Dominical house rental - House is on own private 5 acres
House is on own private 5 acres
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Dominical House Rental Photos and Description
Master bedrm up, studio bedrm w/ queen & twin below, tent platform,

Beautiful 2011-built house at the Rain Forest Preserve just above Dominical, walking distance beach, surfing, tours, Dominical. Air conditioning in bedrooms. Pool/spa. Viewing platform and decks overlooking canopy. Tucans come to visit.

Perfect for 2 couples to share as the upper and lower levels have separate entrances, bathrooms, etc and the luxury tent setup can provide a 3rd living space. Upper & lower levels have setups for over 100 free movies & 5000 songs in the IMAC and AppleTVs.

House is close to paragliding, waterfalls, birdwatching, lot's of wildlife in the Preserve. House has 1 master bedroom upstairs with bath, full kitchen, incredible views of jungle, mountains, and a peak of the ocean; separate downstairs bedroom with 1 queen and 1 single bed, bath and kitchenette area with microwave, 2-burner range-top & cooler.

Private location nestled in 5 acres of jungle, with huge views of the 1000-acre Rain Forrest canopy.. Three-sided wrap-around deck lets you walk from your view of the jungle canopy and ocean to the mountain view on the other side.

Wifi. Computer available upon request on site upstairs with high speed internet connection.

Enjoy bird-watching, the beach, fantastic restaurants, day excursions. Check with caretaker for catered meals. Take the short hike to our very own private waterfall/pool within the Preserve.

With luggage, you will need a 4wd to access the property or use 4wd taxi.

You will love the Dominical area, which boasts one of of the biggest waterfalls in the southern zone located just up the highway. Nayuaka is accessible via a horseback tour for only $60. Also, horseback riding along the beach is just down the road off the Costanera highway at Mercedes. Fill out the form at http://www.canopyvista.com/createv.htm to list your preferences, Kathleen is happy to send you a customized set of recommendations and pricing info.

We have great 3G cell reception at the house, and provide a backup cell phone for use at the house only.

More Details
Hide Details

I fell so in love with this country that I mortgaged my house here in Colorado to buy the land at the Rainforest Preserve in 2006, and then I also bought a reforestation farm about 30 min. from the Preserve. I built the house there in December 2011.

Kathleen Chiras purchased this house in 2006

Awake to the sounds of the jungle and see the Tucans fly into 'Tucan tree' right in front of your eyes shortly after dawn. See the top of the canopy and animals like the Pizotes or white faced monkeys wondering around below.

Canopy Vista is up the mountain 6 switchbacks, and this affords greater safety away from the public beach, and is only a 15-20 minute walk or a 5 minute drive down to the famous Dominical surf beach.

There are lots of places to walk within the Preserve, including the big ocean overlook ('the Miradore'), and our community orchard, and a waterfall.

The house has incredible views of the Preserve on 3 sides and a small view of the ocean. The house is new as of 2011, has lots of windows and a great ocean breeze.

Bedrooms can be air conditioned individually. High speed internet available at the house, and IMAC computer may be checked out. The computer also has lots of movies and music. There is also a small TV monitor with Apple TV in the downstairs room.

Easy access to the beach, the town of Dominical, and all of the local attractions. Easy to bird-watch or see butterflies right from the house. Paraglide launchplace nearby. Big tent available for extra guests or teens 13 or above. Pool, Wifi, air conditioning.

17 Reviews of Property 945753 in Dominical, Costa Rica

Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
5

The Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our stay here was absolutely lovely! The house is right in the middle of the jungle which makes you feel like you're in a tropical paradise. The views are stunningly beautiful and the house itself is very nice. The location is great because you're tucked away in the jungle, which gives you a great sense of privacy. At the same time, you're minutes away from the beach, as well as the town, so you don't have to go out of your way to get anywhere. There's a great kitchen area that was a lot of fun to cook in and the wrap around balcony is incredible! I think the balcony and views were two of our most favorite things about staying here. We saw so many colorful birds and butterflies outside in the front yard which was awesome. We even saw a sloth down the road on one of our walks to a nearby waterfall. There's a tent platform on the property that you can camp out in which was really cool and there's a downstairs room with two beds that makes it really easy to travel with friends and family. It was so nice to be able to just walk outside and have so many great trails for walking and hiking. It was also nice to be conveniently near the beach and all of the town's restaurants and stores. This was honestly the best vacation I have ever had. Costa Rica is a beautiful place and this house was the perfect home during our stay. If I ever get another chance to visit Costa Rica, I will definitely choose to stay at this wonderful vacation rental again.

Pura Vida! :)
Owner's Response: Thank you Brittany! I love sharing my Costa Rica home with people such as yourself who really appreciate the many wonderful aspects of this house and location.

Kathleen
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Beautiful new house; brilliant location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The vacation was great! You have a beautiful house. The upstairs/downstairs configuration suited us perfectly with our two older teenagers. We really enjoyed the pool -- very glad you put it in before we got there! We also appreciated the air conditioning in the bedrooms; it helped us get a restful sleep each night.

The caretaker was very helpful and came right away when we had a little trouble with our door lock. His wife did our laundry for a small fee while we were away at the park for the day. Although they don't speak much English (and we don't speak much Spanish), they are very nice people, and we managed with text messaging and our translation app on our phone. It was an adventure in communication!

It was lovely to just sit and listen to the jungle noises, watch the toucans fly by, and eat some fruit while reading our books. On several occasions we walked to the sunset platform; it's a beautiful view over the ocean with amazing sunsets.

I don't know if we'll get back to Costa Rica, but if we do, we would definitely consider staying at your house again. And if anyone we know is headed to Costa Rica, we'll recommend your house as a great place to stay. It was a wonderful experience for all of us!
Owner's Response: Christina,
Thank you very much for your feedback on the house. I hope you'll be able to come visit again soon!
Warmly,
Kathleen
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
5

A beautiful sanctuary, love the toucans!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The home feels new and is well maintained, with a fantastic wrap-around deck that allows easy viewing of the rainforest canopy. We enjoyed sitting on the deck every morning with our coffee to check out the vistas and the wildlife. We were fortunate to see a small flock of toucans stop by on a nearby tree every morning. Also saw a baby tapir several mornings foraging for its breakfast.

One reviewer had mentioned the heat in the unit, and that was a concern. However since that time, air conditioner units have been installed in the bedrooms, so there was never a problem keeping cool and getting a good night sleep.

We enjoyed our time in Dominical and walking the beach and enjoying the sunsets. There are some fun restaurants and several nice live music venues. We did a day trip out to Canos Island and another day trip and a horseback ride out to Nauyaca Falls.

We loved our 2 weeks over the Christmas holiday at Canopy Vista and Dominical, and are looking forward to going back in the next 6 months and enjoying the new pool that is being installed there in February.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!
Kathleen
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
Boston area, United States
4

A tranquil and beautiful oasis

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Yes, the jungle views are truly stunning. You have to squint to see a sliver of the ocean, but we we loved relaxing on the wraparound deck and gazing upon the rain forest. Even from inside the house, you get an amazing feeling of serenity, as light pours in and you're surrounded by a gorgeous landscape. You feel like you've escaped to a private paradise--you won't see or hear any neighbors, although the house is not so remote as to feel unsafe. The road leading to the house is rather harrowing, though, at least at first. Trust Kathleen when she says you need a 4-wheel-drive vehicle and you should arrive before dark! Speaking of Kathleen, she's wonderful to deal with. Easygoing and accommodating, she responded quickly to emails, provided helpful tips on what to do in the area, and returned our security deposit promptly. Edwin, the local caretaker, was also a sweetheart, but he doesn't speak much English. As for the house, it was clean and comfortable, although the downstairs quarters aren't nearly as appealing as upstairs. The beds had good mattresses, the kitchen had everything we needed (including a very welcome big jug of bottled water in the fridge), the Wi-Fi worked great, and the large selection of movies available to watch was a nice surprise. One thing to be aware of: the walls of the bedroom and bathroom on the upper level don't go all the way to the ceiling, so noise can carry over from the living area and kitchen. Also, we found it impossible to keep bugs out--there were a few ants on the floor when we arrived, and other little insects kept appearing. Fortunately, they weren't troublesome (we got no bites of any kind, had no kitchen invaders, saw no scary spiders), and after all, this is the jungle! One other caveat: I wouldn't consider the beach to be within walking distance, unless you're a very hardy walker. The trip down might not be too bad, but the return hike back up the hill would be challenging, especially in hot weather. Also, don't count on swimming at the waterfall in the preserve. It was only a trickle when we were there (early January), but we found a nice alternative at nearby Posa Azul. Not as impressive as Nauyaca Falls, but refreshing and un-touristy.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. At the end of January we installed a pool/spa and hang out area on the ground level. Pictures coming soon!
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
Golden Co in Summer and Chicago IL in winter
4

Beautiful views, Quiet & private home

Beautiful views, Quiet & private home
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Modern, updated home tucked in the beauty of the rainforest. Tranquil sounds of native wildlife is all that's needed to relax and enjoy the 360 views of the lush surroundings.
Four wheel drive vehicle is a must to manage the steep drive to the home. The home was comfortable and very private. Close driving distances to local restaurants, beaches, shops and markets. Owner was very responsive to questions and needs prior and after stay. Town of Dominical is non-commericalized, relaxed and business owners are friendly. Food and service was great.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! Thank you especially for alerting me after your stay of areas where I can make it an even more exceptional experience for guests.

Kathleen
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Gorgeous house and perfect vacation getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I had been looking forward to our vacation getaway for so long, and Canopy Vista House was everything we’d hoped for and more! Time really seems to slow down there, and you forget all the little stresses of non-vacation life as you look out over the gorgeous 360-degree views of the rainforest, savor the quiet and tranquility, and enjoy watching wildlife from the wrap-around balcony. The house is a little gem in the rainforest, with all the comforts of modern life, but blending beautifully into the surrounding nature as well, and high enough to enjoy the fresh breezes and amazing views. Kathleen, the owner, was a pleasure to work with - very helpful and accommodating, making the arrangements very easy. The little town of Dominical was charming and a lot of fun, with a surprising number of activities, little shops, and great restaurants, despite its small size. We’ll definitely be back!!!
Owner's Response: I am happy to be able to share my little home with you!
Kathleen
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
Denver, Colorado
5

Purrrfect:)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is one amazing place to stay. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. The most surprising part about this place is the view. There is a wide open jungle view that is breathtaking. You can hear howler monkeys faintly in the distance and also see some amazing exotic birds. We were very excited to spot a toucan the very first day we arrived. I would highly recommend this place as a vacation spot
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your evaluation!
Kathleen
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
2

Too hot, insufficient ventilation

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a tough place to review for me. My family and I came intending to stay for a week, but left after one miserable night.

I had inquired about the temperatures there, and was assured that it was high enough in the mountains that it was plenty cool at night even without air conditioning. This made sense, so I accepted those assurances.

When we arrived, it was hotter than usual (~7 degrees hotter than average) and inside the house was quite hot. I wasn't worried though, as I assumed it would cool down overnight. But even with all the windows and doors open and the fans on it was still over 85 degrees in the house by 2 in the morning according to our thermometer.

My wife got sick from the heat and our baby cried throughout the night. We left the next morning and spent the day searching for different rental house. Eventually we found one on the beach that had air conditioning in one room and much better ventilation throughout the house, and had a much better experience.

I informed Kathleen that we had vacated the house, but she was unable to find someone else to rent the house. She offered a token refund of one night's fees, so we are out almost the full charge on this property that was unusable due to the heat.

Outside of the heat - the property seemed very nice. The downstairs room is separate from the upstairs quarters, which could be a little awkward depending on your needs. There were lots of orange trees around to pick from (though our kids were a bit nervous about the very large spiders camped out all over!) and the views are quite nice.

Kathleen has told me that nobody has complained of the heat before - so perhaps we just had bad luck with the weather. I'd bet at 10 degrees cooler we would have had a fine time here. But with external temperatures around 95 this house was brutally hot and completely unlivable.
Owner's Response: I was very sorry to hear that this family felt the need to vacate the house after one night due to the high temperatures in Costa Rica that week. I refunded them for the night they stayed, even though I have no control over weather in the tropics. I do everything possible to make my guests comfortable, but they had already moved out by the time I heard from them. As the guest mentions, the temperature in Dominical the night he arrived was 95 degrees, and the normal for that time of year is 88. He knew this new house had large overhead fans in every room. I'm sure it was difficult for him to know ahead of time that his wife and three young children would be very heat sensitive. I do provide full and honest descriptions of the house.

I have personally stayed at Canopy Vista in all months of the year for the past 7 years and have never been uncomfortably warm there, especially with the sea breezes and screens on both sides of the house. Fans are located even on the balconies. The neighbors will concur that my home has the best ocean breezes of any at the Preserve. I have never had a guest complain about the heat or the ventilation at Canopy Vista.

This family was initially given several hundred dollars worth of discounts, and I also refunded them $135 for their 1 night's stay. They did not inform me of their hot weather concern until they had already booked another place and subsequently demanded a full refund. In addition to the discounts they had already received and the refund of their first night, I offered to give them a full refund if someone else could rent the days they had reserved.

I would certainly encourage any guests who come to Costa Rica during the high season to check out the temperature and humidity as part of their travel plans. Many places in Costa Rica have loud air conditions that recirculate dirty air. Those who wish to stay at Canopy Vista will be rewarded with a place where they have a unique opportunity to experience the rain forest and awaken to the sounds of exotic birds and monkeys calling from the jungle below.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
Montreal
5

Too good to be true!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
AMAZING PLACE : quiet, near to evrything (grocery and stores), incredibile view of RainForest and toucans, 360 degree view of the surrounding jungle. GO GO GO!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Nestled in Rain Forest Preserve yet only 5 min to beach New pool/spa. Wifi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p945753
3036700246
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Too nice to be true!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This place is just AMAZING do not hesitate to go there!!! It is quiet, the house if perfect two rooms on two floors, a balcony 360 degree view of the surrounding jungle.Proximity to the the beach, grocery and stores!!!!

There is also a magnificient view of the GREAT VEGETATION of the Rainforest, you will see tucans (more than the Manuel Antonio Park!!!!) and butterflies.

There is also the mirador (5 minute walk from the house) that offert an incredebile point to view the sunset on the ocean.

So stop reading and book this place right away:)
Isabelle
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review Isbelle! I'm staying here now with my own family for a couple of weeks, and it is easier to remember now why I invested all of my retirement money in this place. Today the kids & I went over to the reserve waterfall and took a natural shower. On the way we ran into a sloth and a block monkey-like thing & met some Canadians, Americans & Costa Ricans who are staying at another Reserve house.

When I get back I'll post a movie of my son doing yoga under the waterfall next to the huge red flowers. My other son went surfing & then got $35 massage in town & walked the 15 min back to the Roca Verde Restaurant to meet up with us.

Tonight I and the rest of my family all walked down to the Roca Verde Restaurant, where it is live music & party night. (Next Friday we'll go to the near by "Movies in the Jungle") Everyone is armed with flashlights & the kids can party as much as they want & then walk back home & mom doesn't have to worry about them driving. And they know they will have to be at least half-way sober to make it up the hill. This is what I call a family vacation!

Kathleen
Helpful votes: 1/1