Kekaha house rental - Fabulous Ocean Front views
Fabulous Ocean Front views
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kekaha House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

E Komo Mai and Welcome to the SUNNY west side of Kauai. With less than 15 inches of rain annually, and 15 miles of white sandy beach just a short walk away, why go anywhere else? Guarantee there will be “no rain on your parade” that can spoil your vacation.

Hale Ilima is an upscale beach cottage in the true sense of the word. It’s delightful island style architecture and design will delight you in every way. There are 3 generous size bedrooms with 2 baths. The high ceilings and abundant windows bring the light and the breezes in, to give it that tropical feel.

All new 500 ct. bed linens and thick towels await you. There is a King, Queen, and twin bedroom to accommodate every travelers needs. The twin room can be made into a King as well for couples traveling together.

A new 40’” LCD TV with cable, wireless internet, and free local and long distance calling are just some of the special features we offer.

Everything you need for a beach vacation is here from beach chairs, boogie boards, beach towels and umbrellas, and did I mention the ocean, sun, and surf? A short 5-minute walk to a lifeguarded beach insures your swimming safety. This begins a nearly deserted stretch of white sand that goes for miles…..all the way to the Na Pali Coast. Venture off to Polihale Beach, a wild natural beach, with majestic sand dunes serving as a backdrop.

Take a hike in the Waimea Canyon, the “Grand Canyon of the Pacific” as Mark Twain called it. Instead of driving for hours to get there from other parts of the island, you are only a mile away from the back road leading directly to the top of the canyon and the NaPali coast cliffs.

Maybe you want to have lunch “in town”, and 5 minutes away, at the Grove Café and enjoy a local beer. On Thursdays and Fridays, you can listen to some of the best local music on the island . A stop at the Shrimp Station for lunch will make the wait worthwhile, finished off with the island’s best sno cones at Jo-Jo Shave ice.

If it is a resort atmosphere and dining experience that you are looking for, you are only 25 minutes for the resort area of Poipu Beach. Here you will find world famous hotels, coves of white sand, upscale shopping and dining opportunities.

When your day is near an end, this is the ONLY place to be for SUNSET. From the comfort of your lanai, you can salute the end of the day with the sun setting out over the ocean. Can it get any better than this?

Come and enjoy life...as it should be... at the beach.

Some of the features:

Beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, and umbrellas

500 ct. luxury cotton linens

Plush thick bath towels

40' LCD TV with cable

Wi-Fi internet

Free long distance phone calling (USA and Canada)

Stereo

Gas BBQ

Outdoor and indoor dining options

County of Kauai Vacation Rental License # TVNC 1358

State of Hawaii Business Registration # W 02908704-01

Keywords: Kekaha, Ocean Front, Beach Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

I have traveled all over the world, but home is on Oahu.

Scott Worner purchased this house in 2011

I lived in this town on Kauai as a young child, and always wanted to return to the place of my wonderful childhood memories.

Living at the beach in Kekaha is an authentic Hawaiian experience. This old sleepy plantation town is 'at the end of the road'. This is the farthest western town in the USA. It is also the driest and most likely sunny spot on the island.,

This is were a 15 mile stretch of white sand beach begins and ends, at Polihale Beach and the cliffs of the Na Pali Coast.

The town is also at the base of the Waimea Canyon, named the 'Canyon of the Pacific' by Mark Twain. Breathtaking canyon scenery and numerous hiking opportunities await you. Beautiful sunsets over the ocean can only be seen from this part of the island. Views of the island of Ni'ihau, and whale watching in the Winter season right from your lanai.

12 Reviews of Property 387901 in Kekaha, Hawaii

Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Saint Louis
5

1st Time Hawaii Visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I found Hale Ilima through the VRBO website when I started the search for a place to stay on Kauai for me and my wife. Given the very reasonable price for an ocean-front house, I was skeptical. However, all we saw were positive reviews from other vacationers. The house delivered without a doubt. We arrived to a clean place that was just as pictured and described on the website.
Kekaha is out of the way and I would say that this house is going to be best suited to people who want to be off the beaten path. No big resorts or 5 star restaurants nearby so if you're looking for a luxurious stay with quick access to shopping, activities and more people, you should probably focus on Poipu or Princeville up north. For those folks who want to enjoy the ocean and Hawai'i's natural beauty while being a little further removed from other mainlanders, this is your spot. Polihale is just up the road and you're also very close to Weimeia Canyon. As I said, the ocean is right across the street and you can walk to the beach. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Black Earth, WI
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
If you like being away from tourists and the artificial resorts, you'll really like this place. The star of the show is the lanai. We loved to relax here in morning with our coffee, as well as in the afternoon and evenings. While relaxing and sipping refreshments, we watched whales breaching and tail-slapping a couple of hundred yards away (bring some good binoculars!). Then came the beautiful sunsets. The location of this house is really great: the road does get a little busy at times, but the Kekaha beach park, where you can walk stretches of empty beach for at least a couple of miles, is just a few yards down the road. The fabulous beach at Polihale State Park is only 30 minutes away. Great views and hiking at Waimea Canyon and Kokee State Park are a short drive away, as are the daily boat tours to Napali. The small, funky town of Waimea, with grocery stores and several eateries, is only 10 minutes away. The former Grove Cafe in Waimea is now a Kalapaki Joe’s. The house itself is spacious, very comfortable and well-furnished. The supply of beach equipment came in very handy, too. Scott and Chad were very easy to work with. This was our first vacation rental, and based on this experience, we’d definitely do it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Midwest, USA
5

Niles5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family which included 4 adults and three children stayed here. It was just what we needed as my daughter was getting married at the Waimea Plantation. We enjoyed every aspect of the home- it was clean, sunny, airy and very comfortable. We enjoyed mornings drinking coffee on the lanai and evenings and the sunsets with adult beverages. The house is equipped with everything you need- there were things that I don't even have in my kitchen. When the kids went to the beach they did not have to buy anything because there were coolers, boogie boards, snorkeling equip., etc for their use. We truly enjoyed our time here and it also large enough to entertain inside or on the lanai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
seattle, Wa
5

Beautiful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our first trip to Kauai and we were not disappointed. The house is located in Kekaha, pretty much the end of the road going north on the west side. The small town of Waimea is just a few miles south of the house where you can buy most of what you need. There is a wonderful beach with a lifeguard just across the road and a few hundred yards down from the house. The house is clean, beautiful, bright and airy. The house also has everything you need for the beach including Tommy Bahama beach chairs and umbrellas, coolers and boogie boards. Sitting out on the porch at night with a spectacular view of the ocean and the stars is something we won't soon forget!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Enumclaw, Washington
5

Loved Kauai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Almost don't want to tell anybody how nice this place was.... The house- kitchen, beds, bathroom, laundry, deck, etc. were wonderful. Maybe 5 minute walk to the beach, which we pretty much had to ourselves. A little noise from the road traffic in front of the house BUT husband says he would still rate the place as excellent and I completely agree. Conveniently close to groceries and eating places, We would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Kauai.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Spokane
5

Amazing Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
For our first time on Kauai...I think that we hit a homerun with this rental and it's location. For starters, the property manager Scott was extremely easy to work with, very responsive to emails...making the entire process very smooth. The location of this house is amazing...and indeed the west side is by far the sunniest. During our stay...there were flash flood warnings throughout the island as bridges, roads, and beaches on the north side were closed...however, we were enjoying a sunny day (on the beach) in Kekaha. Stores and "Happy Hours" are a short trip away. But...with the sunsets and weather in Kekaha...the best happy hours were on the lanai of our house. The owners and management of this rental have left no stone unturned...including kitchen utensils and beach necessities. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time...thank you Scott!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I appreciate all the great comments about your stay. It is especially validating to read your comments about the weather. People don't always realize the dramatic differences in weather on the island. With only an average of 15 inches of rain per year, your chances of a sunny dry day can't be beat here. It is also noticeably less humid, making it all that more comfortable. We hope that you make a return visit soon.
Thanks for such a perfect description of why the west side is the best side! Much aloha
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
CA
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Being on the dry side of the island, we were able to avoid all the rain and still listen to the waves as we fell asleep at night. Very nice accomodations and everything lived up to its description.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Jefferson City, Mo USA
5

Excellent Vacation Home in Kauai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
I have rented VRBO homes for many years and never dissappointed! This was no exception! My first time in Kauai, my wife and anouther couple shared this house making the cost extrememly affordable. Everything was as depicted. We extremely enjoyed staying on this side of the island as we never had rain and were basically in a neighborhood without any "tourist" feeling. The best beach on the island is just down the road, and you are right at the base of the Canyon for great hiking. I was especially pleased with the beach chairs, umbellas, and boogie boards that came with the house. All were very high quality and in excellent repair. The vauted ceiling living area that included kitchen, dining and living rooms was very enjoyable, even though we spent most of our time on the front poarch overlooking the ocean when we were there! If you want a noisy hotel or condo crammed in with a lot of loud tourists, then go elsewhere...if not this is a great place to blend in and relax and feel like your a part of the island culture and not just a sightseer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Tucson, Arizona
5

Great place for a getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This house was great. Everything is as advertised.

The house is in first class condition. Clean. Great linens and towels.

We put 2 of the 6 almost new tommy bahama beach chairs in the back of the car, left them there and used them at beaches all over the island. Each morning we would throw some ice and drinks into the ice chest we found in the closet and head out.

We slept in the front bedroom so we could see the ocean every morning when we woke up.
We shopped at the markets in Waimea for groceries. They weren't big city stores but they had a good selection of wine and beer. I would reccommend buying Poke at the Isihara market. They had several kinds that I believe they make at the store. Poke is the Hawaiin version of Sushi without the rice. It was the first time we had had it. It was great as an appetizer.

We didn't use the gas grill but it was in good condition and just outside the door on the lanai. Ther was an extra gas tank in the storage bin around the back.

We were looking for place to get away from everything and found it. The nearest hotel is probably 10 miles away. We went to 2-3 beaches in area and found only locals or a deserted beach.

Sunsets were beautiful. The water was warm.

The road up to the Waimea canyon is just down the street. Boat tours to the amazing Napali coast were available at Port Allen about 10 miles down the road.

The master Bath has an old style free standing cast iron bath tub with a shower.

The second bath had the washer and dryer which we did use. Wireless internet worked well. We didn't watch any TV.

If you go to google earth you can see that the house is almost the last one on the road. It has a turquoise colored roof so it is easy to spot.

The nerighbor to the West was very friendly and helpful.

The owner, Scott, was very easy to work with setting up the rental and sent us info on the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Oceanfront Beach Cottage with Amazing Sunset Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p387901vb
+1 808-639-9530
Kekaha Kauai
Hermosa Beach, CA
5

Beautiful House, Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My girlfriend and I visited Kauaii recently. This was a wonderful house for our stay. It was bright and airy and comfortable. Waking up each morning and seeing the water so close was breathtaking. The kitchen has everything you could need and the towels, beach chairs, boogie boards and umbrellas are of high quality. They have a claw footed tub in the master bath that is great to soak in after a day of hiking! The brokers were informative and helpful and we didn't have any problems. The only down side to this house is the noise from the road, but there is not much you can do about that when you are staying in a beautiful place close to the water with only one highway around the whole Island. The water is also murky here due to the runoff from Waimea but you can still walk down the road to a lifeguard beach. We strongly recommend, great for a family!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8