by the current owner updated and restored with impeccable attention to detail and the highest quality of materials in 2007.This unique 4000 sq ft home blends the old with the newest green technology to offer a truly comfortable retreat.The flexible space has been set up to accommodate artists either working alone or working together in the big studio,or the smaller back studio/bedroom.The big studio could be used as a yoga studio,or whatever you need space for, including a large family dinner or pajama party.There is a twin bed trundle in this large room.

As you pass through the welcoming white gates you are aware that this house is totally made by and lived in by artists.

You enter the cozy living room and see one of 4 working kiva fireplaces, and the adjoining dining room, which seats up to 6.Entering the kitchen is like going into a magic tiled play kitchen which has been appointed with a Viking six burner gas range, refrigerator, dishwasher, and fully equipped with all you need to prepare and serve your meals.The large master bedroom is upstairs with a queen bed,a day bed, a full tiled bath, and a walk-in shelved closet.It has a small Juliet balcony overlooking the beautiful back courtyard,and a larger balcony looking to the front. Another queen bedroom(with kiva fireplace) is downstairs, with another full bath.This is shared with the third bedroom, which has an extra long full bed, and its own kive fireplace.The adjoining large studio has a kive fireplace, and can have work tables and pin up walls, or can be used for any activity where you need more space.There are doors to the beautiful back courtyard from the dining room and big studio.

This court yard has an amazing stone

amphitheater,very quiet and private, with table and chairs for outdoor dining.

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 948482 in Taos, New Mexico

Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Loved Every minute in this house!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Ali Montgomery from McKinney, Texas
Reviewed on: 03/15/2014 for their stay in 03/2014
300007 - 3 BR Restored Artist Home,easy walk to Taos Plaza
Besides being extremely comfortable and having plenty of everything anyone could/would need, it was a feast for the eyes! We enjoyed all of the terraces with great views and privacy as well as fireplaces. The artwork, architectural details and beautiful furniture add so much to the experience, too. Very romantic yet has plenty of room to spread a family out as well. We really enjoyed our walks in to town and love the location. We all look so forward to staying here again!!! We miss it already!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fun Snowy Holiday in an artist's adobe

Fun Snowy Holiday in an artist's adobe
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Holiday vacationers from Missouri, Kansas and Fayetteville
Reviewed on: 01/02/2014 for their stay in 12/2013
- 3 BR Restored Artist Home,easy walk to Taos Plaza
We would definitely recommend this home in Taos. It is filled with unique features, beautiful art and plenty of space. We loved the "Taos" flavor of the home with its beautiful tile work, adobe structure and interesting history. The location was great for shopping and close to many great restaurants. Experienced skiers in our group loved Taos Ski Valley runs. Terrie made the whole process of reservation, check-in and check-out very simple; plus graciously gave us a tour of the home and offered suggestions for shops and restaurants. She has truly created a "home away from home."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Austin TX USA
5

Unique and Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful month in this house. It was spacious and comfortable for our family of six. The owner is kid-friendly and welcoming, and the house is filled with amazing art done by the owner herself . The house is a short walk to the plaza, museum and church. The pictures of the house do not do it justice, it is much prettier in person. The studio is perfect for painting and art projects or for a big sleepover. We highly recommend this property and can't wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Quintessential Taos experience!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
"Quintessential Taos experience!"

This was the place to stay. Beautifully appointed, history, charm, easy access to town, the works, not the least of which is the fantastic art that integrates into the house. Between the outdoor patios to choose from, to the old art studio to hang out ... and dance in... (it's so large and the stereo is located in there!) to the cozy living room to curl up in and chat, we ended up spending a chunk of our visit just enjoying these simple, yet luscious amenities. With access to a full kitchen, we could prepare some of our meals at home (even serve an elegant dinner for ourselves in the beautiful little dining room with long wooden tables... just like in the magazines and movies...) which made going out to special restaurants even more special (and affordable, since we saved by dining in for some of our meals... the local grocery store is about a 3-minute drive from the house). To top everything off, our host, Terrie Mangat, was superb at making us feel welcome and ensuring that we had everything necessary for a lovely stay. I cannot recommend this destination enough. Thank you, Terrie and Taos for an ultimate vacation experience!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Georgetown, TX
5

Perfect Winter Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I just spent a great 6 days at this wonderful home in Taos. The home is just as nice as it appears in the pictures. It is charming and full of fabulous art works. There was plenty of space to accommodate our family of 12. The house is extremely comfortable and we were provided with all the linens, dishes, and cookware needed for our large family. The central location was perfect for our group's diverse interests. The property was very clean and well maintained. We would love to stay here again....perhaps in the summer next time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It was my pleasure to meet this lovely family and share my house with them.
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Colorado
5

Absolutely Enchanting...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This house is so unbelievably gorgeous. You have truly never seen anything so lovely and charming. We stayed four days and could have stayed forever! Huge, comfy, magical and literally a few blocks from the plaza. The owner is kind and accommodating and you will be amazed by the amenities and the amount of space. You literally can get away from the group in your own private space or gather in the living room and dining room. I recommend this house to anyone that wants to escape into the true enchantment of New Mexico!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always so much fun to meet interesting people who appreciate a home that has collected artistic energy for over a hundred years.
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
New York
5

Great space, great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I just returned from a week at this wonderful Taos home. The location could not have been better -- great restaurants, galleries and other places to explore within easy walking distance but its hillside setting made it feel like a retreat. What we most loved, however, was the space itself. From the moment we walked in, we felt completely at home. Each room is brimming with character. We particularly loved the tiled kitchen. We cooked far more often than we anticipated (and despite the great restaurants), so we could enjoy more time in the wonderful space.

It is a particularly inspiring setting for anyone who is creatively inclined. We cannot wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

"Amazing experience in a beautiful and artistic ho

"Amazing experience in a beautiful and artistic ho
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband, three children and I celebrated Christmas and New Year's in this beautiful, historic home. My parents joined us, so there were 7 of us in all. We loved the home's spaciousness, its location (within easy walking distance of the center of town), and its furnishings. What's more, our host set up a gorgeously decorated Christmas tree, so that when we arrived all we had to do was set out the presents. We skied, visited the local museum, shopped and ate in town, and also made wonderful meals at the home. We had a memorable family reunion. I would love to return.
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Perfect

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Perfect location, 2 mins from the plaza, immaculately clean, huge, fantastically decorated, spacious house. The house is the most interesting, artistic, beautiful house I have ever stayed in. The finishing touches are amazing, the quilts are incredible, we were all very happy with our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again! We look forward to returning soon!
business
Charm, Space: Historic Artists' Home and Studio, Walk to Plaza
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p948482
+1 575 770- 4233
Taos New Mexico
Denver, Colorado
5

A Perfect Stay in Taos

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
What a wonderful place to stay in Taos. From the minute you walk in you feel at home in this place. The rooms are warm and inviting, the furniture and beds comfortable and cozy and there is so much wonderful artwork to enjoy. The evenings were a bit chilly while we were there, so we took advantage of the great DVD selection. The location is perfect, close to shopping and a grocery store.

The listing description and photos are a good representation - so when you arrive - there will be no unexpected surprises, just a great place for you to enjoy. The house is laid out really well and can easily accommodate a group of adults or two small families. The owner is wonderful and will respond to questions quickly. I highly recommend this rental. My family and I will certainly be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you , Tara. It was so nice to meet your fabulous and interesting family and see you enjoy this "home away from home" I have put together.I look forward to your next visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1