County Monaghan cabin rental - Exterior View of Log Cabin
Exterior View of Log Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

County Monaghan Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Self Catering accommodation Approved to Failte Ireland Standards

The log cabin is on the shores of Rahans Lake in County Monaghan beside counties Cavan, Meath and Louth.

This rural self catering accommodation is situated in a fishing and golfing paradise.

The cabin's proximity to the border with Northern Ireland makes it an ideal base for exploring both parts of the island of Ireland.

There are numerous excellent fishing lakes within a 5 miles radius.

Golf available at the 18 hole Nuremore or Mannan Castle, or 9 hole Cabra Castle.

Rahans Lake Lodge is 2 miles from Nuremore Golf & Country Club & Cabra Castle hotels.

3 miles from romantic Dunaree Forest Park with its famous Wishing Well.

1 hour from historic Cooley Mountains of Irish legend and Carlingford Lough.

90 minutes from Belfast International Airport and Titanic Exhibition.

45 minutes from New grange World Heritage Site.

This Irish holiday chalet is a pet friendly haven of tranquility only 1 hour from Dublin via M1.

All heating, lighting, bed linen and towels are included in price.

Carrickmacross Equestrian Centre is just a five mile journey.

Carrickmacross town is surrounded by a host of lakes, which produce excellent catches annually.

Monalty lake, covers an area of 16 hectares with depths to 6m. This lake holds good stocks of fish including pike, roach, rudd, bream, hybrids, tench and eels. Anglers fishing in the early months of March and April and the later months of August, September and October produce the best results.

Lough na Glack, covers approximately 12 hectares with depths to 7m located in the North East quadrant of the lake. Depths elsewhere in the lake range from 3m to 5m. This is an excellent pike fishery

Lisanisk is a 5 hectare lake with a maximum depth of 2.5m. This lake holds good stocks of bream, roach, hybrids, perch and pike. Lisanisk has a very weedy bottom and is best fished by float or pole.

Corcrin Lake covers 3 hectares approximately and has depths to 6m. This lake contains tench to specimen size and good stocks of bream, rudd, roach, perch and pike. Parking is difficult on the narrow road. A number of fishing stands have been provided on the northern shoreline and swims are cut around the lake.

Spring Lough this is an excellent pike fishery and covers an area of 14 hectares with depths to 6m. You will find deep water off the rod tip if fishing from the shore but spaces are limited. A small road runs from the west of the lake right to its southern shoreline but access is difficult. This lake is reed fringed and overgrown in places and it is best fished from a boat.

Capragh Lake, covers an area of approximately 12 hectares and has depths ranging from 3m to 12m. It contains bream to specimen size and good stocks of roach, rudd, tench, perch and pike. Pike anglers will also find it possible to launch a boat at this venue.

Lough Fea is a 36 hectare private fishery. Day permits can be purchased at the lodge house for a nominal fee. This lake contains good stocks of bream, roach, rudd, hybrids, perch and pike. Boats are not permitted on this water.

Rahan’s Lake, covers an area of 25 hectares with depths ranging from 1m to 6.5m. The deepest area being the central area at the northern end of the lake. Rahans contains good stocks of pike as well as roach, bream, hybrids, tench and perch. Stands and good car parking are available. It is also possible to launch a boat from the slipway.

Descart Lake covers an area of 8 hectares with depths varying from .5m to 4.5m with the deepest area located in the North East quadrant of the lake. There are some stands on the South East shoreline and a number of swims have also been cut. Some of the shoreline on this lake is extremely soft. The lake holds good stocks of pike, roach, rudd, bream, hybrids, tench and perch.

Reilly’s Lake is a 1 hectare lake. Fishing stands are in place. It contains some pike as well as rudd to specimen size and stocks of roach, bream, hybrids and perch.

Clonturk Lake covers an area of 1 hectare with depths to 3m. It contains stocks of pike, roach and bream and large stocks of tench. Access is by way of a lane way and anglers are requested not to park in this lane way. A number of fishing stands are in place on the western shoreline

Lisnashannagh covers an area of approximately 2 hectares with depths to 5m. This lake holds stocks of pike, roach, perch and carp and good stocks of bream, tench and rudd to specimen size. Parking is limited. The margins of the lake are extremely soft so anglers should ensure they fish from a solid bank.

A number of fishing stands have been provided by the Eastern Regional Fisheries Board.

Drumconrath Village is surrounded by a number of small to medium sized lakes and is only a short journey from many of the other angling centres mentioned above. Lakes in the area include Corstown Lake, Ballyhoe lakes 1 and 2, Mentrim lakes, Lough Bracken and Balrath lake.

Mentrim Lake covers approximately 4 hectares and has been developed to a high standard with depths to 5m. The lake holds good stocks of bream, roach, rudd, hybrids, tench, perch, pike and eels with bream and hybrids to specimen size (7.5lbs and 3lbs respectively)

Corstown Lake, leaving Drumconrath on the R165 to Kingscourt, turn right for Carrickmacross at the top of the town. Corstown is located approximately 1.25kms outside Drumconrath on the right hand side of the road. The lake is sign posted and a small roadway of 1km takes you to the lake shore where you will find good parking. This lake covers an area of 12 hectares and has excellent fishing stands on the northern, southern and eastern shorelines. The lake is a good match fishing venue and has depths to 8.5m with the deepest area located in the northeastern quadrant. The lake holds good stocks of pike, bream, roach, hybrids, perch and eels.

Balrath Lake covers an area of about 1 hectare with depths to 3.5m. It holds reasonable stocks of small fish including pike, bream, roach, rudd, hybrids and perch.

Ballyhoe Lakes: Ballyhoe 1 covers approximately 11 hectares and depths from 3.5m to 4m with the deepest area just south of centre. This lake can be weeded in summer so float methods can produce the best results. Feeder methods work well earlier in the season. This lake holds good stocks of pike, bream, roach, rudd, hybrids, perch, tench and eels.

Ballyhoe Lakes: Ballyhoe 2 covers an area of 16 hectares with depths to 8m. The deepest area is in the North Eastern quadrant. The Lagan river that flows from Ballyhoe 2 also holds good stocks of coarse fish.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 94624 in County Monaghan, Ireland

4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
Inverness
5

Rahans Lake Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Rahans Lake Lodge is a lovely cabin located in a tranquil location by Rahans Lake; the cabin is very clean and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The photos on the website accurately dictate all aspects of the cabin.

We stayed there for a week from the 20th to the 28th of July 2009 and found everything to be in good order. The owners Jim and Nuala are at hand (only a phone call away) and we found Jim to be an extremely friendly person. He was also very informative of the local sights to visit and knows quite a bit about local landmarks and the history of the area, which we found to be really useful.

Rahans Lake Lodge is situated right on the banks of Rahans Lake and you can sit on the front veranda or the new decking on the Lakeside to watch the swans and ducks. The cabin is protected from the elements by large leafy trees and the veranda big enough to sit out on even on a rainy day.

One of the best bits about staying here is the proximity to the N2 which takes you to directly to Dublin only about an hours drive away and making it easy to visit all the places you might have on your list. Belfast is about an hour and half away so it’s a perfect location for a base for travelling round Ireland and seeing some of the lovely sights it has to offer.

I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Rahans Lake Lodge to anybody. It’s perfect for couples or families and there is plenty of hot water and extra clean linen and towels are in the cabin should you need them.

The local shops are about ten minutes away by car and there are pubs, restaurants and three large supermarkets. So if you don’t intend travelling everything you need is close at hand.

The lodge has disabled access for wheelchairs by way of ramps at either end of the new decking, the living room has double doors so there would be no problem getting in and out.

One thing the website doesn’t show is the lovely large new lawn area in front of the cabin which is ideal for children. Another thing is that there are plenty of television channels (not something we needed as were so busy travelling round).

Our Thanks to Jim and Nuala for a lovely last week of our three week tour of Ireland.

Sheena, Ross and Sachelle. Inverness. Scotland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sheena's review encapsulates all the varied opinions that other guests have given of our holiday log cabin.
I would point out that although the N2 will take one to Dublin, the M1 motorway(tolled) is much more convenient for Dublin Airport or Belfast.
Helpful votes: 14/15
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
5

Perfect.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Have just spent the Xmas week in the log cabin.we had a fantastic time.the cabin is lovely and soo cosy.the perfect place to spend Xmas.
Owner's Response: We are delighted our guests had such a good time at Rahans Lake Lodge.
To add a seasonal touch we had Christmas lights on the outside of the cabin and a Christmas tree inside.
Their visit coincided with a landmark birthday for one of the family.
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
5

Unforgetable Christmas Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Last Christmas, my family stayed at this wonderful lodge during our trip to Ireland. We came for Christmas with my 3 small children (aged 1, 5 and 8) and my grandmother (aged 72). Jim had a Christmas tree set up for us and lights on the outside of the house, to complete the holiday feel. He was super helpful, able to give us directiongs to all kind of important places - like the nearest places to visit Santa Clause!

The cabin itself was clean and well supplied. It was gloriously warm inside, even though it was quite cold outside.There was a great little yard for the boys to play in and a lake with some awesome birds right outside, which my boys had a great time watching - with the binoculars Santa had brought them.

We spent 2 weeks in the cabin and enjoyed every minute.
Owner's Response: We knew that our guests wanted to experience an Irish Christmas for the first time so we did our best to make it authentic.
We do the same for guests with birthdays, anniversaries etc.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
5

The Best Place in Ireland to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was the second time we have stayed here. It is in a lovely location 10 ft from the edge of Rahans lake. As always it was spotless when we arrived with a warm welcome from Jim. Three bedrooms, one en suit plus bathroom, kitchen and living room big enough for a large family.
This lodge was well designed and insulated. Parking for about 6 cars and a huge play area for the children.
Perfectly peaceful with only the odd car going past and the birds in the trees and the odd swan.
The people all around are very friendly and good food can be had in Carrickmacross.
Ask Jim to get Kathleen Kerley over to show how the lace is made. you will be amazed!
There is lots to do around or just chill out and enjoy.
Thanks Jim.
Owner's Response: The cabin was also spotless when our guests left.
They were very unlucky to only see a few swans, sometimes we have as many as 80.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
Merchantville, NJ USA
5

Beautiful place! Highly, highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
This was a gorgeous cabin in the middle of nowhere, yet in the middle of everything! "Town" was very close by (about 4 miles) and we did daytrips all over the country from this place, but the cabin itself was secluded, quiet and the view from the front door was breath-taking! Dublin was about an hour on the motorway, Cliffs of Moher was about 3 1/2, Belfast was about 1 1/2 and Waterford/Blarney Castle-Stone was about 4-5. There were many other places to go and see much closer though. The town of Carrickmacross was very quaint with very good restaurants and very nice people. Jim, the owner, was an extremely nice and helpful gentleman who maintains a very clean and well-kept place. His cabin description and listing is extremely accurate. We brought our 2 year old daughter and didn't have to worry about her wandering into any of the rooms and getting into anything - all of the doors lock. Outside, however, be aware that you are literally right on the lake! Beautiful, but be mindful with a small child. There is also no tub - only showers. (Wonderfully hot and soothing, though!) My only two recommendations are: One for Jim - perhaps you could get some shelves or a medicine cabinet for the bathrooms so toiletries can be left in the bathroom on a shelf; and one for visitors - bring earplugs or turn on a radio (cabin has one!) for some background noise if you bring someone with you that snores - this cabin is soooooo quiet at night that you can hear a pin drop in it!
Thank you again, Jim, for a spectacular honeymoon!!!!! We'll be back in 5 years for our anniversary!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Barbara, her husband, daughter and mother-in-law used the cabin as a base for touring the rest of the country. This is something that most of our guests do and has been made easier by the new network of motorways that criss-cross the country. The fact that the log cabin is so easily accessible by car from the airports and ferryports in Belfast and Dublin is a huge positive with our visitors.
Apologies to Barbara about the bathroom shelf, that's already taken care of.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
Glasgow
5

Fantastic Property thanks for a great break!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We were down for a wedding and booked the property for two nights as it was much better value than the Nuremore, but it turned out to be one of the best value places I've ever stayed in!

The living area is extremely spacious and comfortable for 6 people, the kitchen is very well eqipped, and all 3 bedrooms are also a great size, with one having a very nice en suite as well. The weather was quite chilly when we were there but the cabin was always very warm, and the views out over the lake are great.

Also Jim the owner was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. I couldn't really fault this place at all, we all had a brilliant couple of days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
Grantown on Spey, Morayshire
5

Rahans Lake log cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
The log cabin was a fantastic place to stay and I don't think any photos could do it justice. It was immaculate throughout wil excellentl facillities. We did not do a huge amount of travelling as we loved the location and the cabin so much and found it such a relaxing place to be.
Jim responded immediately to any queries we had and could not have been more helpful. The usual booking in time is 3pm and he very kindly sent us a message to let us know when the cabin was ready and allowed us to book in several hours earlier which was greatly appreciated and very generous of him.
The cabin is in an excellent location for travelling around Ireland with ease.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the cabin. Our party ranged in ages from 2 to 72 and none of us were disappointed. We will definately make a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The three generations of Nicola's family seemed to enjoy their Irish visit.
We try to accommodate guests with our check-in time if we have no guests staying on the previous night.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
northumberland
5

not so much a log cabin as apine palace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
we travel to ireland often and have stayed in some lovely properties but this one is very special it is made of wood has 3 very large bedrooms 2 bathrooms one ensuite a huge lounge diner every mod con you could imagine and 2 large verandas with furniture add to this its own gated grounds lawned with trees parking for half a dozen cars and the most beautiful lake 6 feet from the property and you are starting to realise why it stands head and shoulders above most self catering properties ad to t this the tranquility and yet the closeness to major town and roads to many of monaghans major attractions and finally an owner who couldnt be more welcoming or helpful and be you a couple or a large family you will love rahans lake lodge it is a smallpiece of heaven and i cant wait to go back again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Michael certainly has a way with words.
His review mirrors what he said to me in various conversations over his week's visit.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
bracknell berks england
5

dream holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
myself my wife and our 3 year old granddaughter evie have just spent a wonderful week at rahan lake lodge,the cabin is beautiful a home from home week was just not long enough and we will definately be coming back, evie had a few tears when we left thank you jim . hugh,mary&evie
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hugh and Mary were delighted to find such a quiet haven in which to spend some quality time with their beautiful granddaughter Evie.
business
4 Star Self Catering lakeside holiday log cabin in Monaghan Ireland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p94624
+00353 (0) 87 6413422
County Monaghan Ireland
Dublin
5

Great And Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Stayed in the Log Cabin for a Week 3rd July 2010 and it was great a great way to relax,Jim, The Owner was very helpful,Cabin is spotless and fully equipped,and very Spacious and cosy,The views over the lake is beautiful sitting on the veranda in the evening with a nice chilled glass of wine is what it is all about.Would really recommend a stay here.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sean, Angela and Matthew really enjoyed their stay in Rahans Lake Lodge. The weather was fine and the swans were on the lake in large numbers.
Helpful votes: 1/1